Find top-rated Pros in your area

Enter a zip code and get matched to businesses near you.

DOVE HEATING & AIR CONDITIONING INC

Founded 1985 • With Angi since June 2007

4.9

(33) Verified Reviews

Business Details

Phone Number

Address

6416 ROSEHILL DR

Alexandria, VA 22310

Description

4 EMPLOYEES. NO SUBS. COST IS DETERMINED BY THE JOB. NO TRAVEL CHARGE. SERVICE FEE $92.00 APPLIES.

Verified Reviews

A few reviews for this pro...
5.0

04/22/2019


Elizabeth K.

Dove was one of several HVAC companies we contacted for a quote last summer when our central HVAC revealed itself to be broken. They were competitively priced and more accommodating than the other companies in terms of when they were able to fit us in (in fact, they were able to deliver even sooner than originally promised once they learned we had an infant at home in the sweltering heat). They were also the only company that was able to move our new heat pump beyond our brick courtyard wall without requiring a separate contractor for the work. The owner and workers were professional and hardworking, and the job was done right. I would definitely use them again and highly recommend them.

Description of Work
Replacement of heat pump

Category heating & air conditioning/hvac

5.0

06/14/2017


Justin K.

Very responsive, provided everything I needed.

Description of Work
Price quote for new HVAC.

Category heating & air conditioning/hvac

5.0

03/28/2017


Maynard A.

Went well. Very professional and friendly. He was very reasonable of the price and I was very happy with the service

Description of Work
Replaced AV and furnace

Category heating & air conditioning/hvac

5.0

08/14/2016


Thomas P.

The job went very well despite a few complications that Dave easily handled. His two helpers arrived right on time to remove the old equipment and put new units in place. Dave then arrived to handle installation details. When the air handler was unpacked we discovered damage. Dave quickly arranged for a replacement and kept the the project moving while waiting for the replacement. Same for all the other little things that happen with every project. Dave has been doing this for a long time and nothing stumps him. The company is just Dave and two helpers so you don't have to wonder about who will show up and if they know what they are doing. We got several quotes and this was the best system at the most reasonable cost. Dave responded to my request for a system that gave us better humidity reduction with a two-stage compressor and variable-speed air handler that is working beautifully during this week's heat wave.

Description of Work
Replaced outside AC compressor and indoor whole-house air handler.

Category heating & air conditioning/hvac

5.0

07/27/2016


Joseph B.

I called Dove and the owner, Dave, came out the next day. Unfortunately the A/C unit was low on refridgerant and there is no way to add more. It is a sealed unit with no valve to add more. Dave suggested contacting Amana for a replacement unit.

Description of Work
The Amana room Air Conditioner and Heater was not putting out cold air. I needed to have the unit repaired.

Category heating & air conditioning/hvac

5.0

07/27/2016


Joseph B.

I called Dove and the owner, Dave, came out the next day. Unfortunately the A/C unit was low on refridgerant and there is no way to add more. It is a sealed unit with no valve to add more. Dave suggested contacting Amana for a replacement unit.

Description of Work
The Amana room Air Conditioner and Heater was not putting out cold air. I needed to have the unit repaired.

Category heating & air conditioning/hvac

5.0

07/27/2016


Joseph B.

I called Dove and the owner, Dave, came out the next day. Unfortunately the A/C unit was low on refridgerant and there is no way to add more. It is a sealed unit with no valve to add more. Dave suggested contacting Amana for a replacement unit.

Description of Work
The Amana room Air Conditioner and Heater was not putting out cold air. I needed to have the unit repaired.

Category heating & air conditioning/hvac

5.0

06/23/2016


Andrea H.

We use them all the time. We have a contract with them. They come in twice-a-year. We have been using them for 10 years.

Description of Work
We have been using Dove Heating & Air Conditioning. The last time they came out was for our semi-annual inspection.

Category heating & air conditioning/hvac

5.0

01/09/2015


Lorraine (Lorri) B.

I have used them about 3 times and been really happy with their service. What I like about them is that they are honest. The first time they came out, was when my home inspector had told me there was a leak in the A/C. The previous home owners had another company come out who told them that they couldn't locate a leak. I had Dove come out, and he found the leak, but told me that the unit did not need to be replaced yet. I apprecieated how forthcoming they were.

Description of Work
.

Category heating & air conditioning/hvac

5.0

09/02/2014


Alejandra E.

They gave us a start and completion time which they met. Dove technicians are very professional and neat. We've had them two times before for furnace maintenance. They never suggested to upgrade our unit even though it was very old. They felt we could get few more years out of it. However, our and quot;in slab and quot;ducts had disintegrated and it was time for a new system. Dave gave us a written cost of units and labor. He filled out our form for a Washington Gas rebate, which was accepted by Washington Gas. We are very satisfied with our new system.

