Find top-rated Pros in your area

Enter a zip code and get matched to businesses near you.

Pinnacle Security LLC

Founded 2001 • With Angi since August 2007

2.8

(36) Verified Reviews

Business Details

Phone Number

Address

1290 Sandhill Rd

Orem, UT 84058

Description

Additional phones - (801) 437-1020, (801) 616-4388, (866) 437-9625, (888) 217-2550, (866) 722-9030. Additional emails - service@pinnaclesecurity.com, sdean@pinnaclesecurity.com, estatements@pinnaclesecurity.com. Additional DBAs - First Pinnacle Alarm, First Pinnacle Alarm Inc, Pinnacle Home Security System, Vigilon Inc. See website for additional service areas. Additional Website - www.pinnsec.com, www.joinpinnacle.com, www.pinnacleclear.com....

Verified Reviews

A few reviews for this pro...
4.0

02/02/2017


Patricia L.

It started with the name Pinnacle. It started going downhill maybe when somebody else bought it. My husband picked them. He had a cold call and then he went with it. I think we had another system at that time.

Description of Work
They provided home security system. I had a new panel box put in.

Category home security systems

4.0

04/10/2014


Christa L.

Their price has always been good. Their pendant is practical but it is so ugly. I wish it looked like jewelry. The alarm is not so loud. Their technicians are very unresponsive. The operators on the other hand are responsive and helpful. The medical alert is not loud enough. You cannot hear it upstairs in bedroom. They are not punctual.

Description of Work
I use Pinnacle Security LLC for alarm services. They put a sensor on the window which is supposed to react to the sound of breaking glass. They put alarms on the front, back and garage doors. They gave me a pendant to wear because I always fall down.

Category home security systems

3.0

10/16/2013


david M.

The alarm service itself is fine, if not the cheapest available. My only complaints are with the contract terms and the company's business policies related to its contracts. First, the company insists that you sign a five-year contract. In 2010, when I purchased my home, I offered to take over the remainder of the prior owner's contract so that I, as the current homeowner, would be the party obligated for the bill. One would think that this would be the preference of the company. When they sent me the contract, I had to argue with them at length that I had no intention of signing up for an additional five years but was only offering to take on liability for the remaining term of the prior owner's contract. They acted like I was an idiot for not wanting to lock in their rate for a longer period of time. Eventually I told them that I was sending them a contract for the remaining 2.5 years and that they could either keep it or throw it away and continue to bill my address under the prior owner's name. Second, the company's service contract automatically renews for AN ENTIRE YEAR if you do not provide notice in advance of the termination date and the contract requires that notice be provided in the form of a signed letter. The company holds you to this contractual term if you miss the notice deadline, requiring payment of the entire additional year. So bascially, they make every effort to rope you in to a longer contract term than you would really desire. I find the termination provisions to be very unfriendly to the customer. If you do purchase service from this company I would suggest providing them the notice of termination immediately after having the service connected to avoid forgetting to provide the notice and losing the ability to decide whether to extend service after the initial contract term.

Description of Work
Provided alarm service to the house for three years after purchase of house with existing alarm contract.

Category home security systems

2.0

06/01/2013


Kristen H.

* Constantly tried to up-sell and lock you into another long-term contract * When we replaced the front door (when we moved out and b/f we turned our house over for lease) and requested a new contact for the door it was never received despite multiple requests * As a result, the alarm could not be monitored * When we moved out and requested cancellation, it was never done and we continued to be billed for the services, it took multiple phone calls and formal written requests to cancel b/f it was finally cancelled (just today - after trying to cancel since March) * Company only shows evidence of last request to cancel (May) so we have been billed for March-June (~$200) and company will not refund fees collected after initial cancel request was made (March)

Description of Work
Installed & and provided security & fire alarm monitoring

Category home security systems

1.0

05/20/2013


Dena A.

promisedms made not kept....cheap product..

Description of Work
Put in a cheap system

Category home security systems

2.0

04/13/2013


Lynn N.

It's better to get someone local.

