Find top-rated Pros in your area

Enter a zip code and get matched to businesses near you.

Eden Deck & Patio

Founded 1984 • With Angi since August 2013

3.2

(6) Verified Reviews

Business Details

Phone Number

Address

6391 DeZavala Rd 104

San Antonio, TX 78249

Description

As San Antonio, Austin and Central Texas' premier deck and patio builder, Eden Deck & Patio is committed to assisting our clients in their every need and desire. We will transform any space into an "EDEN". An enchanted escape, where you and your family can depart from the everyday. A haven where

Verified Reviews

A few reviews for this pro...
Bridget H.
1.0
10/06/2014
DO NOT USE EDEN! Eden is full of fraudulent business practices and lies. ?J Allen?, the so called General Manager, is a fraud and does not honor the work promised. His real name is Jeffery Allen Perry, and the reason he goes by an alias is because he does not want you to know that he is a FELON and that he is currently serving out a 10 year parole sentence for ?misapplication of fiduciary property? from a 2010 offense, meaning, he took money from clients and did not perform the service. This can be validated by going to kens5.com and search ?Deck-building company owner cashed checks, never built decks? or go to mysa.com and search ?Deck builder sent to prison for customer rip-offs?. If you want to know who Eden is, these articles/news reports will tell you. We hired Eden to build a patio, arbor and outdoor kitchen, about a $20k job. Eden pulled no permits and the project foreman, Michael Duboise was never on our property when the subcontractors were doing any work. Whenever we brought up our concerns with the work, we were told it would be taken care of and there would be a final walk through. We contracted lueder limestone for our countertops and we were given a chalk like substance that was NOT lueder. When we asked about it, Eden lied and tried to tell us it was lueder, but we had already taken a sample of the product to a local outdoor landscaping business, and our doubts were confirmed. According to one of the subcontractors, Eden always states they use lueder limestone on the contracts but never actually use it. That is like contracting the use of granite and not using granite; Eden was banking on the fact that we would not know the difference. It was quite evident that Eden had never used the material; the mason did not know how to work with it. The mason work was horrible and not professional at all, we requested the outdoor kitchen to be rebuilt since it was not even measured properly for the built-in grill, but good luck making that happen. We had electrical work done for lighting and fans, no conduit was used and the lines were not properly buried. The concrete work is horrible, the concrete has cracks and no footers installed, the top is uneven and puddles water when it rains. After numerous complaints to Eden, nothing was ever done to remedy the situation. Eden stated they would be staining/sealing our arbor as part of the entire project, when it came down to doing this work, ?J Allen? stated it was not in the contract. How convenient... The polymer overlay completed was substandard. Eden contracted a 3rd party, Bill Weichert, to complete this work, not recommended due to very sloppy work. As soon as the polymer overlay was completed, Eden demanded payment before addressing all the other problems we brought to Eden?s attention over and over. And to top it off, I discovered that nearly all the photos on Eden?s website were stolen images from the internet. I was able to google search the images and find them on numerous other company?s sites. I contacted some of these companies and they stated they would contact Eden to have them removed, this is copyright infringement. I had specifically asked Eden about one of the photos, now removed, and Eden stated their project foremen, Michael Duboise built that arbor. This was an absolute lie since I spoke to the owner of the company would actually built the arbor. Spare yourself the grief and avoid this company and ?J Allen? at all cost. Complete nightmare. I would not be surprised if any of the "positive" reviews were actual fakes made by Eden themselves. There is no way anyone has had a positive experience with this company.
Description of Work
Extended concrete patio, built arbor, built outdoor kitchen space, electrical
Category
decks, masonry, patios
Randy S.
1.0
09/13/2014
Beware this company is now called Da Vinci Patios in San Antonio. They changed their name due to negative reviews and service. Do yourself a favor and stay away from this company which is now called Da Vinci Patios. Do NOT use Eden Deck & Patio. They are dishonest, deceitful, unqualified,and unethical. We were told our project would take 6-8 weeks. It started at the end of March, it's now mid-September (almost 6 months later), and the project is only 90% done. Eden will not respond to our requests to come finish the job per the contract or provide us with a copy of the plan or materials used for the slab foundation which the city is now requesting. Left with no other option, we've contacted over 8 professional and licensed contractors to come bid on the remaining work (fixing the roof and chimney) and all have the same feedback: the construction is second rate and the cheapest materials were used. Our$30K+ outdoor kitchen and living area project included extending the concrete slab, removing the existing roof, framing, electrical work, and masonry. All work was performed in the cheapest manner possible using