Description of Work
Installed new A/C and heating system including 9 ducts and relocating hot water heater.

Category heating & air conditioning/hvac, water heater repair

5.0

06/21/2014


Thomas G.

I have used Dove heating and a/c for a/c maintenance for over two years and they have just replaced one of my a/c units. Dove aren’t pushy – they do not view a maintenance call as an opportunity to sell me something. On the other hand, Dave and his staff are more than willing to give advice, even if it might mean fewer service calls or postponed sales. They explain what they are doing and why. When they give options, the pros and cons are clear and it is my choice. They have been on time every time, and are friendly, quick, and clean. I have never had to call them back on a badly done job. Their prices are competitive. I wish that they took credit cards instead of just checks and cash, but that is a complaint I have of many service companies. What more could I ask for? Highly recommended.

Description of Work
Replaced air conditioner

Category heating & air conditioning/hvac

5.0

02/24/2014


Andrew H.

It went very smoothly with the technician explaining fully what he needed to do and why.

Description of Work
Replaced the motor on one of our air conditioners

Category heating & air conditioning/hvac

5.0

09/30/2013


Alejandra E.

It went very well. Technician was knowledgeable, courteous and thorough. Our system was in good shape according to Chris and he suggested alternatives for the future.

Description of Work
They checked our heating / A/C unit.

Category heating & air conditioning/hvac

5.0

07/29/2013


Thomas D.

Excellent. I met the owner Dave and was again impressed with him and the company. They were able to shift work around and get to us over their lunch hour so we could receive a same day appointment. They are kind and conscientious. Repairing my a/c within 40 minutes. We have used them twice before and have always been impressed. They were referred to us by our neighbors years before Angie's list existed.

Description of Work
Repaired unit: topped off the refrigerant. Adjusted and serviced. Provided a quote for a replacement system.

Category heating & air conditioning/hvac

5.0

05/20/2013


Connie A.

On an unseasonally hot day in April I discovered that my a/c was not cooling. It would come on but would not cool. I had never used Dove before. I checked Angie's List and saw that they have a A rating, They are also in my neighborhood. They came the same day I called and determined the when Vernon installed new a/c and furnace the copper coolant line for the a/c was against the corner or the house and over time the vibration created a hole in the line and all of the coolant leaked out. I scheduled the repair for a day or so later. The technician arrived on time and shortly after Dave the owner arrived. Dave proceeded to verify the diagnosis and do the repair including moving the unit (a last minute request by me) so that the coolant line would not run along the foundation. They moved it and repaired it in about 1 1/2 hrs. It's worked perfectly. I highly recommend Dove, they are knowledgable, trustworthy, efficient, and do not try and upsell you. I just wish I had know about them when I hired Vernon to replace an over 30 yr old furnace and 12 yr old a/c. Oh, after they finished I ask if the unit was the right size because it seemed to not cool as well as the old unit. Dave said it would of been better if Vernon had installed bit larger unit, that mine was sized more for a townhouse. But I will live with it as it now works and does cool the house to a tolerable level. The cost was more than reasonable. Please use this company, I want them to stay in business.

Description of Work
Repaired cutting the line, vacuming the line to ensure that air and moisture was not in the line and refilling with numerous pounds of coolant. Since they had to cut both the copper line and the electrical connecton I ask if they could move the unit so that the line would not have to run down along the house foundation. Without hesitation Dave, the owner said "sure".

Category heating & air conditioning/hvac

5.0

05/11/2013


Philip P.

I have been using this company for several years now. They are always polite and professional and come when expected. They babied our old system along for several years and then replaced it when it had reached the end of its useful life. The don't recommend unneeded services and I trust them to tell me what is needed. They have always been honest and up front with me.

Description of Work
This was routine service although this company replaced my heat pump a few years ago.

Category heating & air conditioning/hvac

5.0

02/11/2013


Lauren L.

These guys are the most honest and dependable HVAC company I've ever known. and a leg. The workers are friendly, efficient and knowledgeable. While other HVAC companies might have -- and have -- pushed me to buy a new furnace to replace mine that is between 10-15 years old, Dove helps me keep the one I have running without charging an arm and a leg. In fact, parting words were about what we could do to keep this furnace running for 3-5 years more.

