Ace Handyman Services San Antonio

About

Founded 2006 • With Angi since April 2007

Ace Handyman Services San Antonio provides home and business owners with the highest quality craftsmanship and customer service. All of our craftsmen are bonded and insured and all pass a strict background test and skill assessment prior to working for us. We are members of the Better Business Bureau and are a proud recipient of the 2007, 2008, 2009, 2011, 2012, 2013 and 2014 Angie’s List Super Service Award. Owners Walter & Bev Caraballo and Mike & Denise Caraballo, and all of our local staff welcome the opportunity to help you with your home repair or improvement projects. Call us today and we can start on your project in a few days – not a few weeks!...

Awards and Badges

Angi Certified

Verified Reviews

4.7

(543) Verified Reviews

Ratings Distribution

5

452

4

21

3

18

2

18

1

32

Rating Details

Price

4.6

Professionalism

4.8

Punctuality

4.8

Quality

4.7

Responsiveness

4.8

Read reviews by category

handyman (479)door installation (90)woodworking (49)plumbers (48)drywall (40)lighting (38)electrician (36)interior painting (26)general contractors (22)house painting (21)ceiling fan installation (21)cabinet refacing (19)
Showing 1-25 of 543 reviews
5.0

07/18/2022


Susie K.

Went great and I’m satisfied with the job.

Description of Work
install exterior door

Category handyman service

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 07/17/2022

5.0

08/22/2020


CLIFF C.

The handyman was very professional and even recommended several cost saving options. He installed a better gate and replaced all the missing and broken pickets.

Description of Work
Gate and Fence repair

Category fencing, cabinet refacing

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 08/18/2020

Service Provider Response

Thank you for the review!
5.0

07/31/2020


CLIFF C.

Professional service. He fixed the door in an hour and even fixed another door that was not included in the original request. I will definitely hire again for other jobs.

Description of Work
Fix back door

Category doors

Cost $130

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 07/30/2020

Service Provider Response

Thank you for the review!
2.0

06/30/2020


Rebecca P.

Horrible experience. Always delayed, left teens unsupervised until evening, didn’t clean up area from sharp screws, sloppy workmanship. Would not recommend.

Description of Work
Patio cover replaced

Category roofing, cabinet refacing

Cost $1,900

Services Performed? Yes

Work Completed On 04/01/2020

Service Provider Response

So sorry you had a frustrating experience. There is more than one Ace Handyman Services office in the area. We could not find your name or address in our customer database. Please double-check which office you contacted and give them a call to address your concerns. You should also contact Angie’s List Member Services so that they may move your review to the correct service provider.
5.0

06/02/2020


Ed R.

All work was completed except one light fixture could not be fixed.

Description of Work
Install two door fixtures; repair two lights; fix sticky door; repair baseboard

Category drywall, lighting, cabinet refacing, doors

Cost $467.5

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 06/01/2020

Service Provider Response

Thank you for the review!
5.0

06/01/2020


Peter G.

Great the tech was both efficient and proficient.

Description of Work
A new kitchen light fixture to replace old

Category electrician, cabinet refacing

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 05/31/2020

Service Provider Response

Thank you for the review!
5.0

04/27/2020


Linda C.

he was very nice and friendly worked as quick as he could and so far everything seems to be working just great. I would hire again

Description of Work
Installing pedestals for washer and dryer

Category handyman service, cabinet refacing

Cost $130

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 04/27/2020

Service Provider Response

Thank you for the review!
3.0

01/28/2020


Shelby M.

Overall not bad. I should’ve paid more attention to their pricing. My shower is approximately 3‘ x 3’. Hired handyman matters for the same job a few years ago. It cost $100. This job cost me about $220. The handyman used white caulk when going up the corners. He asked if I wanted that caulked. I assumed that he would use the similar clear caulking already present in the shower.

Description of Work
Caulking on my shower floor

Category handyman service

Cost $223

Services Performed? Yes

Work Completed On 01/28/2020

Images

Review for Ace Handyman Services San Antonio - 2556 Boardwalk St, San Antonio, TX - 38355344

Service Provider Response

Thank you for the review!
4.0

12/19/2019


Nelda B.

He did a good job on the faucet, but had trouble with the skylight cover. He has to return to complete it. The appointment was made and the company called to reschedule - inconvenient.

Description of Work
Faucet needed repair. Also, needed a sky light cover removed and cleaned.

Category handyman service

Cost $160

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 12/19/2019

Service Provider Response

Thank you for the review!
5.0

10/12/2019


Jonnalen S.

Mark arrived promptly and was well prepared. He was very pleasant and professional!! He had done work for us before, so we knew he did great work and was extremely thorough!! We will definitely use his services again!!

Description of Work
Installation of 6 smoke detectors and 2 flag holders

Category handyman service

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 10/11/2019

Service Provider Response

Thank you for the review!
2.0

09/01/2019


A.L. N.

Their repair cost exceeded the price of the chest of drawers.

Description of Work
Replace rails on a chest of drawers

Category handyman service

Work Completed On 09/01/2019

Service Provider Response

With our time and material billing format, sometimes this can happen with a custom repair - where the cost of the repair exceeds the cost of replacement. I hope the member is able to find another provider through Angie's List to help with their repair needs.
5.0

08/20/2019


Melissa R.

I am very pleased with the ceiling rack installation. Marc was very professional and did a excellent job. If I have any future projects, I will definitely use this business again!

