Find top-rated Pros in your area

Enter a zip code and get matched to businesses near you.

Power House Plus

Founded 2009 • With Angi since August 2011

4.5

(36) Verified Reviews

Business Details

Phone Number

Address

1920 grassmere ln

Mckinney, TX 75071

Description

We are a family owned and operated business, we take pride in our work no matter the size of the job. Work/Jobs are Guarenteed, anything you disapprove of, we go back and fix for no additional charge. Customer Satisfaction Guarenteed! Jobs get done in a timely manner and Most importantly, we are

Verified Reviews

A few reviews for this pro...
5.0

10/10/2017


Sherry P.

Hard working, courteous crew. Worked morning until evening. Nathan Powers and his partner made sure I was happy with the results. Everything came out wonderful. I love the new wood look tile they installed. Would definitely hire again!

Description of Work
Outside of fireplace needed restoration, built an extra pantry closet, installed new tile throughout first floor, installed new vanity in bathroom and new mosaic trim and paint on fireplace mantel.

Category ceramic tile, closet systems, drywall, flooring contractor, remodeling, house painters, interior painters

1.0

08/24/2017


Joseph R.

Terrible contractor, be careful 1. Left their trailer in driveway for over 5 days 2. Took them 3 weeks to finish a simple job, had to redo job 3 times and still not correct 3. Overcharged, $6,000 for drywall repair and ceiling paint 4. Never returns phone calls texts 5. Always in the bathroom on the phone 6. Damaged wood flooring and left paint on floor 7. Damaged refrigerator 8. Didnt cover other areas of house when working, dust everywhere 9. They use sub-contractors 10. Never finished the original job they were contracted to do

Description of Work
Drywall and paint

Category drywall, house painters

5.0

06/08/2017


Dennis W.

Donald Power replaced the roof vents promptly, efficiently, and economically. Cost for 6 vents = $150, labor and vents included. We thought that the door into the garage might need replacement. He reassured us that the door was sound, and that repairing/replacing only the hasp area and the bottom sweep would take care of it. He also made a suggestion that we might re-paint the door ourselves to make it look better. Cost = $75. Other in-house carpentry type repairs were done quickly, professionally, and courteously. I don't remember the exact costs here, but they were reasonable. In addition, he has sometimes turned down jobs that he felt another professional might better perform. Example: a crack in the driveway concrete. Mr. Power said that he wouldn't be comfortable with that repair -- a concrete professional would be more appropriate, he said.

Description of Work
I've used this company several times. Once was to replace outside roof vents. I've also used him on smaller in-home handy-man type jobs: repairing loose moldings, repairing a hall door leading to the garage, and so on.

Category handyman service, roofing, woodworking, doors

1.0

05/08/2017


Jessica M.

they never called, never showed...nothing. after promising they would be there.

Description of Work
a dog door put into my daughter's house

Category drywall, doors

Service Provider Response

Hello, I'm sorry there must be a mix up, I have my business in McKinney, TX, I don't think that it was me you talked to.
5.0

09/30/2015


Hilda R.

VERY QUICK RESPONSE TIME, EVEN THOUGH HE WAS HAVING A BABY AT THE TIME. DIDN'T DO THE WORK BECAUSE IT TURNED OUT TO BE A LITTLE MORE THAN WE WANTED TO SPEND AT THE TIME.

Description of Work
GAVE ME AN ESTIMATE ON REPLACING DRYWALL IN THE A/C UNIT CLOSET AND REMOVING POPCORN CEILING FROM HALL. DATE MAY BE WAY OFF - DON'T REMEMBER.

Category drywall

5.0

09/03/2015


Dennis W.

Excellent. These folks weren't flashy or fancy -- no fancy logos or uniforms. That's the only reason I gave them a "B" on the Professionalism rating. So if that's important to you (national logos, uniforms, etc.), then they are not for you. But they did the job quickly, professionally, and courteously. I'd use them again. If you want a job well-done, they are your solution. By the way, two other homeowners had used and recommended this company to me earlier, so that helped in my choice.

