Angie's List is now Angi. Learn more

Find top-rated Pros in your area

Enter a zip code and get matched to businesses near you.

J & J Landscape Management Inc

Founded 1998 • With Angi since June 2010

4.7

(253) Verified Reviews

Business Details

Phone Number

Address

PO Box 2477

Alexandria, VA 22301

Description

Super Service Award Winner for 2012, 2013, 2014, 2015, 2016, 2017, and 2018! J&J Landscape Management, Inc. is an award winning landscaping and lawn care company based in Alexandria, Virginia. We have been providing landscape installation and maintenance services throughout Northern Virginia since 1998. Each year we work on hundreds of new landscape and hardscape installations and maintain over 800 properties. We believe our reviews here speak for themselves! Please contact us today, we'll return your call or email within 1 business day....

Verified Reviews

A few reviews for this pro...
5.0

05/04/2021


Giles L.

I had a great experience working with James, Donnell, and their team. We had sod installed in our yard and a stone retaining wall put in. James and Donnell were both prompt and professional in their communication and their crews did top notch work. The sod looks fantastic and is taking very well and I was very impressed by the stone work the main stone mason did to replace and repair our old dilapidated retaining wall. I would definitely work with the J&J team again!

Description of Work
Sod install and stone retaining wall built

Category concrete repair, excavators, landscaping, lawn service, pavers, gravel, drain pipe

5.0

04/19/2021


Greg C.

I selected J&J to build a backyard patio, retaining wall, and walkway. I had high expectations for this project and J&J managed to exceed them. I found them to be trustworthy to get the job done right, as well as, responsive to questions along the way. They offered recommendations to consider before and during the project which was reassuring and helpful. I'm extremely happy with the end result; I've received so many compliments from neighbors, and would highly recommend them.

Description of Work
Backyard Patio, Retaining Wall, and Walkway

Category concrete repair, pavers, gravel, hardscaping, outdoor lighting, patios

5.0

09/14/2020


Anne G.

We hired J&J to do some major installation services in our hillside backyard. They removed several large trees, leveled a large area of a hillside, installed a new patio and a play area, stairs, and several retaining walls. They also redid an old patio and laid large flagstone steppers in several areas. The work took about 3-4 weeks -- it turned out absolutely great, and held up to an absolutely torrential downpour and flash flooding. James was very responsive from day one, coming on-site quickly to provide an estimate and answering questions/finalizing a proposal. During the work, James and project manager Donnell were present and communicative. The team working on-site was professional, polite, and very hard-working. J&J was able to provide the best price for the amount of work being done and came in significantly under other major landscaping companies in the area. 100% would recommend J&J -- we would definitely use them again in the future. (The pics don't do the work justice)

Description of Work
Hardscaping Installation (retaining walls, patio, steppers)

Category hardscaping

Service Provider Response

Thanks for taking the time to leave this review, our entire team appreciates it!
5.0

07/06/2020


Summer B.

Incredible job! Fast and professional and a pleasure to work with! On time and budget and A++ work! So pleased and happy with the work.

Description of Work
Landscaping and outdoor patio

Category landscaping, mulch, hardscaping, patios

Service Provider Response

Thanks for taking the time to leave a review! We all appreciate it.
5.0

06/24/2020


Leo P.

The J&J team did a wonderful job, and completed the work in a very timely and professional manner. They completely re-leveled our backyard and had to deal with massive tree roots in 90+ degree weather. It was a massive undertaking and I commend the team for their dedication. The sod installation was great, and our yard looks substantially better than before. We ran into a small hiccup, but James, Tony, and their entire team worked with us to address the issue as quickly as possible.

Description of Work
Complete backyard overhaul and sod installation

Category landscaping, lawn service, mulch

Service Provider Response

Thanks for the great review!
5.0

06/16/2020


Ryan G.

We have worked with J&J on several projects including routine monthly landscaping. They are fantastic. Very well priced. The crews they send are great. The work is excellent. Highly recommend!

