Find top-rated Pros in your area

Enter a zip code and get matched to businesses near you.

A & Jads Upholstery Furniture Repair & Refinishing

Founded 1951 • With Angi since June 2011

4.8

(25) Verified Reviews

Business Details

Phone Number

Address

2756 Duke St

Alexandria, VA 22314

Description

***Please call the office at (703) 751-0977, we need to see the item before we can price it. We cannot give quotes over messages, please call so we can assist you further.*** Family operated. Showroom & workshop. Because of the nature of the furniture business, many businesses cannot give prices

Verified Reviews

A few reviews for this pro...
5.0

03/29/2022


Leslie W.

They did a fantastic job, both repairing one couch and on reupholstering our second. Jad pointed out all of the places on our loveseat that could be improved, like fixing the stuffing in the arms of the chair, even though I’d only initially asked for it to be reupholstered. He didn’t charge me to redo the throw pillows, and in all did a great job. I cannot recommend this business highly enough, and look forward to using them in the future.

Description of Work
Fixed a torn couch, and reupholstered a loveseat.

Category furniture repair, upholstery

5.0

08/18/2021


Sarah N.

I had a scheduled time to bring my chair for a quote. It was nice to have the scheduled time that was just for me and my project. Jad was very upfront and fully honest with me and my project and the cost. He took the time to show what me what supplies he would use! It was amazing to have a person who was willing to take the time and care for my project. It was very helpful and insightful for what was needed. Everyone who works here is very well knowledgeable and helpful. It is worth the time to be in person with this wonder man, family, associates, and business. My future furniture projects, repairs, and anything he offers I will always choose to come to A & Jad! Hands down best service and quality you can get.

Description of Work
I needed a honest quote of a repair job for an arm chair.

Category furniture repair, upholstery, antiques

5.0

11/23/2020


Joann N.

excellent job we are so pleased and great family and staff to work with. I would highly recommend!

Description of Work
reupholstered and rattan repair

Category furniture repair

5.0

02/15/2020


Will F.

Jad is an old-school craftsman, increasingly hard to find these days. If you need a quick fix, look elsewhere. If you need it done right and are willing to wait for quality work, Jad is the man.

Description of Work
Repair springs on sofa, loveseat

Category furniture repair

5.0

04/24/2017


John E.

It looks better than it did when we bought it. They also helped realign the hinges when they realized they were a little messed up. They are very nice people who know their business. Would strongly recommend to anyone in need of furniture repair.

Description of Work
We had a table refinished after our dogs scratched it up.

Category furniture repair

5.0

10/17/2016


Nathan P.

He was quick. And the work was excellent.

Description of Work
Repair a set of antique furniture.

Category furniture repair, woodworking

5.0

04/22/2016


George B.

Description of Work
Repaired two pieces of furniture and one oriental rug

Category furniture repair

5.0

03/23/2016


Cathy C.

They were great to work with ! It's such a pleasure to work with friendly, hard working people.

Description of Work
Recovered 4 chairs.

Category furniture repair, upholstery

1.0

02/10/2016


David D.

I had a terrible experience with this company. I wanted to get some scratches repaired on an old piece of furniture. I brought the piece to this shop for an in-person price quote. First, the owner accused me of lying about how the piece got damaged. Then, he advised me to just push it up against a wall in order to hide the damage. When I told him that I wanted to take my business elsewhere, our conversation devolved into him shouting at me and accusing me of being cheap. I was absolutely shocked by his behavior and I will never go this business again.

Description of Work
I asked this businessman for a verbal, in-person quote about repairing a piece of furniture.

Category furniture repair, upholstery cleaning

Service Provider Response

In response to this review, I Jad, the owner looked at the a pine disposable bookshelf made out of plywood. The bookshelf on the back was falling apart and had scratches on back. The gentleman that brought the item in for me to look at made it sound like it was damaged and it was a claim. I let him know that it looked like animal scratches that damaged the piece. I was only trying to understand how it was damaged. I asked him if this bookshelf was a divider in center of room or if it was against a wall to see how important it is to replace or refinish. He made it very confusing and vague. in 56 years, I never was asked to refinish or touchup back of pine bookshelf. In my opinion, it will not be feasible to take the time to try to repair stain and refinish back of a plywood. It is not worth value of stain. I only advised him to save him money. Apparently being honest about the work on bookshelf was not to his standards. I do apologize because we got off on the wrong foot. Please understand, the gentleman only showed me back of bookshelf. this was his only concern.
5.0

09/18/2015


Dana B.

