Find top-rated Pros in your area

Enter a zip code and get matched to businesses near you.

Stan & Jan Poscovsky

Founded 1979 • With Angi since May 2010

4.9

(34) Verified Reviews

Business Details

Phone Number

Address

PO Box 16580

Sugar Land, TX 77496

Description

Stan and Jan have been working as a team since they married in 1979. Although they don't typically go on appointments together, they do stay abreast of one another's transactions so that clients get two for the price of one!

Verified Reviews

A few reviews for this pro...
5.0

10/17/2021


John R.

Jan was simply magnificent in helping us sell the house. She was knowledgeable, professional and prompt in all matters. Jan knew who to call on everything from carpeting to painting and everything in between. She kept us informed and followed through on even the most minor issues.

Description of Work
Marketing and Sale of Primary Residence

Category real estate agents

Service Provider Response

Thank you so much. I appreciate your kind words.
5.0

09/23/2021


Kelly S.

Jan Poscovsky is the most qualified, most experienced, her professionalism is second to none! She’s Knowledgable - An outstanding subject matter expert! She understands the Dos, Don’ts, pitfalls, laws, how to navigate the challenges of real estate transactions. Excellent Follow-up - When something is required to be done, she’s proactive with follow-up to ensure that it happens. She’s Selfless - She looks out for YOUR best interest and not concerned about her own. It’s important that her clients don’t settle for anything. She works to get you what you truly want and seems genuinely concerned if her clients seem disappointed. She’s Patient - She takes the time to explain procedures, loan documents, contractual language - anything you don’t understand! She educates you throughout the entire process. Detail oriented - She doesn’t miss a single word that doesn’t align with what was expected. She’s found errors in documentation submitted and has had to bring awareness to other professionals! Timing - She timed the sale of my home with the construction completion of my new home. I was able to close on my sale and use the profits for a down payment of my purchase. And it wasn’t a contingency! Resourceful - Inspectors, roofers, plumbers, contractors, attorneys, whatever you need! She’s a walking Rolodex! Great Negotiator - What I thought were the best deals became even better! From multiple offers during the sale of my home (which we received above asking) to negotiating cost of line items on the purchase of the new home! She’s an Extra-miler - She goes above and beyond with being helpful and kind. She provides a type of support that one would give to a family member. Positive energy - She maintains a positive outlook and has a calming demeanor when stressful moments arise. If you are looking for someone that you can trust to have your back, someone with high moral and ethical standards, someone with superb attention to detail - Jan Poscovsky is your real estate agent!

Description of Work
Real Estate Sale and Purchase

Category real estate agents

Service Provider Response

Thank you, [Member Name Removed]! I was a pleasure helping you with this most recent journey!
5.0

03/14/2021


Vanessa M.

Jan was our realtor for our recent purchase on our house. Jan went way above and beyond what was her duty. Jan was extremely accommodating in ever aspect of her job. She was very polite and had an abundance of knowledge to help us purchase our home. Jan answered all lines of communication very promptly whether it was by phone call, text or email. Overall Jan done an outstanding job and was by our side every step of the way. I would definitely recommend Jan for any of your real estate needs and will definitely use her in the future should we decide to locate else where.

Description of Work
Realtor Jan Poscovsky

Category real estate agents

Service Provider Response

Thank you [Member Name Removed]! I'm so glad you have settled in and are enjoying your home. Happy that we are still in touch.
5.0

03/02/2021


Lisa C.

I’ve bought and sold a fair number of homes over the years and the experience with Jan was head and shoulders above the rest. What makes her different? - Proactive, prepared and operates with a sense of urgency. My dad passed suddenly, and I was faced with having to sell his home while living across the country. She returned my call within a few hours and came over to meet with me the very next day prepared with comps and just the right amount of detail that I needed to move things along. Every day since she has kept me informed and updated on every little detail. I never had a moment when I wondered where we were at in the process. - Compassionate and qualified. Wrestling with all of the emotions of loosing a loved one suddenly was hard enough without having to sort through the details of how to settle an estate. She was so compassionate and caring. She had a comforting way about her - calm, reassuring, and gave me a sense I was in a safe pair of very experienced hands at every moment. Her knowledge of the process, the area and the target buyers for the home were exceptional. She even baked me biscotti, my favorite! - True partnership. She worked with me like I was family: she laid out the process, suggested lawyers, and estate sale teams, coached me at every step, and gave suggestions and ideas on small improvements to make to the house that had a big impact. She brought me carpet cleaner when stains needed fixing, she stopped by the house on her own to check on things when it was empty, and more. She treated my father’s home like it was her own! - Goes above and beyond. There are too many examples to share here on how Jan went way way beyond to help me through the process. I will always be grateful to Jan and I feel blessed to have had her in my corner during this tough situation. If you need a broker in Fort Bend country, do yourself a favor and call Jan. Don’t bother with anyone else. I wish she could buy and sell properties for me everywhere; I would literally never use anyone else!