Description of Work
Multiple Projects

Category concrete repair, landscaping, lawn service, mulch, pavers, gravel, hardscaping

Service Provider Response

Thanks for taking the time to leave a review and thanks for your continued business!
5.0

06/16/2020


Amy M.

The team completed the work in a very timely, professional, and thorough manner, and there was a lot of work to do. They worked really hard and made our yard and landscaping areas look amazing. We are very happy and really enjoy the beauty that surrounds us!! We also use this company for our weekly lawn mowing service, and again, they are great.

Description of Work
Spring/Summer Cleanup and Landscaping

Category landscaping, lawn service, lawn treatment, leaf removal, mulch

Service Provider Response

Thank you for the great review, we all appreciate it.
5.0

06/14/2020


Stella M.

Job went well. Crew was professional, punctual, neat and respectful. Job completed on schedule. Project manager and office staff very helpful and responsive. Very pleased

Description of Work
Replacing a retaining wall

Category concrete repair, excavators, drain pipe

Service Provider Response

Thanks for taking the time to leave a review! You were great to work with!
5.0

06/06/2020


Ryan M.

Team was very professional and talented. Management was responsive and transparent. Built a beautiful backyard patio and outdoor kitchen.

Description of Work
Built a new patio and outdoor kitchen

Category concrete repair, hardscaping, outdoor lighting, patios, outdoor kitchens

Service Provider Response

Thanks for the great review! And thanks for your business!!
5.0

03/11/2020


Tena A.

J&J leaf removal service is fabulous. Several workpeople blow the leaves to a vacuum truck in a very short period of time. Also cleared leaves out of our pool area. Best leaf removal service we've ever had, period. This Spring the crew cleaned the dead shrubbery and tree limbs out of our yard. They trimmed the Holly and other bushes and mulched. No small undertaking as we have almost an acre of land. Any issues were immediately addressed. Very happy with their work. Highly recommend.

Description of Work
Fall leaf removal & Spring clean up

Category landscaping, lawn service, leaf removal, mulch

Service Provider Response

Thanks for the great review and thanks for your business!
1.0

08/20/2019


James R.

The emailed back at first - not with a quote just follow information they should have already had. Then the never responded - I had to email several additional times to keep the conversation moving forward and to select a provider after reviewing estimates. Finally after yet another email to James reuqestiing an update - he then informed me they had no availability to help me aerate my yard. What had changed? - well two weeks of chasing James down for a quote changed. Thanks for wasting my time - I hope no one else gets caught in your spin cycle of nothingness and lack of accountability and promptness to earn a new client.

Description of Work
Aeration and overseeding

Category lawn treatment

Service Provider Response

Sir, 1. No proposal was ever sent to you. 2. No appointment was ever made with you. 3. No work was ever scheduled at your house. I'm sorry that our schedule is full, but you did not chase us around for 2 weeks. You simply waited until the the last minute to ask for aeration. If this is such a huge disappointment in your life and it prompted you to lash out the way you did via the very nasty email you sent and this negative review, I can tell that we would not have gotten along. We don't work with entitled jerks. Period. [Member Name Removed] Derrington
2.0

07/11/2019


Matthew D.

J&J serviced my lawn in Alexandria for more than two years. Here's what I have today after spending $180/month with this company. Pictures tell the story. Workers also piled up lawn debris along rear property line without permission, creating a miniature landfill where poison ivy, small trees, and wildlife took up residence. Owner was informed on 6/27/2018 about the debris and responded: "Hi (member), We aren't really set up for just debris removal. Perhaps try one of the debris/junk removal companies? James Derrington" Owner was evasive and failed to respond to multiple attempts to reach via telephone. I terminated services when he made himself impossible to get in touch with. There are other lawn-care companies offering better customer service. The owner had an opportunity to improve his customer relationship and to sell additional services, but instead he blew it.

Description of Work
Lawn maintenance since 2017

Category lawn service

Service Provider Response

Your review is inaccurate. We cancelled your service because you were belligerent, threatening, and demeaning to our employees. After your final outburst, I refused to talk to you on the phone and I will only communicate with you via email in the future. We don't work with substandard people, life is just too short. James Derrington
2.0

06/14/2019


Abheshek N.

