Find top-rated Pros in your area

Enter a zip code and get matched to businesses near you.

1/2 Price Movers

Founded 1979 • With Angi since May 2005

4.2

(30) Verified Reviews

Business Details

Phone Number

Address

11031 Perrin Beitel Rd

San Antonio, TX 78217

Description

We realize that moving can be an overwhelming and stressful experience. We also understand that for most people moving is not their business. However, it is ours. Moving made easier... Searching for San Antonio Movers, Corpus Movers, Austin Movers, New Braunfels Movers or just Moving Boxes? We have the services and boxes to meet your budget for your moving needs. Whether you need 3 men movers or just 2 men and a truck. We cover your budget for moving....

Verified Reviews

A few reviews for this pro...
4.0

06/08/2017


Chris P.

Several small items broken. I'm not too surprised by that, having moved in the military many times. The dissaponting thing about it was that all the breakage was due to poor packing. Items packed at end of day were not packed with care. Things wrapped in blankets or towels, for example. Drawer items simply dumped into boxes. Actual moving was without issue. Problem was the packing.

Description of Work
Move 3200 sq ft house.

Category moving companies

5.0

02/20/2017


Lisa L.

They were punctual. They were careful in disassembling and reassembling things, including a TV. Nothing was damaged. Not the cheapest, but you get quality.

Description of Work
Move 1 bedroom apartment across town.

Category moving companies

1.0

12/22/2015


Monica B.

It was absolutely a wretched experience I am shocked they are still in business! Especially since their owner Chad feels that he can threaten people. I booked this appointment back in November. When they gave me their courtesy call on 21 Dec Frank the office manager acted as if I was going to have to use their movers for the fours a total bill of $425. I was trying to explain that I thought I would be a quick job of just two hours saving me money. Frank made it seem like I had to use the movers for the full four hours! Communication was clearly breaking down on the phone so I decided to drive to their office so they could see I could really use help; single, not very strong, female. When I arrive to the office they inform me they are just going to cancel my appointment versus honoring their terms of per hour. What this leads me to believe is they wanted the four hours for more money versus just doing the job in two hours! While I was so upset and completely panicked I called AB Moving and they were beyond helpful and gave me a better deal than this company. Even if this company takes 4 hours to move me it will be 1/2 the cost of 1/2 Price Movers, thank goodness I like irony and died laughing when AB Moving gave me a quote. Why AB Moving is better than 1/2 Price Movers because they based my moving cost off the size (sq feet) of my apartment.

Description of Work
Completely unprofessional!! They did not even give me the courtesy of 24 hours before canceling my appointment! However, thankfully I was able to find a better deal with AB Moving! If you are single, live in a small apartment call AB Moving and not this company!

Category moving companies

5.0

07/20/2015


Sharon A.

The move went very well. Chris and George arrived on time and went right to work. They took care with wrapping and protecting the furniture. They disassembled a wall unit before loading it and handles my glass curio cabinet with care. At the other end they re-assembled the wall unit and bed and ensured all was in order prior to leaving. Both young men were polite, professional and efficient. I was very happy with this service.

Description of Work
Moved living room and bedroom furniture to new location

Category moving companies

5.0

12/24/2014


Earl K.

Moving can be a bear, I know I've moved ourselves around 6-7 times , this time payed the piper, and used 1/2 priced Movers, the guys were quick and friendly, I just wish it was more like 75% price movers instead of half, moving is expensive either way. They did a great job, they got my very heavy couch up my tiny stairs with no dents in my walls, that's an A just for that, I appreciate their help.

Description of Work
Moved My Heavy House Iteams

Category moving companies

5.0

06/12/2014


Sterling R.

They were wonderful! Fast and courteous. They worked hard and did a good job!

Description of Work
Moved from my apartment to my new home.

Category moving companies

5.0

12/23/2013


Natalie B.

I received prompt response from the company and a formal quote via email. The movers arrived right on time and were able to move all the boxes and furniture within an hour. They were friendly, professional, and fast. My furniture was sturdy (couch, upholstered armchair, mattress, etc) but if I'd had a fragile china cabinet or something else, I suspect it would have taken longer for them to wrap and prepare the items for move. The one thing i did think was strange was that I was charged for the estimated total before the move had started. Once it was complete, the lead mover indicated I'd get a refund since it took less time than estimated. I was confused as to why it wouldn't just be charged at the end. But I did get the refund promptly. Overall, I was pleased with the service and would definitely use them and recommend them again.

Description of Work
Moved furniture from one house to another in same zip code.

