Find top-rated Pros in your area

Enter a zip code and get matched to businesses near you.

Lyons Contracting Inc

Founded 1996 • With Angi since December 2006

4.9

(341) Verified Reviews

Business Details

Phone Number

Address

312 A Calvert Ave

Alexandria, VA 22301

Description

We are a Super Service Award winning roofing contractor that installs all types of roofing, shingle roofs, cedar roofs, metal roofs, flat roofs, and specializes in roof replacement work. We work hard ever yday to exceed our customers' expectations. Our crews are fully up to date on the latest

Verified Reviews

A few reviews for this pro...
Fred C.
5.0
01/16/2021
Lyons replaced our roof this week. I received bids from 14 companies and I hired them because of the detail in their estimate, the sound advice I received from Tom, a strong recommendation from a friend who used them several years ago, and a confident feeling about Tom. His crew was incredibly professional and efficient, the cleanup was superb, they were on time, and there were no hassles or hiccups. Lyons was right in the middle of the average price for my bids, so they're not the cheapest, but they're also not the most expensive. (Believe it or not the price range was $21,000 from lowest to highest.)
Description of Work
Complete roof replacement.
Category
roofing
Michael M.
5.0
08/29/2020
We were extremely happy with our roof replacement project. Tom responded quickly to our request for a proposal, was candid in explaining what our roof needed and didn’t need, was happy to accommodate our request for specific materials, and offered a competitive price. The skilled team led by Ismael arrived early every day, worked uninterruptedly, and stayed late. The project was completed on time and to a high standard of quality. I would recommend Lyons Contracting without hesitation.
Description of Work
Roof replacement
Category
roofing
William H.
5.0
06/23/2020
Work was done professionally, on time, at a very reasonable cost. Thomas Petrilli of Lyons contracting was a pleasure to work with and gave me honest, excellent advice and guidance. Very trustworthy. I have recommended him to neighbors and friends. We are v very happy with our new roof.
Description of Work
2365sft complete new architectural shingle roof. Gutters removed and reinstalled with covers. Bad roofing boards replaced.
Category
roofing
Lois G.
5.0
05/31/2020
They did a great job. Came on the day they scheduled and finished the job in the time they said it would take. The workers were polite and respectful (we were locked down with COVID) so their behavior mattered. I would recommend this firm to anyone looking to replace roof. We received three bids and they were in the middle. Love my new roof!
Description of Work
Replace roof & skylights (3)
Category
roofing, chimney repair, skylights
Laura M.
5.0
02/23/2020
Lyons was very responsible and highly professional. They promptly assessed the cause of the leak, provided video of the roof so I could see the problem, and fixed it for me right away. I definitely recommend them.
Description of Work
Roof repair
Category
roofing
Barbara W.
5.0
07/22/2019
The team showed up promptly at 7 am and started worked. The teamwork shown by the group of six was amazing. A supervisor was on site most of the day, as well. They worked nearly 12 hours to complete the job, and left the site cleaned up and very tidy. Before hiring Lyons, I contacted 4 other companies for bids. One of those companies did not reply to my online inquiry; another company, who provided a bid, was about 20% higher in cost; and one company, who did reply, never again followed through. Therefore, the responsiveness of Lyons, the quality of their work, and competitive pricing puts them in my "call them again" list. I highly recommend Lyons Contracting.
Description of Work
I replaced an older roof with 3 tab shingles, with new architectural high performance shingles. Some older roofing material (wood, mouldings) needed replacement too.
Category
roofing
bob H.
5.0
05/05/2019
Owner of company is very easy to work with and to contact with questions or concerns. He previously did work on my daughter's house and she recommended him highly, as I do now. Work was done quickly, professionally and clean up was outstanding. Work crew was very hard working-
Description of Work
New roof and skylight
Category
roofing, skylights
Kevin L.
5.0
03/14/2019
Tom was great- he swung by my house when I wasn't even home and fixed my shoddy handiwork. He went above and beyond, and was very responsive. I now have peace of mind and couldn't be happier with his service!
Description of Work
Touch up my botched handiwork!
Category
roofing
Jarrod T.
5.0
02/04/2019
I would highly recommend Lyons. While the wet fall and winter made scheduling the work difficult, they clearly communicated changes in the schedule and did a great job fixing our leaky skylight. If we are in need of future roof work, I will not hesitate to work with them again.
Description of Work
Non-Emergency Skylight Roof Work
Category
roofing, skylights
Lennert T.
5.0
12/28/2018
Tom thoroughly explained the options for reducing the chance of ice dams causing leakage into the house, something that had occurred before. The crew arrived on schedule, worked very efficiently, did a great-looking job and cleaned up thoroughly afterward.
Description of Work
Needed 1/4 of shingles replaced to keep ice dams from leaking through roof
Category
roofing
Marshall V.
3.0
12/25/2018
Do not believe we received an estimate from Lyons or they did not provide service.
Description of Work
Patio roof replacement
Category
roofing
Thomas A.
5.0
12/19/2018
Ceiling bulging in upstairs bedroom after heavy rain and high wind; we thought it must be a leak. Tom called back that evening, set up appointment for the next day, got here early, He looked at the ceiling, asked a few questions, felt it, explained why it wasn't a leak, and suggested what sort of contractor we needed instead.
Description of Work
Thought it was a roof leak
Category
roofing
Virginia H.
5.0
12/06/2018
Work looks good, done in a timely manner with minimal disruption and Mike the contractor was personable, informative on work necessary and performed, and highly competent at a reasonable price.
Description of Work
Old skylight in roof was leaking requiring replacement and related repair.
Category
