Find top-rated Pros in your area

Enter a zip code and get matched to businesses near you.

Bill Joplin's Air Conditoning & Heating

Founded 1983 • With Angi since April 2004

4.8

(138) Verified Reviews

Business Details

Phone Number

Address

301 E Midway St

Mckinney, TX 75069

Description

Bill Joplin's Air Conditioning & Heating is a premiere residential heating and cooling service provider. Over 40 years, we have consistently grown due to our competitive programs and superior customer service. Our company has continued to invest in state-of-the-art technology and training that

Verified Reviews

A few reviews for this pro...
Kensee F.
5.0
11/01/2019
They're amazing! They're friendly. They're the most professional and the only ones that don't give reasons why it shouldn't be done.
Description of Work
They installed our whole HVAC system.
Category
heating & air conditioning/hvac
Deb-B K.
3.0
05/31/2018
My rental unit AC went out. First visit a couple days ago cost me over $1000 to get unit to cool by replacing capacitator, filter and Freon. Today, came back and had to replace fan motor... $700 more. Explained they needed to come back next week to replace evaporator coil for another $2500. Feel like I am being raked!
Description of Work
Two visits and still not done
Category
heating & air conditioning/hvac
gabriel T.
1.0
11/17/2017
NOT WORTH A DANG , I WILL NOT CALL ON THEM AGAIN ,
Description of Work
THE TECH CAME TO OUR HOME HE TOLD US THAT OUR UNIT IS BAD ,HE TOLD US THAT , SOME ONE FROM THE OFFICE WILL CALL US WITH A PRICE OF A NEW UNIT AND WE HAVE NOT HEARD FROM THEM SINCE ,
Category
heating & air conditioning/hvac

Service Provider Response

I have made several attempts to contact you to discuss and resolve your complaint. Please feel free to call our office at 972-569-8339 and ask for Charlie. You are a valued longtime customer and I would like to explain what happened and let you know what we have implemented in order for it not to happen again. Thank you, Charlie Shinault ( Service Supervisor)
Aubrey R.
5.0
11/13/2017
Problem was diagnosed. Low voltage fuse had blown. Tech tried to resolve what caused the overcurrent but no cause was found. Very responsive and professional
Description of Work
A/C quite working.
Category
heating & air conditioning/hvac

Service Provider Response

Thank you for your kind review, and your time to post it.
micheal T.
5.0
10/31/2017
They do great work. I haven't had any issues since they installed it.
Description of Work
I have been using Bill Joplin's Air Conditoning & Heating for the past 12 years. They come out twice a year to do maintenance work on my HVAC unit.
Category
heating & air conditioning/hvac

Service Provider Response

A customer of over a decade is family to us. Thank you for taking the time to express your pleasure.
Ryan K.
5.0
09/27/2017
3 full units replaced and everything went amazing!
Description of Work
Full AC replacement
Category
heating & air conditioning/hvac

Service Provider Response

Great - this is what we strive for in every customer encounter, thank you!
Nancy H.
5.0
08/15/2017
I have used them for years. They are very reliable. I have one every spring and every fall. I have a maintenance agreement with them for twice a year. I think they are very reliable. A lot of people in my area use them. I think it's $85 a year for 2 check-ups.
Description of Work
Heating and air service.
Category
heating & air conditioning/hvac

Service Provider Response

We value every person we come in contact with, but as a longtime maintenance customer - you ARE our highest priority. Although you did not "Grade" us, I hope this means you are pleased with the service. do not hesitate to call us if there is ANY problem whatsoever. You matter to us. Thank you!
SUSAN G.
5.0
08/01/2017
They've been excellent. We've used them for years.
Description of Work
.
Category
heating & air conditioning/hvac

Service Provider Response

Thank you for taking the time to say we hit the mark - our goal on each encounter!
Joanie P.
3.0
07/25/2017
We know how to deal with them,we are used to them. They need to not talk me into things I do not need.
Description of Work
I used Bill Joplin's Air Conditoning & Heating for check up; warranty service.
Category
heating & air conditioning/hvac

