Angie's List is now Angi. Learn more

Find top-rated Pros in your area

Enter a zip code and get matched to businesses near you.

SPECIALTY RESTORATION OF TEXAS

Founded 1968 • With Angi since May 2010

3.1

(13) Verified Reviews

Business Highlights

Emergency Services OfferedEmergency Services Offered
Bonded
Insured
All statements concerning insurance, licenses, and bonds are informational only, and are self-reported. Since insurance, licenses and bonds can expire and can be cancelled, homeowners should always check such information for themselves.To find more licensing information for your state, visit our Find Licensing Requirements page.

Description

Our Company Specialty Restoration of Texas is a family-owned company that has built a reputation of "quality, service, and value" to its clients. The principles we founded our company on over 45 years ago still hold true today. Thus, over the years have produced a track record of many satisfied customers. These basic concepts are as follows: First of all, we always charge a fair price for the work we provide. Not too much, and not too little, just a fair price. Second, we will do business honestly. There will be no other way. We treat all of our clients the same way we would expect to be treated - openly, fairly and honestly. Third, we will deal with each client on an individual basis. We realize that each client has their own unique problems or goals and should not be put in a mold that just makes it easier on the contractor. Therefore we design a scope of work that can be adjusted to suit that individual client’s needs. Fourth, the materials and services we provide will be the best suited for the job and meet the expectations of our clients and the specifications and budget requirements of the project. The level of service and commitment that we provide to our clients sets us apart from our competitors. Every project is unique and our team approach ensures that your project receives the necessary level of attention....

Other local Pros in your area

Old Oak Environmental

 

Tactical Drying

We are water extraction, mitigation, and construction experts. We are ready to solve your water damage quickly and purposefully, but we also specialize in construction needs for those non-emergency situations. We provide water extraction, structural drying, carpet cleaning, disinfecting services, along with general construction not caused by damage. We are licensed and certified to handle biohazard and trauma clean up. We work with you and your family on your schedule with 24-hour services provided at no additional fee. We are ready to handle your needs, including emergencies.  

Fix It Services

I am delighted to present to you the Fix It Services Profile. Fix It Services is built on a foundation of core values that are shared across each and every member of our team. We understand the most important items in our industry are safety, time, cost, and quality, while protecting our environment. With this in mind Fix It Services collaborates with our clients from project inception, to deliver the best possible outcome. We are driven to achieving a legacy through a synergized approach, based on integrity and satisfaction, building unsurpassed relationships, creating innovative, sustainable Plumbing work. We look forward to working with you on your next project small or big.  

Verified Reviews

A few reviews for this pro...
1.0

03/25/2019


Lisa J.

SRT Waco team stole from us. We were told they didn't have to pack us up and just to leave everything in closets and drawers. When we returned home after the mold cleaning all of our items were packed. I asked why I was told they didn't have to pack us and Josh Redding Project Manager said he didn't read the protocol prior to us leaving the house and the protocol required the entire house packed. I did return home before his team left and the 3 women unpacking us broke several small things and just left them for us to find. I had to ask them about each item. They acted as if it wasn't a big deal. Then they started to leave and 90% of our home was left in boxes. This was a Friday and they told me they couldn't return until Monday are Tuesday! They wanted to beat the traffic home from Austin to Waco. I felt they needed to stay but the main woman Olga said Josh told them they had to leave so they walked out. My husband and I had to complete the job. A few wks passed and I went into my closet to get my grandmothers antique diamond bracelet watch to find the box empty!!! I'm heartbroken. This was passed down to me from my mom on my wedding day. No amount of money can replace it. I called SRT and was told they would talk with that team. Of course no one confused. I now put in a police report. I will also continue to post on social media. This company needs to be responsible for their people. I ran a company and I had an issue of someone stealing. I was able to figure out who. It was only 3 people. They know and that person needs to be let go. If not then they need to fire the entire team of women. The watch should have never been found. It was hidden in two zipped bags. That means they went looking!

Description of Work
Mold removal

Category air duct cleaning,mold removal

1.0

07/31/2014


Sholly G.

Truly awful experience. Company came out and applied caulk to our siding to stop a leak. Not only did it not stop the leak, it made it worse. Called the company repeatedly. When they finally came out to fix the work, they simply applied more caulk and did not fix the problem. They were then impossible to get in touch with. I finally disputed the charge on my credit card but they challenged it and it was ruled as valid. In the end, I had to hire another company to fix the problem and Specialty Restoration never gave me my money back. I paid them for absolutely nothing. Plan on taking to small claims court.

Description of Work
Caulked our siding to repair a leak coming into the house.

Category carpet cleaners

5.0

06/07/2013


David O.

We did find some. He brought equipment with him to check the walls to see if there is water damage and stuff like that. He went all over the house and only found it in one area. It turned out to be that my water heater was leaking. So, he did not help me with that but I had it fixed later. He told me how to basically rip out the drywall and replace it myself. There were no black mold issues. It was just from the water heater leak. It was just kind of telling me what to do myself because there was no mold issue. It was not like I was going to damage myself if I worked on it. That experience went actually really well. The service, professionalism, and punctuality were all great. He did not actually quote me anything so I cannot say price. They did not actually do any work. They walked-through my house with their equipment to make sure that there were no molds though.

