Angie's List is now Angi. Learn more

Find top-rated Pros in your area

Enter a zip code and get matched to businesses near you.

Dreamscapes Landscaping

Founded 1983 • With Angi since December 2010

3.8

(24) Verified Reviews

Business Details

Phone Number

Address

15614 Creekside St

San Antonio, TX 78232

Description

Our trained and experienced team specializes in professional landscaping services for your home or office in San Antonio and surrounding area. Call today for a free property assessment and estimate....

Verified Reviews

A few reviews for this pro...
5.0

05/02/2016


Kevin I.

Wes and his crew did a excellent job keeping me informed every step of the way. Job was done on time, on budget. I will most definitely use him again for any work I need again!

Description of Work
Poured concrete patio and installed new support posts.

Category decks

5.0

10/21/2015


Whitney B.

Description of Work
They built a couple of retaining walls, extended a patio (pavers), and placed some stepping stones. | |They did a great job and while the job was several thousand dollars more than the original quote, the increase was due to several choices that we made. The final bill was fairly priced for the work done.

Category decks, landscaping

1.0

04/26/2013


Angela R.

I got this companies name from Angie's list and at the time they had a B grade. I had Architectural drawing and detailed plans from and quot;Morris Dudleyand quot; they were great plans very clear and easy to understand. I should have been alarmed that on the first day the sub contractors didn't have a copy of the plans. Mr. Northrop fail to give clear instructions to his subs. The only bright spot was the pergola they built in my back yard. To many times in the last 3 months yes a job that should have taken 2 weeks lasted 3 months way to many screw ups occurred. From plans being were lost ,yes 4 sets, plans not being followed, to few plants and over poor effort I finally fired mr. Northrop and paid him 3,00.00 jus to go away. Don't use this company they couldn't find their rear end with both hands.

Description of Work
Landscaped, decomposed granite driveway, built pergola and updated sprinkler

Category landscaping, irrigation systems, hardscaping

1.0

04/25/2013


Ann B.

Had contacted a landscaper who came out and gave me suggestions. He was going to draw up a plan and get back to me in a couple of days. I had to call him after a week. I was informed that he was busy and hadn't had time but would meet with me the following day at my office. I've never heard from since. So I called Dream Scapes, Wes Northrup. He was pleasant on the phone and we made appointment for him to come out on Saturday, April 6th sometime prior to noon. At 12:30 I had not heard from him so I called him. He had no ideal who I was, said he left is notes in his other car. However, he said he could be at my home within the hour. He was there in about 40 min. I explained to him about the first landscaper I called and he remarked that he must not need the money. He looked around, took a picture of the yard and said he would get back to me by tuesday, April 9th. Here it is April 25th and not a word. Obviously he doesn't need the money either. Now I'm not trusting anyone. They did not realize that because I'm in real estate I could have possibly generated alot of business for them. We are asked all the time for referral such as landscapers. However, very few people want to work now a days or have good work ethics.

Description of Work
NONE

Category landscaping

1.0

03/07/2013


Glenn W.

They just did a bad job. It was so bad that I had to bring someone in to rip it out and hire another contractor. I was travelling at that time, back and forth out of town. When I got back they had poured the concrete. It was actually bowed in the middle. When I got back I called him to discuss it. He called back a few times and then he just never called back. He told me that he will get back to me but he never did. I was not going to be in town and it was an emergency type of thing. I paid him more than I should have paid him but I didn't pay him everything. The price was reasonable.

Description of Work
I used Dreamscapes Landscaping to put in a patio and a sidewall.

Category concrete repair, patios

5.0

12/01/2012


Sylvester W.

Since DreamScapes had installed our patio, I was pretty comfortable with having them do the patiocover. After the estimate was given, the contractor invited us to a near by home were they were currently working. Although they were no way near finished, we were impressed with the work they were doing. Our job started on time and they worked around our schedule. Since this was an outside job, we did not have to be home when they were actually working. Throughout the project I was given status reports and made aware of when they would and would not be there. The job was completed as promised and we were very please with the results.

Description of Work
DreamScapes had installed our concrete patio in 2011. When we decided to cover the patio, they again came up with the best estimate for the work to be done. The job included a wooden cover with paint and shingles to match the house. They also installed the electrical wiring for an outdoor ceiling fan, which I purchased and they installed. aproximately 2/3 of the cover was solid and 1/3 was open latice work.