Description of Work
This time, they came out to check my gas furnace which was cutting off randomly. They cleaned and vacuumed and got it working dependably for the cost of a service visit. One of the nicest things about Dove is that they don't just explain what is wrong, but they give advice to keep things working better and lasting longer. The first time I used Dove was when my furnace went out during a frigid spell a few winters ago. The first company I called said they couldn't fix it and I needed a new furnace. My neighbor told me to try Dove, who responded to my emergency the same day even though I'd never used them. They replaced a $60 part and the furnace has worked perfectly for the past three years. (The problems this year are my fault for not replacing the filters often enough to keep up with two dogs and two cats.)

Category heating & air conditioning/hvac

5.0

11/14/2012


Carol W.

Dave Nicholls at Dove Heating and Air Conditioning Inc is somebody who does good work. He doesn't upsell you or sell you something that you don't need. We were told by another company seven years ago to change our system but this guy told us it was fine. He checks out the system and fixes it when you need it.

Description of Work
Dove Heating and Air Conditioning Inc used to service my air conditioning.

Category heating & air conditioning/hvac

5.0

11/05/2012


dave H.

Dove HVAC arrived at the time I was promised and completed the job in a very short time without waking up my newborn. The owner showed up during the install to see and ask how thing were going. He also took time to show me the manual and all work performed. I am very impressed with this company and will continue to use them for all my HVAC needs.

Description of Work
Dove removed and replaced a old A/C unit and condenser.

Category heating & air conditioning/hvac

5.0

04/30/2012


Charles H.

I have used Dove Heating for about 25 years. They have always been thorough, responsive, reliable and pleasant to deal with. They are a small family-owned business so they are probably not best for middle-of the-night emergencies, but overall I feel very comfortable with them and will continue using them.

Description of Work
I just used them to replace a failing furnace/AC unit and the result was fine.

Category heating & air conditioning/hvac

5.0

03/09/2012


Andrea H.

They are a very small family owned business, and they remember me from one time to the next and are familiar with my system. Their prices are pretty reasonable. I would use them again in the future if I needed to.

Description of Work
We have a regular contract with Dove Heating & Air Conditioning Inc. to come out twice a year to service our heating and air conditioning unit. We last used them to put in a new water heater for us.

Category heating & air conditioning/hvac

5.0

11/06/2009


Steven J.

Very thorough. Dove installed the HVAC unit before we bought the house 4 years ago, and we've continued to use them ever since with satisfaction.

Description of Work
Dove installed a programmable thermostat after one I got online failed to match the system (no surprise). In the course of installing it, he checked the heat pump thoroughly and noted the TX valve had some problems opening and closing properly. He advised we watch it for a couple of days, and when the heat pump kept shutting off before its cycle should have been done, he came out right away and resolved the problem for good.

Category heating & air conditioning/hvac

3.0

08/29/2009


Helen G.

We think that he should have made sure that the system was working properly and effectively when they originally installed it. They charged us to fix it, but they did come back to make the repairs. They added an intake vent to correct the improper air flow. We suffered for three years without realizing that it could be fixed. We had asked about the problem and had been told that we just needed to turn the heat up; I believe this was by our developer.

Description of Work
They originally installed our unit. They were contracted through our home builder. We had a maintenance contract with the originally. They said that they were instructed to just hook the unit up and to do nothing else when questioned why the system wasn't working effectively.

Category heating & air conditioning/hvac

3.0

08/24/2009


BLAKE S.

The short and sweet of it: a little half-azzed. - The seals at the duct joints were all very leaky. We had to retape nearly every duct joint. The leaky joints were causing heated air to be wasted into out attic eaves instead of getting routed to our living spaces. - There are 2 wires on the furnace which turn the AC compressor on during the summer. Dove connected the wrong wires to the terminal so the AC compressor never turned on. I would’ve had them come out and fix it but I didn’t feel like spending a sweaty weekend waiting for them so I fixed the wiring myself. Plus, if they can’t connect red to red and white to white, I wouldn’t really trust them to do anything in my house. - We wanted 2 ornamental metal register covers installed in 2 new vents they created. Instead of installing register boots and then mounting the vent covers to the boots properly, they ruined the ornamental covers by drilling holes through them and bolting them directly to the duct. If they didn’t have the proper framework to install the vent boots and covers, I wish they would have told me rather than ruin our metal register covers. We had to replace them and do the work properly ourselves. - In all fairness, there were 2 or 3 young guys working with Dave. Maybe it's just these young guys that are less skilled and do poor work. In any case, they won’t be working at my house again.

Description of Work
Dove installed a new furnace in a new location. This required a bit of duct rerouting. The furnace worked well but...

Category heating & air conditioning/hvac

5.0

10/27/2008


DAVID C.

I have been very happy with Dove and will continue to use them. I was upset at the time that no one checked the messages but Dave made up for it by his professional manner and service.

