Home Sweet Home Improvement

About

Founded 1980 • With Angi since May 2010

Proudly servicing the Houston area. We offer quality custom products for residential and commercial properties. Owned and operated by William Garcia for over 30 years. Call or text (512) 669-1627 William today for any and all of your remodeling needs....

Awards and Badges

Angi Certified

Business Highlights

Minority Owned & OperatedMinority Owned & Operated
Family Owned & OperatedFamily Owned & Operated
Wears MaskWears Mask

Images

A Service Provider's profile image

+69 more images

Custom Kitchen

Custom Kitchen

home remodeling201877536
Remodel complete house after flood. Complete home remodel and custom kitchen build.
Custom Kitchen project
Custom Kitchen

home remodeling

201877536

Verified Reviews

4.7

(65) Verified Reviews

Ratings Distribution

5

52

4

3

3

7

2

2

1

1

Rating Details

Price

4.6

Professionalism

4.7

Punctuality

4.6

Quality

4.7

Responsiveness

4.8

Read reviews by category

home remodeling (18)decks & porches (12)door installation (8)woodworking (8)flooring (8)interior painting (7)electrician (6)house painting (5)fireplace services (5)closet design (4)general contractors (4)cabinet makers (4)
Showing 1-25 of 65 reviews
5.0

04/13/2022


Lisa E.

We consulted with William on plans for our backyard patio. He is very knowledgeable of construction and has an eye for design. He listened to us and understood what we wanted. William is always very professional no matter the situation.

Description of Work
Pergola and back yard

Category fireplaces

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 04/12/2022

Service Provider Response

Thank you for this wonderful vote of confidence, [Member Name Removed]. With our founder's knowledge and years of experience, we can help people by developing a written plan on how to make their dreams a reality. We like to help homeowners with this first step of any remodeling project, even if we are too far away to do the construction! We appreciate you!! Rita 🏡
5.0

04/09/2022


Sandra Z.

It was a wonderful experience, despite the necessary waiting for permits because I was in constant communication with the great folks at Home Sweet Home Improvement who gained my complete and well deserved trust for a job thorough and well done! I LOVE my new kitchen and bathrooms! Thank you Wlliam and Rita Garcia! 🥰

Description of Work
full home remodel

Category remodeling, home remodeling, interior painters

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 04/09/2022

2.0

04/04/2022


Penny B.

Some things went fine, painting is very bad

Description of Work
kitchen remodel, interior paint

Category interior painters

Services Performed? Yes

Work Completed On 04/04/2022

Service Provider Response

Hi [Member Name Removed], I am so sorry you were not 100% satisfied with the work we completed for you last year. We aim to please our clients and want to get together with you as soon as possible so we fix all of the issues to your complete satisfaction. I have tried to reach you and have not had any luck. We know you are busy, so please let me know when you are available! Thank you. Rita with Home Sweet Home Improvement 🏡
5.0

10/01/2021


Sabrina S.

Rita and William were helpful throughout the process of remodeling my bathroom & bedroom. They made what would have been a stressful process seamless. As issues came up William would reach out to me and explain the problem and the solution before proceeding to make sure I understood what was going on. Rita was incredibly patient & followed up with me before, during, and after the project was completed.

Description of Work
bathroom

Category home remodeling

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 09/30/2021

5.0

05/19/2021


Janice T.

William G happened to text me if I still needed a quote? He asked at the right time, because first option never responded. Turning our house over to someone to fix up, was a little stressful at beginning. But that was all put to rest right away. William came by that very day, within 15 minutes gave me a quote along with helpful suggestions on remodeling my bathroom. This was a Friday and work began the following Monday. William was hands on (literally). Existing bathtub and shower were removed, window made smaller to give more space for new shower. Wall and floor tile removed. I opted for gray tone porcelain tile with a tile shower base. Did not want a pre-fab base. Floor tile resembles planking. New vanity counter and sinks installed. The big pleaser for my husband, is the widening of the bathroom doorway and the tile seat in the shower. lol. My husband and I are both pleased with the outcome of the bathroom. Especially me. Very pleased with the working relationship we had with William. I certainly recommend Home Sweet Home Improvements home remodeling. If anymore remodeling needs to be done on my home (I'm sure it will), I have William on speed dial. The attached photo, shows shower is waiting for glass.