Description of Work
I have had this service siince 2009 and my contract ran out last summer. They say they are going out of this market. I found out just recently when I called to try to get my monthly fee lowered from $43.91 a month. They sold out some time ago to Devcon, but I've still been billed by Pinnacle. Whenever I needed any service, it was hard to schedule for them. They just didn't have enough service techs in the area. When they did come, their service was adequate, however. They are higher priced and don't offer as much protection as other companies in our area.. They said they were not negotiating contracts because they are not able to service the Minneapolis area adequately.

Category home security systems

2.0

02/14/2013


Sandra H.

Salesman made promises that the installer could not honor. Contract lasts forever, and there is a penalty for a cancellation (the balance of the contract.) Has caused problems with our telephone service and our internet. Long wait whenever you call. I would not use Pinnacle again.

Description of Work
alarm system installed

Category home security systems

1.0

01/31/2013


Elaine W.

Horrible experience. Wasted lots of my valuable time. Damaged my office.

Description of Work
High pressure!!! This subsidiary of larger company changed its name. The parent company is in legal trouble with federal governement for various infractions. Look it up. The reps are quite eager to slam other companies. They offer deals that go away if you don't have the alarm system put in immediately. Remember, any legitimate discount or special offer to get your business is good any day within reason. Unfortunately for me they put in alarm while I was away from office and mislead my employee who didn't know any better. They left a mess and damaged wall and doors.

Category home security systems

2.0

08/21/2012


Jim B.

The installation was extremely poor. My existing ADT system was used and "patched" so that Pinnacle could save money on parts and labor. The result was a signal converter box installed into my alarm system to convert the ADT system over to Pinnacle. This required that the tech install a second large power plug into a single outlet which already contained a large ADT power plug. Both plugs couldn't fit so they attempted as best they could and the result is an installation where everytime I shut my basement door (where the box is located) my power plugs fall out of the outlet and the wires pull out of the plug. This causes my alarm to go into battery mode which will last for 72 hours unless fixed. Not too reliable if this should happen while I'm away from home for a few days. I called Pinnacle to fix this problem and they wanted to charge me to install the actual Pinnacle sensors and equipment so that the coverter box would not be necessary and eliminate the second large power plug. After some haggling, they agreed to pay for the service call and the parts needed. My scheduled repair time was for a Thursday between 10 am and 1 pm. The installer never showed for the appointment and left a voicemail on my cell phone at 4:30 pm saying they had been delayed. I was already at work at this point so I called the installer on Friday morning as requested to reschedule and received a voicemail. I left a voicemail and never heard back. The following Tuesday morning I called Pinnacle to reschedule and was told that the installer reported that I was not at home at the time of the appointment! Rather than explain that they were late and couldn't make the appointment, they put this on me! Pinnacle couldn't schedule me until the following Tuesday, now ten days after my original missed appointment. When I explained this was unsatisfactory, they offered me two months of free service. That doesn't get my alarm working any sooner. I requested that they terminate my contract since they were unable to uphold their end. They stated that I would be responsible for the remainder of the contract, approximately $1400 and that if I refused to pay it would go to collections. So, now they have me over a barrel with my only options to either accept the wait for repair, refuse to pay my bill, or take the company to court to break the contract. Now I'm waiting for the repair on next Tuesday, maybe he'll show up this time. STAY AWAY. ADT is the better company.

Description of Work
Pinnacle Security arrived at my house and offered to install their home alarm system which was presented as an upgrade to my existing ADT system. Their rate of $45 per month for monitoring seemed reasonable considering the additional features their system provided such as accessing the alarm system from a smartphone and the internet.Installation was conducted by upgrading my existing ADT system, a fact which they did not share with me, since this saved them money and time.Since the time of installation, I have had approximately 9 months of monitoring service with the company.

Category home security systems

5.0

06/15/2012


WENDY L.

the crew knew what I want to do safe for my home.

Description of Work
I called the service and came over to see what I needed alarm for the house. The service is so good explaination for the informations.

Category home security systems

5.0

06/04/2012


Deborah T.

