Find top-rated Pros in your area

Enter a zip code and get matched to businesses near you.

Mr Wilson Air Conditioning

Founded 2000 • With Angi since October 2006

4.9

(22) Verified Reviews

Business Details

Phone Number

Address

146 W Rhapsody Ste A

San Antonio, TX 78216

Description

Mr. Wilson is a family owned business specializing in customer care for your home's comfort needs. Tim's expertise spans over 30 years in the air conditioning/heating industry and his team is knowledgeable. Repair, new systems and taking care of you is our specialty! $20 any service call for our

Verified Reviews

A few reviews for this pro...
DEBORAH M.
5.0
10/07/2017
I have used him for many many years, and he has always given me good service.
Description of Work
They did maintenance.
Category
heating & air conditioning/hvac
Nicky V.
5.0
06/24/2016
This is one of the best AC companies out there! They have kept my old system working for many years but it was finally time to replace it. Roland gave a very fair estimate on the cost (I got 3 estimates and his was right on). They came early to get the work going, are cleaning up after themselves, are extremely professional and very pleasant to work with. What is even more amazing is that Patty Wilson came to the house with the paperwork ALREADY filed for the extended warranty, a stamped envelope and all paperwork needed for my CPS rebate, and everything else you could think of. Seriously one of the best companies I have ever worked with and will continue to be a loyal customer.
Description of Work
replaced my AC/heating unit in attic and outside - all but duct work
Category
heating & air conditioning/hvac
DEBORAH M.
5.0
11/15/2015
Everything went well. They arrived on time and got right to work. They removed the unit inside the house and the unit on the roof. They added a larger vent and replaced the cover on the original vent. They placed the new unit and the new thermostat. Tim Wilson came by to look everything over . He also did all the paperwork for me including the information I would need for the CPS rebate. Philip explained how everything worked and showed me how to set the new thermostat. It was a long day for everyone but well worth it. I am very happy with the new AC. I'm just sorry this review is so over due.
Description of Work
Replaced my complete AC unit plus added a vent.
Category
heating & air conditioning/hvac
David K.
5.0
08/09/2015
Called Mr Wison A/C Company. Roland Ramirez answer on a Sunday morning. He scheduled the call and came to the house that very day. He told me what was wrong with the unit, had all parts in his van to complete the repair. Pricing was a pleasant surprise for a weekend rate. I will continue to using them as my A/C service company.
Description of Work
Repaired my A/C unit on a Sunday afternoon
Category
heating & air conditioning/hvac
Mary W.
5.0
07/05/2015
Well, polite, and seemed to know what he was doing.
Description of Work
Checked ac's. Added freon. Satisfied
Category
heating & air conditioning/hvac
Diane S.
5.0
04/02/2015
unknown
Category
heating & air conditioning/hvac
Jonathan L.
5.0
06/18/2014
unknown
Description of Work
Paul from Mr. Wilson's AC did an excellent job servicing our 2 ac units.
Category
heating & air conditioning/hvac
Andrew Q.
1.0
06/11/2014
I was picking up equipment I had dropped off for repair at a nearby business when Mr Wilson pulled up and let me know I was blocking his dumpster. I started to move my vehicle immediately (had to back out) but the second he had enough space, in he came, close enough that I had to stop backing up and was worried he would run in to me. This was over the top rude, to the point that I wouldn't hire this business. If he would have waited 15 seconds longer I wouldn't have taken the time to leave this review.
Description of Work
Rude
Category
heating & air conditioning/hvac
Peter A S.
5.0
04/24/2014
Although I had my new a/c system installed last summer, I have only just got around to posting a review, this being prompted by a recent service call from Roland, the engineer from Mr. WIlson whom I dealt with. Going back to last summer - I needed to replace my 23 yr old a/c system. I got three quotes, two from bigger, more well known companies, and one from Mr. Wilson. Mr. WIlson was included on the basis of a glowing recommendation from a colleague of my wife. Anyway, to cut along story short, during the bidding process the attention to detail I received from Roland was excellent, and their quote was very competitive so I went with them, and I am very pleased that I did. The attention to detail continued through the installation process, with Roland and his two engineers (Steve and Cesar if my memory serves me right) performing the job quickly and efficiently, and to a very high standard. In addition, the business office provided all the papers I needed to claim the SAWS rebate and the IRS deduction. Finally, Roland took the time to link the wi-fi thermostat to our phones, and show us how it all works. After nine months the system runs like a dream, I am saving more than 25% on my utility bills. Thank you Mr. Wilson, and thank you Roland! Unfortunately, such professionalism is not easy to find these days.
Description of Work
Installed new residential HVAC system: TRANE heat pump and air handler
Category
heating & air conditioning/hvac
Sam T.
5.0
10/31/2013
I was worried because my 9 year old AC was really straining every time it started up and almost shook the whole house. Having been in home construction in the past, I knew it would not last much longer under these conditions. After discussing with Tim Wilson owner and tech Roland, instead of trying to stick me with a new AC unit to the tune of about $10K, they found that the unit needed additional return vents to make it run smoother and keep it going another few years. Roland reconfigured the program to allow unit to begin slowly then gradually increase speed to avoid shaking my old house everytime it kicked on. Two additional return vents were installed in different bed rooms and now my AC purrs like a kitten and am sure it is saving my electricity.
Description of Work
Install additional return vents & reprogrammed AC unit to perform more efficiently.
Category
heating & air conditioning/hvac
Mike S.
5.0
10/05/2013
We recently purchased a new home in San Antonio, which suffered from an expired AC coil that serviced our lower level, so we called Mr. Wilson who was recommended by a friend. The Mr. Wilson (Tim) showed up on time and did a complete analysis of our heating and air system. He was knowledgable, friendly, and doesn't try to oversell you, but explains everything he found and prioritizes it for you in order of importance. Prices were very reasonable. Mr. Wilson, the owner, was simply fantastic, and working with him is like talking to your dad. In fact, he even offered a bottle of cold water since it was so hot out! We were very happy with our experience and have placed Mr. Wilson on our permanent speed dial.
Description of Work
Fixed damaged AC Coil