Description of Work
Installation of garage ceiling racks

Category handyman service

Cost $500

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 08/20/2019

Service Provider Response

Thank you for the review!
5.0

07/25/2019


Judith Y.

Eric did a great job....would have him do other jobs as he was professional and answered all . my questions

Description of Work
chimney re-done and painted and shingles replaced chimney painted and replaced. shingles replaced and matched up with shingles already there.

Category handyman service, roofing, house painters, interior painters

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 07/19/2019

Service Provider Response

Thank you for the review!
5.0

07/14/2019


William M.

Trevor did an incredible job. Professional and very personable. Worked hard and everything was completed excellently. Would definitely use Trevor again!

Description of Work
Install Microwave and Garage Shelving

Category handyman service

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 07/11/2019

Service Provider Response

Thank you for the review!
5.0

07/06/2019


Maurice S.

Excellent. The worker arrived exactly on time, did the work, and cleaned up the area. I was very pleased with this man.

Description of Work
Remove attic stairs assembly in garage and replace with a new one.

Category contractors, handyman service

Cost $200

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 07/06/2019

Service Provider Response

Thank you for the review!
5.0

06/22/2019


Rhonda D.

Wonderful! Marc was friendly, courteous and professional. Everything was done in a reasonable amount of time and the price the best I found. Will definitely hire again and highly recommend! Glad I checked Angie’s List.

Description of Work
Ceiling fan installed and TV mount

Category handyman service, ceiling fans

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 06/18/2019

Service Provider Response

Thank you for the review!
5.0

03/18/2019


claire B.

Great! Mark was very fast and efficient and very helpful. He went around and checked and tightened all my doorknobs in addition to the one I called about. He easily repaired the drawer that I had spent an hour trying to fix before I finally called, and he put the curtain rod back up and screwed it into a stud. He even went out and checked my fence which he and Rick, another Handyman Matters worker, had stained for me last summer. Mark was honest enough to say I should wait before restaining so all in all, I was very happy with the service!

Description of Work
Several odd jobs-curtain rod falling down, loose doorknob, kitchen drawer repair.

Category handyman service, window treatments, cabinet refacing, doors

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 03/18/2019

Service Provider Response

Thank you for the review!
3.0

02/01/2019


John G.

The Craftsman was very nice and punctual getting to the job. however his pricing was not in the ballpark in regards to the estimates. I also did not like him leaving the job site during the repair to purchase need supplies. When he did the estimate as a professional he should have known the nature of all materials needed and brought them with him. I had to pay for his hourly rate, which was over two hours while he was shopping for supplies that he should brought with him. On the tree trimming the craftmen did not have the necessary tools to do the job properly causing excessive delay, which was added to the cost of labor. Overall, because of this, the overall cost of this project was excessive and incomplete..

Description of Work
Repaired outside bench and tree trimming

Category contractors, handyman service, tree service

Cost $1,250

Services Performed? Yes

Work Completed On 02/01/2019

Service Provider Response

Thank you for your candid feedback.
5.0

01/22/2019


Dax M.

Stephen Crow is awesome! I had previously installed a swing on our back porch for my wife, which was great until the day we were sitting in it and one of the anchors, fixtures came completely out of the beam. Luckily no one was hurt, but there was clearly damage to the beam and it would require reinforcement, repair, and some additional touch up work. Stephen not only made it better than new, or than it was before, but he had some great suggestions to make the swing itself more stable. The result was a stable, much more secure swing with some great finishing work done. I could really see the craftsmanship and pride in Stephen's work which made the experience completely worthwhile and highly recommended for other Angie's List users. Outstanding work!

Description of Work
Repair, Reinforce, and Reinstall Porch Swing

Category handyman service, woodworking

Cost $287

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 06/13/2018

Service Provider Response

Thank you for the review!
5.0

12/12/2018


margaret M.

Mark did a great job and was very pleasant to work with. He repaired door knob and pocket door that had been "repaired" before....Will hire again!

Description of Work
repaired door knob and pocket door

Category handyman service

Cost $150

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 12/12/2018

Service Provider Response

Thank you for the review!
2.0

11/26/2018


don S.

Very slow and expensive ($84/hr). Replaced 3 1/2 pieces of sheetrock in garage ceiling for about $1500. Glad it wasn’t done in the house as texturing work was shabby.

Description of Work
Sheetrock replacement garage

Category drywall, handyman service

Cost $1,500

Services Performed? Yes

Work Completed On 10/31/2018

Service Provider Response

My apology that the work completed in your garage was below your and our standards of quality. We did complete the work approximately $200 less than the approved estimate, but unfortunately sacrificed some of the quality. I appreciate your candid feedback and will review your comments with our craftsman.
5.0

11/20/2018


Terri L.

Appointment was scheduled for the day after I called. They did have to delay it for an hour, but called to confirm it was OK with plenty of time for any adjustments needed. Trevor was very friendly and professional. When he checked the switch, he was able to repair it but did say it would not be a permanent fix which made sense when he showed and explained how the switch worked.

Description of Work
Light switch pull chain on my ceiling fan quit working.

Category electrician, handyman service, ceiling fans

Cost $85

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 11/07/2018

Service Provider Response

Thank you for the review!
5.0

10/09/2018


Like W.

Very well done. The handyman did not abandon us even after dark. He stayed until the job was properly done.

Description of Work
Pipe repair

Category handyman service, plumbing