Description of Work
Repaired or replaced multiple roof vents, re-set and repaired flashing and shingles around vents, sealed the areas..

Category drywall, roofing

5.0

03/23/2015


Fran C.

I have had Donald and DJ Powers do jobs for me before and was completely satisfied with their work. They are very professional and always prompt so this time when I needed work done I called them and they arrived right on schedule to begin work on my guest house, we had at some point had water damage and as a result the walls were beginning to mold. They killed the mold and then remodeled the entire house, beginning with the removal of popcorn acoustics from the ceiling, painting, installing new floor, air conditioner and water heater. They helped us pick out new paint, doors, windows, light fixtures and flooring and stayed on budget for the job .Donald and DJ are THE best and for the quality work they do are very reasonably priced. I will definitely hire them for future jobs.

Description of Work
totally remodeled guest house.

Category drywall, flooring contractor, remodeling, replacement windows, interior painters, doors

5.0

08/08/2014


Daniel M.

The job went extremely good. I was fortunate to call just a couple of days before and get this work scheduled. Met the folks at my home and was promised a quote and contract before any work started. I was satisfied with the quote. On 7th of August the team showed up as scheduled. They brought in a minimum of hand tools and went right to work. They asked where specifically where they could move pieces of furniture to so they could clear the bedroom. I watched as the disassembled the bed. All the furniture was handled appropriately. Work was quickly made of the wall to wall carpet on the floor and removed. The carpet tack strips and debris was cleaned up. They installed the flooring in a very short time. All the materials were provided for them. Power House professionally installed everything from the moisture barrier, to flooring, to the molding. Replaced the bedroom furniture and cleaned up the wasted material before the left. They offered to dispose of the carpet remnants and trash for me but I had already arranged for this.

Description of Work
PHP installed laminate floor in one room of my home. The job required moving the furniture (including disassembly of a king size Sleep Number bed), and re installing all the furniture once the job was complete.

Category flooring contractor

5.0

08/07/2014


Fran C.

Wonderful job and I definitely will be calling them in the future.

Description of Work
removed popcorn and smoothed and painted all ceilings, replaced kitchen ceiling and hung new light fixtures and hung new ceiling fans. Very professional as they brought my home up to date.

Category drywall

4.0

06/18/2014


Deborah D.

Went okay. Paid for a special of 4 hours of drywall for $70 but said it was a 2 man job and would cost $80 more to complete and he would supply the material needed. Did a good repair job, but drywall compound had cracks in it after it dried (even after he came back and re-applied). Since it is in the garage, we decided to just leave it for now will smooth it out later ourselves when we get ready to paint it.

Description of Work
Did drywall repair in garage

Category drywall

5.0

06/11/2014


Michael S.

I bought the parts and Don just installed the new one and removed old door. They started at 0800 and was done and cleaned up by 0945. I will be using him in the next few months for installing ceiling fans in bedrooms. Nice and polite people to do busy with. On time and proficient in their work and knowledge of what they are doing. Best contractor that I have dealt with doing upgrades to my house.

Description of Work
Removed old back exterior door and installed new back exterior door.

Category drywall, doors

1.0

06/09/2014


Janet T.

I have not had the work done yet. It took him over a week to call, but when he did I was at work and unable to take his call, he left a message. However I called him back, got his voice mail and left message with days I'm available to take his call. He has never called back. I want a refund. I already called someone else.

Description of Work
Nothing

Category drywall

5.0

06/01/2014


Phyllis C.

The results turned out to be great... He & his father worked together, it took several days because they had to cut around the damaged part, replace it then put more "mud" or drywall stuff over it. This took several days because each time they put more past over the new part they had to wait for it to dry before they could reapply it. After it was thick enough where you couldn't see the outline of the new drywall, they put the spackle on it to match the wall and when that dried, they painted over a larger part so you couldn't see where the new paint was at. People in our house have no idea that there was once a good size hole there..

