Angie's List is now Angi. Learn more

A-1 Garage Door

4.9

(434) Verified Reviews

Founded 2003 • With Angi since October 2011

Awards and Badges

Angi Super Service Award badge
Super Service
Award 2020

Business Highlights

Black Owned & OperatedBlack Owned & Operated
LGBTQ+ FriendlyLGBTQ+ Friendly
24/7 Service Offered24/7 Service Offered
Emergency Services OfferedEmergency Services Offered
Wears MaskWears Mask
Licensed
Trade License Number
2705149104
Trade License Locale
VA
Trade License Authority
Virgina
Trade License Expiration
11/30/2022
Bonded
Insured
All statements concerning insurance, licenses, and bonds are informational only, and are self-reported. Since insurance, licenses and bonds can expire and can be cancelled, homeowners should always check such information for themselves.To find more licensing information for your state, visit our Find Licensing Requirements page.

Hours

Sunday
5:30 AM - 11:59 PM
Monday
5:30 AM - 11:59 PM
Tuesday
5:30 AM - 11:59 PM
Wednesday
5:30 AM - 11:59 PM
Thursday
5:30 AM - 11:59 PM
Friday
5:30 AM - 11:59 PM
Saturday
5:30 AM - 11:59 PM

Company Contact

8050 Saint Julia Pl

Alexandria, VA 22309

COVID-19 Update
We are actively performing full services. We are taking additional precautions to protect our customers.

Health & Safety Measures

We complete exterior work only (No need to enter home)
We will wear masks and gloves when we visit your home
All statements concerning COVID‑19 business operations and essential services are informational only, and are self‑reported and not verified by Angi.
Garage doors

Garage doors

garage doors
These are all completed Garage doors that customers have been satisfied with.

Description

A1 garage door has been providing fast, friendly family services in your neighborhood for years. While maintaining our humble family ideals, our company has grown to service both commercial and residential markets with no job too small or large for us. A1 Garage Door is a full line garage door company operated by specially trained, certified and uniformed technicians. We specialize in providing quality garage door services such as sales, full installations and repairs. It is our aim to bring you the best customer service possible accompanied by very reasonable prices. We are located in Alexandria Virginia but we currently only provide services to Stafford, Woodbridge, Fredericksburg, Culpeper, Chantilly and Manassas and its neighboring Northern Virginian areas, Maryland & Washington DC. Additional phone - (571) 572-5420....

Verified Reviews

4.9

(434) Verified Reviews

Ratings Distribution

5

399

4

17

3

6

2

3

1

9

Rating Details

Price

4.8

Professionalism

4.9

Punctuality

4.9

Quality

4.9

Responsiveness

4.9

Read reviews by category

garage doors (434)
Showing 1-10 of 434 reviews
5.0

06/30/2021

Called at 5pm and was able to have someone come by that night. Replaced springs and lubricated the hinges very quick and charged $300. Great service tech. Would absolutely recommend.

Description of Work
Spring Replacement

Category garage doors

Cost $300

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 06/30/2021

5.0

06/11/2021

One of the best experiences with a vendor. Both Abby and Charley were professional and customer oriented. Charley listened carefully to the issues, provided a good explanation of options and fixed the issue. Highly recommended.

Description of Work
Fixed Garage Door

Category garage doors

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 06/11/2021

5.0

03/24/2021

I was pleasantly shocked at how quickly someone came to my home, diagnosed the problem, provided a range of options, and then get everything working that same day. Sometimes when you're in a bad situation, it's really great having someone able to help you just as you need.

Description of Work
Garage opener replacement

Category garage doors

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 03/24/2021

Service Provider Response

Thank you so much for your complement and we also looked forward to served you anytime Thank you once again Abby
5.0

02/24/2021

Abby and Charles are an amazing team, always friendly and courteous. They make you feel like family. We started using them years ago remotely from California for our rental house and now that we are back in DC, was able to meet Charles in person. Great guy and focuses immediately on the problem and doesn't leave until it's fixed. Even in cold weather, no complaints. No job is too small. Of course,...

Description of Work
Garage Door Tune-Up & Semi-Yearly Maintenance

Category garage doors

Cost $150

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 02/24/2021

5.0

09/27/2020

Very well and I like the new doors and their operation.

Description of Work
Replace two garage doors.

Category garage doors

Cost $1,440

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 09/27/2020

5.0

09/19/2020

A-1 did a great job. Estimator was really polite and informative, no mansplaining! Installer did a great job replacing my old wooden door with a new steel door. Arrived on time and was very neat in clean-up. Great company.

Description of Work
Install New Garage Door

Category garage doors

Cost $1,800

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 07/30/2020

Service Provider Response

Thank you so much for your compliments, and we looked forward to work with you anytime Thank you
5.0

01/05/2020

They gave me a fair price, made an appointment right away, arrived on time, didn’t try to “up sell” me, and did a professional job.

Description of Work
Replace seal at bottom of two garage doors and lubricate.

Category garage doors

Cost $240

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 01/05/2020

Service Provider Response

Thank you so much for your warm compliments [Member Name Removed]
5.0

11/04/2019

I had my rear garage door replaced on May 21, 2019 and it went great so I didn't hesitate to call Abby at A1 garage door again. On Oct 21, 2019 I told her I need to have Charles come by to let me know how much it would be to replaced my broken springs. She told me right away how much it would be and how much of a discount she would give me off because I was a returning customer. It was a fair pric...

Description of Work
Garage door springs replaced

Category garage doors

Cost $250

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 10/21/2019

Service Provider Response

Thank you so much for your complement, is my pleasure to help you anytime Abby
5.0

10/03/2019

Abby was absolutely amazing!! The customer service and care was impeccable! The install along with the options for purchase was explained and completed in a very professional manner. I cannot say enough about how grateful I am to this company for its outstanding service and exceptional quality of workmanship.

Description of Work
Required replacement garage door for Military Family.

Category garage doors

Cost $1,260

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 10/03/2019

Service Provider Response

Thank you so much for your warm complements , and I looked forward to serve you anytime Abby
5.0

10/03/2019

Everything went smoothly. I emailed my problem to them. We sat up an appointment, and Charles came on time and replaced the springs. I hired this company before to replaced the springs on my other door. They did a good job then at a fair price and the same this time.

Description of Work
I needed a set of garage door springs.

Category garage doors

Cost $150

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 10/02/2019

Service Provider Response

Thank you so much for your complement and you always welcome

Services Offered

residential door, garage door installation & repair.

Services Not Offered

Ask for details

General Information
Free Estimates
Yes
Eco-Friendly Accreditations
Yes
Payment Options
Visa, MasterCard, Discover, Check
Senior Discount
no
Emergency Service
Yes
Warranties
Yes