Heather the contact at J&J Call 30 minutes before the appointment time and informed us that their estimator could no longer make the appointment. They were also unwilling to send anybody else to provide an estimate and did not respond to calls play to their office in the days leading up to the appointment to confirm the date and time.

Description of Work
They canceled an estimate with only 30 minutes notice despite repeated attempts to call them to confirm the appointment in the days leading up to the appointment.

Category landscaping, lawn service

Service Provider Response

No work was ever done for this customer. I'm sorry our estimator was out sick the day of your appointment. Sometimes scheduled changes are out of our control. However, we are happy to set a new appointment and in fact tried to do just that, saying we were unwilling to do so is simply not true!
5.0

04/26/2019


Russell J.

This is really very simple. They did exactly what they said they were going to do, exactly when they said they were going to do it, for exactly for the quote provided, with exactly the product expected. This was week long effort for a 3 man crew. After making appt. for estimate, their estimator was on time, immediate response with quote, and exemplary follow through and oversight. Owner accommodated special requirement. The crew was on time, worked without break (minus lunch), and followed execution plan without error. Daily cleanup. I hate leaving stellar reviews, because it usually means they get more work, meaning I have to wait longer to schedule future service...... Absolutely no reservation in making strongest endorsement.

Description of Work
Clean up, mulching, hardscape installation

Category landscaping, lawn service, leaf removal, mulch, hardscaping

Service Provider Response

Thanks for taking the time to leave a review and thank you for your business!
3.0

03/30/2019


nicholas S.

The price was a little more than what I received from other companies. I have had issues with my grass so I made it very clear when I hired them that I wanted detailed instructions on how to care for the grass. I had to pull teeth to get it once the grass was planted. And what I got I could have easily gotten on the email and with more detail The grass did not do well and I asked that they come back to take a look at it. a guy came and their response in an email was something to the effect of "am i missing something?" no help . The sod did not do well and I had to reseed the entire lawn. Nothing at all special about this company you can do much better

Description of Work
Planted Sod

Category landscaping

Service Provider Response

I personally visited your house to address your complaint of thin or dying turf and there was none. I also personally sent 7 emails to you in June 2018 addressing your concerns and discussing proper turf maintenance. To say you had to 'pull teeth' to get information from us is simply inaccurate. During my site visit, the turf was in great shape, and I emailed you pictures showing that. So yes, I did ask what I was missing, as there was no valid complaint or evidence of dying turf. I did send you advice on sharpening your mower blades to reduce tearing grass and browning the tips as you mowed. email sent to you on 6/20/2018: "It all looks pretty good. The brown tips you see are from dull mower blades. If you look closely, you can see the grass blades are torn, instead of cut cleanly. If you have your mower blades sharpened, this browning will go away." I also suggested you do a better job of raking up grass clippings. I don't know if this was done or not. The bottom line....we installed perfectly healthy sod and provided watering instructions and additional maintenance instructions. I do not know if they were followed or not. Watering instructions can be found on our website, just as you found our phone number to call us initially. That information is here: https://www.jandjlandscapemgt.com/landscaping-tips James Derrington President
3.0

02/13/2019


Joann H.

Our lawn is in worse shape now than when we started using J&J so we are cancelling our service with them.

Description of Work
Lawn mowing and lawn service (fertilizer, lime, weed control, etc.)

Category lawn service, lawn treatment, leaf removal

Service Provider Response

We are sorry you are not completely satisfied with your service. Last year created very challenging conditions for turf maintenance. We had more rain than any other year in history. Good luck to you in the future, we'll be here if you ever need us.
5.0

12/28/2018


Al M.

Very well. Estimator was courteous and professional. Best service...

Description of Work
Needed assessment of landscape issues.

Category landscaping

Service Provider Response

Thanks for taking the time to leave a review! We will be her for you if you ever need anything in the future.
5.0

10/23/2018


Doris E.

