Find top-rated Pros in your area

Enter a zip code and get matched to businesses near you.

Better Termite & Pest Control

Founded 1968 • With Angi since August 2005

4.9

(95) Verified Reviews

Business Details

Phone Number

Address

2647 Duke St

Alexandria, VA 22314

Description

PLEASE CONTACT US BY PHONE, WE DO NOT CHECK ANGIE'S LIST EMAILS,thanks for understanding. We are a close-knit, family owned business dedicated to protecting our customers' homes and properties from insects and the damage they cause. More than that, however, since 1968, the focus of Better Termite & Pest is devoted to making our company the best it can be in terms of satisfying the needs of our friends and neighbors. We are not distracted nor bound by corporate mandates. We're flexible and responsive to your pest control needs. Serving Northern VA for over 46 Years. Additional contact name - Susan Schulz....

Verified Reviews

A few reviews for this pro...
5.0

12/13/2018


steven H.

Outstanding - Juan was punctual, professional, and well informed. His background and knowledge is perfect. well done Better Termite & Pest Control

Description of Work
termite prevention inspection

Category pest control

5.0

06/25/2018


Gary T.

The technician looked at our house and listened to my description of the relatively minor problem we had. I was wondering about doing some preventative work to prepare the house for renters, but he advised that the sort of things I had in mind would probably not have much of an impact, particularly given the cost. I was so surprised to have someone give an honest opinion, which probably cost them a fair amount of money, that I told several neighbors about the experience, all of them will hopefully call them for their own pest issues. Knowing that they will advise what is best for the problem, rather than what will make them the most money, I will certainly use them if I have any pest problems in the future.

Description of Work
Check for hornets and mice

Category pest control

5.0

04/12/2018


Annette T.

nothing wrong with company, they do not service DC area apparently.

Description of Work
termite damage

Category pest control

5.0

07/14/2017


Angela M.

I used Better Termite. We were very, very happy with the. They were very good.

Description of Work
Pest control

Category pest control

5.0

03/24/2017


Debra A W.

I felt that they responded quickly to calls and that the technician was very professional and knowledgeable. He took the time to answer any questions I had. We had a contract with them 2 years ago and went back to them because we felt that they were effective.

Description of Work
They sprayed for roaches, interior and exterior. $300 was for 3 treatments.

Category pest control

1.0

07/15/2016


Steve E.

Very disappointed. We spotted a rat in our basement and called Better Termite and Pest Control the next morning. They scheduled an appointment for the afternoon. The work order was to "give estimate and treat same day". We assumed that meant they would lay out traps, poison, etc to take care of the rat. Unfortunately that's not what happened. Instead they tried to up-sell us a "rodent control service for $650 yearly, $200 initial, $90 per service". We didn't want to spend upwards of a thousand dollars to take care of a rat so we declined. They laid no traps or poison or anything at all. Later that day I went to the hardware store and spent $25 on traps and poison.

Description of Work
Nothing. We asked them to take care of a rat. They offered a $1000/year service.

Category pest control

5.0

01/01/2016


Daniel M.

Again, it's been a while, but generally the guy who came to our house did a good job. He seemed knowledgeable, professional and efficient. Thankfully we found we didn't have termites. He treated our property with something that would deter termites and gave us tips on the best way to spread mulch. Our mulch beds were too close to the house., he said. On the whole, it was a good experience and I'd use them again. I don't remember thinking it was expensive although, as I already wrote, I can't remember the cost.

Description of Work
I can't recall exactly what we paid. Number I'm giving is a guess. I am writing this review several months after our visit. The provider inspected our property for termites after our next-door neighbors found them at their house. He treated our property's exterior with something that would prevent termites.

Category pest control

5.0

06/26/2015


Ronald L.

It was easy to schedule for next day service and the Angie's discount was welcomed. They followed up to be sure no ongoing problems.

Description of Work
Insect control, primarily an invasion of carpenter ants.

Category pest control

5.0

05/12/2015


Grace R.

Representative came and inspected my two sheds and house. Person was very nice even covers on shoes so he did not get my carpet dirty. Wrote up contract and I will pleased with the cost. Workers came to my to perform the work. Very polite and professional. Went right to work and had work done in good time. I would recommend this company to anyone.