Service Provider Response

I'm so sorry we did not meet your expectations. Please call our office at 972-569-8339 and speak with Charlie, our Service Supervisor, to see how we can improve this situation. You are important to us!
KAREN M.
5.0
07/13/2017
We have two large units. We pay $170 a year, which is $85 each visit, for the maintenance check up, which last thirty minutes. We have no hesitation to use them again. What our maintenance does, if we have an problem outside out maintenance, we have priority. Which is pretty useful this time of the year.
Description of Work
We have an annual contract, and we get twice a year check up for heating and air conditioning. We had to replace our units once a few years recently, and they did all that too.
Category
heating & air conditioning/hvac

Service Provider Response

Ms. [Member Name Removed], thank you for taking the time to rate us, it means a lot to get your feedback. Have a great day!
Nelda & David B.
5.0
07/11/2017
We used them for several years. They've done very good work. I think they're competitive. I think they're excellent.
Description of Work
Yearly maintenance.
Category
heating & air conditioning/hvac

Service Provider Response

Thank you for taking the time to say we got it right, that means a lot. We are always here for YOU.
Thomas L.
5.0
06/26/2017
They come out semi-annually, once to check the furnace once for an AC check.
Description of Work
They did a review of the AC system.
Category
heating & air conditioning/hvac
James W.
5.0
05/25/2017
I have basically used them to completely replace all of the hardware. They've replaced ducting, the evaporator coils in the attic, the compressors outside, coils on the back of the furnace. They've put in 2 controllers. I have one that's still working. I don't know why, it's probably 30 years old. They are my contractors of choice for all that work. It's $225 a year for the preventative work. They have probably done $12000 worth of work over all. They are just really good technicians, very pleasant and thorough.
Description of Work
They come out twice a year to do a check on my systems.
Category
heating & air conditioning/hvac