J & J Landscape Mgmt Inc just finished two days of landscaping work at my house, and it is FABULOUS! We had a ton of overgrown plants along the fencing of our property; we have a flower garden area and a big area under our juniper tree that were a big mess. The 3-man crew spent one whole day cleaning up our yard (1/3 acre). The next day they did more cleaning and then spread mulch everywhere. Honestly, I'll bet the neighbors think we are selling the house; it looks that good! The crew is professional and helpful; answered my questions during the process. I highly recommend this company.

Description of Work
Landscaping and yard clean up

Category landscaping, lawn service, mulch

Service Provider Response

Thanks for the great review! Thanks for your business as well. We appreciate it.
5.0

10/19/2018


Mary K.

J&J did amazing work and I would definitely hire them again. I am the president of an elementary PTA and the PTA funded the rehabilitation of part of our school grounds in order to create more open space for outdoor activities. We had an outdoor stage in one corner of our campus that was completely overgrown with weeds and "junk" trees, extending down a slope behind the stage all the way to the property line. J&J promptly replied to our request for a quote, did a thorough and professional investigation of what would be needed, and scheduled the work to begin within about 4-5 weeks' time. The start date was delayed only because we got an unusually large amount of rain in the intervening weeks. The crew that performed the work went above and beyond our expectations--the area is now completely cleared of brush, stumps and debris are completely gone, fresh mulch is down, and there is now a great deal more open space available to our teachers and students.

Description of Work
Extensive weedy growth cleanup along a sloped area (maybe 0.25 acre)

Category landscaping, mulch, tree service

Service Provider Response

Thanks for taking the time to leave a review and thanks for your business! We appreciate it! Let us know if there is anything we can ever do for you [Member Information Removed] the future.
2.0

10/10/2018


Tony and Kimberly C.

We contracted J&J to clean up our one acre lot in June. They didn't start the work when they said they would and took over a month to do the work. Sometimes they showed up for an entire day, sometimes for a few hours. There was still 20x80 feet of our yard that was overgrown and untouched when they stopped showing up at all. Numerous phone calls and emails later they project manager came over and I showed him the area that was untouched. His response was to tell me that he walked the yard with my wife and she told him that they didn't need to address that area. To put it bluntly, that was a lie. After speaking with the owner, the story has now changed to "that wasn't included in the contract", which it clearly was. The good news is that we only paid half up-front, and are now likely to have to deal with litigation over the matter. The work they did do was excellent, which is even more galling. Had they simply completed the work as contracted, we would have been happy customers and executed a long term maintenance contract with them. Instead, we had to have our attorney take over the matter and we will update this review when the outcome is final. I would not recommend this company.

Description of Work
One acre yard cleanup

Category landscaping

Service Provider Response

Thanks for taking the time to leave a review.
5.0

09/25/2018


David B.

I can't speak highly enough about the professionalism, hard work and dedication James and his team showed. We love our new flagstone patio. The work was performed on a slope, removing an old garden and pergola, leveling much of the area and installing the concrete pad, seating walls, lighting and fire pit. James worked with me to clarify my initial design and ensure the workers stayed on track. He went the extra mile to ensure the color consistency of the seat wall capping stones and put a proper edge on the cut curves, even having the team remove and start over. The final product is outstanding and my kids are thrilled with the new space. I would hire them again without hesitation.

Description of Work
Installation of a new flagstone patio (480 sq feet), with lighted seating wall and fire pit.

Category concrete repair, excavators, hardscaping, patios, outdoor kitchens

Service Provider Response

Thanks for taking the time to leave a review! We hope you enjoy your new patio for years to come. Please let us know if there is anything we can do for you in the future.
3.0

07/30/2018


Rodrick A.