Description of Work
Ready my fathers home for sale after his sudden passing

Category real estate agents

Service Provider Response

Thank you so much for the glowing review. I'm so glad that we were able to provide you with peace of mind, especially during the pandemic and the freeze of the century. It was great working with you.
5.0

02/20/2021


David M.

I found Jan and Stan through Angie's list when looking to sell a home in Missouri City. I had flown to Houston to settle the affairs of my father who had recently passed. I was in town only for a short stay and I'm not in the real estate business so I needed somebody knowledgeable and responsible to help manage the entire process. Jan was able to schedule a meeting within 24 hours of my call. With decades of experience, she quickly impressed with an in-depth knowledge of the area as well as exceptional familiarity of the entire listing and sale process. She knew I would have a great deal to do in settling my fathers affairs and she arrived having already prepared references, comps and drafted a sellers agent agreement. Among the many valuable benefits Jan brought was a vast collection of business contacts to help with the many requirements needed to prepare the house for sale. Her network of professionals included movers, cleaning services, appraisers, foundation consultants, insurance agents and title companies. All were highly qualified and equally responsive. Despite the pandemic, the entire home with decades worth of collected items was emptied and prepped for sale all within one week. This could not have been accomplished without Jan's help and the help of her network. I had to leave Houston and return home but felt comfortable leaving the process in Jan's capable hands. Jan and her husband Stan took it from there, personally helping stage the home with great ideas and furnishings that they keep for such occasions. I got the sense that she felt personally invested in the transaction and that she brought a sense of urgency to the entire process. Within two weeks of our initial conversation, Jan had secured 40 showings and 8 offers for the home. Despite my absence, communications were excellent - I was promptly kept informed of every showing and offer. Jan helped evaluate the multiple offers and we accepted a cash offer at our asking price. The transaction closed within a period of weeks. With the help of a title company in her network, Jan helped navigate the entire closing process and proved invaluable. Transaction #2 In addition to the home, the estate also held a piece of undeveloped commercial property in a remote part of Harris county. A buyer had presented himself and I naively assumed that this would be a straightforward transaction that I could handle without a Realtor. Unfortunately complications arose. Weeks passed with little progress and I began to look for a seller's agent. Finding a knowledgeable commercial Realtor that I could trust particularly in this more obscure area proved daunting. I reached out to Jan to see if she might again be able to assist. She admitted to being primarily a residential agent but I was delighted when she offered to work with me again. We were able to identify another buyer but lingering issues remained. Jan steered the entire process to a successful closure by taking lead and working directly with the many parties including buyer, title company, attorneys, and surveyors. Even after closing Jan stayed engaged and helped resolve funding issues that lingered into the severe weather and power disruptions that hampered the city. I am grateful to Jan and Stan for their remarkable work and jobs well done. I would work with them again without hesitation and would highly recommend them to anyone needing a Realtor.

Description of Work
prep and sale of home and commercial property

Category real estate agents

Service Provider Response

Thank you for your kind words, [Member Name Removed]. It was a pleasure working with you. We always work to protect our clients and their property and pay extra attention when they live out of town.
5.0

08/06/2020


Catherine V.

I started working with Jan in January before Covid hit. I was not sure what I wanted at the time but she was extremely patient with me as I narrowed down my options, price range, and location. The whole process was put on hold for several months but Jan picked right up again without a hitch. My home sold to the first person who looked at it and she directed me to a wonderful little 3-2-2 in Pearland.I guarantee you’ll be happy with her efforts and the way she advocates for you, whether you are a seller or a buyer.

Description of Work
Realtor for homes sold and bought

Category real estate agents

Service Provider Response

Thank you so much for your kind words. It was a pleasure working with you.
5.0

01/27/2018


Dung D.