They were really good. They are patient and explained the equipment that I had purchased.

Description of Work
I got additional coverage for my windows.

Category home security systems

3.0

05/17/2012


Dee S.

I have had a negative experience with them. We initially signed up with them because of an engaging salesmen, who said that we could have our rates lowered after the first month if we called and said their competitors are offering a lower price; which they didn't budge on and now we are stuck paying more for this system. Also, their accessibility is not very good. We also have gotten emails that our battery is low, even though the service company says the battery is working fine.

Description of Work
We have Pinnacle Security provide our alarm system services.

Category home security systems

4.0

05/03/2012


stanislaus H.

They completed the task on time. I haven't had much trouble at all. I only had 1 service call with them.

Description of Work
They came to service my alarm system.

Category home security systems

1.0

05/01/2012


GERALD & DIANNE G.

I have a contract that I am getting out of. The contracts are too long and they are overpriced. I never had them come out for anything. I don't have anything good to say about them. Their sales methods are almost immoral.

Description of Work
I have been using them for 2 and a half years. They have windows, doors, and motion detectors.

Category home security systems

5.0

04/27/2012


Jason T.

I haven’t had to call them to stay on top of them this time around. I didn’t like the last one we had; we had a lot of issues with them. They have a little device that I can wear around my neck, while I am here at the house or around in the yard, that if I fall, injure myself, I can push it and they will send out an ambulance for me. The last time I used them was last year, when the alarm went off and they immediately called to find out what was wrong. It was a false alarm, thankfully. They were very professional about it. I felt great though because that way I knew it was still working. They charge monthly. I find it very nice that they do have the little emergency button that will go off if I need help and have no way of getting to the phone to call for it. That makes me a big recommender. Their price is about typical. The quality of service has been excellent and they are definitely responsive; they call within 30 seconds to a minute.

Description of Work
I use Pinnacle Security for alarm systems.

Category home security systems

5.0

04/18/2012


Pheakdey K.

I have used this service for five or six years. They have been responsive if we have had an alarm trigger. They will call right away and make sure everything was fine. When our contract was up, they came out and did a service upgrade and gave us extra alarm ports on our doors and windows to make sure that our house was secure.

Description of Work
They provide security services.

Category home security systems

5.0

04/13/2012


LINDA M.

They are very responsive for any questions if I have and with technical things. The prices are the same everywhere else. I was pleased when they came and installed it. They cleaned up after themselves. I had an issue and they worked with me to get through it.

Description of Work
I use Pinnacle Security for alarms.

Category home security systems

3.0

01/12/2012


Curtis H.

Door to door salesmen come to our door, with the system, I wanted to keep the system my wife wanted to cancel. So I think the guy came back an inflating air in my car tires, to use scary sales tactics. I've had neighbor's who's been vandalized. My neighbor's have almost broken into twice. All kinds of major stuff happen to my neighbor. We never had a problem in tell my wife wanted to cancel the alarm system. She wanted to cancel I didn't. The night. after she talked to is that dealer to cancel, I went out to go to work the next day and two of my tires on my car were inflated. So I knew what they were doing. they're a pretty good company, and I would use them again. Just salesman crazy tactics. They overall have good quality.

Description of Work
They installed a burglar alarm system for us in our home.

Category home security systems

2.0

09/09/2011


Cullen R.

Do not use pinnacle security. They ambush people at their doorstep for a reason. Do some research and you will find that other competitors offer much more for less or equal price. Call their 800 number and prepare to deal with an automated maze and LONG wait times. They also sold our monitoring service to monitronix without notifying us. When i called to update the system they told me i had to call some company (monitronix) that i had never heard of. I would rather eat the balance of the three year contract than live wondering whether our home is truly secure or not.

Description of Work
Installation of door sensors and motion sensors.

Category home security systems

1.0

08/11/2011


SHARI S.

They were supposed to put in a switch so that I could use my keyfab on. They never installed this and I have been waiting for two years. I finally had to cancel with them. I would stay away from them.

Description of Work
They were my security company.

Category home security systems

5.0

07/11/2011


MARK E S.