Category
heating & air conditioning/hvac
Glenn C.
5.0
05/20/2013
So - having had no a/c for 4 days and being told on Friday we needed to replace parts and spend $2,000 or by a new system $8,500 - ours was installed in 1995 - today Roland Ramirez of Mr. Wilson Heating and A/C came out within 5 minutes told us we don't need a new system or any repairs - He advised us to call CPS out to fix their 3 phase power which is not working! CPS had just been here and fixed a problem on the transformer and sure enough all is working perfectly. So if you want good, reliable a/c service please use these guys - 210-308-9866. Thanks Roland - I hope this being plenty of business your way
Description of Work
Save us from needing to purchase a new unit.
Category
heating & air conditioning/hvac
Sam T.
5.0
05/16/2013
Technician Roland from Mr Wilson arrived right on time & thoroughly checked my AC unit, made some adjustments & offered to help me maintain it until I needed a new one, perhaps in at least a couple more years. The choice is simple If you have an older unit, you can either call Mr Wilson AC Service, or one of those AC service companies with a big advertisement budget that will hustle you to buy a new one instead of trying to maintain unit you already own.
Description of Work
I called a very well known AC service company that had been taking care of my home unit since I bought my home but then was told they preferred not to repair my unit since it was too old. I just need it checked before summer arrived even though unit still funs fine. Serviceman however suggested I replace it with a lower priced unit for a mere $6,200 like it was pocket change. Hmmmm, why would I replace a unit that was still working perfectly ? After reading positive note about Mr Wilson on Angie's List, I decided to give them a try and set up appointment
Category
heating & air conditioning/hvac
Nicky V.
5.0
03/05/2013
Mr. Wilson and company are the best that you can hire. After another contractor suggested replacing the unit, Mr. Wilson came to inspect the unit himself. He told me the unit did not need to be immediately replaced, we agreed on repairs to keep the unit in good working order, and to schedule yearly maintenance checks of the unit. This saved me over $3000! When Roland came to do the work, he was here on time, did the work in a very timely manner, and even saved me $25.00 by telling me to check the website for coupons. In a profession that could easily take people for lots of money, it is so refreshing to work with a company like Mr. Wilson's Air. He is an honest man who tries to help his customers out by providing what is NEEDED not what he can sell. On top of that, he will work closely with any customer to find the best rebates through CPS. And all of the crew who work for him are just as professional, caring, and helpful. This is by far one of the best companies I have ever worked with. I would recommend them to everyone, and I can guarantee that Mr. WIlson has a customer for life.
Description of Work
Yearly maintenance and cleaning of unit, sealing ducts throughout system.
Category
heating & air conditioning/hvac
John H.
5.0
06/28/2012
This company does what it says it going to do at a very reasonable price. We had our whole system replaced with them 4 years ago and I have not had one single problem with the system they installed or the service that has followed. They accommodate my working hours and have come back (free of charge) to answer some questions I have had in the past. Just good service!
Description of Work
Semi-annual service to our HVAC system.
Category
heating & air conditioning/hvac
ROBERT H.
3.0
09/12/2009
THe serviceman charged me $35 extra for a 35cent fuse. I complained and got no response. The serviceman did not find the problem wiring, so of course the fuse went out again. I was able to identify the wiring problem on my own, just by looking at the outside unit. I expected better.
Description of Work
fuse was blown on my AC. He replaced the fuse.
Category
heating & air conditioning/hvac
DEBORAH M.
5.0
07/14/2009
I was noticing an odor in the house, especially after the AC unit cut off. Paul came out and the first thing he noticed was a leak in the tubing on the front of the unit. He then did a complete inspection and told me the unit was very low on freon. He said it was possible that the odor was caused by the leak. He then replaced the tubing and added freon to the unit. The house was noticeably cooler and the unit cycled on and off less frequently. I was very happy.
Description of Work
The air conditioner had a complete checkup. Some tubing was replaced and freon was added to the system.
Category
heating & air conditioning/hvac
NATALIE E.
5.0
04/27/2009
Excellent! They came out when they said they would be here. They didn't sale us anything we didn't need after being here about 40 mins. including fixing the problem we had heat. They took their time to tell us what was wrong and what they did to correct the problem.
Description of Work
Our Heat Pump was not working.
Category
heating & air conditioning/hvac
MARIAN G.
5.0
09/02/2008
They came out the same day that we called them. They had to clean the coils and blow out the pipe that was clogged. He explained a few things to me to look for in case there was still a problem. They were very nice. They did more than we needed him to.
Description of Work
They came to my place and fixed a clog in the primary drain of our air conditioner.
Category
heating & air conditioning/hvac
ROBERT H.
5.0
08/21/2008
One unit was underperforming, so I had them check all three. I learned that maintenance is unnecessary if the unit is performing well (all they did was check the freon level). After they left the unit would not kick on. They should have caught this before they left, but they came back within an hour and put in a new capacitor, no charge. The senior guy was pretty capable. I would call them again.
Description of Work
Checked 3 units, added freon, replaced capacitor.
Category
heating & air conditioning/hvac
Gabriel G.
5.0
05/31/2008
Timely, neat and organized. They did not leave a mess. They had to remove the frame from the door but they put it back on. They were awesome!
Description of Work
They put in a whole new heating and cooling system.
Category
heating & air conditioning/hvac
MARTHA S.
5.0
10/03/2006
Mr. Wilson air conditioner was very professional. You could get them easily since your call goes to the company owner's cell phone. When our unit was out they made every attempt to get us back working as quickly as possible. We've been customers for almost five years. We've found them to be very honest and fair priced. They have even come out on Sundays to get our unit running without extra service charges which is unexpected since it is a very small company.
Description of Work
They replaced our air conditioner coil. They came out free of charge twice to recharge our unit while waiting for cooler weather to do the work since the unit is located in our attic.
Category
heating & air conditioning/hvac