Description of Work
Repaired a hole in the drywall of our living room

Category drywall

5.0

05/13/2014


Cheryl M.

Fabulous attention to detail, courteous, prompt, professional. Great experience overall - highly recommend and will definitely use again.

Description of Work
Repaired siding, painted window sills, power washed roof and siding, installed custom swing

Category drywall, handyman service, roofing, siding, replacement windows, pressure washing, woodworking, house painters, roof cleaning

5.0

05/05/2014


JOSEPH S.

The cabinets were pulling away from the wall. They put a 2X4 in to reattach the cabinets to the wall. They did a great job. They definitely knew what they were doing.

Description of Work
The reattached my kitchen cabinets.

Category woodworking

5.0

03/25/2014


Mary R.

lleenWhen the tenants move out we are going to remodel the bathroom down to the studs. But when this leak appeared a couple of months before their departure, I asked the Power team to make it work for now. They did. They will be doing my bath remodel. They have worked for me many times, roofing, repairs, they rebuilt a shed and much more. I highly recommend them!

Description of Work
He fixed a really leaky sink.

Category drywall

5.0

02/16/2014


ROBERT H.

a little fast, ahd to come back for touch up painting

Description of Work
paint cabinets

Category drywall

5.0

11/20/2013


Patty B.

After a major air conditioning leak they braced and replaced the flooring and sheet rock in the air conditioning closet. They also replaced the sheet rock 24 inches above the floor in the hall, replaced base boards door trim. they painted 2 closets, hall, and living room. They were prompt and worked very hard. They were also so very pleasant to have in our home. We were never worried to leave them here working.

Description of Work
POWER HOUSE PLUS

Category flooring contractor, interior painters

1.0

09/05/2013


Tina P.

I left a message for this company over the Labor Day Weekend. I knew because it was a holiday that calls would not be returned until Tuesday. It is now Thursday and I have not receive a call back. I have already received a call from another Angie's list company and the work has been completed. Don't waste your time calling, they won't call you back.

Description of Work
Nothing

Category drywall

5.0

06/13/2013


michael R.

He did an excellent job. He was very professional, cleaned up behind himself. The fans work excellent. My wife and I are very pleased with the job he did. His price was very reasonable. I would recommend him to anyone.

Description of Work
DJ installed 2 ceiling fans.

Category ceiling fans

2.0

08/28/2012


Jennifer W.

I contracted work to Power Home improvement, which is DJ's father's company. He was on a tight schedule so had DJ install the ceiling fans. Most of the fans were originally on a 2 switch system where one controlled the lights and one controlled the fans. When I came to look at the completed work. both switches turned on both the lights and fan instead of one or the other. I brought this up to Donald Power and he said he would fix it. 3 of the 5 work correctly now. One fan does not work at all, and the other fan only works if you have the lights turned on also. Please refer to my review of Donald under his site Power Home Improvement on Angie's list for his part in this all.

Description of Work
Asked his dad to install 5 ceilign fans and he had his son DJ(who owns this company) do it instead.

Category handyman service, ceiling fans

5.0

08/06/2012


ROBERT H.

It went very well, pleasant young man, very professional

Description of Work
painted bathroom cabinets, repaired damaged ceiling in dining room, resurfaced, textured and painted breakfast area in kitchen

Category drywall, wallpaper removal, interior painters

5.0

08/03/2012


Oral W.

It was good, he was good and I have no complaints. Punctuality was good.

Description of Work
I used Power House Plus doe handyman service. It was a young gentlemen and he got the job done and everything worked out. He assembled a desk and hutch.

Category handyman service

5.0

07/15/2012


Leon S.