Category decks, stucco

1.0

08/07/2012


Jeanne P.

I called this company on a Saturday, they told me they could call and set up a date on Monday. I never heard from them.

Description of Work
Did not hire them

Category decks, landscaping

3.0

07/05/2012


Calvin L.

They removed some plants and planted some new. They were supposed to treat some weeds too, but it did not happen. They took almost three weeks to complete my job. They promised to comeback and finish the job, but they took almost three to four days to do. My overall experience is not good and I will not use him again in the future.

Description of Work
I used Dreamscapes for landscaping services.

Category landscaping, mulch

4.0

06/19/2012


Sylvester W.

I would use them again in the future if needed.

Description of Work
I used Dreamscapes Landscaping to put in a 12 by 30 patio. They took off my railing and added 2 steps leading onto the patio they put in.

Category foundation repair

5.0

06/05/2012


Glenn B.

Very happy

Description of Work
Our project budget made this company unaffordable to us. But even after knowing that a lot of time was taken to help us.

Category landscaping

5.0

04/19/2012


Tom D.

They are nice people. The guy called me back and gave me a reasonable price, and I am probably going to use them. The overall experience was excellent. They were prompt, responsive, and professional.

Description of Work
They provided a quote for stucco work in our new house.

Category stucco

5.0

10/15/2011


Sylvester W.

They were quick. I liked the price. I had three estimates and they were the lower of the three estimates for pretty much the same work. I liked the results. The workers were very good. Everything is holding up so far. I would definitely use them again.

Description of Work
I used Dreamscape Landscaping to install a patio in the back of the house.

Category hardscaping

2.0

04/15/2011


Gary S.

In November 2009, not knowing about Angie's List, we used a website called Service Magic to find a landscaper. He had many positive reviews. We heard after the fact (and I don't actually know it this is true) that this website doesn't publish negative reviews. That was our first mistake. Anyway, through them we hired Wes Northrop and Dreamscapes, thus beginning a long journey through landscaping heaven, which ultimately plummeted into landscaping h***. Wes showed up on time, spent a lot of time measuring, drawing, etc., and presented an exquisite plan. We were so enthralled with its creativity and beauty, and because we were in a bit of a hurry, we hired Wes without getting another estimate. This was our second mistake. Working with Wes was a bit like a fairytale marriage gone bad. In the "honeymoon" phase, we were perhaps lulled by Wes's beautiful plan for our front and back yards. Our front lawn had completely died out, and as my husband hates mowing, Wes suggested an artificial lawn. We decided to go with it, as most of the front yard was already xeriscaped and the patch of "lawn" very small. The new plants, a queen palm, two kinds of mulch, our existing plants, and our new "turf" made for some impressive curb appeal. In the back yard Wes did much of the same: turf, two queen palms, and many plants. Again, a beautiful result, plus, Wes and his crew moved some very large rocks from our previous house and placed them in both the front and the back with the aid of a bobcat. Wes did things with a bobcat that we didn't think possible. It was, we were soon to discover, his finest hour. We were impressed, to say the least. Mostly, the guys showed up, kind of on time. Well, they did skip some days and didn't call, but Wes always had excuses and we did love our newly emerging look. So we were inclined to be indulgent about Wes's growing inconsistencies but the warning signs were definitely there. In the spring of 2010 the honeymoon was ending; we began to experience problems and would call Wes for help. He would promise to come over. After several calls, he would eventually show up. The turf seams had not meshed well, although Wes had stated that eventually they would settle. (They didn't.) Two of the queen palms were doing poorly after the winter of 2009 and were replaced. Even though Wes picked out the replacements, one of them appeared unhealthy, never sprouting one new frond. Wes assured us that it would be fine. (It wasn't.) Poor thing never had a chance and it was no surprise that it didn't survive the winter of 2010, along with the last original queen palm. We felt this tree was not planted deep enough at the beginning, but when we questioned Wes about it, he (you guessed it) assured us it was fine. So far, the second replacement is hanging in there, although not thriving. We had problems with other plantings, even after we fertilized them (Wes's recommendation), some of which were eventually replaced. There are never any guarantees with plants; some make it and some don't. Because you have to pay for all the replacement plants, you hire someone who claims to have professional expertise to recommend, select, and plant the trees and plants that have a better chance of survival so that you don't have to spend as much on replacements. While Wes's plan for the plants looked good on paper, the survival rate of the plants indicate that the execution (literally and figuratively) did not match the plan. Also in the spring of 2010, it had become apparent that there were two leaks in the drip system. I think it was the big pool of water in the back yard (which killed three of the plants) and the smaller pool in the front yard that gave them away. It took a couple of months before Wes came to fix them. While the back yard leak was fixed, the front yard leak was not. Ultimately, this spring, my husband uncovered the entire drip system. Out of six connections that Wes's crew had put in while converting the original system to a drip system, four were leaking. Keep in mind that these are not the little drippers from which the water drips, these are the 5/8and rdquo; PVC connections that anyone should be able to install and which my husband has now fixed. Since then, another leak has developed under the turf, but my husband hasn't had the wherewithal to lift up the turf and do more digging to see if it's a problem caused by Wes or a problem with the original piping. I guess you know which way I'm leaning. Over time, useful communication with Wes went down to near zero. I would call. Wes would promise to come. Wes wouldn't show. I would call again. Wes would give me creative excuse number who-knows-what. Wes wouldn't show. You get the picture. After the last batch of replacement plants in July 2010 and the partial sprinkler repair, I gave up on Wes and ceased calling. This spring (2011), we hired someone else (this time from Angie's List and after three estimates) to pull out the dead palms, clean up the yard, and plant the plants that I researched, selected, and purchased myself. We are older (sadly) and wiser (hopefully) now. As I read the Angie's List reports on Wes I am in agreement with them. He rates A's and he rates F's and everything in between. He is a talented designer but not a good manager. He's inconsistent and has no follow through. He will never say no. Instead of telling you that he can't come to your house for two days because he's working on another project, he'll tell you that he'll be there later that day and then not show up or call to tell you he can't make it. It is difficult to determine a value on the price of any project. Although there were some small changes to our plan, they were not significant to the overall picture. As we look at the final cost, however, and what we have spent in repairs and replacements, what appeared to be a good value initially now seems to have been not such a good deal. A project that should have been over in a month, with perhaps some replacements of smaller plants after a cold winter, is now 18 months old with sprinkler issues still looming. No matter how you look at this project, we ultimately did not receive what we paid for. While Wes is capable of great work as a designer, my advice to you, a prospective client, is caveat emptor if you want him to do the work.

