Find top-rated Pros in your area

Enter a zip code and get matched to businesses near you.

CHIMNEY DOCTOR

Founded 1984 • With Angi since June 2004

Clean and inspect chimneys *prefer direct phone call, 8174313155!!! Chimney covers Repairs Dryer vent cleaning

Amenities

Free Estimates
yes
Warranties
ask for details
Senior Discount
no
Eco-Friendly Accreditations
No
Insured
This pro has not provided any licensing information to Angi at this time.All statements concerning insurance, licenses, and bonds are informational only, and are self-reported. Since insurance, licenses and bonds can expire and can be cancelled, homeowners should always check such information for themselves. To find more licensing information for your state, visit our Find Licensing Requirements page. Contact pro for more details.

Verified Reviews

4.8

(78) Verified Reviews

Showing 1-25 of 78 reviews
Lynn M.
5.0
03/21/2019
Installation of silicone sealant on roof top Chimney. John was on time for appointment To survey my leak & suggest options. Technician returned to apply sealant All taken care of in just a few days
Description of Work
Chimney leak
Category
chimney repair
George C.
3.0
12/27/2018
He came and discussed the work. We agreed on $800 and I paid immediately with a credit card, although he wasn't ready to do the job yet. A few days later, an employee came in and did the work. We had agreed that he would photograph the the top of the chimney to show me, but he never did or responded to my subsequent requests. I don't even know what he did because the top is not visible from the ground. On windy days, the metallic noise is unbearable, so I contacted him again by text, but he never acknowledge my request. The noise continues. I don't remember the date of the work.
Description of Work
Chimney top
Category
chimney repair