Hired Jan and Stan to sell house. Jan was very attentive and available for questions through the whole selling process (listing to closing) . I appreciated Jan's professional advice and she was very punctual on all our appointments. Everything went well and I would highly recommend them!

Description of Work
Sell residential home

Category real estate agents

5.0

10/27/2017


Brenda P.

Excellent!! Jan is extremely knowledgeable of the market and process. She guided me through the process and relieved all the stress of the process. She is personable, professional, and understands the needs of her clients!

Description of Work
Jan helped me sell my home and find a new one

Category real estate agents

5.0

10/26/2017


Maria G.

It was a great experience. Jan is an amazing realtor she puts you at ease with any issue you may encounter along the process. I can honestly say she goes above and beyond. Thanks Jan!

Description of Work
Real estate

Category real estate agents

5.0

10/05/2017


Jill C.

Great! We sold our home within 2 mos. of putting it on the market.

Description of Work
They helped us sell our home.

Category real estate agents

5.0

08/14/2017


Vincent L.

Excellent! I have known Stan and Jan, personally, for about 15 years. This was the second home sale that they have handled for my wife and me. We sold our first house in less than 30 days and received our full asking price. This time it only took three weeks to sell the house. While we made a compromise and took $5000 less than our asking price, the market value of our house dropped by $10,000 while it was on the market. Not only did they do a great job of selling the house, they provided contacts for needed repairs before we put the house on the market; hail damage necessitated replacing the roof a week before putting the house on the market. We would absolutely use the Spouses Selling Houses again'

Description of Work
We needed to sell our house.

Category real estate agents

5.0

06/10/2017


Chuck D.

Went perfectly. Jan uses a professional photograher for the listing photos and had good ideas for staging the house. Had 7 viewings in 4 days and 2 offers right away. Under contract in 2 weeks. She did a great job of interfacing for us with the title company and other businesses involved in the sale, and gave us timely reminders about transferring utilities, etc. Would use again except that we moved out of state.

Description of Work
Jan marketed and sold our home for us.

Category real estate agents

5.0

04/08/2017


Donna W.

Jan was very professional, helpful in her suggestions for preparing the property for sale and very diligent in marketing the property with professional photos and multiple open houses. We closed on the sale in late March, 2017. Thanks Jan!

Description of Work
Jan was our real estate agent for the sale of my mother's house.

Category real estate agents

5.0

04/08/2017


Doug A.

Jan is/was an excellent and caring realtor. While our situation was not unique, moving parents out of their beloved home that they enjoyed for 30+ years, we had never experienced it nor did we know what to expect. Jan was patient and never pushed to accelerate the process or accept a deal, just to get it all done and paid. We would recommend Jan without hesitation.

Description of Work
Sale of a home.

Category real estate agents

5.0

04/06/2017


Kenneth M.

Extremely well! Jan was very professional, yet friendly. Selling my home was a big move for me; Jan made it stressless. She answered every question I had, regardless of the time I contacted her. She turned this into a great experience.

Description of Work
Sell my home

Category real estate agents

5.0

03/03/2017


Kishore J.

We were very pleased and happy with their knowledge, service, and professionalism.

Description of Work
We were in the market to buy a rental property. Stan and Jan explained the process and were there answering our questions and helping us each and every step along the way.

Category real estate agents

5.0

12/28/2016


Rachel S.

My husband and I hired Jan and Stan to help us find a home in a new part of town. They were so patient with us as we drilled down all of our "wants" and helped us figure out what would really fit our needs while helping us achieve long term and short term goals at the same time. Our home search had lots of starts and stops, and at every turn, both Jan and Stan were gracious, understanding and patient. Then, once we found a house we wanted to purchase, they helped answer all questions and provided advice through the entire home buying process. When we closed, Jan and Stan continued to help us by referring contractors and workmen. Every single one of their referrals have been really wonderful, reputable people who have done quality work. Many of them mentioned that they have worked closely with Jan and Stan for many years, too. I highly recommend working with Jan and Stan to find your next home. The entire experience from beginning to end has been thoroughly enjoyable and I look forward to working with them again in the future.

Description of Work
My husband and I hired Jan and Stan to help us find a home in a new part of town.

Category real estate agents

5.0

12/26/2016


Mikhail L.