Service Provider Response

I hope you were 100% satisfied with the service you received. Contact us anytime for anything. Thank you!
Joanie P.
4.0
05/11/2017
We pay $350.00 a year for their maintenance plan. They told me I needed a new capacitor. They charged me $220. My husband looked up how much a capacitor really cost. The most expensive on that he could find was $60.00. He called them and asked for a discount. They are giving us half of that money back. He has had to call them a few times because they take advantage of me and my unknowledgeable of the things. We have used them for over 20 years.
Description of Work
They did regularly scheduled maintenance.
Category
heating & air conditioning/hvac
Vicki M.
5.0
04/12/2017
Good. Found out we need to replace one of the air conditioners.
Description of Work
Routine annual check of heating and air systems.
Category
heating & air conditioning/hvac
Doug H.
4.0
04/05/2017
Received response right away. Took a while to receive a quote for the system. Their quote was the highest for the system. I decided to go with Lucas Air.
Description of Work
Replace HVAC system
Category
heating & air conditioning/hvac
Shirley M.
5.0
04/05/2017
They sent one technician and the work took less then 30 minutes.
Description of Work
They did yearly maintenance.
Category
heating & air conditioning/hvac
Kathy T.
5.0
04/04/2017
We always use them, we have a contract with them. They came and do the check ups. They are very professional and give you a good price. They don't tell you things are wrong when their not.
Description of Work
They did our spring check.
Category
heating & air conditioning/hvac
chris W.
5.0
11/22/2016
They have comprehensive technicians, that are knowledgeable, and they work in an timely manner.
Description of Work
Routine maintenance of AC system.
Category
heating & air conditioning/hvac
Mark & JoAnn P.
5.0
10/10/2016
Joplin has been honest and told us that we did not have to replace after another company told us that we had to replace the whole system. I have continued to use them to this date. as a matter of fact they are coming out tomorrow for our furnace service.
Description of Work
They came out to check my Air conditioner after I was told I needed it replaced by another company. They just serviced it for me.
Category
heating & air conditioning/hvac
Mark & JoAnn P.
5.0
10/10/2016
They only pay charge $85 a year, to come out twice a year. I would recommend them to others, by telling them they are an honest company that does not just have you replace your unit for efficiency. They give me special treatment because I pay the annual fee to have them service the unit so when something breaks they come out right away. I will continue to use them.
Description of Work
They Inspected the air and the heating, they come every six months. They have replaced a part once.
Category
heating & air conditioning/hvac
Carlin U.
5.0
06/21/2016
We've used them for a long time. My parents used them. They are still good.
Description of Work
They installed a whole new unit.
Category
heating & air conditioning/hvac
Carlin U.
5.0
06/21/2016
We have a service contract with them and they come twice a year. We've used them for a long time.
Description of Work
For heating and air conditioning we've used Bill Joplin's. The visit was to check the air conditioner for the summer.
Category
heating & air conditioning/hvac
Doug S.
5.0
05/19/2016
I contacted Joplin's after being told by another provider that the coils on our Amana units were out of warranty. Joplin's called the manufacturer and verified that we had a valid extended warranty on our units covering both parts and labor. Not only did they replace the coil that had been causing problems, they found a second leak outside and replaced that coil as well. The technicians arrived when I was told they would arrive, and were courteous. I truly appreciate the excellent customer service provided by Joplin's.
Description of Work
Replaced two condenser coils
Category
heating & air conditioning/hvac
stephanie W.
1.0
04/05/2016
I just sent an email through their website Last winter I needed something fixed on my furnace. First guy said it was a circut board and charged me about $700. One day later, not working again. Then they charged about $400. Few more days, no heat again, again charged about $300. Then throughout about 2 more weeks it kept going out. I wasn't charged for those visits as I spoke to a manager and he admitted clearly they hadn't fixed anything even though I had spent around $1500. Over the summer I had a new AC put in by another company since I had so many problems with Joplins, I didn't want to use them. AC worked great. Then this past fall when I tried to turn on my furnace, it was not working AGAIN. So Joplins came out again and fixed the heat. So far no further heat problems but right after the last furnace repair my AC would no longer come on. THat time of year the weather swings wildly. One day you need AC the next you need heat. So, Joplins came out to see if they connected everything back correctly after fixing the furnace for the 50th time. It of course was not. Then, they had to make several more calls to my house because the AC would not come on again if I had turned it off. Because of all of this I wasn't charged for them coming back to recheck and redo their work. The manager agreed he would "warranty" this work through the end of the Spring since clearly it was their issue and not my AC and furnace. You guessed it, the first day, today, that I tried to use the AC after winter and it does not come on of course. I sent them an email on the website, posted on their FB page and I am posting here. So in synopsis, the first 10 problems were that they were not fixing what was really wrong with my furnace. Then when they finally fixed that they kept not hooking up the AC system correctly after FINALLY fixing the furnace. Since all the problems were from their guys not installing and re-hooking everything correctly the manager had said he was going to cover any of the costs of further calls to come out. (I can't even remember how many times they have been here now) I honestly don't know what the issue with the company is. I can say I'm sick of having repair people in my house. Since I have a brand new AC and almost everything has been replaced in the furnace, I should be able to turn either one on without having problems but here I sit in my bedroom, sweating tonight. I really want to call another company. but I don't want to pay and shouldn't have to. Clearly they suggest "fixes" that aren't really needed but that cost lots of money and labor, thus the initial "circuit panel" that cost $750 and then all other fees and inconvenience included. The manager did refund ONLY part of the fees they charged. The refunded about $400 of the $1500 I paid. Even though, clearly the $750 circuit panel was never needed in the first place.Said they couldn't refund labor. Well we wouldn't need so much labor had it ever been fixed correctly
Description of Work
Supposed to repair my furnace as it would not come on. Kept changing out parts on multiple visits, kept charging more money every time as well. Had a new AC installed by someone else in the middle of all the bad work done by Joplins. So the next visit Joplins made after the new AC, they messed that up somehow too. Now my AC won't come on when I turn it on. This too has happened many times since they "repaired" the heat.
Category
heating & air conditioning/hvac

Service Provider Response

Today's trip will be the 10th visit to your home in 14 months - obviously quite excessive by any count. Two of the trips involved replacing a factory defective ignitor and another for a dirty air filter. We are coming out today to determine the source of the problem, at no charge to you, and thank you for giving us the opportunity to determine the source of this problem, as we do stand behind our work.

    Other local Pros in your area

    Premier Air Service

    Heating and Air-conditioning: Sales, Service and Installation Residential and Light Commercial. Electrical Contractor. Duct cleaning, attic insulation and dryer vent cleaning recently added to our services.  