roofing, skylights
Thompson B.
5.0
10/19/2018
Replacement of Skylight. Fantastic job. Very professional. Very knowledgeable. Very responsive. Excellent work! Would definitely refer to a neighbor or a friend.
Description of Work
Replacement of Skylight
Category
skylights
Eric T.
5.0
09/19/2018
The contractor was great. He quickly repaired the leak by using the black caulking. He gave an overview with video to show the needed long term solution.
Description of Work
Fix a roof leak.
Category
roofing
Rich H.
5.0
06/19/2018
Tom was a great partner for this project. He came out right away, and was consultative in his approach. He walked me through the failures in my current roof, and even did a quick repair to stop the leak that was the reason for my initial call. They had the old roof off and the new roof on within a day, and the new gutters went up the next day. Looks great!!
Description of Work
New roof and gutters
Category
gutter repair, roofing
Clayton R.
5.0
06/11/2018
Our area got hammered by a storm with lots of homes damaged at the beginning of March but Lyons was super responsive in getting our roof patched up quickly.
Description of Work
Roof repair after storm
Category
roofing
DONALD J.
5.0
05/29/2018
I would use Lyons for my next roofing job. I had a roof leak, called Tom's number based on a neighbor referral, in between May storms. He took the call around 7:45am, he showed up at the time agreed-upon a few hours later - literally at the exact time; no 2-3 hour window. When he arrived, he shared helpful insights, hit the roof, made the fixes and I got me back to work in time for the end of lunch. My fix was simple for someone like him, and I know a full roof is different, but this is my experience and I hope it helps fill his book of business with people reading it. We need more well spoken, competent, professional contractors around the DMV.
Description of Work
Urgent roof leak repair
Category
roofing
Feras K.
1.0
05/02/2018
Sent a message via Angie's List on April 12 to get an estimate, no response. After 2 weeks, I called and spoke t the owner and asked him why I have not received a response? he said because of the wind storm back in Feb, they've been very busy which is not an excuse to me if you're a business trying to make money, but it's fine. He took my address and said he'll get the eagle view of my roof measurements and email me an estimate "easy", he said. I asked why not just come in and physically inspect it? he said it's easier that way. When I received his estimate which was the highest bid out of 7 I've received for a roof of 683 sqf for almost 5K!!! I told him your estimate is very expensive and his response was "It's difficult to be competitive for such a small project". My rating is for their very expensive pricing and lack of response and the fact that they only consider big projects. I for my personal experience with this owner, will never do business with him again and do not recommend this company at all.
Description of Work
Installing new Roof
Category
roofing
Lina P.
5.0
03/06/2018
Tom replaced an old metal roof with a standing seam copper roof on our home addition. We really enjoyed working with him and Lyon's. They do absolutely beautiful work (I will try to add a photo this week). More generally, Tom is patient and happy to answer client questions and I had a lot of questions. He also is incredibly prompt in responding to his clients (including late in the afternoon and on weekends). We plan to work with him on smaller projects in the future.
Description of Work
New Standing Seem Copper Roof on Addition
Category
roofing
Sharon M.
5.0
02/15/2018
Perfect. They were prompt, professional, and did a great job. I have used them for my roofing needs for years and would highly recommend them.
Description of Work
I had them out to repair a minor leak in my slate roof around my skylights, and also to give my roof a general review and repair any loose slate.
Category
roofing
Caroline D.
5.0
02/12/2018
We remodeled the front exterior of our home and had Tom design a flat membrane roof for our new porch so that the porch would blend in to our home and not have a pitched roof taking away from the aesthetics. Lyons installed beautiful copper gutters to the front of our home. Their installation process was impeccable - they handle all materials with care and wear gloves so that the copper is beautiful and stays clean upon installation to weather naturally. We had some issues with a rear roof and had Lyons remove the old flat copper roof and install a slightly pitched roof on the rear overhang of our home. The new copper roof is beautiful and they even installed rain chains to blend in with the garden vs. having ugly copper or white gutters hanging off the roof onto our patio. We will definitely hire Tom and Lyons Contracting again when we are ready for a new roof. Tom is the best contractor around who installs copper gutters and slate roofs! We have an asphalt shingle roof now, but would love to replace that with a slate roof on our next phase!
Description of Work
New Gutters, New Porch Roof & Replacement roof
Category
gutter repair, roofing
Elizabeth K.
5.0
12/13/2017
The owner did amazing, above-and-beyond efforts to coordinate the insulation with the roofing; he showed us samples and talked us through our choices, and he finished on time and with excellent service. We were thrilled.
Description of Work
New roof on our entire house (it was leaking) and new insulation put in.
Category
gutter repair, insulation, roofing
Anna P.
5.0
12/12/2017
Lyons Contracting was very professional from our initial meeting to scope the project, through the bidding process and the final installation of our roof and gutters. The crew on-site was excellent. They were careful with our property, including our plantings around the house, to be sure not to damage anything while they were working on the roof. Compared to other companies that I've watched replace roofs in our neighborhood, they took the time to do the job right. They were the most skilled in my opinion. We would hire them again without a second thought.
Description of Work
We had our roof and gutters replaced
Category
gutter repair, roofing
Richard B.
5.0
11/29/2017
Excellent customer service, professionalism and good price. Would use again.
Description of Work
Flat porch roof repair
Category
roofing