In June of 2017, we had vinca minor installed in a section of our front yard (which is heavily shaded) at a cost of $2,600. We chose the vinca upon its recommendation that it was a drought and shade hardy plant. A month after the installation, I contacted the operations manager via email and advised the vinca looked sparse and unhealthy despite large amounts of rain and caring for the vinca as instructed. The operations manager we had worked with came to our home to look at the vinca. We were assured the vinca was fine and again in September 2017. In Spring of 2018, the vinca did not return as anticipated. We saw a few blooms but little growth and the vines did not spread. Once our trees grew in we saw no additional growth, despite following care instructions. Following our first weeding service ($360) in June 2018, the sparse vines we had were virtually gone. Following the second weeding service in July 2018, my husband contacted the operation manager again via email seeking a resolution before continuing with services. At that time, he asked for options and/or recommendations. The operations manager came to our home to confirm the vinca was gone. He did not call or knock on our door. My husband was actually working from home that day and we both would have appreciated an opportunity to speak with him. He confirmed via email the weeding service would be cancelled but did not offer options or recommendations. My husband contacted him a second time via email and we were told he would confer with the owner. On July 17th, the owner asked for our watering regimen, which we provided. We have not received any additional feedback since then. A week after not hearing anything, I sent a certified letter to the owner/president detailing the events and again asking for options and/or recommendations. We requested to negotiate the second weeding bill and requested a full or partial refund for the vinca if no options were available. We are awaiting a response to that letter. Our Spring cleanup ($665), which was done in May 2018, was also disappointing as we had to request the crew return twice to get all the work completed as outlined in our proposal. While that issue was resolved, it added to our frustration. Our yard, which is required to be manicured and maintained, is now an eyesore. Needless to say, we are extremely displeased and disappointed. We have been customers of J and J Landscape Management for the past 22 months. We have spent a significant amount of money and we have always paid on time. We have been pleased with past seasonal work performed and I was happy to provide reviews stating such. Today I am appalled that two weeks later, after spending close to $3,000 on the vinca alone, we have yet to hear anything back. Not a follow-up email, not a phone call. It is simply unacceptable. Follow-up: On July 26th, I received a phone call from Ms. Jill Boyarko, the Office Manager at J and J Landscaping. She advised the owner, Mr. Derrington was on vacation and that he requested she contact us on his behalf. We were assured that he would call the following week and he did. Mr. Derrington and my husband were able to agree on a different shade plant, which was installed in our front yard on August 23rd .We are extremely satisfied with the results and very appreciative we were able to resolve this matter.

Description of Work
Significant changes in customer service and service quality

Category landscaping

5.0

07/13/2018


Doug O.

We ultimately chose to go a different route but would highly recommend this company - excellent communication and great landscaping recommendations.

Description of Work
Landscaping Estimate

Category landscaping

Service Provider Response

Thanks! We'll be here if you need us.
5.0

06/20/2018


Edward S.

Excellent job, albeit a bit expensive. Due to their busy schedule, they didn't get to it until mid June. I probably should have made the request in the winter.

Description of Work
Spring Cleanup.

Category landscaping, lawn service

Service Provider Response

Thanks for taking the time to leave a review and thanks for your business over the years!
5.0

06/20/2018


Gary B.

Fantastic. Very Friendly and a First rate company and Customer Service.

Description of Work
Yard Maintenance

Category landscaping, lawn treatment

Service Provider Response

Thanks for taking the time to leave this review! Please let us know if there is anything we can do for you in the future.

    Other local Pros in your area

    Drainage and Erosion Solutions

    Drainage & Erosion Solutions (DES) is an award-winning company that provides assessment and repair of all drainage and erosion problems for residential and commercial properties. We are a design-build firm, with both engineering and contracting divisions; offering aesthetically pleasing and professionally engineered solutions to drainage and erosion problems. Our team members are year-round, full-time employees with a strong reputation for technical knowledge, attention to detail, great customer service and general excellence. All DES consultations, assessments, and installations are performed by a licensed professional soils engineer, or landscape and drainage systems designer. These professionals have several decades of combined design and contracting experience. Clients like working with us - much of our business comes from referrals and from our top rankings among the most popular contractor ratings services .  

    Premium Drainage & Erosion Solutions

    If you're looking for honesty and quality workmanship, you've come to the right place. Our specialty is drainage and landscaping, but whether a property needs storm drains, french drains, sump pumps, grading, leveling, excavation, patios, creative guttering for water removal or landscaping, we do all of the above with guaranteed results! Get in touch today for a consultation, and help us help you come up with the perfect drainage solution for your home or business!  