Description of Work
Expanded xeriscape area (front and back) with new plantings and mulch, lawn removal and placement of artificial lawn (front and back), courtyard tiling (approx. 500 sq ft), tree planting (3 palm trees), converted above ground sprinkler system to drip sprinkler system (front and back), moved 5 large rocks to front yard and 6 smaller rocks to back yard from previous residence.

Category landscaping, lawn service, irrigation systems

2.0

03/28/2011


Michael S.

We did not like them. It was too much that we spent on that work and it was not really satisfactory. The deck had posts and the posts that they put in were crooked and one of them had to be replaced almost immediately. A couple of them went crooked a little later and we had so much trouble with getting the one replaced that we did not bother with the others. Now, some of the decking under the tub itself is starting to split and we were just not happy with them at all. The guy that cam out and did the estimate promised the world and they guys that came and did the work said that he obviously does not build things and he does not know that we can’t do it that way. It was just not a very satisfactory experience at all. Another company was much better in pricing than them.

Description of Work
Dreamscape Landscaping about 4 or 5 years ago and they built a hot tub deck for us.

Category decks

5.0

03/18/2011


DAWN G.

They have done a very good job for us. We are very pleased with him. He comes out here, gets to work, and he works til he's finished. He doesn't mess around and he does a good job. He did such a good job that we sent him to our daughter and she was pleased with his work too. This young man was excellent.

Description of Work
They cleaned up my yard and my gutters. They also laid some rocks along my flower edge.

Category landscaping, lawn service, pavers, gravel

4.0

02/28/2011


Jason W.

Overall the work was well done - our main issue was with communication. Wes and his crew often didn't show up at the agreed upon time and didn't answer phone calls when we tried to find out what the status on his crew was. I don't have a problem with being late to the job or behind on work, but you must communicate with me. Cleanup after the job was complete was a joke - on the new concrete poured adjacent to the house concrete spatter was all over our siding. For weeks after the job was complete I found chips and chunks of stone and concrete in my yard. We had tried communicating the dissatisfaction with Wes but in the end we made the decision to be done with the company. Overall the work was satisfactory. I believe he used day laborers as the crew was different each day. Wes made very few appearances on the job site and with the different crew each day this made getting status/job updates and completion dates very difficult. Members of his crew tried to get us to pay more money for little jobs we considered part of the overall agreement.