Originally talked to them at a home show. They came out and gave estimates as well as suggestions for the system. No pressure, just a good product. i did some shopping and came back to Pinnacle as the best value. System works as advertized. I eventually added a couple of additional sensors like for carbon monoxide. Would recommend them highly.

Description of Work
Had entire house set up for a security system.

Category home security systems

1.0

06/07/2011


Ruth M.

My experience with Pinnacle has been unbelievable, beyond horrible and I can't emphasize enough how strongly I would discourage anyone from doing business with them. Their high pressure sales tactics were like an ambush and their misconduct so egregious that I will be filling a complaint with the Texas State Attorney Gerneral's Office. They came to my door on a day I was not feeling well and had taken medication. I did not realize I was too compromised to be answering the door. (It is of note that they were all Mormons with experience as Mormon Missionaries and they were very skilled at being manipulative and deceptive all the while presenting themselves as clean cut, honest, moral people.) They offered me a free upgrade to my alarm system and I thought that after I signed the contract I would have the 3 days the law allows to think it over and cancel if necessary. Instead, before the ink was dry, a technician arrived to install their syste!. They beat me to the door and let him in and he started taking apart my existing alarm system! They were so agressive they did not even permit me to answer my own door when he arrived. It did not matter to them that it was after 6:00pm on a Saturday night and that I might have had other plans. I was too ill to be assertive and stop them and kick them out of my house. I did manage to make the technician leave at 10:00pm even though he had not finished. The next morning I was shocked to discover that the salesmen had stolen my 3 yard signs from my existing alarm company! They did not even have the simple courtesy to speak to me first. (When confronted, twice they said they would return them, but never did.) I also discovered that Pinnacle has an "F" with the BBB due to more than 1200 complaints and multiple government actions against them. I found buried in the contract that the salesmen HAD LIED about the monthly rate being locked in and I discovered that the company reserved the right to make equipment changes and charge me AT ANY TIME WITH NO NOTICE. By 24 hours I had a sick feeling about the whole thing and exercised my right to cancel by faxing in a cancellation. When I called customer service to confirm they had received my cancellation, they convinced me to let them complete the installation and try the system saying that I had three days AFTER installation in which to cancel. (It is noteworthy that ALL installation work was completed OUTSIDE OF NORMAL BUSINESS HOURS. i.e. after 6:00pm) During installation the technician made an inappropriate offer to install extra smoke detectors "as a friend". I chose not to find out what his definition of "friend" was. Also, he tried to sell me many accessories and changed the prices six times. Every time I hesitated or declined an item, he would alter the prices verbally, but never actually changed the prices on the paperwork he submitted. When I called custormer service to find out exactly how much they were planning to charge me, after 1 1/2 HOURS on the phone with them, they said they could not give me a specific total! The Pinnacle alarm system they installed never worked completely correctly and I quickly faxed in another cancellation before the initial 3 days expired. (It is notable that their fax number was malfunctioning and it took 3 hours to get the fax to go through.) Six days of misery after this all started, they have removed their equipment and all I have is wires hanging out of the wall. I am very fortunate that my existing alarm company is coming next week to re-intall my old system at no charge. (They indicated that Pinnacle has done this same thing to many of their customers.) After the Pinnacle technician who removed all Pinnacle's equipment had left, I called Pinnacle Customer Service requesting some form of email or written comfirmation that my account has been cancelled. They said they don't do that (!) and would only give me a confirmation number over the phone saying that should be sufficient. This refusal is very suspicious to me. What kind of legitimate business can't give a simple written confirmation? It appears that I was able to cancel before any of the charges were actually put through, but I am going to watch my accounts like a hawk. Please note: the $280.00 I listed above is an estimate of how much they were planning to charge me, but it is only an estimate because they never gave me a final total. After my cancellation was effective, they put through charges of more then $295.00, and never told me what the charges were for. It then took 3 weeks to get refunds, at which point I learned they were planning on charging me again. There were so many other things that went wrong or were done deceptively that my complaints could fill 2 pages. Another irregular occurrence was that one sales rep claimed that the other salesman who came to my door is a Vice President of the Company. What major national company sends a vice president out to do door-to-door sales? If he really was a VP, then that suggests the company condones these tactics completely because he was the leader of the pack. During this whole experience my stomach has been in knots and I have done a lot of crying. At first I felt too humiliated over the whole situation to tell anyone what was going on. It is my opinion that Pinnacle preys on anyone they can, especially anyone who is sick, elderly or disabled. When confronted about their tactics, one of the salesmen tried to tell me that most of their customers WANT them to install the new system immdiately . Clearly, they want people to feel locked in because they have disabled the previous system and claim the law won't allow them to put it back. When I did a Google search under "Pinnacle Security Scam" I found more listings than I could count of people complaining about this company and warning to stay away from them. Again, I can't emphasize enough how strongly I would discourage anyone from doing business with Pinnacle, LLC.