Description of Work
Bathroom Remodeling

Category home remodeling

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 05/19/2021

Images

Review for Home Sweet Home Improvement - 1201 Avenue H, South Houston, TX - 39337769

Service Provider Response

Thank You for the glowing review. I enjoyed working with you and your husband as well. Your peacocks and ducks were also a pleasure to work with, too. Thank you for your business.
5.0

04/29/2020


Rachel R.

I was built a custom jewelry stand that was absolutely perfect for my college apartment! I was able to store all of my jewelry, as well as my dog’s grooming items. The drawers were also a nice addition because I was able to hold small and delicate pieces of jewelry in there!

Description of Work
Custom Jewelry Stand

Category custom cabinets

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 01/01/2020

Images

Review for Home Sweet Home Improvement - 1201 Avenue H, South Houston, TX - 38529802

Service Provider Response

So glad that turned out good for you. Thanks for the wonderful review!
5.0

04/26/2020


Judy R.

A good contractor is hard to find. I’ve worked with a lot of contractors in my many years but William Garcia, owner of Home Sweet Home Improvement is the best ever. What I liked was his hands-on style of working. Available to me and his crew. He is punctual and responsive. I wanted a swing for my backyard. William said no problem and the very next day he brought a drawing of a swing that he had done. It was like he read my mind. He built it and it was oh so beautiful. William is a hard worker, a real professional delivering quality work. Clear Lake in Houston Texas.

Description of Work
garden swing, fencing.

Category remodeling

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 04/26/2020

Service Provider Response

Thanks for the great review. It was pleasure creating yor beautiful swing in the Clear Lake area. You and Bill were two of my favorite customers! TTYS.
5.0

07/28/2019


Angela R.

Great looking work , remodeled bathroom. communication was great step by step day by day instructions and pictures . Time frame was given for job completion and it was met . Great customer service . Took good care of the carpet they had to walk over to get to bathroom . Repaired and installed flooring in bathroom .

Description of Work
Bathroom remodeled

Category flooring contractor, home remodeling

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 07/25/2019

Images

Review for Home Sweet Home Improvement - 1201 Avenue H, South Houston, TX - 38014841

Service Provider Response

So glad you and your husband are enjoying the new shower. Thanks so much for the business!
5.0

04/08/2019


Celeste H.

Home Sweet Home did a great job. William, owner, was on job sight making sure job was done right. Professional! Great to work with.

Description of Work
Stucco repair, roof repair, bathroom remodel

Category roofing, stucco, home remodeling

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 03/25/2019

Service Provider Response

Thank you for taking the time to give me a great review. I appreciate customers who notice what it takes to give good service and quality work. Thank you for your business. I enjoyed working for you and am sorry I missed visiting with your awesome husband..
5.0

02/06/2019


Joseph A.

It was excellent. They cleaned up after themselves.

Description of Work
They did renovation and repair.

Category remodeling

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 03/06/2018

Service Provider Response

Thanks for taking the time to give me a great review. I really enjoyed working with you and your precious wife. It's customers like you that makes my job enjoyable.
5.0

06/12/2018


Joseph V.

Having the Home Sweet Home Improvement team was truly the best decision I've made in hiring a remodeling contractor. Professionalism and attention to details was very evident. Our final product of the Kitchen make over by far exceeded our expectations. Overall quality of work performed was TOP notch. In addition, not only did crews show up, they were on time, took scheduled lunch breaks and cleaned up at the end of each day. All this was a huge plus in comparison to other remodel jobs around the neighborhood. If you are needing remodeling ideas, reasonable pricing with quality work that includes cabinetry and woodworking, Home Sweet Home Improvements is your team.

Description of Work
Complete home remodel post Harvey flood

Category custom cabinets, contractors, closet systems, flooring contractor, plumbing, remodeling, woodworking, home remodeling, interior painters, doors

Cost $90,000

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 02/02/2018

Images

Review for Home Sweet Home Improvement - 1201 Avenue H, South Houston, TX - 37147012

+5 More

Service Provider Response

[Member Name Removed], your remodel was enjoyable because of the ability to give you all the necessary products and services needed to completely put your house back together. I love how you appreciate the quality, service and attention to detail that we enjoy giving to our customers. You and [Member Name Removed] are the type of customers we really enjoy working for.
5.0

05/07/2018


Brenda D.

