Angie's List is now Angi. Learn more

Find top-rated Pros in your area

Enter a zip code and get matched to businesses near you.

Afton Electric LLC

Founded 1990 • With Angi since October 2013

4.9

(24) Verified Reviews

Business Details

Phone Number

Address

1414 Cap Stone Ridge

New Braunfels, TX 78130

Description

Welcome to Afton Electric! Our owner, James Bowen, has fourteen years experience in the field and can do jobs that range from brand new construction to troubleshooting existing infrastructures. No job is too big or too small! We serve the New Braunfels and greater South Central Texas area around San Antonio. Our services include commercial, residential, and industrial work. ...

Verified Reviews

A few reviews for this pro...
5.0

12/11/2017


Sandra D.

This is an excellent company to work with. They have done a number of projects for us as we settle into our new home and property. We have been very happy with the results ea

Description of Work
Electrical

Category electrician,lighting

5.0

07/14/2017


Terrie A.

Chris and his crew were on time, efficient and were extremely pleasant to work with. They cleaned up after themselves and made sure that everything was to my liking. This is the second time I have had Afton Electric work in my home and I highly recommend them.

Description of Work
Had had under cabinet lighting with a light switch & four retrofit recessed lights installed in my kitchen. I also had one retrofit recessed light installed over my guest shower as well.

Category lighting

4.0

05/15/2017


Neelam N.

.

Description of Work
.

Category electrician

1.0

05/10/2017


SuEllen H.

It did not go well. They did not submit a bid and did not respond back.

Description of Work
They came to the house. I showed them what I needed. They never gave me a bid or responded back. The job may have been too much for their company, but a professional call would have been helpful.

Category electrician,lighting

4.0

02/14/2017


julian T.

They were always on time. I would use them again.

Description of Work
Electrical work.

Category electrician

5.0

09/23/2016


ROBERT Y.

Description of Work
.

Category electrician,lighting

5.0

08/02/2016


Robert P.

Went Great and they even fixed a broken light socket! Tested all smoke detectors and made sure everything worked. I am very pleased with the service

Description of Work
Installed 4 smoke detectors

Category lighting

5.0

05/27/2016


Terrie A.

Chris and one other person showed up right on time and introduced themselves and then got right to work. They installed two canned lights over my bathroom vanity on each side of an existing canned light and changed out the canister of the existing light so that all three matched. They did an excellent job, you could not tell that the lights they installed had not been there when the house was built. They were extremely efficient and cleaned up after the job. They were recommended to me by a friend who has used them for multiple jobs (rewiring, new outlets, etc) and she could not say enough good things about them. I normally don't like to hire companies that don't have a lot of reviews but because the friend highly recommended them I decided to use them. It was a good decision and I will definitely use them for any lighting or electrical needs I may have in the future! They stand by their work and charged me fairly...no bait and switch type schemes once they arrived to do the job that you find so many companies try to do.

Description of Work
Installed two canned lights above bathroom vanity.

Category lighting

5.0

04/03/2015


April T.

They answer phone calls promptly. They provide emergency services as well as regular services. They were very customer friendly, and they went out of their way to be informative and helpful. Great services.

Description of Work
Electrical wiring and plug placement. Addressed questions re:possible need for electrical setup for washer and dryer.

Category electrician,lighting

Service Provider Response

Thank you for your positive review and if we can be of any assistance please call us at 210-260-2291
5.0

06/13/2014


William Dickson D.

This past week, our main kitchen light went out. My wife thought it might be a bulb problem and replaced the bulbs, but that wasn't it. I was not home at the time, and when opening the fixture by herself, she broke a corner of the diffuser (the clouded cover for the bulbs). When I came home, I started calling from the top of Angie's List. I called several services, but most stated that they were busy and had a backlog of 2-3 weeks. I was referred to Afton Electric by Allgood, who had a good reputation on Angie's List and had the three week backlog to go with the reputation. I called Jim at the office and he said that James was available for work now. Now? That's not what I was expecting from any electrician, but I definitely appreciated the speed - otherwise, we were going to have to break out the camping lanterns to see what we would be cooking that night. James and Jesse showed up about 30 minutes later and got to work. A quick diagnosis of the wiring, bulbs and fixture, and we had a faulty ballast. My wife hopped in the car and went to Lowe's to buy another while James and Jesse took down the old one. She got back and they installed the replacement quickly and cleanly. I'd definitely recommend these guys again.

Description of Work
Replaced a fluorescent fixture in the kitchen.

Category lighting

    Other local Pros in your area

    Koenig Electric

    We offer quality and affordable electrical services.  

    CROZ Electrical Contractors

    Our main line of business is Electrical Service, commercial, residential, industrial. install and repair outlets, switches, light fixtures, disconnects, etc. We also do panel upgrades, meter loops, temporary power and lighting. we also do Electrical sub contracting for big and small projects. We install EV car chargers. We also install back up generator house outlets with transfer switches.  

    Propel Prefab, LLC

    Propel Prefab offers metal fabrication and welding service. We have mobile welding options available. In additional, we also offer electrical prefabrication service.  

    Business Highlights

    Emergency Services OfferedEmergency Services Offered
    Bonded
    Insured
    All statements concerning insurance, licenses, and bonds are informational only, and are self-reported. Since insurance, licenses and bonds can expire and can be cancelled, homeowners should always check such information for themselves.To find more licensing information for your state, visit our Find Licensing Requirements page.
    General Information
    Free Estimates
    Ask for details
    Eco-Friendly Accreditations
    No
    Payment Options
    Check, Visa, MasterCard, American Express, Discover
    Senior Discount
    No
    Emergency Service
    Yes
    Warranties
    Ask for details

    Services Offered

    Electrical & lighting.

    Services Not Offered

    Ask for details.

    Frequently Asked Questions & Answers about Afton Electric LLC

    How is Afton Electric LLC overall rated?

    Afton Electric LLC is currently rated 4.9 overall out of 5.

    What days are Afton Electric LLC open?

    Afton Electric LLC is open:

    Sunday: Closed

    Monday: 9:00 AM - 5:00 PM

    Tuesday: 9:00 AM - 5:00 PM

    Wednesday: 9:00 AM - 5:00 PM

    Thursday: 9:00 AM - 5:00 PM

    Friday: 9:00 AM - 5:00 PM

    Saturday: 9:00 AM - 5:00 PM

    What payment options does Afton Electric LLC provide

    Afton Electric LLC accepts the following forms of payment: Check, Visa, MasterCard, American Express, Discover

    Does Afton Electric LLC offer free estimates?

    No, Afton Electric LLC does not offer free project estimates.

    Does Afton Electric LLC offer eco-friendly accreditations?

    No, Afton Electric LLC does not offer eco-friendly accreditations.

    Does Afton Electric LLC offer a senior discount?

    No, Afton Electric LLC does not offer a senior discount.

    Does Afton Electric LLC offer emergency services?

    Yes, Afton Electric LLC offers emergency services.

    Are warranties offered by Afton Electric LLC?

    No, Afton Electric LLC does not offer warranties.

    What services does Afton Electric LLC offer?

    Afton Electric LLC offers the following services: Electrical & lighting.

    Are there any services Afton Electric LLC does not offer?

    Ask for details.