Category moving companies

Service Provider Response

Hello [member name removed], I'm glad that everything went well with your recent move with us. I wanted to address the charge that you had mentioned that was taken prior to your move starting. On all of our jobs, we charge a deposit prior to the move starting. That deposit is applied to the remaining balance after the move has been completed, or in your case, will be credited back depending on the time that the move took. If you have any other questions or concerns, please contact our office at 210-650-4911 and we will be happy to assist you.
5.0

09/30/2013


Laurie H.

From the initial contact to delivery, this company was excellent. When I initially contacted them, Brandy took the time to do the quote over the phone and explained their procedures to me in great detail. I scheduled the move for Monday, September 23rd, and checked back with them the week prior to the move. Once again she reiterated what we originally discussed. They called us back on Saturday to confirm time of arrival to load our belongings. The day of the move, they called me to see if they could arrive early, which worked out so much better for me. Paul and Brett were great loading our furniture and boxes on the truck and took great care with any breakables. It took them less than 3 hours to unload in Wylie and I am pleased to say everything I own made it here safely. Thank you so much 1/2 Price Movers for your professionalism and assistance in our move. Special thanks to Brandy, Paul and Brett who made moving less of a burden!

Description of Work
Moved our household from San Antonio, TX to Wylie, TX, approximately 275 miles.

Category moving companies

2.0

07/08/2013


Aixa A.

The movers showed up 2hrs late, not a good start to an already long day. I gave a quick run trough of what was to goto townhouse & what was to goto storage. They had 2 trucks and started filling them. They did a very good job of protecting the furniture, etc. Most of the house was packed, but the ENTIRE garage remained. Including a weight machine, which they had on the list. They stated they ran out of room on the trucks, they couldn't do anymore. And just left the job unfinished! When we spoke w/ customer service they said they were paid by the hour not by weight or items. We would have paid a little extra to get the job done, but were never even offered that option at the time! They also had promised to disconnect & reconnect washer/ dryer at the townhouse. They must not have known what they were doing because my washer flooded the townhouse the next day & the dryer was not connected at all! Also I had to go through many boxes in storage that were suppose to goto the townhouse. All in all... A LOT more trouble than it was worth!!!

Description of Work
Move 5br house to a storage unit & townhouse.

Category moving companies

2.0

05/25/2013


Chris S.

The reason the whole experience wasn't an F was due to the professional and competent packer. The movers were polite and worked hard. They did,however, damage a lot of furniture and completely broke a desk in half. My black furniture was scraped leaving bare wood. They moved my china cabinet before the packer finished and some linens ended up missing and a few glass items broken. The manager at the Perrin Beitel office was rude , argumentative and Unprofessional. A huge mistake for this woman to be dealing with the public. No people skills and couldn't care less about customer service. After all the problems with her, she continued her ineptness by refusing to replace my " we have 3 months to fix it". A month later I asked if it could even be repaired and she responded no one had looked at it yet. "We don't even have to look at it for 3 months". Month four I get a call that the desk is ready for delivery. I was out of town. A month later they call and we set up a delivery appointment. I leave work early to meet the delivery truck and they never showed up. I called left a message and I still (11/2 month later have not received a call back or my desk. i will never use them again and I hope Angie's members don't experience the clueless supervisor/ mgr nor the moving problems I had. There were other problems as well.

Description of Work
Pack china and move household

Category moving companies

5.0

12/26/2012


Sergio P.

They were on time and they wrapped all the furniture for better protection during the services

Description of Work
They move all the furniture.

Category moving companies

4.0

10/30/2012


Marilyn L.

Packing and moving was professional. Time to start job was delayed.

Description of Work
Packing and moving a short distance

Category moving companies

5.0

08/16/2012


Linda S.

They did a great job! We're on the 9th floor up elevators, hallway. i have some really breakable items and nothing was broken. I was happy with their service. Whatever I said, they did, as far as placement of boxes and furniture. We had a brand new stackable washer and dryer that they brought in for us. It was huge, but they placed it exactly where it needed to be in the utility room.

Description of Work
They moved us from our home into a senior condo. I did all of the packing.

Category moving companies

5.0

04/17/2012


Rita B.

This is the second time I have used them. I liked their consciousness and carefulness of moving my items. They were polite a courteous. They went out of their way to carefull pack some of my special items. They even came out to deomstrate how they would shrink wrap Elfa binet racks that were filled with fabric. None of them are bent or broken.They moved 428 boxes plus furniture and I have yet to find anything broken. They had to do some tight sqeezes with my washer and dryer and didn't hurt the walls or anything.

Description of Work
Then moved me from my house in San Antonio to Austin Texas.

Category moving companies

2.0

01/20/2012


Jose E P.

I was not pleased with their lack of professionalism, speed, equipment, or truck. I was alsonot happy about being charged for items when I was told otherwise before.