Description of Work
Removal of half-height brick wall surrounding patio, installation of french drain, pour concrete extension/addition to existing patio, pour new concrete patio and cover with customer-provided stone

Category concrete repair, decks, landscaping

5.0

09/13/2010


Stephen Y.

Overall, we had a very good experience with Dreamscapes. The value for the money was fantastic and we are very happy with the end result. There were a few problems along the way, but Wes corrected them all. We have had many compliments on our new landscaping, thanks to Dreamscapes.

Description of Work
Complete landscaping overhaul. New sod, revamped sprinkler system, new driveway, new flagstone patio, new plant beds, iron driveway gate.

Category concrete driveways, landscaping

1.0

08/30/2010


Kristen F.

I was living out of state at the time when I hired Mr. Northrup. When my husband arrived in San Antonio on June 8th, he informed me that our lawn looked horrible. I immediately contacted Mr. Northup and explained my concerns to him. Mr. Northrup explained that my lawn was high, that it would take his crew several cuttings to get the lawn maintained and that this would require what he termed "a full clean-up." Mr. Northrup offered to meet with my husband to go over these details with him. Mr. Northrup never showed up and never gave us the courtesy of calling us to let us know that he would not make the appointment. I decided I would fire Mr. Northrup since he proved to be unreliable in a multitude of ways. I called him to let him know my decision and that I wanted a refund for the remaining month's of services that he did not provide. Mr. Northrup told me he would get back to me with that information. Weeks passed by with no contact from Mr. Northrup. I called him several times only to receive the verbal run around from him. I finally had to file a BBB complaint. The BBB was no help unfortunately. But, atleast this business transaction is documented. Mr. Northrup never gave me a refund of the $75.00 that I requested. He only cut my lawn twice and it looked horrible. He made up phony charges once I made the BBB formal complaint and stated that I was never owed a refund. Be very wary when hiring this individual. If there are any situations that arise that you need resolution to, this is not the business to hire. This business is incapable of doing simple tasks. Be very cautious.

Description of Work
Contacted Mr. Northrup on May 20th, 2010 in order to hire him for simple landscaping work. Mr. Northup gave me an estimate over the phone. He stated that he charged a flat fee of $150.00 per month which included weeding, edging and cutting the lawn. He came out to my property twice to cut my lawn.

Category landscaping, lawn service

Service Provider Response

Her lawn was full with weeds taller than me. She was very concerned telling me her other landscapers had not cut her lawn in well over a month. She said she was going to receive a fine from the association and called me to see how soon i could come over. So, i reset my schedule to look at the lawn and called her right away so she would not get a fine. I told her the first cutting would be the work equivalent to 3 cuttings. She said, "ok". So, i did just that. She told me her husband would call me when he got to town and i never heard from him. Contrary to her complaint, she ended up oweing me money. So i just dropped it. I guess she was in the mood to complain about somebody and i was the lucky winner.
1.0

04/27/2010


Linda M.

Poorly did not do the job....

Description of Work
The owner Wes - not responsive at all....would say he wold call you back and never would...had to constantly call him as he woud never call you back....ended up wasting my time wating on him, and ended up using two othe companies to do the work... Deck the House and Good Guys in Straw Hats - both very good...

Category decks, landscaping

Service Provider Response

She was never available for a consultation.
5.0

10/27/2009


Judy M.

Very pleased with the process, seemed to go a little slow at first, but most of that was due to weather issues, not a fault of the landscape company. They did a great job of listening to what we wanted and building it accordingly. They also picked the plants for us which blend very well and look very nice. Very pleased with the quality of the plants, and grass used.

Description of Work
total landscaping of the back yard, including building beds with dirt, mulch, and plants. Additional sod placed over about 1/5 of back yard. River Rock installed in two locations. Also planted a huge existing potted plant that we had into the new bedded area.

Category landscaping

5.0

08/22/2009


Claire C.

The landscaper made suggestions on how to accommodate my request to clear my view, but made a wise choice to talk me into leaving some of the trees and shaping them up. I was not interested at first because I didn't want the maintainence of picking up the leaves. But, now that I have see the finished product I am glad I listened to his advice. I am so glad I didn't get rid of all the trees. It looks fabulous and the maintainence is really nothing.