Service Provider Response

Hi [Member Name Removed], chimney dr here. I recall rebuilding the cement crown on top of the chimney for you yes. I also sent pics of completed work to you. If you sent any texts to 8174313155 theat woukd not work.. it is not a cell phone. Any issues can always be addressed by calling the actual number. I guarantee my work for my customers and will happily correct any issues. Feel free to call. This repair was performed 6 months Thank you again.
Pedram P.
5.0
08/31/2018
Very knowledgeable, professional equipment, thorough inspection and sweep
Description of Work
Chimney sweep, regular maintenance, inspection
Category
chimney sweep
Susan B.
5.0
08/20/2018
Louis came out and was very thorough and professional. He was very careful to protect all of our rugs and furniture. All of the chimneys were very dirty and he worked very hard. He also inspected our chimneys on the roof. We will need additional repairs and we will not hesitate to have them do that work.
Description of Work
We have three fireplaces that had never been cleaned. We scheduled an inspection and cleaning.
Category
chimney sweep
Cindy B.
5.0
02/22/2018
Great! We had him out because we were selling our house and the inspector said our fireplace and chimney were dirty(which I knew they weren't) and the buyers wanted us to address it. He came out and took one look at our fireplace and said there really wasn't anything wrong with it, but he had to charge us for a service call. He felt bad about it, but I completely understood. He wiped down the fireplace and ran the brush up the chimney even though it didn't need it so we could tell the buyers we had it taken care of. He also patched a couple of spots that would need it soon anyway. He was very courteous and friendly. Would totally recommend them to someone else.
Description of Work
Chimney Inspection and minor repairs.
Category
chimney sweep, chimney repair, fireplaces
Stephanie B.
5.0
01/17/2018
Called him and he was able to come out same day! Was super helpful and even said that the chimney didn’t need cleaned. He still inspected the chimney and found an issue up on the roof that he is going to fix. Definitely has a customer for as long as we have a chimney/fireplace. I would recommend him to anyone who needs any chimney work done. I felt at ease while he was here and he explained and showed me what to do to light a fire and gave me instructions on what to do!
Description of Work
Called for a chimney cleaning/inspection
Category
chimney sweep, chimney repair
Monica F.
5.0
01/13/2018
I forgot about the original appointment scheduled with John. After arriving home and seeing Johns card in the door I called him to apologize. He was very friendly and actually had an opening the next morning (which he indicated was very rare). John called 30 minutes ahead to ensure we were ready for the service. Demeanor was very friendly and attitude was "upbeat". He answered all of my questions in a professional manner and actually pointed out an issue with one of the panels in the prefab fireplace but said to keep an eye on it and text a picture to his personal cell if it got worse. I love the fact that he wasn't trying to up-sell on the spot. THAT IS GREAT SERVICE!!! Great timely service at very reasonable prices! John has secured a customer for as long as I have a chimney!
Description of Work
Chimney cleaning
Category
chimney sweep
James P.
5.0
06/02/2017
Scott was very courteous, prompt, and provided a timely inspection report and estimate for us and our realtor.
Description of Work
I had a chimney inspection done as part of the purchase of our home.
Category
chimney sweep
Kari B.
5.0
02/28/2017
Arrived on time and after inspection let me know that the chimney did not need cleaning. But it did need another maintenance item. They were very professional and helpful.
Description of Work
Chimney Inspection and Cleaning
Category
chimney sweep
Sue S.
5.0
01/30/2017
They communicated well and gave us detailed pricing on the work to be done. They showed up at the appointed time and did the work efficiently. Chimney cap was custom ordered so a second trip was required to complete the work. The technician called sooner than we expected and came a finished the job. We were very pleased with this prompt service. We would definitely hire these guys again.
Description of Work
We purchased a chimney inspection because we knew we had some kind of problem. Cost of inspection was credited to the work we had performed. We needed a knew chimney cap and some some masonry work done.
Category
chimney caps, chimney repair
Quinton R.
5.0
06/10/2016
I am located about an hour drive from Chimney Doctor but Mr. Herder arrived on time for inspection and gave me an estimation as to what would need to be done. We arranged an appointment time and he arrived the day of the appointment when he said that he would. He preformed the work that we agreed to and was very professional in his work.
Description of Work
Replace old chimney cap with new cap to stop squirrels from getting into chimney. Cleaned off roof from tree debris.
Category
chimney caps
Paula K.
5.0
12/01/2015
Easy to make an appointment, very professional and courteous. Nice equipment set up and cleaned up completely. Fireplaces look very clean!
Description of Work
Cleaned and inspected two fireplaces.
Category
chimney sweep, fireplaces
lynn G.
5.0
11/30/2015
I had previously called another company to remove a dead bird from chimney and install a cap. They removed the dead bird (at an exorbitant cost but did not have a ladder to reach the chimney and promised to contact me as soon as the one guy with a 40' ladder was in my area. that was two weeks ago. The Chimney Doctor came this morning, measured, and came back later in the day to install the cap. Great job! This company is now my "go to" company for any chimney related issue!!
Description of Work
Installed a chimney cap on a 40' tall chimney
Category
chimney sweep, chimney caps, chimney repair
julie A.
5.0
09/09/2015
Super nice and quick would for sure call again when needed
Description of Work
Cleaned chimney and repairs fireplace
Category
chimney sweep, chimney repair, fireplaces
Trudi G.
5.0
08/26/2015
He was really reliable. He was reasonably priced. He was honest and I felt good about the experience.
Description of Work
He came out to clean the chimney but he didn't end up having to do that. I didn't have a cap so he ended up replacing the cap.
Category
chimney repair
Brad P.
5.0
01/19/2015
John called in advance and showed up a few minutes early. His employee began immediately with the chimney sweep while John took me outside to look at the exterior. He went over how best to maintain the chimney and offered to repair the exterior. John and his employee were professional and courteous. The entire process took less than 30 minutes. I will definitely use the chimney dr again.
Description of Work
Completed a chimnet sweep and review of the exterior chimney
Category
chimney sweep, chimney repair
Mark D.
2.0
01/18/2015
Because we were in the middle of a very messy remodel, it did take some time to have John come and preform these services. For this price, I would have expected that all the services to be done well, however, we had to replace the gas pipe ourselves and the door on the back of the chimney was not replaced securely and within short time, became unattached. I made several phone calls to John asking him to come repair the door, but never received a return phone call. On my last call, I told him I would give him a poor rating if he would not at least call me back, but yet again, I did not hear back from him. This rating is late, but it is accurate. I would not use John again. Too much money for too little work, and what work was done was sub-par.
Description of Work
We wanted to have the chimney inspected, cleaned, switched from gas burning to wood burning, and have the door on the back of the chimney replaced (too remove the ashes).
Category
chimney sweep