Description of Work
I would not use this company again. The two guys moving us were nice gentlemen, but not professional. They were constantly on their phone. Talking to me about personal problems is not what I want to hear from someone who I have hired to move me. It was drizzling that day and their truck had holes in it so the inside of the truck was wet. My boxes got wet. They were not very anxious to get the job rapidly. When I received my final bill I was suprised to see I was charged for items that previously were told to be no charge ie. furniture blankets. I would not use this company again!

Category moving companies

5.0

08/01/2011


Jason H.

The guys were careful and made sure that it got there in one piece without any additional nicks or scratches. The job was good. There were some companies that had a lower price but these guys came pretty highly recommended. They were a little bit late.

Description of Work
We used Half Price Movers to move some stuff from storage to the house.

Category moving companies

5.0

04/09/2011


Nella P.

Pleasant experience from the beginning; Francis arrived promptly on the day we scheduled an estimate and was very friendly, helpful, and thorough in explaining how the move would be priced, as well as taking the time to answer any questions. We decided to go with 1/2 Price Movers after talking with two other companies, and are very glad we chose them. Half Price confirmed with us three days before our actual move date, and on moving day the three movers and one truck we had contracted for showed up on time; Robert checked with us to make sure all the paper work he had with him matched our contract, explained everything they would be doing, then got right to work. We moved from a 3,000 sq.ft., 2 STORY HOME, and we had many heavy furniture items and several antiques. Robert, Larry, and Marlin were extremely quick, energetic, and VERY hard working; we moved to another two story home, and we know it was difficult work going up and down stairs all day at each house, but these guys were very polite and we never heard a complaint. We had chosen the option of paying by the hour, and had wondered beforehand if we had made the right choice--you always think in the back of your mind the 'what if's' of the workers going so slow that it costs you more money; very happy to report this was not the case. They hustled all day long, and completed the job quickly but carefully. None of our items were damaged, no walls were dinged, all went smoothly; moving is stressful enough, and it helped to have these three great guys there to make it easier. A big, big THANK YOU to Robert, Larry, and Marlin--keep up the good work guys. Kudos to Half Price Movers for having such great employees. Many thanks---

Description of Work
Hired Half Price Movers to move us from Stone Oak to Schertz, from a 3,000 sq. ft., 2 story home to another 2 story home---not an easy move at all.

Category moving companies

4.0

08/08/2010


Carla R.

The movers had told me that they would arrive between 8:00 and 8:30. When they didn't arrive by 9:00, I called them. They told me that they were having trouble getting a crew assembled, but that they would have one put together soon. They finally arrived around 10:30. That was a concern, since I had quite a bit of furniture and boxes to move and also the same from a storage unit. When they arrived, the head guy called back to the office and told them that it would be a 2-3 hour job, which I thought was very unrealistic. Around 3:00 pm, the head guy called back to the office and requested help, so that they could finish the job the same day. They ended up sending another crew and truck, which I had to pay for. The mirror to my dresser was damaged during the move (mirror cracked and damage to the wood). They took it to repair it, which took 3 weeks. The repair was OK, although the original mirror was beveled and the repaired one is not. There were also nicks in the wood of the door of my new house. They adjusted my bill by $80, so that I could get this repaired on my own.

Description of Work
1/2 Price Movers moved my furniture and boxes from one residence to another.

Category moving companies

5.0

06/18/2010


Deborah K.

prompt; professional; reasonable price; will use again

Description of Work
Moved several heavy furniture items and about eight boxes to a storage facility

Category moving companies

3.0

06/08/2010


Raul Z.

All went pretty well with my move except that one of the lifting levers on my reclining sofa broke during the move. I duly reported it by phone to the company and had it noted in the paperwork that I signed the day of the move. After several cals and an email the company referred the claim to a serviceman- The repairman was lax in visiting, and calls complaining to the moving company just referred me back to the repairman--they had given me his number. At about 2 months from the move the serviceman visited. At 3-4 months he brought a replacement lever that is several inches longer than the original. I insisted that he order an original from Lazy-Boy. He took all the information and said it would take several weeks. at 5 months I called to ask why no lever-he said he gave the info to the moving company--the moving company said he didn't and they asked for the information again. I decided the extra 3 inches was better than the runaround I was getting. I will not use them again

Description of Work
I contracted for a move to a new house about 6 miles from my prior one.

Category moving companies

5.0

10/08/2008


Glenda W.

The movers showed up on time and they were friendly, courteous, efficient and professional. Everything arrived in good condition, nothing was missing, and the movers took good care with everything.

Description of Work
They moved most of my household goods about 30 miles to my new house.

Category moving companies

5.0

09/06/2007


BJ D.