Description of Work
They worked on giving me a view of the greenbelt behind my house by removing some old, not so appealing trees and trimming some of the better looking trees. They removed stumps and cleared all clippings.

Category lawn service

5.0

08/22/2009


Claire C.

They showed up on schedule and moved fast to finish the job. They made sure to ask me permission at many stages in the landscaping process to ensure I was getting exactly what I envisioned. If I needed to reach them they returned my calls promptly. When the job was complete Wes made sure to stress how to maintain and preserve the look of my new yard. It looks fabulous. And, he's always available to answer any questions that arise after a job well done.

Description of Work
I was impressed with their fence work and decided to hire them again to have my front and side yard landscaped. The owner is full of energy and personality which made me feel comfortable communicating exactly what I wanted. He offered really smart suggestions and helped me create a design that was functional, appealing to the eye, and smart for maintaining in the long run.

Category landscaping

5.0

08/22/2009


Claire C.

The whole thing was well planned out. The deck renovation was such a smart idea, we made the deck smaller which left enough room to enjoy the deck with a better view of the pool. This left tons more space around the pool. The concrete was such a better idea than having the unusable and high maintenance landscaping that was there before. Now, there's plenty of room for entertaining and the design brought the focus to the pool and our beautiful view of the greenbelt behind the house.

Description of Work
cleared out old landscaping (if that's what you want to call it!); refurbished old deck using some of the old deck and new materials as well (saving me tons of money!); poured concrete; put up a new fence

Category concrete repair, decks, fencing, hardscaping

5.0

01/16/2009


Patty C.

Wes is great to work with. He will be reworking my sprinkler system soon but for this job did a repair inside my home that needed to be done.

Description of Work
Worked on the ceiling to temporarily fix sheetrock prior to foundation repair.

Category landscaping

    Other local Pros in your area

    Icon Painting, LLC

    With over 20 years experience, we provide unrivaled interior and exterior painting services with utmost attention to detail to residents and businesses of San Antonio and surrounding areas. Our past projects include both new construction and residential repaints. Occupied and fully operational job sites are never a problem. And, we can also plan, manage, and build multi-phase jobs.  

    Richter Tree and Lawn Service

    We take pride in ourselves and on the quality work we provide, while always delivering great customer service! For a quicker response rate, please call me directly at 210-663-2303. Thank you so much, and I look forward to working with you.  

    Angi Super Service Award badge
    Super Service
    Award 2021
    Offers by Richter Tree and Lawn Service on Angi
    Unified Painting

    ***2019 Angie's List Super Service Award Winner*** INSURED**** Locally owned Painter. We do pretty much any type of painting. We paint and power wash.  

    Offers by Unified Painting on Angi
    Insured
    All statements concerning insurance, licenses, and bonds are informational only, and are self-reported. Since insurance, licenses and bonds can expire and can be cancelled, homeowners should always check such information for themselves.To find more licensing information for your state, visit our Find Licensing Requirements page.
    General Information
    Free Estimates
    Yes
    Eco-Friendly Accreditations
    No
    Warranties
    Satisfaction

    Services Offered

    Residential and commercial concrete contractor, decorative concrete, retaining walls, landscaping design, irrigation, fence, decks, gazebos, installation & maintenance.

    Services Not Offered

    Ask for details

    Frequently Asked Questions & Answers about Dreamscapes Landscaping

    How is Dreamscapes Landscaping overall rated?

    Dreamscapes Landscaping is currently rated 3.8 overall out of 5.

    What days are Dreamscapes Landscaping open?

    Dreamscapes Landscaping is open:

    Monday: 8:00 AM - 7:00 PM

    Tuesday: 8:00 AM - 7:00 PM

    Wednesday: 8:00 AM - 7:00 PM

    Thursday: 8:00 AM - 7:00 PM

    Friday: 8:00 AM - 7:00 PM

    Does Dreamscapes Landscaping offer free estimates?

    Yes, Dreamscapes Landscaping offers free project estimates.

    Does Dreamscapes Landscaping offer eco-friendly accreditations?

    No, Dreamscapes Landscaping does not offer eco-friendly accreditations.

    Are warranties offered by Dreamscapes Landscaping?

    No, Dreamscapes Landscaping does not offer warranties.

    What services does Dreamscapes Landscaping offer?

    Dreamscapes Landscaping offers the following services: Residential and commercial concrete contractor, decorative concrete, retaining walls, landscaping design, irrigation, fence, decks, gazebos, installation & maintenance.