Angie's List is now Angi. Learn more

Find top-rated Pros in your area

Enter a zip code and get matched to businesses near you.

Kolas Contracting Inc

Founded 1974 • With Angi since September 2013

4.9

(8) Verified Reviews

Business Details

Phone Number

Address

8361 Richmond Hwy

Alexandria, VA 22309

Description

With 32 years of experience Kolas Contracting Inc. is a recognized leader in Painting and Construction services for commercial and high end residential projects. We continuously evolve to meet the diverse needs of our clients by staying true to what we believe is most important, your complete satisfaction. Whether commercial or residential, our goal is to provide you with ultimate services that cater to all of your property needs at a competitive price....

Verified Reviews

A few reviews for this pro...
5.0

05/22/2014


Deborah K.

They were here on time, out of my way, and did an exceptional job. I worked with Steve, the owner of the company, and his painters are Spanish but they speak English quite well and they do their job quite well. I was really surprised by the work. I have never had painters that put cardboard down on the floor. They even scraped the old paint, patched holes in the walls, and they did a perfect job. They used the spray painters, which cuts down on the time and leaves the paint job looking great.

Description of Work
They painted our basement.

Category interior painters

5.0

01/02/2014


Jo-Ann M.

Kolas did an excellent and thorough job. When they found rot, they did not do any work until they showed me the problem, discussed all options with me, and then got my approval to go ahead. They also went above and beyond what I thought that they would do. When they power washed the house, they also cleaned my sidewalks and other areas that they were not required to do. Their workers were all superbly pleasant and professional - they were even nice to my dog. The supervisor for my job came by frequently to check on progress and to keep me updated on the work. Any problems uncovered in the course of the work were resolved in my favor and any additional costs were very reasonable for the extra work that needed to be performed. I recommend Kolas without reservation. I will use them for all outside work on my house and, next time, I will not wait so long to get the necessary maintenance painting done!

Description of Work
Cleaned and repainted all the wood on the outside of my house - every bit of siding and trim and the gutters. They also removed major areas of wood rot and replaced the wood with PVC board and cement type shingles and then painted them to match my house colors.

Category woodworking

2.0

09/11/2013


Micah P.

.

Description of Work
Nothing. Called them three times to get an estimate. Each time they said they would have someone call me back. Never did.

Category hardwood floor, woodworking

Service Provider Response

(Member name removed), I'm sorry that nobody called you back. If there's anything we can do, please let us know. We can have someone do the estimate next week, what would be a good day and time for you?
5.0

06/08/2012


Rita G.

In short--the work was outstanding! I used them to paint my home before listing it for sale (the walls hadn't seen a paint brush in 10 years...). The workmanship was excellent--my home really looked new. They worked quickly too. The entire house was done in four days. My only issue was that at times the office is a little slow to relay messages but they are working on that. I was so pleased with the work quality, price and integrity of the company that I will be using them for more extensive work on my new home.

Description of Work
Kolas did a full interior paint of my 2200 square foot home, including drywall repair as needed and trim.

Category interior painters

Service Provider Response

Thank you for taking time out of your busy schedule to do a review on us. We appreciate you and are looking forward to working with you on the other projects.
5.0

06/23/2011


Eileen K.

I had seen the Kolas trucks in the area and determined they were doing work in the neighborhood on decks, patios and fences. I had been wanting to add a gate to my patio for several years and I liked the look of the repaired/replaced items I was seeing in the neighborhood. I emailed the company and received a prompt reply that yes they could install a gate did I want them to send a detailed estimate. Within 2 days of the initial email I had a detailed written estimate which I approved and placed a deposit on the work. The manager said the work would be done the next week between Tuesday and Thursday. On Friday of the next week I did not have a gate and I called Kolas, they apologized for the delay and said that emergency repairs and pulled the workers to other jobs, they would be out on Tuesday. Early week weather ended up pushing the work back to Wednesday, this time I received a call mid-day Tuesday to say the work was pushed back a day. The work area was left a little messy, they had to add supports that caused some dirt disturbance at the edge of the garden and they did not clean that up well, but it was small so acceptable to me. Also I am not sure why they needed to use my hose but apparently they did, thus they discovered it had a problem at the connection - sprayed as much water on the wall as out the hose. THEY REPAIRED THE HOSE!!!

Description of Work
Build and install a patio gate to match the Home Owner Association supplied patio fence. This consists of a gate made of pressure treated lumber.

Category woodworking

Service Provider Response

Thank you so much! Let us know if there's anything else we can do for you.
5.0

10/27/2008


LEE H.

Quality workmanship and post job clean up.

Description of Work
Painted interior hall.

Category interior painters

Service Provider Response

Thank you!
5.0

09/14/2007


RICHARD L.

Kolas Painters did a great job. They were very professional, neat, covered everything and they cleaned up quite a bit of debris so that you hardly knew that they had been there. Their work was top quality and I would highly recommend them.

Description of Work
I had my 4500 square foot home painted on the outside. There was quite a bit of prep work including lots of scraping old paint, power washing, caulking and priming. The job was completed in a week.