This was such a great experience. After the passing of my in-laws we became the owner of 2 camel saddles that my father-in-law purchased in Egypt in 1965. They were really cool and we used them as ottomans and seats but the leather on the seats was in terrible condition, the wood was very dull and the leather straps were broken and falling off the saddle. Jad looked at them and gave us an estimate. Jad and his wife were so friendly and helpful while we were choosing the fabric to cover the seats. We picked them up 3 weeks later and they look fantastic. They had to reconstruct the seats and tie off the loose leather straps. This was a great experience because we got great work done but also because we met a wonderful family who is very dedicated to each job they do. In the future, I will choose them for any furniture restoration job.

Description of Work
Refinish and recover 2 65 year old camel saddles

Category furniture repair

5.0

05/28/2015


Ellen M.

Category furniture repair

5.0

02/11/2015


Judith B.

Description of Work
Jad rescued a 1930s chaise lounge from flat, sprung, age-mustiness, took it down to bare frame, and turned it into the fine piece now gracing my living room. You know, the one everyone says 'ooh!' and immediately flops down on. | |It started with a phone conversation with him without any previous interaction or introduction. Have to tell you, Jad is my kind of 'real' person. There's no BS, and he'll state what's of concern right out there. No mincing around, no sucking up to a potential customer. I learned a long, long time ago that the best folks to deal with are the ones who are simply themselves. Who will say what they mean. And do what they say. In this case, his fine, fun wife (who has a great sense of color and what will work for fabrics), and Jad really did just that: explain, offer insight, suggest ways to lower costs, and be the kind of artisans the world could use more of anymore. AND...he and crew finished up the job much earlier than projected! Bonus! | |So, although I don't write these kinds of things, I thought I'd pass on a thumbs-up for them. If you're a fussy, grumpy, don't-want-to-hear-it sort of customer, then I advise you to find a business which supports kissing up. Me? I'll take the kind of quality work which supports my, uh,...real life. ;) And in the real way: care, knowledge, and quality craftsmanship. Next time I have an item which needs some of that, well, maybe we'll bump into one another over at A & Jads.

Category furniture repair, woodworking

5.0

11/18/2014


john B.

Jad was able to repair the damaged wood, and restore the appearance of the two tables. He did it for the promised price within the promised time period.

Description of Work
Jad repaired two small antique tables that were damaged by movers.

Category furniture repair

5.0

09/26/2014


William H.

Great!

Description of Work
Designed and constructed a back pillow and head rest for a rocking chair.

Category furniture repair

5.0

06/10/2014


Deborah A.

Jad will give an honest opinion on whether a job is worth doing or not. To have my table and chairs both stripped and refinished would have cost more than I originally paid for the table and chairs. I decided to just have them stripped and do the refinishing myself because the table and chairs are a very good, sturdy construction, much better than a lot of the furniture you see in stores today. He spent a lot of time showing me how to sand the furniture, what materials to use and how to clean it. I'm happy with the results and have sanded the chairs. My next step is to stain them.

Description of Work
Three years ago I made the mistake of having someone who didn't know what they were doing put a stain and polyurethane mix on a dining room table and chairs. Naturally it turned out horrible. Jad stripped (removed the stain) on 4 chairs and is currently doing the dining room table. He found that they had not removed the original wipe on poly under the stain/poly combination which made it a more difficult job.

Category furniture repair

5.0

05/31/2014


Anne M.

We have more carpets that we will be taking there. We were looking for a shop where we could take the carpets and pick up rather than home service. Easy location and nice people.

Description of Work
Had a tribal sumaq rug from Azerbaijan that needed cleaning. Great job in less time than predicted. This carpet had been "washed" for us in country and we already knew it could bleed. It's in great condition. All traces of the dog, spots and hair, are gone.

Category upholstery cleaning

1.0

05/30/2014


Patricia P.

