Angie's List is now Angi. Learn more

Find top-rated Pros in your area

Enter a zip code and get matched to businesses near you.

JL Phelps & Assoc Plumbing & Mechanical LLC.

Founded 1986 • With Angi since August 2013

4.5

(11) Verified Reviews

Business Details

Phone Number

Address

1210 E. 4th St.

Taylor, TX 76574

Description

Austin's Commercial and Residential Premiere Plumbing Contractor. JL Phelps also offers a full caterpillar fleet for all your excavation needs including, site work, waste water improvements, fire hydrant improvements, house foundations, drive ways, etc... Please contact for the best pricing and award winning service in Central Texas! Cell: 512-367-9272 Office: 512-352-0220 Our services include the installation of systems that convey domestic water throughout a building, systems that transport sanitary waste out of a building to a sewer connection, and systems that supply natural gas to various equipment and appliances, such as heaters, boilers, ovens, and stoves. Our mechanical contracting services include the installation of mechanical and process piping, including the systems, which convey hot and chilled water, steam, medical gas, fuels, and other liquid and gaseous substances. It also includes the installation of related equipment and fixtures, which store, pump, regulate, and measure the distribution of these substances. We provide services to single family residential, multifamily, residential, and commercial customers. The single-family residential market includes housing projects, small condominium projects, and town house development. multifamily residential market comprises large apartment projects and condominiums. The commercial market includes retail establishments, office buildings, hotels, manufacturing plants, and other industrial complexes; and public and private institutional buildings, including schools, hospitals, dormitories, state parks, stadiums, airports, and prisons. The company serves its customers in Austin and surrounding areas....

Verified Reviews

A few reviews for this pro...
1.0

01/14/2020


Gregory R.

JL Phelps & Associates Plumbing publishes free no obligation estimates on the FAQ page of their website but when you call they say it it their policy to charge a 69 dollar service call fee for estimates. I called them on a Friday, explained my non emergency plumbing needs. They said they would get back to me on Monday. On Monday I emailed a detail of the specifications of the job with measurements and pictures. Their email reply stated they would contact me later that day, Monday. Tuesday morning I had not head from them and I replied to the email asking if I should expect to hear from them that day. I got a call from their office person stating that they had gotten an email from another person with my exact name stating that they no longer needed service. What total BS! That is when they said it would be 69 dollars for a visit to estimate. I told them that a visit was not necessary as I had been very detailed about the work required and had provided measurements and pictures. They stuck by their requirement for visit and the fee. The FAQ of their website clearly states: Contact us today at (512) 352-0220 to schedule a free, no-obligation estimate or if you have a question that was not answered here. My impression: Shady business practices based on lies!

Description of Work
Estimate to run a water line

Category plumbing

5.0

09/06/2017


jerry C.

Mike diagnosed the problem, went to plumbing supply store, secured the parts needed and installed them. Excellent work done quickly and professionally

Description of Work
toilet was continually losing water then refilling

Category plumbing

5.0

05/08/2017


Madeleine D.

It went very well.

Description of Work
install dishwasher

Category plumbing

5.0

08/02/2016


Yolanda W.

The employee was sincere, punctual, courteous, professional, and got the water heater working in no time. He used quality materials for repairing the water heater. We were very impressed, pleased and satisfied with the caliber and care that was granted. I would highly recommend this company to everyone having any plumbing issues.

Description of Work
Fixed the water heater issues

Category plumbing

5.0

07/30/2016


Donna S.

Smooth and Fantastic - I recommend JL Phelps Plumbing anytime

Description of Work
The problem: clogged kitchen sink line likely due to years of food disposal build-up (guilty!) When occurred: this 4th of July weekend (no sink for a 3-day holiday weekend, noooo!) The (wrong) solution: Tried to rent a drain snake from a tool rental shop and clear it myself (I'm useless!) The (2nd wrong solution): Called a "cheaper" handyman plumber to come by and fix the problem (which did not work and he tried to upsell us for a bigger - and likely unnecessary job) The CORRECT solution: CALL BOB OATES SEWER, ROOTER & PLUMBING first! The team of Shane and AJ arrived a little after 8am like they said they would and confidently told me "You called the right guys!" They were professional, polite and friendly (also wore shoe booties). They worked the bigger drain snake and then tested the clog. First attempt didn't fix the issue, so they tried it again with the handheld drain snake. After a few minutes, there was the "Aha!" moment and when the cable was reeled back in, there was a chunk of gunk on the snake's head. A test of the water showed that the sink was draining with a fast whirlpool and the clog was cleared. Didn't even take them 30-40 minutes (maybe even less) from start to finish. Their company is also up to date with technology by the use of an Ipad to complete the transaction. Mention Yelp! and get a $50 discount! Would trust and call this company again for future plumbing / rooter issues

Category plumbing, drain pipe

5.0

07/08/2016


Aimee L.

