Find top-rated Pros in your area

Enter a zip code and get matched to businesses near you.

Dockmaster USA

Founded 2002 • With Angi since June 2011

Dockmaster USA provides an elite level of design, customer service, and craftsmanship. Our design team helps turn your vision into reality and our installers are professional, customer oriented folks. Regardless of how big or small your project is, count on Dockmaster USA to deliver quality workmanship at a reasonable price.

Business Highlights

Emergency Services OfferedEmergency Services Offered

Amenities

Free Estimates
yes
Warranties
yes
Senior Discount
10%
Emergency Service
Yes
Eco-Friendly Accreditations
Yes
Bonded
Insured
This pro has not provided any licensing information to Angi at this time.All statements concerning insurance, licenses, and bonds are informational only, and are self-reported. Since insurance, licenses and bonds can expire and can be cancelled, homeowners should always check such information for themselves. To find more licensing information for your state, visit our Find Licensing Requirements page. Contact pro for more details.

Verified Reviews

4.6

(18) Verified Reviews

Showing 1-18 of 18 reviews
Joseph K.
1.0
02/06/2017
Terrible .... Worst contractor experience ever.
Description of Work
Buyers beware! This company is very unscrupulous ....
Category
decks
Denise L.
1.0
07/15/2015
Did not show up! Appointment was made for 5pm on Monday, July 13th....No Show! No phone call to say they weren't coming!
Description of Work
My husband set up an appointment with Dockmaster USA for Monday, June 13th. They never showed up - never called.
Category
decks

Service Provider Response

I think this was a mistake. We didn't have any correspondence with this Angie's List member regarding an appointment.
Kenneth S.
5.0
04/21/2015
Our experience with Dockmasters has been excellent. From the first meeting, John was both professional and accommodating to our ideas on our deck. He had some good suggestions to improve our original design and we're very happy with the final outcome. We did have some issues with weather delays, but that's to be expected when building in the spring. Would work with Dockmasters again and have already recommended them to friends with similar projects.
Description of Work
Build a large deck and pergola on back of house.
Category
decks
Eugene S.
5.0
10/23/2014
Overall it went very well. The process took a bit longer than expected because our ground is very rocky, so digging holes for the support pillars took longer. The deck has now been stained and we are very happy with it. John Hight and his crew were professional in every way.
Description of Work
Demolished a large raised deck to the ground and rebuilt from ground up with all new materials.
Category
decks, deck cleaning
Justin C.
5.0
09/23/2014
It went very well, John was our main contact and he was very helpful, informative, and worked to make sure we were happy with the deck. The workmen were polite and efficient. There were some minor delays and some odd hours, but John kept in touch and made sure we knew what was going on and ensured that the work moved forward. We are very happy with the completed deck and I would call on Dockmaster again for future construction work.
Description of Work
Dockmasters removed my old wooden deck and replaced it, enhancing the style and structure.
Category
decks, woodworking
CONNIE B.
1.0
08/25/2014
He
Description of Work
He was going to repair our deck, which involved some concrete work that had to be done prior to deck repairs.
Category
decks, deck cleaning