Mrs. Jan Poscovsky did outstanding job selling our house. I will strongly recommend her services as the real estate agent. At the beginning, she provided detailed market analysis and very professional advices about house prize. He advised repairs and improvements in the house that can help to sell our house quicker and increase selling prize. She noticed that the square footage of the house from the county records does not correspond to the builder specifications of the house model. She recommended to make another house survey. It saved us from the problems during the closing process because actual footage of the house was smaller then in the county records. Jan made excellent advertising of the house and arranged an open house at the first few days after the house was put on the market. As results of her outstanding efforts as a marketer, we had several offers for the house. The buyer made unreasonable requests after the house inspection. She found arguments clearly demonstrated that the buyer requests are ridiculous and unacceptable. As results, she saved us thousand dollars at the settlement. She was like a best friend for us in the whole selling process. She really made outstanding job for us.

Description of Work
Our house in Sugar Land, TX has been sold by Mrs. Jan Poscovsky in a short period

Category real estate agents

5.0

12/20/2016


Kevin S.

When I first met Jan, she was beyond prepared with a binder for me with my imaginary listing as well as multiple "comps". Punctual, professional, personable and pleasant best describes her. Although my house took several months to sell, it was due to my own devices and initially pricing my home to high for the market. There were several listing revisions requested as well as flier updates. Jan also took the time to take me to several comps at my request to confirm my initial evaluations. That upheld my confidence in my approach thus far, but did not change the market or the strategy needed to be implemented upon further discussion. Her years of experience allows her to work with most any client regardless of personality. I mention this because I was extremely involved with the sale details, was on a stressed timeline and had moments of panic and despair which Jan was able to thoroughly pacify my concerns and bolster the situation. I highly recommend Stan & Jan to be your next realtors!! Kevin Sallady Houston, TX

Description of Work
Realtors for selling

Category real estate agents

Service Provider Response

Thank you for your kind words. I'm so glad that we were able to help with your home sale.
5.0

12/04/2016


Stacey & Joe R.

Jan helped us navigate the home selling and buying processes. She knew exactly what we needed to do and when we needed to do it. Jan had no problems answering any of our questions and was available any time we needed her. Both her and her team made our experience almost seamless. We highly recommend her for all of your real estate needs. She's the best!

Description of Work
Selling and buying our home(s)

Category real estate agents

Service Provider Response

Thank you! It was a pleasure working with your whole family. Thank you for your confidence and allowing us to help you with your home sale and subsequent purchase.
5.0

11/11/2016


Sylvia V.

Excellent!! Because the house needed major repairs and we wanted to sell the house "as is," she advised us to sell to an investor. She made the contacts for us, showed the house to several investors and we were able to sell the house within a week! Jan was the "middle man" between us and the investors. We didn't have to pay her anything because the investor paid all closing costs and her commission. Jan was very friendly, courteous, professional and ALWAYS answered my texts, e-mails or phone calls promptly.

Description of Work
I needed to sell my dad's house because he died in June.

Category real estate agents

5.0

07/25/2016


Travis B.

Our house had three offers on the first day. We sold it very quickly and the entire process was very pain free, very easy, and I can't stress enough how both Stan and Jan went above and beyond for us.

Description of Work
Took care of selling our house from start to finish. They were very punctual and went above and beyond in many aspects.

Category real estate agents

5.0

07/04/2016


Carla F.

Jan went above and beyond. She was extremely helpful and supportive throughput the many difficulties in readying the house for rental. Jan worked with the multiple contractors that I had hired to make upgrades while I was out of state on a short notice project for a client. Jan pushed real hard to make sure everything went smoothly, so that the house was ready in the timeline I had been given. She is very professional and cares about her clients. That's hard to find these days! I would highly recommend her to anyone needing a knowledgeable realtor in the Houston area. Thank you Jan for all your hard work!! I will always be grateful for you!

Description of Work
I hired Jan to rent my house in Houston. She was very helpful in providing comps and useful rental information. She had excellent recommendations and options for me to consider. Within a week of the Jan listing the rental, she had found a very suitable tenant.

Category real estate agents

5.0

08/18/2015


LeKaren L.

