Find top-rated Pros in your area

Enter a zip code and get matched to businesses near you.

America's Best Handyman

Founded 1990 • With Angi since January 2006

Additional DBA names - R & J Enterprises, Inc. Additional e-mail -janet@americasbesthandyman.com. Additional services - electrical - add or replace, outlets and switches, ceiling fans/light fixtures, landscape lighting, grounding new boxes, handyman services, attic ladders, baby proofing, shower doors/towel racks, dryer vents/exhaust fans, gutters - cleaned/repaired, hang objects - mirrors/pictures, weather stripping, shades/blinds/window treatments, landscape installation/maintenance, siding repair - vinyl/metal/wood, decks/patios – repaired, fencing - replaced/repaired, handicap access ramps/safety bars, christmas lights, installation of household appliances, drywall/painting, repair walls and ceilings, tape/bed/texture, paint - exterior/interior, wallpaper removed, accoustical ceilings, fascia/soffit - replaced/repaired, hvac, ducts - replaced/repaired, electric heating units, filters changed, plumbing, faucets - replaced/repaired, toilets - replaced/repaired, shower pans & water filters - installed/removed.

Amenities

Free Estimates
yes
Warranties
yes
Senior Discount
no
Eco-Friendly Accreditations
No
Insured
This pro has not provided any licensing information to Angi at this time.All statements concerning insurance, licenses, and bonds are informational only, and are self-reported. Since insurance, licenses and bonds can expire and can be cancelled, homeowners should always check such information for themselves. To find more licensing information for your state, visit our Find Licensing Requirements page. Contact pro for more details.