    Angi Super Service Award badge
    Super Service
    Award 2021
    Metro Drainage Pros LLP

    Metro Drainage Pros is a licensed & insured company that specializes in exterior storm water management and drainage issues. At Metro Drainage Pro's, LLP, we offer a team of highly trained professionals who all have a vast amount of experience in storm water management. We are a fully licensed and insured company, and we strive to bring our customers the best possible solutions, tailored to fit their needs. There is no job that is too big or complicated, and with over 30 years of extensive experience, our professional trained employees are fully capable of handling the most demanding of projects. So don't let your drainage get you any longer. Let the Metro Drainage Pro's, LLP team identify the source of the problem so we can provide you with long lasting results.  

    Angi Super Service Award badge
    Super Service
    Award 2021

    Business Highlights

    Emergency Services OfferedEmergency Services Offered
    Licensed
    Trade License Number
    2705117643
    Trade License Locale
    Class 'A' Virginia Contractors License
    Trade License Authority
    DPOR
    Trade License Expiration
    11/30/2018
    Bonded
    Insured
    All statements concerning insurance, licenses, and bonds are informational only, and are self-reported. Since insurance, licenses and bonds can expire and can be cancelled, homeowners should always check such information for themselves.To find more licensing information for your state, visit our Find Licensing Requirements page.
    General Information
    Free Estimates
    Yes
    Eco-Friendly Accreditations
    Yes
    Payment Options
    MasterCard, Discover, Check, Visa
    Senior Discount
    5%
    Emergency Service
    Yes
    Warranties
    Yes

    Services Offered

    Gardening Service, Mowing Service, Mulching, Lawn Fertilization and Weed Control, Spring and Fall Cleanups, Leaf Removal, Pruning, as well as Landscape Installation, Design and Installation of Outdoor Kitchens and Living Spaces, Patios, Decks, Fire Pits, Walkways, Paver Installations, and Retaining Walls.

    Services Not Offered

    Irrigation system irrigation or maintenance.

    Frequently Asked Questions & Answers about J & J Landscape Management Inc

    How is J & J Landscape Management Inc overall rated?

    J & J Landscape Management Inc is currently rated 4.7 overall out of 5.

    What days are J & J Landscape Management Inc open?

    J & J Landscape Management Inc is open:

    Monday: 8:30 AM - 5:00 PM

    Tuesday: 8:30 AM - 5:00 PM

    Wednesday: 8:30 AM - 5:00 PM

    Thursday: 8:30 AM - 5:00 PM

    Friday: 8:30 AM - 5:00 PM

    What payment options does J & J Landscape Management Inc provide

    J & J Landscape Management Inc accepts the following forms of payment: MasterCard, Discover, Check, Visa

    Does J & J Landscape Management Inc offer free estimates?

    Yes, J & J Landscape Management Inc offers free project estimates.

    Does J & J Landscape Management Inc offer eco-friendly accreditations?

    Yes, J & J Landscape Management Inc offers eco-friendly accreditations.

    Does J & J Landscape Management Inc offer a senior discount?

    Yes, J & J Landscape Management Inc offers a 5% senior discount.

    Does J & J Landscape Management Inc offer emergency services?

    Yes, J & J Landscape Management Inc offers emergency services.

    Are warranties offered by J & J Landscape Management Inc?

    Yes, J & J Landscape Management Inc offers warranties.

    What services does J & J Landscape Management Inc offer?

    J & J Landscape Management Inc offers the following services: Gardening Service, Mowing Service, Mulching, Lawn Fertilization and Weed Control, Spring and Fall Cleanups, Leaf Removal, Pruning, as well as Landscape Installation, Design and Installation of Outdoor Kitchens and Living Spaces, Patios, Decks, Fire Pits, Walkways, Paver Installations, and Retaining Walls.

    Are there any services J & J Landscape Management Inc does not offer?

    Irrigation system irrigation or maintenance.