First let me say that D.J. is the only contractor that came to my house that did not try and talk me out of what I wanted done. The others said "well it will be easier to do..." I did not want easier I wanted what I wanted and D.J. was the only one who said NO PROBLEM!! He is a very professional, prompt, helpful, person and I WILL BE calling him again for any more repairs and help that I need in my house. On Saturday afternoon I had to call him because the pipe in my boys bathroom shower broke and he said I will be there soon. He came over on a Saturday afternoon and fixed it for a very reasonable price. Our overall experience with D.J. was wonderful and both I and my kids miss him not being here everyday!! My kids want to invite him over to play video games. Not only did he give me a time line on what would be done everyday, he usually accomplished more. I can not say enough good things about him, and anyone who decides to use him for their home repairs will be happy with his work and his positive attitude and pride he takes in the work he does!!

Description of Work
Repaired drywallRepaired SubflooringTextured and Painted wallsLaid laminate wood flooringRemoved Chair rail, mudded and paintedReplaced front door and screen door

Category ceramic tile, drywall, hardwood floor, house painters, interior painters, doors, mobile home remodeling

5.0

06/20/2012


Mona M.

DJ was great. He took care of everything perfectly. He was always on time and kept us informed on anything. He found things that needed repair and went the extra mile to take care of them.I would highly recommend him to anyone.

Description of Work
Service performed was painting, repairing cabinets, removing appliances and repair. Working on fixing door frames.

Category ceramic tile, handyman service, house painters, cabinet refacing, doors, sunrooms

    Other local Pros in your area

    Poly Lift USA

    Poly Lift USA based in Flower Mound, TX  

    Angi Certified

    Tru Blu Pool Renovations

    Tru Blu has been one of the largest pool renovators serving the Dallas/Fort Worth Metroplex for 30 years! We DO NOT service pools, build pools, or sell retail like many other companies. We are a “Tru” renovation specialist, specializing in new plastering, tile and rock work, and deck resurfacing and pouring. Pool renovations is not one of the things we do, it is the only thing we do. Tru Blu is family owned and operated. You will have the owner's personal cell phone number should you need anything before, during or years after the job is completed. We offer quality work at a reasonable price. Why call a jack of all trades when you can have a specialist? Call now for a free estimate.  

    Angi Certified

    Alpha Gate and Door Company

    Specialist in Automation of Driveway Gates and Garage Doors. All payment types accepted upon completion of service.  

    Angi Certified

    General Information
    Free Estimates
    Yes
    Eco-Friendly Accreditations
    No
    Payment Options
    Check
    Senior Discount
    10%
    Emergency Service
    Yes
    Warranties
    Yes

    Services Offered

    Power House Plus offers a WIDE range of services such as, General carpentry, framing, finish carpentry, painting, drywalling, doors, windows, tile, wood flooring, texture, property maintenance, concrete, make-ready/move outs, complete house cleaning services, Remodeling, pressuere washing, roofing, Anything from foundation to your roof we can do it.

    Services Not Offered

    Ask for details

    Frequently Asked Questions & Answers about Power House Plus

    How is Power House Plus overall rated?

    Power House Plus is currently rated 4.5 overall out of 5.

    What days are Power House Plus open?

    Power House Plus is open:

    Sunday: Open All Day

    Monday: Open All Day

    Tuesday: Open All Day

    Wednesday: Open All Day

    Thursday: Open All Day

    Friday: Open All Day

    Saturday: Open All Day

    What payment options does Power House Plus provide

    Power House Plus accepts the following forms of payment: Check

    Does Power House Plus offer free estimates?

    Yes, Power House Plus offers free project estimates.

    Does Power House Plus offer eco-friendly accreditations?

    No, Power House Plus does not offer eco-friendly accreditations.

    Does Power House Plus offer a senior discount?

    No, Power House Plus does not offer a senior discount.

    Does Power House Plus offer emergency services?

    Yes, Power House Plus offers emergency services.

    Are warranties offered by Power House Plus?

    Yes, Power House Plus offers warranties.

    What services does Power House Plus offer?

    Power House Plus offers the following services: Power House Plus offers a WIDE range of services such as, General carpentry, framing, finish carpentry, painting, drywalling, doors, windows, tile, wood flooring, texture, property maintenance, concrete, make-ready/move outs, complete house cleaning services, Remodeling, pressuere washing, roofing, Anything from foundation to your roof we can do it.