First of all, Jan is a sweetheart. I got good vibes from her immediately and basically hired her on the spot. She sat with me and we tried doing business between carpet layers calling for my attention, the phone ringing with other repair folks and the carpet cleaners asking questions. Whew what a day! She was always patient, easy going, professional, confident and made it all look easier than it should have. Even through trying to get the paperwork flow going, she was always calm and collected, totally different from me trying to pack, move, cancel, start up and do the 100 and 1 things you have to do to move and sell a house. Jan came in with the research to recommend a good price range, she offered advise and got the house sold in no time at all. My head is still swimming. If you are in the market to sell your home, buy a new one or buy another one, give this lady a call, she knows what she's doing. You won't be disappointed. Remember Spouses Selling Houses!

Description of Work
Sold my house in a matter of only a few weeks.

Category real estate agents

5.0

07/10/2015


Jill B.

Jan and Stan were great. Selling a house is stressful, but their insights made it easier. We did what they suggested and got the results we all expected. What more could I ask?? Our buyers were identified 2 days after the house was listed. Less than 3 weeks later we closed. They were professional, thorough and very detailed. They were in touch with us almost daily and made the process as painless as possible. I recommend them to anyone who wants their house sale or purchase managed by pros.

Description of Work
Coached me to prep my house for a quick sale and sold it for what they said it would bring

Category real estate agents

    Other local Pros in your area

    Connie Shugart, Realtor - Shug Realty Group

    Real Estate Agent, specializing in Buyer and Seller representation of residential new construction and pre-owned homes sales in Cypress, Conroe, Hockley, Houston, Katy, Magnolia, Missouri City, Montgomery, Spring, Sugar Land, Tomball, Willis, and The Woodlands, Texas (and other surrounding areas). As a licensed Real Estate Agent and Broker/Owner of Shug Realty Group, I understand the magnitude of your decision to buy or sell a home and value the trust that is placed in me. This is an exciting time and it is important that you partner with a Real Estate Agent who will provide you with important information and guidance that will aid in making sound buying and/or selling decisions. I am devoted to working closely with my clients to identify their unique real estate needs. Whether you are considering buying, selling, or leasing a home, I will provide you with exceptional service and informed guidance throughout the entire process. I bring high energy and enthusiasm to each transaction and welcome the opportunity to put my vast contract negotiations, marketing, sales, staging, and management experience to work for you. Please call me at 832-474-8170 if I can be of assistance. I look forward to representing you! – Connie Shugart, Realtor, Broker/Owner, Shug Realty Group. From Listing to Sold…Helping Buyers and Sellers since 2010! Certifications, Broker, Accredited Buyers Representative (ABR), Graduate Realtor Institute (GRI), Master Certified Negotiation Expert (MCNE). Legal Notices: Texas Real Estate Commission Information About Brokerage Services: https://members.har.com/mhf/terms/dispBrokerInfo.cfm?sitetype=aws&cid=602927 and Texas Real Estate Commission Consumer Protection Notice: https://www.trec.texas.gov/sites/default/files/pdf-forms/CN%201-2.pdf  

    Angi Certified

    Property Management
    All statements concerning insurance, licenses, and bonds are informational only, and are self-reported. Since insurance, licenses and bonds can expire and can be cancelled, homeowners should always check such information for themselves.To find more licensing information for your state, visit our Find Licensing Requirements page.
    General Information
    Free Estimates
    Yes
    Eco-Friendly Accreditations
    No
    Warranties
    Ask for details

    Services Offered

    Representing Sellers who wish to list and market their residential properties Representing Buyers who wish to purchase residential properties. Preferred Real Estate Professionals with the Veterans Land Board (VLB) SRES Professionals (Seniors Real Estate Specialists)

    Services Not Offered

    Ask for details

    Frequently Asked Questions & Answers about Stan & Jan Poscovsky

    How is Stan & Jan Poscovsky overall rated?

    Stan & Jan Poscovsky is currently rated 4.9 overall out of 5.

    Does Stan & Jan Poscovsky offer free estimates?

    Yes, Stan & Jan Poscovsky offers free project estimates.

    Does Stan & Jan Poscovsky offer eco-friendly accreditations?

    No, Stan & Jan Poscovsky does not offer eco-friendly accreditations.

    Are warranties offered by Stan & Jan Poscovsky?

    No, Stan & Jan Poscovsky does not offer warranties.

    What services does Stan & Jan Poscovsky offer?

    Stan & Jan Poscovsky offers the following services: Representing Sellers who wish to list and market their residential properties Representing Buyers who wish to purchase residential properties. Preferred Real Estate Professionals with the Veterans Land Board (VLB) SRES Professionals (Seniors Real Estate Specialists)