Description of Work
De-installation of existing alarm system in my home and installation of their system, followed by de-installation of their system.

Category home security systems

4.0

02/15/2011


CARLA J.

It was a free estimate. I met the person at a home show and it was the same person who came out. He gave me several different options because apparently I had a more security points than they would normally offer. I liked that about him. The quote that he gave me was very similar to what I am paying now, so that really wasn?t going to save me much money.

Description of Work
Pinnacle Security gave me a quote to replace my security system last week.

Category home security systems

1.0

02/08/2011


JOHN, LYNETTE P.

They are an alarm company. I have spent a lot of money for their services. They are crooks and I would tell people not to use them. They are scammers. They practically bust your door down and get in. They will gang up with two to three people. The next thing you know is that you are tied in with a four to five year contract after they tell you that it is a 15 month contract. They will start installing the alarm system like the door alarms and everything without you even giving them permission. After they are done, they present you with a bill for a few hundred dollars. I am right now in a legal battle with them trying to break their contract. As a matter of fact, we have gone without an alarm service much more than we had one since it was constantly malfunctioning. We don?t feel safe with them and they came out on December 28th to repair the alarm. They did it for free this time because I was angry and they were trying to please me. They have charged me $25 whenever they came out to repair, but they didn?t charge me anything this time. They fixed the door sensor on the garage on December 28th, but it broke again by January 2nd. So we have been without an alarm since then. We had an alarm for four days and it broke again. They are rip-offs. They are off the chart when it comes to their professionalism. I would definitely not use their services again and I would warn others from using them.

Description of Work
Pinnacle Security installed an alarm system for us in July of 2008. Our last interaction with them was in December of 2010.

Category home security systems

1.0

01/22/2011


RICHARD C.

I looked up Pinnacle Security LLC on the BBB website of Orem UT and found they have a F rating. According to the Orem UT BBB this company has had over 1200 complaints. Here's the link to the BBB http://www.bbb.org/utah/business-reviews/burglar-alarm-systems-dealers-monitoring-and-service/pinnacle-security-in-orem-ut-11000

Description of Work
This company is offering "free alarm systems" in the Denver area if you commit to a 42 month monitoring contract.

Category home security systems

    Other local Pros in your area

    SOVEREIGN WEALTH MANAGEMENT

    We offer our services NATIONWIDE. Our passion is partnering with our clients to crystallize their financial goals, design a strategy to achieve those goals and execute the plan to its completion. You know it’s not enough to just make a plan, even the most well designed strategies can fail if not executed properly and then monitored for progress and suitability. This is why we consistently monitor the progress of your plan and make changes as new developments come to light with your changing goals. Whether we are helping a young family set the path to achieve their ideal lifestyle and first home; assisting a newly widowed client in navigating and structuring his/or her retirement plan and new life; or advising a professional couple on structuring the sale of their business and transitioning into retirement, we are consistently behind the scenes working to get you there and keep you there: on track. Our Core Competencies include: Financial Planning, Wealth Management, Risk Management, Estate Planning and Multi-Generational Asset Transfer Planning, Managing Executive Deferred Comp Assets. We use the latest and the most sophisticated tools to produce accurate and realistic analyses. We pride ourselves on our independence and ability to work with the leading experts in all fields of wealth management, accounting and estate planning to design a comprehensive and robust strategy to achieve our clients’ goals. Sovereign is affiliated with Spire Investment Partners. Spire Investment Partners is the Parent Company of Spire Wealth Management, LLC an SEC RIA, and Spire Securities LLC, a registered Broker/Dealer and Member of FINRA / SIPC.  