Description of Work
Had termite protection for my house and two sheds after termites were discovered in my one shed

Category pest control

Service Provider Response

Thank you for taking the time to review Better Termite. We appreciate all feedback and are thrilled to hear that your experience was worthy of a straight A review. We will make sure to pass your comments on to your technician. Warm Regards, Kathleen Holroyd Commercial Account Manager
5.0

04/06/2015


DAVID L.

We were having some basement work done and our contractor discovered some termite damage that needed immediate attention before construction could continue. We searched Angie's List and found Better Termite & Pest Control. I called them on a Thursday and they came on Friday to give an estimate. The crew showed up as planned on Monday morning and by Monday afternoon, the construction project was back on track. The crew was courteous, quick, and efficient. We'd definitely use them again!

Description of Work
Inside and outside termite treatment.

Category pest control

Service Provider Response

Thank you so much for your positive review. We are proud of our customer service record and are pleased that you were satisfied. Please let us know if we can help you in the future. Warm Regards, Kathleen Holroyd Commercial Account Manager
5.0

03/31/2015


Kimberly L.

The service was excellent. Mike did an excellent job. He was very knowledgeable and helpful. I highly recommend them. Thanks, Mike

Description of Work
Pest Control Treatment.

Category pest control

Service Provider Response

Thank you for the positive review. We work hard to exceed your expectations and we are so happy you will recommend us to others. Warm Regards, Kathleen Holroyd Commercial Account Manager
5.0

03/17/2015


David C.

Marcel, Juan, and Chad were all friendly and professional. Marcel and Juan were very knowledgeable and took time to explain all things termite as well as what to expect in reference to the treatment and its effectiveness. Juan and Chad were quick and efficient and left the house neat and clean. Overall a great experience.

Description of Work
Termite Treatment

Category pest control

Service Provider Response

We are pleased that you had such a great experience working with Better Termite. We are happy that our technicians took the time to explain what to expect. Please contact us for your future needs and again, thank you for taking the time to review our company. Warm Regards, Kathleen Holroyd Commercial Account Manager
5.0

01/03/2015


Marilyn M.

Very well. So far no more mice. Cost covers a quarterly service $62.50 for each one.

Description of Work
Blocked up areas inside and out where mice were getting into the house. Put bait boxes outside to kill any mice or rats. Sprayed some baseboards.

Category pest control

Service Provider Response

Dear [removed member name], Thank you for your positive review. Our goal is always to give outstanding service at a reasonable price. Thank you for the recommendation and we look forward to continuing service at your home. Warm Regards, Kathleen Holroyd Commercial Account Manager
5.0

10/17/2014


Miriam G.

It went well. I would call them back.

Description of Work
Sprayed the outside of the house.

Category pest control

Service Provider Response

[member name removed] Thank you for trusting Better Termite with your pest control needs and for taking the time to review our services. We are pleased with the positive review. Warm Regards, Kathleen Holroyd Commercial Account Manager
5.0

09/19/2014


Anna S.

Lawrence was early, professional, and fast. But most notable was the fact that I overpaid him by $60 in cash, and he personally called me to tell me how to get my cash back. So upstanding, gives me total faith and trust in this company. Use Better Termite!

Description of Work
Termite inspection for sale of home.

Category pest control

Service Provider Response

[member name removed] Thank you for taking the time to post a review. We are thrilled that you had such a great experience and witness first hand our loyal and honest technician. Thank you for your trust in our company. We look forward to continuing to help you with your pest control needs. Warm Regards, Kathleen Holroyd Commercial Account Manager
5.0

06/03/2014


David N.

Technician showed up right on time and took a quick look around my house. I showed him the insects I was finding around the house and determined that they were not termites. The technician provided me a quote for pest control. The service provider was responsive to my questions, punctual, and professional.

Description of Work
Checked to see if insects found in house were termites.

Category pest control

Service Provider Response

Thank you so much for your positive feedback. We strive to provide excellent service and hope you will continue to be pleased. Kathleen Holroyd Commercial Account Manager
5.0

01/17/2014


Joan C.