Verified Reviews

4.9

(14) Verified Reviews

Showing 1-14 of 14 reviews
Lori B.
5.0
03/10/2016
Very professional and efficient
Description of Work
Installed and repaired various things in our house
Category
handyman service
scott W.
5.0
06/19/2015
Javier arrived right on time. I had the tv, sound bar, and all the wires laid out for him when he arrived. I explained to him where I wanted the bottom of the tv to be located on the wall. After that he went to work. I would come down a couple times to see if he need any help. If you talked to him he was very friendly. However he mostly kept to himself and stayed focused on the job at hand. He mounted the sound bar perfectly centered below the tv. I would say he was at my house for a little over two hours. Americas Best Handyman is who I usually go for small stuff around the house. I will continue to use them in the future.
Description of Work
Hung a 50" TV and sound bar to the wall and hid the wires behind the wall.
Category
handyman service, home theater design
Susan D.
5.0
03/24/2015
Great
Description of Work
Kitchen Update
Category
handyman service, remodeling
scott W.
5.0
01/14/2015
John arrive towards the end of the one hour window I was given. He didn't say too much except if you asked him a question. Otherwise he went about his business. When he did talk he was very friendly. He was at my hours almost exactly 3 hours. At one point he had to run up to Home Depot to get a part. When he was done he asked if there was anything else. I had a electrical outlet with usb ports on that I was going to instal but since he asked I had him do it. I will be creating a list of small things that I need to get done and have them come back in a few weeks. I've used America's Best Handyman in the past and will continue to do so in the future.
Description of Work
Installed kitchen sink, faucet, garbage disposal
Category
electrician, handyman service, plumbing, remodeling
Madiha H.
5.0
09/09/2014
went well. Only complete with the material he used for the decking in the attic. was kinda flimsy and I had to double up on it
Description of Work
ladder installation
Category
decks, handyman service
Susan D.
5.0
09/02/2014
Good job, as always.
Description of Work
Gutter install
Category
gutter repair, handyman service
Joseph M.
5.0
07/05/2014
Excellent service and a job well done. I'm very satisfied with the quality and responsiveness of the work done.
Description of Work
Fence repair and house painting.
Category
handyman service
Sharon L.
5.0
09/19/2013
They are very good. When you call them, they will send a contractor specifically for the kind of work you need to get done. They are very response and we have been very happy with them. We have been using them for a number of years.
Description of Work
They installed a ceiling fan and a light fixture over our front door.
Category
lighting, ceiling fans
scott W.
5.0
10/24/2011
Their price was reasonable and they were very easy to work around my schedule. I would definitely use them again.
Description of Work
I used America's Best Handyman.
Category
handyman service
Tim M.
5.0
10/20/2011
Called to get quotes on some projects I had put off for some time. Janet was prompt to return my call and set up and appointment.for someone to come out and see what I needed to have done. Javier showed up on time and gave me the quotes on several projects. They give you pricing on labor of all work and then you pay for materials for the projects. Javier usually gets the materials (lets you know costs first) and presents the reciepts when work is complete. The more projects you can have done on a particular day, the better discount he can give you for time and labor. My first project day had a new door bell, new woodwork on the outside of my garage, exterior paint touch ups, re-caulking of downstairs bathroom and replace the bottom seal on shower, painted utility room. Javier showed up on time again with a crew and knocked it out in a few hours. They did a great job and were very professional. So much so that I had them back to paint again and added a few other small projects. I also decided to have them sand and refinish my kitchen cabinets the second time they came out. This was a HUGE undertaking that i would never want to do myselt. Love the darker wood finish. There were a few minor touch ups that needed to be addressed from painting. Janet send Javier back out at no charge to fix them up since I caught it after the fact. Overall great experience with Javier and America's best handyman. I'm scheduling an appointment to replace lights and cieling fans in a few weeks when I have time. Give them a call if you've been putting off the odd jobs that seem to never get done and check them off your list!
Description of Work
Removed wall border and painted kitchen. Painted office and bedroom upstairs, game room, dining room. Replaced outdoor entry lights in front and back of house. Replaced some cracked/broken bricks to and touched up masonry work on sidewalk and driveway. Put in a new doorbell. Re-caulked downstairs shower. Painted Garage and utility room. Also did some exterior pant after replacing wood panels on the outside of the garage that had rotted from moisture and heat.
Category
electrician, handyman service, lighting, wallpaper removal, house painters, interior painters
scott W.
5.0
08/03/2011
I've been putting off several tasks around the house and finally decided to pull the trigger. Although America's Best Handyman didn't have a lot of reviews here on Angies List I decided to give them a try. About a week ago Javier came over to give me an estimate for the following work: - Replace the threshold on my backdoor which had been rotting - Replace three hallway lights - Replace the fluorescent lighting in my kitchen to a flexible track lighting Javier quoted me $425, I paid $425 plus $30 for additional materials. Which I knew up front any additional materials would be extra. What I really like about America's Best Handyman is they charge you per job and not per hour. Javier came today with an assistant and they went to work while I worked from home today. They did a fabulous job, very high quality, didn't cut corners.I have a couple more small projects that I need to get done in the next month or so and I will definitely call America's Best Handyman when I'm ready.
Description of Work
1. Replace the threshold on my backdoor which had been rotting 2. Replace three hallway lights 3. Replace the fluorescent lighting in my kitchen to a flexible track lighting
Category
handyman service
Thomas R.
5.0
07/20/2010
The existing ventilation fans in my bathrooms were the original builder's "lowest cost" ones - and created an amazing roaring sound that was very bothersome. No relaxing soaks in the tub, and usually couldn't even hear the telephone ring in the adjoining bedroom! So I bought some low-noise replacement fans that would fit my 3" ducting, and contacted "America's Best Handyman" to see if they could install these fans. They assured me they could probably do it, and we set a date for Rick (the owner and lead handyman) to come over, check things out, and give me an estimate. He arrived exactly on time, did a thorough review of the work, and bid a very competitive price - so I accepted. He immediately went to work, with an assistant he'd brought along, and the 2 guys just worked away on things for about 4 hours until it was all done. This involved cutting the sheetrock to make a larger opening for the replacement fans (old ones were about 8", new ones about 13"), securely hanging the new fans between joists, fitting new flexible duct to the fans and outlet ducting, properly wiring the units, and finally putting on the covers. They put protective plastic sheeting down, cleaned up after they finished and were very polite and professional throughout the whole process. I had a few questions before and during the work, and Rick answered them quite well - he knew what he was doing, and explained it! Did I mention there was a glitch (isn't there always?) with one of the fans ... the new one could not be reached and hung without cutting through some metal strapping holding an air conditioning duct that was right next to the existing fan. Rick quickly re-did the A/C duct support and cleared the area so new fan would fit. So ... to summarize: all 3 new fans work fine, they look good, and when I poked around in the attic (very hot up there!) I could clearly see that the wires were done right, bends minimized, and supports in good solid shape. Clean job, doesn't look jury-rigged or sloppy. Am very satisfied with the work, the price and the guys who did it (Rick and Jake). I would not hesitate to recommend them for handyman work. PS - Rick told me he bought this company in the Spring of 2006, so any reviews before that do not apply to HIS work and services.
Description of Work
Replaced 3 ceiling ventilation fans in my home's bathrooms.
Category
handyman service
Richard K.
5.0
08/29/2009
We have used Danny in the past to do minor repairs around the house, so we asked for him again. He showed up on time both days and is very professional and friendly. He also does very high quality work. As far as price goes, the company is not the cheapest one out there but is clearly worth the money considering the value received.
Description of Work
paint a bathroom ceiling, re-stain our front 8' wooden door and even fixed our jacuzzi bath.
Category
handyman service
DANIEL C.
1.0
01/07/2006
I was trying to get gutters cleaned. I contacted them, and they made two appointments, but they didn't show for either one, so I wanted to provide feedback about them.
Description of Work
They didn't actually perform any work because they never showed.
Category
handyman service