Had took forever to strip and refinish a vintage table that was my Mom's. He started at one price and when we were done it was 200.00 more - Not happy about the time nor the price increase - the table was half stripped when he got it and had I been smart I would have never taken it to him in the first place and done it myself!!!! +800.00 - totally not worth the time and money recently took an expensive oriental rug to him for cleaning - he said he could do a better job than Hadeed and that he fixed rugs better than Hadeed could ever do. the rug did have dog stains on it and some moth holes - in his attempt to eliminate the stains he literally bleached the rug and made it turn pink where he used the bleach - the pattern is bleached out in places and as far as I'm concerned the rug is a total loss. I was so upset he offered me a refund which I initially refused, but now have asked for - he won't give a refund stating he did the best he could what a joke - went back on his word to refund money as far as I'm concerned. He took forever to get the rug back - months - and I'm truly sorry I took it to him - Never again I'm not giving this company a bad review because he didn't give me a refund - I'm simply stating the facts - they charge too much - they take forever - and they do a crummy job.

Description of Work
A&Jad's has refinished a table and he last time I used them was to clean rugs.

Category upholstery cleaning

Service Provider Response

In response to the table in question: The table had red dye (pigments) left over from paint that the customer left behind after being half stripped by customer. That is why there was an unknown fee that was unpredictable. The customer was explained step by step process and to prove my point, customer had to come by shop to pick out stain that would work with wood . Customer was happy and brought us more work after job completed. In response to rug: The rug was brought in damaged. The rug had moth damage along with yellow urine stain damage throughout the rug. It had a lot of discoloration. I have nothing to hide, if any one would like to see the invoice #3195, I would be glad to show you the signed invoice of the description of the damaged rug when brought in to the shop. I cleaned the rug several times to try to eliminate the odor. After the cleaning was done, it brought out the color of the urine stain like a neon yellow stain over ivory color. The colors on the rug did look brighter. I’ve explained to customer not to spend more than it’s worth to recover rug. I’ve also explained that there is no value in shearing the rug and weaving the yellow moth eaten pile. Other companies will sell the customer the whole package deal worth thousands and never tell the truth. I’ve tried to eliminate the strong yellow color that dominated the appearance of a damaged rug at a minimal cost. I can only do so much to a damaged rug. There is no guarantee. I even went around and colored the damaged flower design on rug where needed. All of this was done in good faith at a minimum cost to help with the appearance of rug. Keep in mind, that the customer also brought in another rug for cleaning saturated with urine and had no problems with it when picked up. After cleaning of rug was completed, Customer came to shop with husband to inspect and pay and pick up rug. The husband did not say hello or thank you or respond. He was very disrespectful. Customer inspected rug and said it looked better than it was and signed invoice. I rolled up the rug and padding and helped put it in car. A couple of hours later, customer called and said I would like to return pad (even though no return on special order items) and re write check. I said ok and did not argue even though she made her own rules. I feel she has been influenced by her husband and took it out on us. I offered to send some money back, she said if I did, she will not accept it. The next day, customer changed mind again and wants money returned. I feel the money she gave me with the return of pad was fair enough to try to attempt recovery on a damaged rug. This customer was out of character. To me, this customer has always been a good customer and one of my favorite. I believe there is more to this story than the customer wants to tell me. The table was done years ago why would the customer bring more work?
5.0

05/06/2014


Stephanie S.

INCREDIBLY WELL! They took such care and time with this sad rug. They hand washed it, scrubbed it, dried it...The rug has NEVER looked this GOOD! I am so grateful to them. It was nice to walk into a workshop where real craftsmen work with expertise and care. I have two more rugs to be repaired - I can't wait! Oh - my husband has been marveling at his beloved rug. The colors are more vibrant than he's ever seen them...in 40 years!

Description of Work
I have an Oriental rug that has been in my husband's family for 50 years...his family had MANY pets. This rug was in bad shape - dirty, dirty, and SMELLY. A & Jad's cleaned the rug up.

Category oriental rug cleaning

5.0

03/17/2014


Linda E.

I had an old wooden medicine cabinet that had been in my family for probably over 50 years. It needed some TLC and the broken mirror replaced. A&Jads installed a new mirror, cleaned the wood, filled with putty where needed, added sealer and a finish, where needed, and touched up the color where needed. He was very courteous and took pride in his work.

Description of Work
Repaired an antique medicine cabinet

Category furniture repair, woodworking, antiques, cabinet refacing

4.0

10/01/2013


Frank K.