I am very satisfied with the service they are coming monthly and spaying, leaving traps and doing many things to keep any pest control problem a from our home. They will even be coming out and patching up small holes or spots for pests to come into our home.

Description of Work
We have a year long contract for them to come out monthly to help with our pest control issue, and keeping it away.

Category pest control

Service Provider Response

Thank you for the positive review and for trusting us with your annual service contract. We work hard to make certain you are 100% pleased with our work. Thanks again! Regards, Kathleen Holroyd Commercial Account Manager
5.0

01/05/2014


Alice C.

Eliminated ant problem I was having.

Description of Work
I used BETTER TERMITE AND PEST CONTROL.

Category pest control

Service Provider Response

Thank you for allowing us to complete the work for you and we appreciate the positive review. Regards, Kathleen Holroyd Commercial Account Manager
1.0

11/13/2013


Jennifer A.

I was very frustrated that I wasted my time trying to contacting this company.

Description of Work
Nothing! I tried to contact his provider repeatedly by email. After receiving two automated messages saying that I would be called within 24 hours, I still did not receive any service call.

Category pest control

Service Provider Response

Hello (member name removed), We’re sorry to hear you had a bad experience using our email system to schedule a service call. I am not sure how or why this happened. We looked through our system and couldn’t find a request from you. It has been our experience that the email service works fine, but we realize there will be times that there are technological challenges of which we are unaware. We would like to win your business in the future. Please feel free to contact us directly by phone to schedule an appointment. 703-683-2000. Again, we apologize for the inconvenience.
5.0

11/05/2013


James N.

All work is done on time. The staff is professional. Their work is very satisfactory.

Description of Work
Termite monitoring and periodic broad range pest control.

Category pest control

Service Provider Response

Thank you for the positive review. We look forward to working for you again in the future. Regards, Kathleen Holroyd Commercial Account Manager
2.0

10/17/2013


Lauren S.

I scheduled a consult with this company, and decided not to use them as a result. The man they sent over was crass and unprofessional, and have me absolutely no confidence in the company. That, combined with the fact that his quote was higher than anyone else's led me to turn him away.

Description of Work
Consult turned me off

Category pest control

Service Provider Response

Thank you for taking the time to send us feedback about your experience. We are disappointed that you have a negative opinion of our company. It is not often that we receive a negative of our technicians and apologize for your experience. Regards, Kathleen Holroyd Commercial Account Manager
5.0

08/24/2013


Patrick H.

I found a small group of termites living in the back yard near the house, and had a few people out to give me estimates. Better Termite & Pest Control gave me an estimate that was a bit higher for the initial treatment, but their warranty cost per year was a bit lower than most. Also, they were the only one who would use a newer product that was non-toxic to pretty much anything but termites (you can read about it on Dow's website). We have edible plants near the house, and our yard is always host to birds, squirrels, etc., so I thought it important to not risk poisoning them. We had to reschedule several times due to the weather, which they were very polite about. I'd rather reschedule several times than have the treatment spoiled by rain. They were generally able to accommodate my work schedule. The day they did the treatment everything went fine. They didn't seem to mind me lurking and watching them - not that I would have stopped if they had minded. They did a good job avoiding unnecessary damage to plants around the house. They did have to deal with a bees' nest under one of the stoops. One of the guys got stung, and I felt sorry for him, but I also felt sorry for the bees. The trending destroyed their nest, which meant doom for the individual bees. I would have asked them to skip that area, but that was very near to where the termites had been spotted in the yard. The drilling and patching of all of the stairs and stoops went fine and it's very difficult to see where the drilling took place. After they were all done they did an inspection of the basement to ensure none of the material had leaked in. The guy put on little paper booties to come into the house, which I guess was nice, if a bit unnecessary. I'm very satisfied with the work they did and found working with them to be easy and straightforward.

Description of Work
Treated around the exterior of the house for termites

Category pest control

Service Provider Response

Thank you for your positive review. We are pleased that you found working with us easy and straight forward. We work hard to make sure that the experience is just that. Thank you again for taking the time to send us your thorough review. Regards, Kathleen Holroyd Commercial Account Manager
5.0

08/22/2013


U&V J.