Phone

Address

7204 Elm Dr Ste 101

The Colony, TX 75056

Service Categories

Other Information

Services offered

Drywall & sheetrock repairs, interior, exterior painting, fencing, ceiling fans, light fixtures, landscape lighting, faucets, toilets, carpentry, cabinets, countertops, vanities, doors and windows - replaced/repaired, framing and trimwork installed, fencing/decks, fascia/soffit,squirrel holes, rotten wood - replaced/repaired,flooring, ceramic tile - kitchens/baths, subflooring - replaced/repaired.

Payment options

Check
Visa
MasterCard
American Express
Discover

FAQ

America's Best Handyman is currently rated 4.9 overall out of 5.

America's Best Handyman is open:

Sunday: Closed

Monday: 9:00 AM - 5:00 PM

Tuesday: 9:00 AM - 5:00 PM

Wednesday: 9:00 AM - 5:00 PM

Thursday: 9:00 AM - 5:00 PM

Friday: 9:00 AM - 5:00 PM

Saturday: Closed

America's Best Handyman accepts the following forms of payment: Check, Visa, MasterCard, American Express, Discover

Yes, America's Best Handyman offers free project estimates.

No, America's Best Handyman does not offer eco-friendly accreditations.

No, America's Best Handyman does not offer a senior discount.

Yes, America's Best Handyman offers warranties.

America's Best Handyman offers the following services: Drywall & sheetrock repairs, interior, exterior painting, fencing, ceiling fans, light fixtures, landscape lighting, faucets, toilets, carpentry, cabinets, countertops, vanities, doors and windows - replaced/repaired, framing and trimwork installed, fencing/decks, fascia/soffit,squirrel holes, rotten wood - replaced/repaired,flooring, ceramic tile - kitchens/baths, subflooring - replaced/repaired.

Other Local Pros In Your Area

Cirilo Perez Torres Stoneworks & Brick Repairs  

Climate Doctors

Angi Certified

Offers Coupon

Climate Doctors

Climate Doctors is family owned & locally operated. We understand that taking care of your family is the number one priority. Climate Doctors was started to provide complete duct cleaning and energy efficient solutions to help consumer's homes have better air quality and a more efficient heating and air systems. Climate Doctors will do what it takes to do a complete cleaning & inspection of the duct work to assure unfiltered air from the attic is not entering into the home environment. Award Winning.  

Organic Home Service

5.0

(14)

Angi Certified

Offers Coupon

Organic Home Service

We are a home service company that services Dallas, TX and the surrounding areas. Our specialty is residential and commercial air duct cleaning and we additionally also provide dryer vent cleaning, chimney cleaning, carpet cleaning, and more. Our goal is to make sure you have the best indoor quality air that is free from dirt and debris.