    Angi Certified

    Cyclone Professional Cleaners

    Expert Frank has the solution for your cleaning job with 20+ years research and development. He's always used new green and powerful pre-treatments to separate the bond between dirt and your air ducts or floor. Then the strength of 325 horsepower engine trucks (superior equipment power) force grime out with professional high heat and deep extraction tools. Only residue free, brighter, cleaner and sanitized spaces are created. You will save time and money with a wide menu of services that can be accomplished in just one appointment. Our family business is dedicated to serving your family from the moment we personally greet you, solve your cleaning needs without pressure, and finish the visit making sure you have seen quality cleaning performance for reasonable rates. Have a refreshingly simple transforming cleaning experience with Cyclone Professional Cleaners. Our clients have endorsed us. A+ Better Business Bureau. Expertise Best of Plano 2021. Three Best Rated 2021, Best Pick Reports 2022. 972-390-8700 https://cyclonepro.com  

    Angi Certified

    Offers Coupon

    Extreme Comfort Air Conditioning & Heating

    Extreme Comfort Air Conditioning and Heating specializes in residential and light commercial service and new installation. Our technicians are state certified and trained at repairing, replacing, or servicing every major make and model of HVAC equipment. Consumers have many options with respect to which dealer they select, so we observe strict hiring practices to ensure the highest quality employees represent Extreme Comfort Air Conditioning and Heating both in the field and administratively so that our customers’ needs may be satisfied. Our fleet of 20 trucks and over 40 full time employees allows the company to provide customer service and quality of workmanship that is unmatched in our industry. Locally owned & operated.  

    Angi Certified

    2022 Super Service Award

    Offers Coupon

    Business Highlights

    Emergency Services OfferedEmergency Services Offered
    Licensed
    Trade License Number
    TACLA2714C, TACLA27091C, TACLA69075C, TACLA69446C
    Trade License Locale
    Texas
    Trade License Authority
    Texas Department of Licensing and Regulations
    Trade License Expiration
    12/31/2020
    Bonded
    Insured
    All statements concerning insurance, licenses, and bonds are informational only, and are self-reported. Since insurance, licenses and bonds can expire and can be cancelled, homeowners should always check such information for themselves.To find more licensing information for your state, visit our Find Licensing Requirements page.
    General Information
    Free Estimates
    Yes
    Eco-Friendly Accreditations
    Yes
    Payment Options
    Visa, MasterCard, American Express, Discover, Check, Financing
    Emergency Service
    Yes
    Warranties
    Yes

    Services Offered

    Air Conditioning Repair Service, Furnace Repair Service, Air Conditioning Contractor, HVAC Contractor, Heating Contractor

    Services Not Offered

    Window Units, Mobile Homes, Attic Fans & Turbines, Air Compressors, Duct Cleaning, Fireplaces, Hot Water Heaters.

    Frequently Asked Questions & Answers about Bill Joplin's Air Conditoning & Heating

    How is Bill Joplin's Air Conditoning & Heating overall rated?

    Bill Joplin's Air Conditoning & Heating is currently rated 4.8 overall out of 5.

    What days are Bill Joplin's Air Conditoning & Heating open?

    Bill Joplin's Air Conditoning & Heating is open:

    Monday: 8:00 AM - 5:00 PM

    Tuesday: 8:00 AM - 5:00 PM

    Wednesday: 8:00 AM - 5:00 PM

    Thursday: 8:00 AM - 5:00 PM

    Friday: 8:00 AM - 5:00 PM

    Saturday: 8:00 AM - 5:00 PM

    What payment options does Bill Joplin's Air Conditoning & Heating provide

    Bill Joplin's Air Conditoning & Heating accepts the following forms of payment: Visa, MasterCard, American Express, Discover, Check, Financing

    Does Bill Joplin's Air Conditoning & Heating offer free estimates?

    Yes, Bill Joplin's Air Conditoning & Heating offers free project estimates.

    Does Bill Joplin's Air Conditoning & Heating offer eco-friendly accreditations?

    Yes, Bill Joplin's Air Conditoning & Heating offers eco-friendly accreditations.

    Does Bill Joplin's Air Conditoning & Heating offer emergency services?

    Yes, Bill Joplin's Air Conditoning & Heating offers emergency services.

    Are warranties offered by Bill Joplin's Air Conditoning & Heating?

    Yes, Bill Joplin's Air Conditoning & Heating offers warranties.

    What services does Bill Joplin's Air Conditoning & Heating offer?

    Bill Joplin's Air Conditoning & Heating offers the following services: Air Conditioning Repair Service, Furnace Repair Service, Air Conditioning Contractor, HVAC Contractor, Heating Contractor

    Are there any services Bill Joplin's Air Conditoning & Heating does not offer?

    Window Units, Mobile Homes, Attic Fans & Turbines, Air Compressors, Duct Cleaning, Fireplaces, Hot Water Heaters.