Service Provider Response

We met with this customer and gave them a bid to repair their deck which was to take place after they had some concrete work done (by another contractor). They planned to hire us and were going to contact us once the concrete work was complete, but we never heard back from them.
Catherine G.
5.0
07/14/2014
John and his crew are excellent. I had to have this project finished by a particular date and they delivered. His crew was hardworking, responsive and professional. During the job there were a few changes and John never gave an indication that they were an inconvenience or problem. I would recommend Dockmasters to anyone who needs a deck or dock built, repaired or restored. Their work was excellent.
Description of Work
Built a large deck and pergola. Refinished and repaired an existing deck.
Category
decks, handyman service, landscaping, deck cleaning, hardscaping
Carolyn B.
5.0
07/09/2014
My memory is a little hazy as the work was done two years ago, but I do remember the crew being punctual and very professional. Once the work was done, all scrap and trash was removed and the also used a magnet to scour the lawn for dropped nails / screws.
Description of Work
Removed old deck and constructed new deck and pergola
Category
decks, landscaping, hardscaping
Michael & Floria K.
4.0
05/07/2014
This review can replace my previous one and Angie's List I met with this company. John is professional and gave me a detailed quote and sent a basic drawing of the proposed deck. We negotiated price and came to an agreement that was within my budget. Unfortunately, I was forced to go with another provider who agreed to allow me to pay him half of the total quoted amount due, at the end of the first work day, which would lessen my financial exposure by ensuring that I received something in return for half my money up front (like my materials ) and deters having my job delayed for other jobs and also discourages no shows" by contractors. John was unable to accommodate this request. He required that I pay him around 2000.00 up front before scheduling the job or delivering materials. This is his policy .so I went with Cortex Construction who was willing to work with me. Deck is almost done. I am sorry I could not work with John as I think his work would have likely been stellar.
Description of Work
Bid to build an 18X20 pressure treated deck.
Category
decks
Ryan N.
5.0
03/14/2014
Did a very good job installing and staining a 14 x 22 pressure treated wood deck. I got 4 other bids but Dockmaster's was competitive and working with John seemed like the best fit.
Description of Work
Install a wood deck
Category
decks
James S.
5.0
01/23/2014
We reviewed about 6 contractors from Angie's list to replace storm damaged pergola. John at Dockmaster USA was selected based on his professional and personal approach to our problem. Also while being the lowest bid (though only by a little), he came across as a dependable and conscientious person. He communicated well giving us options and suggestions. He came with his helper on Monday 1/20/2014 and cleared away the damaged pergola and then proceeded to erect the new one. They completed it the next day and it looks great! They cleaned up the area and put all of the outdoor furniture back in place. We are very happy with him and the work they did and have already recommended him to one of our neighbors.
Description of Work
See below.
Category
awnings, decks, garage builders
Sharon C.
5.0
09/12/2013
Job was finished in one day. Work performed by owner and crew. They were quick and clean up all trash and old wood. Very professional job. This is second job performed by dock masters for me. They removed and completely replaced a walking deck on the side of a backyard pool at my previous house; punctual, reasonable, tidy and very good carpentry work.
Description of Work
Renovated an existing stock pond fishing dock/deck and removed rotten wood and remodeled walking surfaces and bannisters and access ramp.
Category
decks, dock building
Marc M.
5.0
07/22/2013
I called Dockmaster about a bid for a pergola and the price was very fair. The owner, John, was very responsive to how we wanted to detail the overhang and gave us lots of options to consider and choose from. We appreciated John's willingness to accomodate our schedule during the bid process (including weekends and late afternoons). Total build time was 2 days, and the whole process took about 2 weeks. Crew did a good job of cleaning up too. We are extremely pleased with the end product and would not hesitate to recommend Dockmaster to others.
Description of Work
Installed a 10' x 24' cedar pergola in backyard
Category
decks, hardscaping
John or Tish B.
5.0
06/11/2013
Job went well, very happy with final product. Only problem was as job was completed he wanted payment, as job was finished after sunset I would not make full payment until I could inspect work. Several issues had to be resolved and full payment was made. Would use this contractor again and have given him name to other people.
Description of Work
built small dock on creek
Category
decks, dock building
BJ Z.
5.0
04/25/2013
Dockmasters, owned by John Hight, removed a 30 year old wood patio deck and installed a new wood deck in its place. The removal also included the demo of an existing, un-repairable hot tub. John provided a fair, reasonable, and easily understandable estimate with alternatives suggested for cost savings. John and his crew showed up on time on the proposed start date & subsequent workdays and completed the project on schedule. We appreciated that John personally visited the site each day and communicated frequently with us in person and by telephone to assure his work was being performed in accordance with our expectations. Payments were conveniently handled via Pay Pal. We are most satisfied with the quality, cost, and timeliness of the work performed by Dockmasters, and you will be equally impressed when you call Dockmasters for an estimate and then contract for a new deck. Homeowners - Bedford, TX
Description of Work
Dockmasters, owned by John Hight, removed a 30 year old wood patio deck and installed a new wood deck in its place. The removal also included the demo of an existing, un-repairable hot tub.
Category
decks
TINA F.
5.0
02/18/2013
I couldn't have asked for anything better; their service was perfect. Every phase of the project was absolutely fabulous including the workmanship, professionalism and even the follow up. I had no complaints.
Description of Work
They put a porch cover on the back of the house.
Category
awnings, decks
Jason S.
5.0
12/28/2012
Great! Everything went as planned and as promised.
Description of Work
Repair deck on my rental property
Category
contractors, decks, deck cleaning, woodworking
Carolyn B.
5.0
11/15/2012
Excellent work done on the deck. I had an issue with one boards having a knot that started to push through shortly after completion, and they promptly came back and replaced the board. I will definitely use this company again in the future.
Description of Work
Removed old deck and installed new 20 x 20 deck with four post pergola. New deck and pergola stained.
Category
decks, deck cleaning, woodworking

Other Information

Services offered

Decks, Boat Docks, Patio Cover, Decorative Concrete, Outdoor Kitchens, backyard home improvement projects.

Services not offered

n/a

Payment options

Check
Visa
MasterCard
American Express
Discover
PayPal
Financing Available

FAQ

Dockmaster USA is currently rated 4.6 overall out of 5.

Dockmaster USA accepts the following forms of payment: Check, Visa, MasterCard, American Express, Discover, PayPal, Financing Available

Yes, Dockmaster USA offers free project estimates.

Yes, Dockmaster USA offers eco-friendly accreditations.

No, Dockmaster USA does not offer a senior discount.

Yes, Dockmaster USA offers emergency services.

Yes, Dockmaster USA offers warranties.

Dockmaster USA offers the following services: Decks, Boat Docks, Patio Cover, Decorative Concrete, Outdoor Kitchens, backyard home improvement projects.

Other Local Pros In Your Area

G2 Painting and Roofing

No reviews yet.

Angi Certified

G2 Painting and Roofing

Residential painting and roofing  

With over 25 Years of experience in Painting, Roofing, Gutters, Siding and Windows, Phillips Home Improvements has been the name to trust in the Home Improvements industry in North Texas. At Phillips Home Improvements, we believe in providing every customer with 'Workmanship Beyond Your Expectations'. Not only were we voted TOP 10 in Texas by Qualified Remodeler and Guild Quality for Customer Satisfaction, but we also received the 2019 BBB Award for Ethics, the 2022 Dallas Business Journal's Award for Best Places to Work, and the 2023 SBA Small Business Owner of the Year Award. Our Project Consultants are excited to demonstrate the remarkable impact that Phillips can bring to your desired home improvements through a complimentary in-home consultation. We offer free estimates and flexible financing options with up to 18 months of no interest. So contact us today to discover why people have been saying.... "Phillips Home Improvements truly does provide workmanship beyond your expectations."  

Five Star Painting of Dallas

Angi Certified

2022 Super Service Award

Offers Coupon

Five Star Painting of Dallas

Locally owned and operated by Josh Christensen, Five Star Painting in Dallas is dedicated to providing painting services that exceed expectations. Our primary focus is to ensure that you are completely satisfied with the quality of our work, which is why we thoroughly train all of our painting contractors. You can rest assured that our painters are skilled, knowledgeable, and respectful. Five star quality without the five star price. Additional phone - (214) 447-7005. Book your appointment online by clicking on our website!