Getting an appointment was easy. They answered my call promptly and they got me on the schedule at a time that was convenient for me. The tech, Hubie, showed up on time as promised. He was professional, knowledgeable, and considerate enough to put on shoe covers before coming inside. I agreed to an annual service with bi-monthly treatments instead of a one-time treatment. I will have to wait to see how effective the treatment is but the customer service has thus far been good.

Description of Work
Annual pest control service.

Category pest control

Service Provider Response

Thank you for taking the time to send us a review of our visit. We are pleased that you found our service to be punctual and thorough. Thank you again and we look forward to serving you should you have any issues with pests in the future. Regards, Kathleen Holroyd Commercial Account Manager
1.0

08/16/2013


Andrew J.

The company took a voicemail and responded with an email confirmation for an introduction and estimate, and then ultimately never called back. Maybe that is a sign that business is very good.

Description of Work
The company took a voicemail and responded with an email confirmation for an introduction and estimate, and then ultimately never called back. Maybe that is a sign that business is very good.

Category pest control

Service Provider Response

Thank you for taking the time to send us feedback. I am not sure why a follow up call was not made and we apologize for the inconvenience. We would welcome the opportunity to win your business in the future. Please feel free to contact us directly at 703-683-2000 and we will work hard to exceed your expectations. Regards, Kathleen Holroyd Commercial Account Manager
5.0

08/07/2013


Rocco L.

They have always been responsive. They are very good with keeping us on schedule as far as annual inspections are concerned. The service guys are very good. They are always very prompt.

Description of Work
Better Termite & Pest Control does annual inspections for us. We have been using them since we originally built our home.

Category pest control

    Other local Pros in your area

    Celina Cleaning Services, LLC

    Good service  

    Green Pest Services

    Pest Control Done the Green Way Green Pest Services is committed to providing effective and environmentally conscious pest control services for our customers in Northern Virginia and the surrounding areas. We are constantly seeking to perfect our service by offering the latest in green pest control technologies and products.  

    Alexandria Pest Service

    Alexandria Pest Services, Inc. (APS) is a leading provider of pest management solutions throughout the metropolitan Washington, D. C. region. We service diverse customers located in Northern Virginia, Maryland, the District, and beyond, and specialize in helping government, commercial, and residential clients with a wide variety of pest control challenges. Notably, we focus on using best practices, innovative products, and unique treatment methods, which are customized to each client. As a result, APS is able to provide the safest and most efficient pest control solutions possible. Additionally, our highly trained team of technicians is well-known for delivering unparalleled service and consistently exceeding customer expectations.  

    Insured
    All statements concerning insurance, licenses, and bonds are informational only, and are self-reported. Since insurance, licenses and bonds can expire and can be cancelled, homeowners should always check such information for themselves.To find more licensing information for your state, visit our Find Licensing Requirements page.
    General Information
    Free Estimates
    Yes
    Eco-Friendly Accreditations
    Yes
    Payment Options
    Check, Visa, MasterCard
    Senior Discount
    No
    Warranties
    Yes

    Services Offered

    Pest, rodent & termite control.

    Services Not Offered

    Ask for details

    Frequently Asked Questions & Answers about Better Termite & Pest Control

    How is Better Termite & Pest Control overall rated?

    Better Termite & Pest Control is currently rated 4.9 overall out of 5.

    What payment options does Better Termite & Pest Control provide

    Better Termite & Pest Control accepts the following forms of payment: Check, Visa, MasterCard

    Does Better Termite & Pest Control offer free estimates?

    Yes, Better Termite & Pest Control offers free project estimates.

    Does Better Termite & Pest Control offer eco-friendly accreditations?

    Yes, Better Termite & Pest Control offers eco-friendly accreditations.

    Does Better Termite & Pest Control offer a senior discount?

    No, Better Termite & Pest Control does not offer a senior discount.

    Are warranties offered by Better Termite & Pest Control?

    Yes, Better Termite & Pest Control offers warranties.

    What services does Better Termite & Pest Control offer?

    Better Termite & Pest Control offers the following services: Pest, rodent & termite control.