Great job! The contractor is very knowledgeable and gave great advise with selections.

Description of Work
Total home renovation due to Harvey flooding.

Category contractors, closet systems, electrician, flooring contractor, handyman service, plumbing, remodeling, fireplaces, woodworking, home remodeling, interior painters, doors

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 04/01/2018

Images

Review for Home Sweet Home Improvement - 1201 Avenue H, South Houston, TX - 37042112

Service Provider Response

Thanks for the glowing review. So happy we were able to get you back into your flooded home. Thanks for the business.
5.0

09/06/2017


Michelle T.

Work was done promptly and to satisfaction.

Description of Work
General repairs-electrical, carpentry, painting.

Category electrician, remodeling, woodworking, house painters, doors

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 08/03/2017

5.0

07/14/2017


Harold C.

Professional and prompt...satisfied with the improvements...second time using Home Sweet Home Improvements...would recommend this company

Description of Work
Vinyl floor replacement in master bath, replace shower door; install new tub, upgraded shower head, replace tub enclosure, added rails, in second bathroom and added more lattice around the foundation of the house.

Category flooring contractor, remodeling, home remodeling

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 04/03/2017

3.0

02/09/2017


JEFF H.

I wasn't happy with the bid. My interactions with them were very good, but they didn't match the price they were charging. I didn't like the quality of the materials they were going to use.

Description of Work
Estimate for deck work.

Category decks

Cost $7,500

Service Provider Response

First of all my estimate was for $ 7,120.00 not $ 7,500.00. My estimate was a fair estimate based on regular market price. When you asked for special materials for the price I gave you I felt like you had unrealistic expectations. We aren't the cheapest company in town but our quality and service is un surpassed. As you noted in your grading. Thanks for your review and sorry we couldn't give you a better price. A good job isn't cheap and a cheap job isn't good.
5.0

12/30/2016


Susanne B.

They are very knowledgeable and they were very clean. They picked up after themselves. There was no debris left or anything. One guy was strange because I asked him to add some more vents and he kind of say that he wants his money upfront and it’s not like I’m not going to pay him but the workers themselves were wonderful.

Description of Work
They came and did a deck and some venting for me.

Category decks

Cost $4,000

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 06/30/2015

3.0

12/11/2016


Jiemin L.

We hired them to install 2 windows and replace kitchen backsplash for our new home. The work was finished without problem, though they could've better cleaned the place. We hired them because we don't have flexible schedule and they were able to start the work right away. If your timeframe is not as tight as ours, you definitely should look for other contractors. Their quote was 50% higher than other quotes we received. After negotiation, it was still $1000 more than the quote I received from another Angie's List A grade contractor. The worse part is for the additional work on closets shelves. We were charged $100 per hour for two men to build some closet shelves. For painting the boards, it was $75 per hour for one man, which included sitting in truck and waiting for paint to dry between prime and coats. At the end, it coasted us $1445 for adding 5 shelf boards in the closets. It made me very uncomfortable when they wanted to bill me for even more. For a work day between 9.30 and 4.30, Williams initially billed 10 hours. When I pointed out and wondered how they could have worked for 10 hours, he didn't even say anything and acted as if it was just a common tactic to charge more. They may be able to start soon, but they certainly drag along. For one week of work, it took them 2 weeks because they usually started after 9.30 and leave before 4 or earlier. So take this into consideration if you want to use them.

Description of Work
Window installation, replacing kitchen backsplash, install closet shelves.

Category closet systems, remodeling, replacement windows, home remodeling

Cost $6,645

Services Performed? Yes

Work Completed On 12/07/2016

Service Provider Response

I'm sorry for your perception on how your project went. I should have bid your shelves rather than do it by the hour. Whenever you do a project by the hour it never goes fast enough for the customer. You sure appreciated me lowering my price $1,000.00 but did not like the time I had to spend at the store buying your supplies. You obviously liked the work we did because you kept adding things for us to do. My guess is you don't understand the cost of doing business. Thanks for your business! I'm sorry for your unpleasant experience.
5.0

10/04/2016


Michael M.