    Other local Pros in your area

    Jon Wayne Service Company

    We are proud to be San Antonio's largest residential heating and air conditioning contractor. From the moment you call until the job is done, our goal is your 100% satisfaction. If the job is not done right, we will make it right.  

    Angi Certified

    2022 Super Service Award

    Xcalibur Air and Plumbing

    HVAC - Service and install central air conditioning systems. Clean dirt coils, clear clogged drain lines, refrigerant leak detection. AND MORE! Plumbing - Service and install water heaters (gas and electric) Clear clogged drains and sewer lines. Hydrojet and sewer camera inspections. Shower cartridge replacements, shower valves, PRV (pressure regulating valves) faucets, garbage disposals, leaking toilets, toilet replacements. Water and sewer leak detections. AND MORE!  

    Angi Certified

    ASC Heating & Air

    ASC Heat & Air proudly serves San Antonio, TX and the surrounding areas. Call ASC for all of your HVAC needs.  

    Angi Certified

    2022 Super Service Award

    Bonded
    Insured
    All statements concerning insurance, licenses, and bonds are informational only, and are self-reported. Since insurance, licenses and bonds can expire and can be cancelled, homeowners should always check such information for themselves.To find more licensing information for your state, visit our Find Licensing Requirements page.
    General Information
    Free Estimates
    Yes
    Eco-Friendly Accreditations
    No
    Payment Options
    Check, Visa, MasterCard, Discover, Financing Available
    Warranties
    Ask for details

    Services Offered

    Repair, new system replacement, installation and service. A new system can save you $$ on your energy bills. Call for free recommendations. Ask about rebates for extra savings. Like your car, keep your system "tuned up". Peace of mind with our Max Savings Plan.

    Services Not Offered

    Ask for details

    Frequently Asked Questions & Answers about Mr Wilson Air Conditioning

    How is Mr Wilson Air Conditioning overall rated?

    Mr Wilson Air Conditioning is currently rated 4.9 overall out of 5.

    What days are Mr Wilson Air Conditioning open?

    Mr Wilson Air Conditioning is open:

    Sunday: Closed

    Monday: 8:00 AM - 5:00 PM

    Tuesday: 8:00 AM - 5:00 PM

    Wednesday: 8:00 AM - 5:00 PM

    Thursday: 8:00 AM - 5:00 PM

    Friday: 8:00 AM - 5:00 PM

    Saturday: Closed

    What payment options does Mr Wilson Air Conditioning provide

    Mr Wilson Air Conditioning accepts the following forms of payment: Check, Visa, MasterCard, Discover, Financing Available

    Does Mr Wilson Air Conditioning offer free estimates?

    Yes, Mr Wilson Air Conditioning offers free project estimates.

    Does Mr Wilson Air Conditioning offer eco-friendly accreditations?

    No, Mr Wilson Air Conditioning does not offer eco-friendly accreditations.

    Are warranties offered by Mr Wilson Air Conditioning?

    No, Mr Wilson Air Conditioning does not offer warranties.

    What services does Mr Wilson Air Conditioning offer?

    Mr Wilson Air Conditioning offers the following services: Repair, new system replacement, installation and service. A new system can save you $$ on your energy bills. Call for free recommendations. Ask about rebates for extra savings. Like your car, keep your system "tuned up". Peace of mind with our Max Savings Plan.