My move went very well. The movers called two days in advance to confirm the move. They showed up on time, and took the time to explain the paperwork. They wrapped the furniture I asked them to wrap and moved everything very nicely. These movers were polite to me and did a lot of heavy moving of furniture from a second story house. I would use 1/2 Price Movers again.

Description of Work
Half price movers moved things from my house to a storage facility.

Category moving companies

2.0

05/12/2006


BARBARA B.

Half Price Movers didn't provide good service. I wasn't very happy with them. They got all my stuff moved fine. The only problem was that they hired someone that didn't work very hard, so it took longer to move. Therefore, costing me more money as they charged by the hour. I don't remember how much it cost.

Description of Work
They moved my belongings about ten miles.

Category moving companies

5.0

05/12/2006

We had used Half Price on our last move, and they did such good job, that we decided to hire them again. They did not let us down, this time either. The move went smooth, without any major problems. Their attitude was positive, and nothing was left behind. If we ever move again, we will hire Half Price yet again.

Description of Work
Half Price Movers transported all of our property to our new house fifteen miles away.

Category moving companies

1.0

05/10/2006


Judith K.

Half Price Movers was awful. I had a very bad experience with them. They broke some of my belongings, including a mirror and a wooden chair. They just threw my stuff around and were not careful with it at all. I didn't like their attitudes and I would not recommend them to anyone.

Description of Work
They moved me across town.

Category moving companies

    Other local Pros in your area

    Chapa's Moving Service

    MOVING YOU FORWARD FOR OVER 40 YEARS Whether you have few boxes or an entire house, whether you are sending belongings across the state or across town, we are the right movers at the right price.  

    John Ferguson Moving & Storage

    Locally owned & operated. We have a large fleet of trucks to accommodate every type move . We have full time experienced professional movers. We perform background checks and drug testing on all employees. We do NOT hire temporary labor. We have been in business since December 2005. We are fully licensed and insured household goods movers. . We specialize in local and long distance residential moves.  

    Angi Super Service Award badge
    Super Service
    Award 2021
    Moving 4 You LLC

    Hello, we are Moving4Youllc. We are a family owned & operated moving company based in San Antonio, TX. We have been in business since 2019, offering local & long distance moving. We specialize in handling Household Items & Antiques! White Glove Service- A personal experience, 2 men, shrink wrap & furniture pad your items, load & unload. We have over 200+ Reviews! We work with Interior Designers, Auction House, Sellers, Buyers, & Local Moves. You can find us on Facebook, UShip, Google, & Instagram to learn more! @moving4youllc Thank you!  

    Mailing Service
    Bonded
    Insured
    All statements concerning insurance, licenses, and bonds are informational only, and are self-reported. Since insurance, licenses and bonds can expire and can be cancelled, homeowners should always check such information for themselves.To find more licensing information for your state, visit our Find Licensing Requirements page.
    General Information
    Free Estimates
    Yes
    Eco-Friendly Accreditations
    No
    Payment Options
    Visa, MasterCard, Discover, American Express, Check
    Senior Discount
    No
    Warranties
    Ask for details

    Services Offered

    Residential & commercial moving, storage, Shipping, packaging & boxes.

    Services Not Offered

    Ask for details.

    Frequently Asked Questions & Answers about 1/2 Price Movers

    How is 1/2 Price Movers overall rated?

    1/2 Price Movers is currently rated 4.2 overall out of 5.

    What days are 1/2 Price Movers open?

    1/2 Price Movers is open:

    Sunday: Closed

    Monday: 8:30 AM - 5:00 PM

    Tuesday: 8:30 AM - 5:00 PM

    Wednesday: 8:30 AM - 5:00 PM

    Thursday: 8:30 AM - 5:00 PM

    Friday: 8:30 AM - 5:00 PM

    Saturday: 9:00 AM - 2:00 PM

    What payment options does 1/2 Price Movers provide

    1/2 Price Movers accepts the following forms of payment: Visa, MasterCard, Discover, American Express, Check

    Does 1/2 Price Movers offer free estimates?

    Yes, 1/2 Price Movers offers free project estimates.

    Does 1/2 Price Movers offer eco-friendly accreditations?

    No, 1/2 Price Movers does not offer eco-friendly accreditations.

    Does 1/2 Price Movers offer a senior discount?

    No, 1/2 Price Movers does not offer a senior discount.

    Are warranties offered by 1/2 Price Movers?

    No, 1/2 Price Movers does not offer warranties.

    What services does 1/2 Price Movers offer?

    1/2 Price Movers offers the following services: Residential & commercial moving, storage, Shipping, packaging & boxes.

    Are there any services 1/2 Price Movers does not offer?

    Ask for details.