the cheapest materials with no supervision or regard to standard construction codes leaving us with an outdoor area full of code violations and hazards. Concrete slab foundation was not properly poured or reinforced resulting in cracks in the foundation and city code violations. Roof flashing was improperly installed without the use of roofing grade caulking, proper cut-in stone installation, or counter flashing. The wrong gauge wire was used for ceiling fans, electrical wire was not in conduits, and outside electric boxes were not weatherproof. Concrete slab foundation slops abnormally and masonry settings are already cracking. If you are outside of San Antonio, be aware that all contractors come from San Antonio so they spend 3 hours commuting back and forth, meaning they get a late start and end early which cuts into the day?s productivity. Eden claimed to have their own crews but lost 2 masonry crews and 1 project manager over the course of our project. We now realize there were several red flags along the way but we were falsely reassured by Jay Allen, the general manager, that everything would be taken care of. As we neared the end of the project, Jay was eager to wash his hands of us and we were told our project was a burden. His tone and attitude showed a complete disregard of customer satisfaction and no remorse that the project was left in this state. While I am not a frequent poster of reviews, this has been the worst contractor experience we have ever endured and we hope letting others know of our terrible experience and the hardship we have endured over the past 5+ months will steer others away from Eden and prevent them from going through the same thing. Happy to discuss this in more detail and share pictures if you wish to contact me directly. Don?t fall for the sales pitch. Do your research on Eden Deck & Patio and on ?Jay Allen.?
Description of Work
Outdoor living/kitchen/fireplace
Category
decks, electrician, masonry, roofing, stamped concrete
Jimmie C.
2.0
08/11/2014
I wanted my composite deck re-covered with cedar decking. This involved removing and hauling away all of the composite material, but leaving in place the supporting structure under the deck surface. My original price estimate was based on the assumption (substantiated by the estimator/general manager) that any repair work needed on the deck's supporting structure would be minor and wad included in the cost estimate. Then what I describe as a bait-and-switch ensued. The carpenter quickly removed the old decking material, and informed me that most of the supporting structure was unusable and would have to be replaced. At several thousand dollars in additional cost, of course. I would never have approved the contract if I had known this in advance, but I had no choice. My old deck was gone. EVENTUAL COST EARNS AN "F". The worksite is in Austin, Texas. The company assigned a sub-contract carpenter who lives two hours away by car, thus requiring a four hour round trip every work day. As a consequence of this, work began very late in the day, and ended early on most days. Additionally, the carpenter brought his spouse along as his helper. They were apparently having issues in their marriage, and he yelled at her more-or-less continually every day he was here. My neighbors can substantiate this fact. The carpenter missed several appointments to work due to car troubles and legal problems associated with unpaid traffic tickets. The eventual deck looks good and meets my needs, but the process of getting it EARNS A "D". At the end, I made a mistake and made the final payment before the clean-up work was finished. I was promised by the general manager that a man (different from the carpenter) would come and complete the job in a few days. He never came. I was so frustrated by this time that I paid another handyman to do the clean-up. My experiences with Eden Deck Company and their sub-contractors was completely unsatisfactory. I will never recommend this company to anyone else; in fact I will warn anyone who asks me to stay away from them.
Description of Work
Replaced backyard deck (composite) with cedar decking.
Category
decks
Beverly G.
5.0
03/27/2014
It went very well, and am very pleased with the project, this is my second time using this company.
Description of Work
They extended my existing patio and added a patio cover. They also replaced some siding and rotten soffit pieces i had on my house in addition to ripping the specified gutters off my home and replacing rotten pickets on my fence and demo'd an existing deck and bathroom area next to my pool.
Category
decks, patios
Jackie R.
5.0
03/27/2014
This crew did a fantastic job! My husband and I knew we wanted a patio with an arbor, and they took that idea and ran with it. Our project was completed on time as scheduled, and we're very pleased with the attention to detail this company provided. would definitely use them for future additions.
Description of Work
Installed a large concrete patio with flagstone and arbor
Category
decks, masonry, patios
Chris C.
5.0
10/03/2013
They were great! They started off spraying the stain and left some stain where it shouldn't be. When I pointed it out, they were able to remove it and continued the staining using brushes and rollers so there were no more problems. My deck is up about 14 feet so they did a lot of ladder work. It wasn't an easy job but they kept at it till I was satisfied.
Description of Work
Eden did some sanding, then power washed and stained my deck, car pad railing and stairs.
Category
decks