All the work came out wonderfully, with exact fits and good installation. They cleaned up after themselves after the job and even patched and repainted scrapes on the walls resulting from the installation. The bookcases were stained to closely match the existing woodwork in the house. The project took a while to complete, but we had been warned about that possibility at the beginning, due to the other ongoing work at the company. William showed up when he said he was going to and always called first to ensure availability. I would definitely recommend for any type of woodworking, and would also use them for other remodeling should we have other such projects.

Description of Work
This was our second project with Home Sweet Home Improvements. This time they built some bookcases for one of the bedrooms, added a drawer in the kitchen and reworked a kitchen cabinet so that a single door was converted to two doors on sliders.

Category custom cabinets, remodeling, woodworking, home remodeling

Cost $3,000

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 09/28/2016

Service Provider Response

Thank you [Member Name Removed]. It was a pleasure working and talking to you. You were patient and understanding about what it takes in doing a project. Thank you for all your business
2.0

08/30/2016


Rose M.

The foundation work was great. They worked in the rain most of the time. The deck was built and had to be replaced with better quality wood. There were 2 steps made for the spa and 1 was perfect and the order was to big. When you go down the larger step you have to go side ways to step on the landing. Built a towel hanger but when we went to used it the towels do not stay on the rack and I did pay extra for this. William was very nice and did replace the deck with out a problem, just disappointed he did not use the better deck material to start with.

Description of Work
replace and remove existing deck.

Category decks, remodeling

Cost $3,100

Services Performed? Yes

Work Completed On 08/30/2016

5.0

05/18/2016


Michael M.

The original doors were mahogany with very large double-paned glass panels (the two doors are each 8 feet tall by 2 and a half feet wide - most of this area is glass). William built two new doors to match, using mahogany again, and found a stain that exactly matched the original color. He was able to use the original hardware from the doors, which saved us the cost of buying new hardware and of course maintained the original look that matched the rest of the house. William was punctual, responsive and courteous in all our contacts. Once he had built the doors, he and his assistants installed them over the course of a day and a half. Their work is professional: excellent and thorough - they take the time needed to do things right. The doors fit the frame perfectly, and William worked with the trim to ensure there were no gaps or spaces through which the elements or insects could enter the house. On the French doors, there was one minor flaw (positioning of handle plate) which none of us noticed at the time of installation. When we saw it, we called William and he immediately said he would take care of it - they were at our house the next day and corrected the problem. As a side addition to the project, we asked them to replace the weatherstripping on three exterior doors, which they did by removing the doors and replacing the weatherstripping. On one door, they did not like the way the new weather stripping looked after installation, so they took the door off its hinges again and re-did the weatherstripping. I have no qualms about recommending William and his workers, especially for anything to do with wood (I understand that he does all types of home repair and improvement in addition) and we have already contracted to use them again for another project (adding some built-in bookcases) in our house. We have also asked William to quote on an external maintenance project that involves all our windows and doors.

Description of Work
We have a couple sets of French doors in our house. One of the sets (2 doors), which led out onto a small balcony, had started to rot due to weather exposure and water intrusion. It got to the point where with high humidity or rain, the doors could not be opened because they would swell up. We got a couple quotes, but were impressed with Home Sweet Home Improvements when they came out to look at the scope of the project in order to quote it. We decided to use Home Sweet Home Improvements (henceforward to be referred to as William, since he is the owner and primary worker).

Category doors

Cost $2,800

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 05/04/2016

5.0

10/07/2015


Mark H.

It was pretty expensive. A lot of the work they did was very good but some of the work they did was not as good. I had some issues with the tile work. Everything else was okay. I would use them again.

Description of Work
I used Home Sweet Home for remodeling.

Category home remodeling

Cost $100,000

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 08/15/2015

Service Provider Response

Thank you [member name removed] for letting us do your project and are pleased that you are willing to use us again. The work turned out beautiful and will look great as a model job for our website. I really enjoyed working for you and look forward to seeing and working for you again.
5.0

10/07/2015


mike M.

It went well. All work finished in 2 1/2 days.

Description of Work
built deck and stained fence

Category decks, fencing, remodeling, deck cleaning, house painters

Cost $2,800

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 09/01/2015