Description of Work
I found some molds in my house and I was having Specialty Restoration of Texas come out to do a possible mold removal.

Category water damage restoration,mold removal

5.0

06/05/2013


david J.

I have to say I don't know how anyone could have issues with this company. My adventure with them was incredible!! It all started while me and my family were on vacation in Alaska. I received a call from my neighbor at the lake house that water was running out my front door. I called my insurance company and said HELP!!!! I was called very quickly by Mark at Specialty Restoration saying he was on the way. I told him I was in Alaska and wouldn't make it down there for a few weeks but I could get the management company to let him in. He sent me photos and a list of what they were going to do and said have a great vacation they could get it fixed. The water came from an upstairs bathroom and collapsed my ceiling down stairs and ruined my floor. I got back from vacation and got caught up on work and headed down. Mark and Shane met me there and said what paint color do I want. I was puzzled after seeing the pictures but walked into the house and saw EVERYTHING done except the painting. I could not believe it!!!! Other than paint it looked like it never happened-the floor matched perfect. They told me they would get it painted and return the furniture that week. I brought my family down the next weekend and it was all done. Thank you Specialty Restoration for everything!!!!!!!!!!!!

Description of Work
Dry out after water damage, rebuild my home, remove and clean all furniture at our lake house in Austin

Category water damage restoration

1.0

05/31/2013


Leslie H.

You many as well call them "Specialty Desperation of Texas"--they'll be there, but they won't care. We brought them in at the end of March to repair HVAC damage and a resulting fiberglass contamination of our home brought on by a poorly trained duct cleaner. The job should have taken three days. We ended up living in a hotel for five weeks, thanks to Specialty Restoration of Texas--because they could not properly locate and repair the duct damage, and because they did not know how to clean the fiberglass from our home. We moved back in a couple of times with promises that things were repaired and cleaned, only to turn our system on and have fiberglass and insects fall through our vents from the attic. We finally brought The Energy Guys in, and paid to mend massive duct tears SRT's so-called A/C expert never saw...and to get it clean enough to move back in, we hired Molly Maids, so we could avoid more damage like the oil stains on white carpet, broken lamp, scratches, and door pulled off the hinges SRT added as additional features. SRT left behind a few visitors as well--cigarette smells and butts, dirty tools someone forgot, and lots of new bugs from the doors they left open during all the work. Did they care about the job they did? I don't know--we didn't even get a walk-through...somebody just left our key under the mat, sometime, and we found it by accident. While we are working out our insurance issues, we received a letter from their billing department four weeks post-return later saying that our account was "long overdue" and the $12,000 bill for "services" would be turned over to a collection agency in seven days. We paid the darned thing to be done with SRT (although they did not want to accept our credit card because of merchant fees)--but you better believe that hiring SRT was the most expensive mistake we ever made, and bringing them into the picture made a mildly stressful ordeal immensely worse for our family. Stick with Blackmon-Mooring...they know what they're doing and just get it done.

Description of Work
As little as possible. They claimed to have trained professionals who knew how to deal with our situation, but in the end we ended up having to hire different repair and cleaning companies to actually make our house liveable. Then SRT hit us with a threat to pay their entire bill a month later or our credit rating would be damaged. It was just...really bad, but I know they won't care because they're cashing in on the situation in West and I hear customer satisfaction is not their strong suit.

Category water damage restoration

3.0

05/01/2013


Elizabeth M.

They did a good job and they were professional. But one thing was that they had a staff who did not show up and worked.

Description of Work
I hired Specialty Restoration of Texas. We had water damage in our kitchen after a dishwasher leaked. They came in and took all our cabinets out and they where done really quickly. They installed the cabinets and did the plumbing.

Category water damage restoration

1.0

10/25/2012


Long N.

DO NOT use SRT for your Fire/smoke damage. If you want to be ripped off, SRT is a company for you. BEWARE......

Description of Work
Having a house fire and signed a contract with Specialty Restoration of Texas, Inc for restoration on my home. SRT is incredibly unprofessional, they did not perform the work as discussed even though I brought the many deficiencies of their work to their employees' attention. SRT refuses to stand behind their work. I contact another Restoration company and my concerns were confirm by the letter of inspection from the owner, date August 15, 2012. below: Per our fire/smoke damage inspection at your residence, we have determined the following: 1. There is a lot of soot on the wall, cabinet, and everywhere 2. Large furniture was never moved in order to access walls and other affected areas to clean 3. All doors, door jams and vanities appear still have soot covering them 4. HVAC system was not clean and still contain dust mixed with soot. 5. Out of multi-ductwork HVAC system, only two of the ductwork were actually detached to clean 6. There is still a strong smoke odor in the structure. Also, per our telephone discussion with Brian Ford, SRT Senior Vice President of Operation, today 10/242012 at 5:39 pm, he told me go ahead and write your Angie's feedback.