Category plumbing

5.0

06/24/2016


Don D.

It went absolutely well. Thanks guys!

Description of Work
I called JL Phelps to come out to my house and install a water heater in the attic. I had called other plumbers and made an appointment with 2 of them and they never showed up. I called this company JL Phelps Plumbing and they came out to my house right away, provided me with a free estimate. I went ahead and told them to do the job. They were so professional, cordial, and quite frankly very reasonable for all the work they did. They were also very informative on any questions I had. I will use these again and highly recommend to anyone.

Category plumbing

5.0

09/14/2015


Donna P.

Again, my water heater went out. I called around to see if anyone would not only give me a reasonable price on my water heater, but would do a quality job on it. I live in a beautiful home and I needed someone clean, respectable, and professional. The price was not only a factor, but the type of customer service the company would provide, was a must. I had several companies that showed up, quoted me, blah, blah, blah. They were charging me reasonable prices, but the fact that I have a water heater upstairs was big thing. I just put carpet on it. Most of these guys came in walked up with their dirty feet! I was livid. Their price was reasonable, but their customer service was BAD. I was like, really? I quickly made another phone call. I found these guys on CL and I was a bit hesitant in the beginning since it is CL. I came across to the JL Phelps Plumbing ad in CL and it was impressive. They had a nice professional ad with all their services on it. I called them and a nice woman answered. She quickly booked me for a free estimate. She sent a nice, CLEAN, professional gentleman who arrived in a nice attire. I told him where the water heater was and he quickly put on some kind of plastic shoes on! I was impressed. He was so nice, informative and gave me a great price to install it. I quickly gave him the go and he took care of it right away WITHOUT making a mess. He cleaned up after himself asked me if I needed anything else and kindly left. I was SUPER IMPRESSED with them. I will recommend them anytime. They handled themselves in an outstanding manner. Something, the other companies didn't even pay attention to, these guys did! I am so glad this company still holds old fashion morals and values. Thank you JL Phelps Plumbing. I will certainly recommend you and use you for my future projects! -Donna

Description of Work
My water heater went out and I had this company come out and install one for me.

Category plumbing, water heater repair

5.0

09/04/2015


Aida D.

It went extremely well. When the tech came out to my house, he made sure his feet were clean. He did his job and upon leaving, he made sure he picked up after himself and made sure to clean up his mess. He also made sure all my questions were answered. I have a little crazy dog and he was so friendly my furry baby too!!!!! He was awesome! Thanks JL Phelps Plumbing

Description of Work
After a day without use of my toilet, I was so happy to see JL Phelps Plumbing pull up outside my house. The tech was knowledgable, friendly and communicated with me each step of the way. He went a step further than just fixing what I thought was the problem - he ensured each drain in my house was functioning properly. I asked him to take a look at my garbage disposal and without hesitation and free of charge he looked at and fixed a problem I had with it. JL Phelps are super nice people and clearly proud to be a part of the JL Phelps Plumbing team - thank you so much for all your help! I will recommend them anytime!!!!

Category plumbing

5.0

05/05/2015


Beth L.

Description of Work
.

Category plumbing

1.0

02/28/2014


Natalie L.

Here is the skinny: This guy is a snake with a snake. Josh came out because my home warranty sent him out. He misunderstood what was covered by the warranty and so he had to come back once I cleared up that his work was partially covered and I would cover the rest. When he finally comprehended that he would be paid half byme and half by my home warranty, he came out again. He removed the toilet, snaked the line, announced that our toilet was not vented, and smashed it all back together. Incidentally, the toilet is vented and has been for the last 26 years. He said that it would never work correctly because it isn't vented. The toilet worked twice after he left. When I paid a real professional to come back out, we saw that there was a gallon of wax down there and that he had totally smashed up the horn so that flow was very restricted. Like two flush restricted. I followed up with the home warranty company so they would know not to use him. Subsequently, I followed up with him. He likes to tell people he has been a master plumber for some impressive number of years and between promotion and defense of himself, I was not able to get a word in. I asked him not to speak over me and then he hung up on me. Not Real professional. The warranty company is so ashamed of him they are compensating me for his work. Check Angie's list for Economy Plumbing and Landmark Warranty...Just as Angie's list said...both are serving me well.

Description of Work
My home warranty company sent him out to snake a line. I had to pay separately to have the toilet removed and replaced so he could do the covered work.