    Other local Pros in your area

    Mr Gutter

    Gutters might not seem like much, but they can add and protect the value of a home or property, making all the difference in the world. That's why you need the experts at Mr Gutter to make sure your gutters and other exterior elements are in tip-top shape. For gutter cleaning trust us to keep the exterior of your structure in proper order. Call us today through 7033234671 directly to ask for quotes and for a free estimate! Award winning.  

    Angi Certified

    DC Power Washers

    Hi we are DC Power Washers and we Offer Trash can cleaning ,house soft washing, drive way oil and rust stain spot treatment .we also do full drive way and side walk cleaning. my name is Anthony demetro me and my twin brother started this small business a few years back and never looked behind us since. it has changed our life's we get to make people happy for a living it is amazing also very satisfying for us to see the transformation of the house's and drive ways .if you give us a call we will be more then happy to come out and give you a free estimate on whatever you need us to do  

    Angi Certified

    Metro Gutter And Home Services Inc

    We are a local family owned and operated business with over 28 years of experience. Our hands on management approach allows each customer to get excellent customer service and receive individual attention. Our company is customer service oriented so that expectations and communication are clear from start to finish. We offer a 100% satisfaction guarantee. We like to think of ourselves as a service company that maintains and replaces exteriors. All of us at Metro Gutter work towards the goal of having a customer for life. Only the finest materials are used so that a professional finish can be guaranteed. We use the thickest gauge of aluminum that can be run through the gutter machine and we even hand select our #1 pre-primed wood from the commercial lumberyard! Our chimney caps are stainless steel, attach securely and offer a lifetime warranty.  

    Angi Certified

    Offers Coupon

    Business Highlights

    Emergency Services OfferedEmergency Services Offered
    Licensed
    Trade License Number
    2705145922
    Trade License Locale
    Virginia
    Trade License Authority
    Virginia: Contractors
    Trade License Expiration
    04/30/2024
    Bonded
    Insured
    All statements concerning insurance, licenses, and bonds are informational only, and are self-reported. Since insurance, licenses and bonds can expire and can be cancelled, homeowners should always check such information for themselves.To find more licensing information for your state, visit our Find Licensing Requirements page.
    General Information
    Free Estimates
    Yes
    Eco-Friendly Accreditations
    Yes
    Payment Options
    Check, Visa, MasterCard, American Express, Discover, Financing
    Senior Discount
    3%
    Emergency Service
    Yes
    Warranties
    Yes

    Services Offered

    Shingle roofs, simulated slate, cedar, standing seam metal, copper roofing and flat roofing, tile, skylights & repairs.

    Services Not Offered

    .

    Frequently Asked Questions & Answers about Lyons Contracting Inc

    How is Lyons Contracting Inc overall rated?

    Lyons Contracting Inc is currently rated 4.9 overall out of 5.

    What days are Lyons Contracting Inc open?

    Lyons Contracting Inc is open:

    Sunday: Closed

    Monday: 7:00 AM - 7:00 PM

    Tuesday: 7:00 AM - 7:00 PM

    Wednesday: 7:00 AM - 7:00 PM

    Thursday: 7:00 AM - 7:00 PM

    Friday: 7:00 AM - 7:00 PM

    Saturday: 9:00 AM - 1:00 PM

    What payment options does Lyons Contracting Inc provide

    Lyons Contracting Inc accepts the following forms of payment: Check, Visa, MasterCard, American Express, Discover, Financing

    Does Lyons Contracting Inc offer free estimates?

    Yes, Lyons Contracting Inc offers free project estimates.

    Does Lyons Contracting Inc offer eco-friendly accreditations?

    Yes, Lyons Contracting Inc offers eco-friendly accreditations.

    Does Lyons Contracting Inc offer a senior discount?

    Yes, Lyons Contracting Inc offers a 3% senior discount.

    Does Lyons Contracting Inc offer emergency services?

    Yes, Lyons Contracting Inc offers emergency services.

    Are warranties offered by Lyons Contracting Inc?

    Yes, Lyons Contracting Inc offers warranties.

    What services does Lyons Contracting Inc offer?

    Lyons Contracting Inc offers the following services: Shingle roofs, simulated slate, cedar, standing seam metal, copper roofing and flat roofing, tile, skylights & repairs.

    Are there any services Lyons Contracting Inc does not offer?

    .