Category remodeling,water damage restoration

2.0

03/31/2011


Diane E.

They replaced the back on for some sidings from wood to concrete because it is next to the pool. They also did some work around the house like change the door as it swung the wrong way and painted our front door. We got this company from Angies List. We do not have any contractor. We have to hire out somebody after reading the feedback. We did not get too much further with that company either. That guy had to come and do a couple of things. Their whole job is horrible. Their paint job was very sloppy. Their biggest problem is that one guy come out and give the bid and then another crew comes out which consists of 18 year olds and one supervisor and they don’t get the same message from that guy who came out to give you the bid. So many of the things were done differently from what we were told. The company has a big flaw there. You don’t talk to the same person that is getting the bid to do the work. So they use half materials throughout it. They don’t do what they are told to. When they are told to have three coats of paint they only put on one coat of paint. But I paid for three coats. They try to cut as many corners as they can. It did not work out to our advantage as we were hoping it would. They knew that I was upset with the job. They came back and touched up some of the paint at the back but they had paint drips all over around in that area which I could not figure out why. They had cleaned it up but they had smeared it. The drips looked better than the smear marks. The cleanup work was worse than the drips. I would have been able to scrap them off. But I was not impressed with them at all. It did not work out. You just don’t get what you have paid for. So we thought Angies List would be the way to go but we did not get very far with that one. Then I thought that I would get on line and tell you about those guys but I hate to do that to a company and I have been putting it off for that reason. I would tell people not to expect what you have been told because you are not working with the same people. I have to be there every inch of the way. That is no fun. They don’t appreciate it, we have other thing to be done. Get it in writing and get it in writing all the way through exactly what it is and each individual cost independently. Don’t have them giving you one solid figure as a quote if you are having different things being done. Put down what materials you are using and in that way if you are getting into the same situation you have already in writing what they should be using. He put the interior painting on that exterior wall and when I asked him about it, he acknowledged that he should have told me but he could get only in that color in the interior painting. That is blown me. You can get the same color both in interior and exterior. It is just that the interior was cheaper. We were down to pay for the material so they quoted me for the high-end material but that’s not what we are given. They did come back and did some sloppy painting. If I had a choice I would not use them in the future.

Description of Work
SPECIALTY RESTORATION OF TEXAS replaced some outdoor siding and weathered around some water damage. They had to put the new back on with concrete board instead of wood. They also did some work around the house.

Category siding,house painters,doors

5.0

10/07/2010


James M.

I was pleased with the overall project, finding SRT personnel to be of high integrity. When I had concerns they were addressed with concern and follow through. The crew did their jobs well, not cutting corners, always going the extra mile from start to finish.The project turned out well with a certification to that affect.

Description of Work
The mold remediation was handled by SRT with Project Coordinator Jeremy Terry, and Texas licensee Blaine Furman over the crew. Both were excellent in their knowledge and concern to get things done right. It was a very involved project requiring attention to detail and responsiveness to ensure all mold was removed in accordance with a plan laid out by the mold inspector. The mold inspector provides a protocol to the remediation company, who is responsible for precisely following the requirements laid out by the state licensed inspector. This process is covered by Texas state law, with a certificate issued when air quality tests are passed..

Category mold removal

5.0

07/30/2010


George M.

I contacted the Arlington office (Jeremy Terry) 214-288-5493 after discovering some mold and having testing completed as required. Jeremy was very responsive, came out the following day and within a day or so provided me with an estimate for the remediation. SRT pricing was very competitive. The entire team was very thorough, did the job in a timely fashion, and were courteous and available to answer any questions.

Description of Work
Because of a mold problem in the bath area (water leak behind shower wall) that spread into an adjacent bedroom the area had to be sealed off and all the materials affected had to be removed or disinfected. This included removing the tiled bath walls, the tub, toilet and considerable flooring including the bedroom carpeting and wall board. After those items were removed they had to disinfect the entire area with specially approved materials. The whole house was cleaned including the air ducts. The affected area had constant air filtering and dehumidifying. When completed the area was determined to be safe from mold spores by an independent inspector/lab.

Category remodeling,water damage restoration,mold removal

    SPECIALTY RESTORATION OF TEXAS

    Founded 1968 • With Angi since May 2010

    3.1

    (13) Verified Reviews

    Business Details

    Phone Number

    Address

    6906 Old McGregor Road

    Waco, TX 76712

    Services Offered

    Fire & Smoke Damage, Water Damage, Storm Damage, Mold Remediation, Air Duct Cleaning, Remodeling, Kitchen & Bath remodeling, Basement Remodeling, Drywall, electrical, Carpet Cleaning, Commercial damage restoration

    Services Not Offered

    Ask for details

    General Information
    Free Estimates
    Ask for Details
    Eco-Friendly Accreditations
    No
    Payment Options
    Check, Visa, MasterCard, Discover
    Emergency Service
    Yes
    Warranties
    Yes