    Offers by SOVEREIGN WEALTH MANAGEMENT on Angi
    Upper Left Wealth Management

    I focus on people in or near retirement, who want to reduce risk and taxes. UpperLeft Wealth Management is here for anyone planning for and trying to figure out if they're on pace for retirement, or are looking for investment management, advice on social security, home mortgages, taxes in retirement, or other financial questions. Our data-driven processes and strategic planning mean we help you face the curveballs life can throw at you. I am a CFP® and fiduciary, and hold an M.B.A. in finance from Columbia Business School. My reputation is built on your trust. If you're ready to look at improving your odds of success, contact me at www.upperleftwealth.com.  

    ADT

    ADT home security systems are backed by more than 145 years of experience. As the leader in home security, ADT can help you customize a home security system with easy-to-use equipment and special security features to meet your safety needs. We have service centers nationwide that can install an ADT home security system within 24 hours in most areas. Once your home is equipped with our top-of-the-line system, it is connected to a network of ADT Monitoring Centers nationwide which deliver non-stop security monitoring 365 days a year. All of our installation technicians are internal employees, and not third-party contractors. You can count on your Security Advisor to take the time to set up your system properly, help you understand how the system works, and help make sure your home and family are thoroughly protected.  

    Angi Super Service Award badge
    Super Service
    Award 2021
    Offers by ADT on Angi

    Business Highlights

    Emergency Services OfferedEmergency Services Offered
    Financial Planning
    Bonded
    Insured
    All statements concerning insurance, licenses, and bonds are informational only, and are self-reported. Since insurance, licenses and bonds can expire and can be cancelled, homeowners should always check such information for themselves.To find more licensing information for your state, visit our Find Licensing Requirements page.
    General Information
    Free Estimates
    Yes
    Eco-Friendly Accreditations
    Yes
    Payment Options
    Check, Visa, MasterCard, American Express, Discover
    Senior Discount
    25%
    Emergency Service
    Yes
    Warranties
    Yes

    Services Offered

    Residential & commercial security system.

    Services Not Offered

    Ask for details

    Frequently Asked Questions & Answers about Pinnacle Security LLC

    How is Pinnacle Security LLC overall rated?

    Pinnacle Security LLC is currently rated 2.8 overall out of 5.

    What days are Pinnacle Security LLC open?

    Pinnacle Security LLC is open:

    Monday: 8:00 AM - 10:00 PM

    Tuesday: 8:00 AM - 10:00 PM

    Wednesday: 8:00 AM - 10:00 PM

    Thursday: 8:00 AM - 10:00 PM

    Friday: 8:00 AM - 10:00 PM

    Saturday: 9:00 AM - 10:00 PM

    What payment options does Pinnacle Security LLC provide

    Pinnacle Security LLC accepts the following forms of payment: Check, Visa, MasterCard, American Express, Discover

    Does Pinnacle Security LLC offer free estimates?

    Yes, Pinnacle Security LLC offers free project estimates.

    Does Pinnacle Security LLC offer eco-friendly accreditations?

    Yes, Pinnacle Security LLC offers eco-friendly accreditations.

    Does Pinnacle Security LLC offer a senior discount?

    No, Pinnacle Security LLC does not offer a senior discount.

    Does Pinnacle Security LLC offer emergency services?

    Yes, Pinnacle Security LLC offers emergency services.

    Are warranties offered by Pinnacle Security LLC?

    Yes, Pinnacle Security LLC offers warranties.

    What services does Pinnacle Security LLC offer?

    Pinnacle Security LLC offers the following services: Residential & commercial security system.