Category plumbing, drain pipe, drain cleaning

    Other local Pros in your area

    Sweet Holmes Power Washing and Services

    We have the experience and dedication to bring your dreams to reality! Specializing in Pressure Washing Services, we guarantee your satisfaction, and we won’t leave until the job is done right. We pride ourselves on the quality work we provide, while delivering great customer service! Call or click to schedule a free estimate today!  

    Angi Super Service Award badge
    Super Service
    Award 2021
    GWYNDOWS WINDOW CLEANING

    Gwyndows is your local women-owned and operated window cleaning company. We are a small crew of customer service oriented professionals. Mention you saw us on Angie's List for 10% off!  

    Rigdon Inc.

    For over 25 years Rigdon, Inc has been providing homeowners the best quality cleaning and maintenance services. Our professional technicians provide fast, friendly service - and we back our work with a satisfaction or money back guarantee. Free estimates and no travel charges within our service area. Call us or email: info@rigdoninc.com.  

    Angi Super Service Award badge
    Super Service
    Award 2021
    Licensed
    Trade License Number
    M-40183
    Trade License Locale
    Texas
    Trade License Authority
    TSBPE
    Trade License Expiration
    10/31/2016
    Bonded
    Insured
    All statements concerning insurance, licenses, and bonds are informational only, and are self-reported. Since insurance, licenses and bonds can expire and can be cancelled, homeowners should always check such information for themselves.To find more licensing information for your state, visit our Find Licensing Requirements page.
    General Information
    Free Estimates
    Yes
    Eco-Friendly Accreditations
    Yes
    Payment Options
    Check, Visa, MasterCard, American Express, Discover, PayPal
    Senior Discount
    10%
    Warranties
    Yes

    Services Offered

    Residential and commercial installation, repair and replacement of plumbing includes water heaters, natural gas, remodels, inspections, drains, clogs, tubs, tankless water heaters, garbage disposals, video camera inspections, dishwashers, faucets, sinks, drains, showers, tubs, sewer lines cleaning, food trailers, showers, water softeners & irrigation. We offer all plumbing services -Residential, Commercial, Remodels, New Construction to Industrial. Licensed in Medical Gas & Backflow Testing

    Services Not Offered

    Electrical, Air Conditioning

    Frequently Asked Questions & Answers about JL Phelps & Assoc Plumbing & Mechanical LLC.

    How is JL Phelps & Assoc Plumbing & Mechanical LLC. overall rated?

    JL Phelps & Assoc Plumbing & Mechanical LLC. is currently rated 4.5 overall out of 5.

    What days are JL Phelps & Assoc Plumbing & Mechanical LLC. open?

    JL Phelps & Assoc Plumbing & Mechanical LLC. is open:

    Monday: 8:00 AM - 5:00 PM

    Tuesday: 8:00 AM - 5:00 PM

    Wednesday: 8:00 AM - 5:00 PM

    Thursday: 8:00 AM - 5:00 PM

    Friday: 8:00 AM - 5:00 PM

    What payment options does JL Phelps & Assoc Plumbing & Mechanical LLC. provide

    JL Phelps & Assoc Plumbing & Mechanical LLC. accepts the following forms of payment: Check, Visa, MasterCard, American Express, Discover, PayPal

    Does JL Phelps & Assoc Plumbing & Mechanical LLC. offer free estimates?

    Yes, JL Phelps & Assoc Plumbing & Mechanical LLC. offers free project estimates.

    Does JL Phelps & Assoc Plumbing & Mechanical LLC. offer eco-friendly accreditations?

    Yes, JL Phelps & Assoc Plumbing & Mechanical LLC. offers eco-friendly accreditations.

    Does JL Phelps & Assoc Plumbing & Mechanical LLC. offer a senior discount?

    Yes, JL Phelps & Assoc Plumbing & Mechanical LLC. offers a 10% senior discount.

    Are warranties offered by JL Phelps & Assoc Plumbing & Mechanical LLC.?

    Yes, JL Phelps & Assoc Plumbing & Mechanical LLC. offers warranties.

    What services does JL Phelps & Assoc Plumbing & Mechanical LLC. offer?

    JL Phelps & Assoc Plumbing & Mechanical LLC. offers the following services: Residential and commercial installation, repair and replacement of plumbing includes water heaters, natural gas, remodels, inspections, drains, clogs, tubs, tankless water heaters, garbage disposals, video camera inspections, dishwashers, faucets, sinks, drains, showers, tubs, sewer lines cleaning, food trailers, showers, water softeners & irrigation. We offer all plumbing services -Residential, Commercial, Remodels, New Construction to Industrial. Licensed in Medical Gas & Backflow Testing

    Are there any services JL Phelps & Assoc Plumbing & Mechanical LLC. does not offer?

    Electrical, Air Conditioning