Category house painters

Service Provider Response

Thank you so much! Let us know if there's anything else we can do.
5.0

09/10/2007


LAURA L.

They did a really good job, especially with the prep work, and the price was fair. Sometimes it's difficult to contact the man in charge, but that's the only thing I don't like that much. I could always solve it by talking to the people working in the house.

Description of Work
They painted the exterior of my house, but only the trims and porch, no walls, and they also did some carpentry. The project lasted two weeks, and it involved lots of prep work which consisted of scraping and getting rid of the old paint. The house has 1700 square feet.

Category house painters

    Other local Pros in your area

    Gibbs Painting

    Hi and welcome to Gibbs Painting, a full service, insured, licensed painting/home improvement company that stays focused on and flexible to the customers needs. We’re a second generation company that’s locally owned and operated. I’m Ray Gibbs, owner of Gibbs painting for 19 years and native Northern Virginian. After working with my father for 8 years, I have run the business for 19 years. At Gibbs painting, we aim to provide quality workmanship, competitive pricing and flexible solutions for our customers. Gibbs painting will provide a free detailed written estimate, show up on time, complete your work with courteous and with well communicated employees. Gibbs painting also offers free color and molding consultations to help our customers develop their homes into wonderful interior or exterior living spaces. Once you have narrowed your color choices down, Gibbs painting can apply samples to your walls and allow you to view them in the different light conditions during the day. Gibbs Painting will schedule your job and start your job at a convenient time for your schedule, complete the job on time and leave your home in the same condition as when the job was started. Please rely on Gibbs Painting for you painting and home improvement needs. Ray Gibbs www.GibbsPainting.com 703 967 7899  

    Angi Super Service Award badge
    Super Service
    Award 2021
    All American Painting Plus Inc

    All American Painting Plus is a locally-owned professional painting company serving Northern Virginia. We believe in honesty, integrity and trust in everything we do, from start to finish. We’ve developed an outstanding reputation of excellence by providing professional painting services to help residential clients enhance, protect and maintain their American Dreams for almost two decades. You can depend on us for accurate estimates and quality craftsmanship. Every project is backed by a two-year written warranty. Please note that we have a $1,500 labor minimum for all new customers.  

    Angi Super Service Award badge
    Super Service
    Award 2021
    Elite custom contractors

    Proud 2020 Super Service Award winning company on Angie's List! Elite Roofing is owner operated professional roofing company specializing in Replacement Roofing Repair Sidding replacement Gutters installation or repair Windows Replacement Exterior Paint Power wash contact us today, we look forward to servicing you!  

    Offers by Elite custom contractors  on Angi
    Insured
    All statements concerning insurance, licenses, and bonds are informational only, and are self-reported. Since insurance, licenses and bonds can expire and can be cancelled, homeowners should always check such information for themselves.To find more licensing information for your state, visit our Find Licensing Requirements page.
    General Information
    Free Estimates
    Yes
    Eco-Friendly Accreditations
    No
    Payment Options
    Check, Visa, MasterCard, American Express, Discover
    Senior Discount
    No
    Warranties
    Satisfaction

    Services Offered

    Interior/Exterior Painting, Cosmetic Carpentry, Siding, Cladding, Decking, Fencing, Masonry, Power-washing, Flooring, Kitchen/Bathroom Remodel and Historical Restorations.

    Services Not Offered

    ask for details

    Frequently Asked Questions & Answers about Kolas Contracting Inc

    How is Kolas Contracting Inc overall rated?

    Kolas Contracting Inc is currently rated 4.9 overall out of 5.

    What days are Kolas Contracting Inc open?

    Kolas Contracting Inc is open:

    Sunday: Closed

    Monday: 9:00 AM - 5:00 PM

    Tuesday: 9:00 AM - 5:00 PM

    Wednesday: 9:00 AM - 5:00 PM

    Thursday: 9:00 AM - 5:00 PM

    Friday: 9:00 AM - 5:00 PM

    Saturday: Closed

    What payment options does Kolas Contracting Inc provide

    Kolas Contracting Inc accepts the following forms of payment: Check, Visa, MasterCard, American Express, Discover

    Does Kolas Contracting Inc offer free estimates?

    Yes, Kolas Contracting Inc offers free project estimates.

    Does Kolas Contracting Inc offer eco-friendly accreditations?

    No, Kolas Contracting Inc does not offer eco-friendly accreditations.

    Does Kolas Contracting Inc offer a senior discount?

    No, Kolas Contracting Inc does not offer a senior discount.

    Are warranties offered by Kolas Contracting Inc?

    No, Kolas Contracting Inc does not offer warranties.

    What services does Kolas Contracting Inc offer?

    Kolas Contracting Inc offers the following services: Interior/Exterior Painting, Cosmetic Carpentry, Siding, Cladding, Decking, Fencing, Masonry, Power-washing, Flooring, Kitchen/Bathroom Remodel and Historical Restorations.

    Are there any services Kolas Contracting Inc does not offer?

    ask for details