Excellent job, attention to detail, but don't be in a hurry -- quality cannot be rushed.

Description of Work
Refinished & reupholstered 6 dining chairs

Category furniture repair, upholstery

5.0

09/08/2013


Jan M.

Jad did all that he promised and had the chair ready within the three days. He is a bit of a character, who likes to talk about himself and his work. Customers should be prepared to spend some time "smoozing." We will certainly be back, and in fact have a "pie-crust" table that needs some restoration and refinishing.

Description of Work
Jad fixed a broken chair seat, one of a set of four that had been upholstered by another firm. In our presence, he carefully removed the under-lining, to expose the cracked plywood seat. He said he could replace the seat, and install a firmer padding than the cotton that was currently there. He quoted labor and materials cost at $110, which seemed reasonable; and said the chair would be ready in three days.

Category furniture repair

5.0

04/28/2013


Javier L.

Jad and his team know what they're doing. The cost is a consideration but it is worthwhile. I feel I have better chairs than anything I could purchase new. I'm grateful we found them through Angie's list. I feel we have competent and kind people we can rely on for all of our furniture repair needs.

Description of Work
I had two wing back chairs reupholstered. This included new fabric, cushioning, and structural work.

Category furniture repair, upholstery

5.0

03/21/2013


Kris B.

Bought this chair in 1977! Injured my back and slept in the chair for almost two years. Last year the chair fell apart. (I use this chair EVERYDAY.) The company has gone out of business and I couldn't find a comparable chair that I could afford. Jad's had reupholstered this chair about 18 years ago and did a wonderful job, so I was happy to have him do it again in 2010. When it fell apart last year I called Jad. He came to my house so I would not have to move this monster again. I'm female and sixty. The chair is huge and heavy. He spent almost eight hours over two days repairing the chair. Custom manufacturing some of the components. The chair works like new. I'm hoping Jad will still be working when I need him to rebuild/reupholster this chair in another 15-20 yrs! Jads prices may seem on the high side, but his work is excellent and holds up. Remember, you do get what you pay for. Jad takes pride in and stands by his work. He is punctual, professional and has a wicked sense of humor. I HIGHLY recommend A & Jads. His wife is also sweet and funny and a great foil for him.

Description of Work
Had my 36 yr old recliner reupholstered and repaired. The frame split, the foot rest failed, the chair fell apart. Jad rebuilt it!

Category furniture repair, upholstery

5.0

02/03/2013


Star S.

I finally decided to have them redone and couldn't' be happier. I had driven by A&Jad's quite a few times as they are on my way to work but checked out a few other places online first but decided to go there. I dropped the chairs off and chatted with Jad and his wife for 30-40 minutes about options and what I wanted and they promised to try to have done before our family celebration about 20 days later. He delivered the chairs and they look beautiful, I wish I would have taken a before picture. It was more expensive then I had hoped but worth it. I will go to them for any future work I have done.

Description of Work
4 Chairs from a family table set had been sitting in storage for years because the caning had rotted and they needed work. They were structurally sounds but needed sanding and refinishing and cleaning up

Category furniture repair

5.0

09/05/2012


HOWARD P.

We needed to have a number of 35 year old dining room chairs re-caned as the bottoms or backs weakened and broke. Almost no one does actual caning anymore (labor is too expensive). The norm is to install pieces from pre-woven sheets. A & Jads removed and then replaced worn out seat bottoms or backs from a set of chairs over a number of years. They were careful about their work (no scratches on the wood frames), matched the pattern and dyed the new pieces to match the old ones. We took a much more complicated piece of furniture (a Mauritian "planters" chair) with a far different caning pattern to them for repair. The work was done on time and for the amount quoted with their usual good attention to details. Probably not the cheapest shop (and certainly not the most expensive) in the Washington area; reliable work, well done (some of the earlier repair jobs have now lasted a decade) and nice people to deal with. The only hesitation is that they do not pick-up/deliver furniture they are repairing.

Description of Work
Recaning of chair bottoms and backs.