Description of Work
During the summer, our air conditioning went out. We called Dove- but no-one checked the voicemail messages and so we did not get a call back till after the holiday weekend. Dave-the owner-was most apologetic as he had been away for the weekend-normally someone checks the voicemail daily, but someone had forgotten to do so. He came straight away to replace the fuse, did not charge me and furthermore, gave me his personal cell phone number so I could call directly if there was ever another problem.

Category heating & air conditioning/hvac

    Other local Pros in your area

    Cosmos Heating & Cooling Co

    Cosmos Heating & Cooling, a family owned business and now Best Selling author on Amazon of the following self-help book: Insider Secrets Of The HVAC Experts. They have been servicing the Northern Virginia area since it was founded in 1986 by Constantis “Gus” Christofi. The one man operation thrived through unending dedication, commitment to quality, and honest hard work. For the past 7 years, with his son George at his side, the family-owned heritage continues to afford its customers with unmatched service, excellence and skilled quality work. We Are Licensed & Insured and Service All Unit Brands. Additional contact name - George Christofi. Award winning.  

    Angi Certified

    Dwyer Plumbing, Heating & Air

    Dwyer Plumbing has been serving Northern Virginia since 1922. We've served our clients for nearly 100 years, and have earned the Angie's List Super Service Award 9 times! Our customers have chosen us because of our quality, prompt service with convenient scheduling; our friendly, knowledgeable technicians; our fair, up-front pricing; and our warrantied work. Family owned & operated.**Dwyer does provide free estimates on certain replacement equipment, e.g., HVAC systems–just not on problems that requires our technician to confirm the diagnosis.  

    Angi Certified

    Indoor Air Quality Medics

    We are a total home comfort services company that can handle everything from heating and air conditioning to duct cleaning and insulation. Our healthy home comfort specialists have the knowledge and skills to provide thorough service for every inspection, repair, or replacement of your home's heating, air conditioning, water heating, and indoor air quality systems. We pride ourselves in building a relationship with you, as the difference between a good company and an excellent company is the SERVICE provided, including long after the first call. With over 20 years experience and workmanship that is second to none, we are confident that we will keep your home comfortable and the air you breathe clean at all times!  

    Angi Certified

    2022 Super Service Award

    Offers by Indoor Air Quality Medics on Angi
    Insured
    All statements concerning insurance, licenses, and bonds are informational only, and are self-reported. Since insurance, licenses and bonds can expire and can be cancelled, homeowners should always check such information for themselves.To find more licensing information for your state, visit our Find Licensing Requirements page.
    General Information
    Free Estimates
    Yes
    Eco-Friendly Accreditations
    No
    Payment Options
    Check
    Senior Discount
    NO
    Warranties
    Ask for details

    Services Offered

    HEATING & AIR CONDITIONING, WATER HEATERS, ELECTRONIC AIR CLEANERS, HUMIDIFIERS.

    Services Not Offered

    Ask for details

    Frequently Asked Questions & Answers about DOVE HEATING & AIR CONDITIONING INC

    How is DOVE HEATING & AIR CONDITIONING INC overall rated?

    DOVE HEATING & AIR CONDITIONING INC is currently rated 4.9 overall out of 5.

    What days are DOVE HEATING & AIR CONDITIONING INC open?

    DOVE HEATING & AIR CONDITIONING INC is open:

    Monday: 9:00 AM - 4:00 PM

    Tuesday: 9:00 AM - 4:00 PM

    What payment options does DOVE HEATING & AIR CONDITIONING INC provide

    DOVE HEATING & AIR CONDITIONING INC accepts the following forms of payment: Check

    Does DOVE HEATING & AIR CONDITIONING INC offer free estimates?

    Yes, DOVE HEATING & AIR CONDITIONING INC offers free project estimates.

    Does DOVE HEATING & AIR CONDITIONING INC offer eco-friendly accreditations?

    No, DOVE HEATING & AIR CONDITIONING INC does not offer eco-friendly accreditations.

    Does DOVE HEATING & AIR CONDITIONING INC offer a senior discount?

    No, DOVE HEATING & AIR CONDITIONING INC does not offer a senior discount.

    Are warranties offered by DOVE HEATING & AIR CONDITIONING INC?

    No, DOVE HEATING & AIR CONDITIONING INC does not offer warranties.

    What services does DOVE HEATING & AIR CONDITIONING INC offer?

    DOVE HEATING & AIR CONDITIONING INC offers the following services: HEATING & AIR CONDITIONING, WATER HEATERS, ELECTRONIC AIR CLEANERS, HUMIDIFIERS.