    Other local Pros in your area

    Masonry Arts

    We are a full-service masonry co., locally owned & operated, & do all types of masonry work from entire new houses to commercial buildings to small mortar crack repairs. No job is too small as we treat all projects equally. We place extreme importance in our service, quality of work, & happiness of every customer. We want to give each customer "more than their money's worth" at every opportunity we can. Angie's list winner of "the 2009 Super Service Award"(2 awards), "2010 Super Service Award" (5 awards), 2011 award (8 awards), 2012 award (4 awards), and 2013 award (5 awards), 2014 awards, & every year including the newest 2018 awards. Always a perfect rating on the BBB. Ambassador membership of the Texas State Historical Association. NOTICE: Due to our blessing of success from a great reputation & quality work, along with an increased number of Angie's List members in San Antonio, etc., please allow extra time in me returning calls. We can still do rush jobs, etc. it's just that at times I'm extremely busy & get very many calls all on the same day. I like to stay small enough without a huge amount of employees, to ensure hands-on quality in work & correctness & in me doing all sales calls. But I surely will return your call the first possible chance. Thanks! Bob  

    Angi Certified

    2022 Super Service Award

    Hoff Haus Construction

    Hoff Haus Construction is a locally owned and operated company that values honesty and integrity in all aspects of our business. We started in this industry in 2017 and we love to help homeowners create their perfect home! Our dedicated team of professionals have over 30 years of hands on experience, to provide innovative ideas and suggestions tailored to your projects. Our decks, patios, covers, pergolas, and screen rooms are customized to your individual needs, paying close attention to the details of each project that we are involved with.  

    Angi Certified

    2022 Super Service Award

    All Pro Decks & Patios

    All Pro Deck & Patios is a family-owned and operated company. We've been building decks, patios, and outdoor spaces since 2014. Our attention to detail and personal customer service is why we are one of the most trusted deck builders in San Antonio. We specialize in creating amazing Custom Decks, Composite Decks, Concrete Patios, Patio Covers & Outdoor Kitchens. We are bonded licensed and insured, certified ELITE deckorators and accredited with North American Deck & Railing Association.  

    Angi Certified

    Business Highlights

    Emergency Services OfferedEmergency Services Offered
    Bonded
    Insured
    All statements concerning insurance, licenses, and bonds are informational only, and are self-reported. Since insurance, licenses and bonds can expire and can be cancelled, homeowners should always check such information for themselves.To find more licensing information for your state, visit our Find Licensing Requirements page.
    General Information
    Free Estimates
    Yes
    Eco-Friendly Accreditations
    Yes
    Payment Options
    Check, Visa, MasterCard, Discover
    Senior Discount
    20%
    Emergency Service
    Yes
    Warranties
    Yes

    Services Offered

    Decks, Patios, Patio covers, Arbors, Pergolas, Outdoor Kitchens, Decorative Concrete

    Services Not Offered

    Ask for details.

    Frequently Asked Questions & Answers about Eden Deck & Patio

    How is Eden Deck & Patio overall rated?

    Eden Deck & Patio is currently rated 3.2 overall out of 5.

    What days are Eden Deck & Patio open?

    Eden Deck & Patio is open:

    Sunday: Closed

    Monday: 10:00 AM - 6:00 PM

    Tuesday: 10:00 AM - 6:00 PM

    Wednesday: 10:00 AM - 6:00 PM

    Thursday: 10:00 AM - 6:00 PM

    Friday: 10:00 AM - 6:00 PM

    Saturday: 11:00 AM - 5:00 PM

    What payment options does Eden Deck & Patio provide

    Eden Deck & Patio accepts the following forms of payment: Check, Visa, MasterCard, Discover

    Does Eden Deck & Patio offer free estimates?

    Yes, Eden Deck & Patio offers free project estimates.

    Does Eden Deck & Patio offer eco-friendly accreditations?

    Yes, Eden Deck & Patio offers eco-friendly accreditations.

    Does Eden Deck & Patio offer a senior discount?

    No, Eden Deck & Patio does not offer a senior discount.

    Does Eden Deck & Patio offer emergency services?

    Yes, Eden Deck & Patio offers emergency services.

    Are warranties offered by Eden Deck & Patio?

    Yes, Eden Deck & Patio offers warranties.

    What services does Eden Deck & Patio offer?

    Eden Deck & Patio offers the following services: Decks, Patios, Patio covers, Arbors, Pergolas, Outdoor Kitchens, Decorative Concrete

    Are there any services Eden Deck & Patio does not offer?

    Ask for details.