Category furniture repair

    Other local Pros in your area

    Kingstowne Carpet & Upholstery Cleaning

    Kingstowne Carpet & Rug Cleaning is dedicated to providing the best possible rug cleaning in Alexandria, VA and surrounding areas. We specialize thorough, but gentle cleaning and we use solutions that are safe for kids and pets. We pick up, clean and deliver domestic and imported rugs, taking advantage of our fully-equipped rug cleaning plant! We also provide expert rug re-fringing and repair!  

    Oriental Rug Weavers

    Purchaser and Seller of New and Antique Rugs of the Highest Quality. Services offered: Insurance Appraisals, Cleaning (hand wash), Repair / Restoration, Re- Sizing, Re-Weaving, Re-Dyeing, Rug Pads (hypo allergenic) , Onsite Design Consultation and more.... We carry beautiful Handmade selection of exquisite Tribal and City Workshop pieces in all sizes. Spectacular Variety of beautiful Traditional and Modern / Contemporary Design Rugs. We Specialize in both New and Antique Rugs of the Highest Quality. Our rugs come from : Iran (Persian), Pakistan, Afghanistan, Kashmir, Turkey, Tibet, Central Asia (Caucasian), China & India. Affiliation : ASID Industry Partner (American Society of Interior Designers) Onsite Design Consultation is available on request to better help your decorative needs. Rug Padding : Sale & Installation of Top Quality Hypo-Allergenic Rug Pads for all type of surfaces i.e. Hardwood, Carpet, Tiles, Laminate.  

    Capital Cabinet Refacing

    At Capital Cabinet Refacing, we have provided expert kitchen and bath cabinet refacing services for over 30 years in Maryland, DC, and Virginia. Whether you need to reface the cabinets in your bathroom, kitchen, or any other room in your home, we have the skills and expertise necessary to make sure project is a complete success.  

    Offers by Capital Cabinet Refacing on Angi
    All statements concerning insurance, licenses, and bonds are informational only, and are self-reported. Since insurance, licenses and bonds can expire and can be cancelled, homeowners should always check such information for themselves.To find more licensing information for your state, visit our Find Licensing Requirements page.
    General Information
    Free Estimates
    No
    Eco-Friendly Accreditations
    No
    Payment Options
    Check
    Senior Discount
    5%
    Warranties
    No

    Services Offered

    Upholstery work. Furniture stripping & refinishing. Oriental rug cleaning & repair. Antique upholstered furniture.

    Services Not Offered

    Ask for details

    Frequently Asked Questions & Answers about A & Jads Upholstery Furniture Repair & Refinishing

    How is A & Jads Upholstery Furniture Repair & Refinishing overall rated?

    A & Jads Upholstery Furniture Repair & Refinishing is currently rated 4.8 overall out of 5.

    What days are A & Jads Upholstery Furniture Repair & Refinishing open?

    A & Jads Upholstery Furniture Repair & Refinishing is open:

    Monday: 8:30 AM - 4:00 PM

    Tuesday: 8:30 AM - 4:00 PM

    Wednesday: 8:30 AM - 4:00 PM

    Thursday: 8:30 AM - 4:00 PM

    Friday: 8:30 AM - 3:00 PM

    Saturday: 10:00 AM - 3:00 PM

    What payment options does A & Jads Upholstery Furniture Repair & Refinishing provide

    A & Jads Upholstery Furniture Repair & Refinishing accepts the following forms of payment: Check

    Does A & Jads Upholstery Furniture Repair & Refinishing offer free estimates?

    No, A & Jads Upholstery Furniture Repair & Refinishing does not offer free project estimates.

    Does A & Jads Upholstery Furniture Repair & Refinishing offer eco-friendly accreditations?

    No, A & Jads Upholstery Furniture Repair & Refinishing does not offer eco-friendly accreditations.

    Does A & Jads Upholstery Furniture Repair & Refinishing offer a senior discount?

    No, A & Jads Upholstery Furniture Repair & Refinishing does not offer a senior discount.

    Are warranties offered by A & Jads Upholstery Furniture Repair & Refinishing?

    No, A & Jads Upholstery Furniture Repair & Refinishing does not offer warranties.

    What services does A & Jads Upholstery Furniture Repair & Refinishing offer?

    A & Jads Upholstery Furniture Repair & Refinishing offers the following services: Upholstery work. Furniture stripping & refinishing. Oriental rug cleaning & repair. Antique upholstered furniture.