Service Provider Response

(removed member's name), I have not received any phone calls to make sure your service follow up is complete. I always make sure my Angie's list Customers are taken care of to maintain a good rating. If you'd like to call me at 8174313155 and I will make sure you are taken care of. Chimney dr policy is make it right. Thank you
Courtney W.
5.0
12/09/2014
I called the company out to sweep my chimney. John arrived and told me my chimney did not need to be swept but I had an issue with the gas pipes which I would need a plumber. John did not charge me for his visit.
Description of Work
Chimney Sweep.
Category
chimney sweep
Carol T.
5.0
10/31/2014
They were so nice and did a good job! They didn't make any type of mess. They used this suction machine to remove the dust and to clean up after themselves. I would highly recommend them.
Description of Work
I had them come out and sweep my chimney
Category
chimney sweep
Bill W.
4.0
06/03/2014
Costs ran higher than expected. The contractor that they used was average, but owner did fix it.
Description of Work
Replaced a damages chimney.
Category
chimney sweep
Michael O.
5.0
05/30/2014
The service they provided went good. I like that they're getting on time and coming as quick as possible. They were fair with the price and good customer service.
Description of Work
I did use Chimney Doctor seven months ago.
Category
air duct cleaning
Robyn S.
3.0
05/20/2014
I asked the Chimney Doctor to examine work done by another company. John was kind enough to take a look at no charge. He said the chimney wasn't thoroughly cleaned, but safe enough to use. He agreed that the coating on the crown was poorly applied. However, he believed it offered enough protection. When I asked about the condition of the coating, because it had come off in another technician's hands, he replied it was fine. He said to leave everything alone. There was no need for additional work and I should stop requesting further inspections. Well, I chose to have one more company take a look. They discovered the coating was too thick and still moist. It came off like putty in their hands, which you can see in the picture. The roof was concave, meaning rain could pour directly into the chimney. They also explained that the coating prevented mortar from adhering. The longer I allowed the coating to set, the more difficult it would be to scrape off. I had the coating immediately removed and a new crown installed. I'm glad I ignored John's advice and followed my instinct. He was punctual, waived his fee, and removed my antenna. For that, I wish I could give him an and ldquo;Aand rdquo;. However, he failed to accurately assess the condition of my chimney, which could have resulted in water damage. That is why I'm giving him a and ldquo;Cand rdquo;.
Description of Work
Inspected work by another chimney sweep company and removed an antenna.
Category
chimney sweep
Sabrina K.
5.0
02/26/2014
I used Chimney Doctor. They did an inspection, cleaned it out and it was good to go. They were clean. They didn't leave a mess. They cleaned the backs of the stove, pretty good job above that. I will use him again.
Description of Work
Chimney Doctor did an inspection and cleaned it out.
Category
chimney sweep
David W.
5.0
01/07/2014
John, the owner, arrived on time. He was very knowledgeable and helped me learn the ins and outs of my fireplace. This was a wood burning fireplace and was converted into a gas unit. It was never cleaned during that process so he had a great deal to clean up. He made sure everything in my house was protected from soot. I would recommend his services to anyone and will use him again.
Description of Work
I used CHIMNEY DOCTOR
Category
air duct cleaning
Danny M.
5.0
12/19/2013
John was very professional and knowledgeable. When I initially contacted Chimney Doktor, John called back within 30 minutes. The day of the scheduled appointment he called ahead to confirm the appointment, and arrived early. John was efficient and did an excellent job. I was not sold on any services or repairs that were not necessary. He inspected and cleaned the chimney as necessary. He made sure to protect the furnishings around the fireplace. I highly recommend using Chimney Doktor!
Description of Work
Chimney cleaning and inspection.
Category
chimney sweep

Other Information

Services offered

CHIMNEY CAPS, REPAIR & SWEEPING. DRYER VENT CLEANING.

Services not offered

Ask for details.

Payment options

Check
Visa
MasterCard
Discover

FAQ

CHIMNEY DOCTOR is currently rated 4.8 overall out of 5.

CHIMNEY DOCTOR is open:

Sunday: Closed

Monday: 8:00 AM - 5:00 PM

Tuesday: 8:00 AM - 5:00 PM

Wednesday: 8:00 AM - 5:00 PM

Thursday: 8:00 AM - 5:00 PM

Friday: 8:00 AM - 5:00 PM

Saturday: 8:00 AM - 5:00 PM

CHIMNEY DOCTOR accepts the following forms of payment: Check, Visa, MasterCard, Discover

Yes, CHIMNEY DOCTOR offers free project estimates.

No, CHIMNEY DOCTOR does not offer eco-friendly accreditations.

No, CHIMNEY DOCTOR does not offer a senior discount.

No, CHIMNEY DOCTOR does not offer warranties.

CHIMNEY DOCTOR offers the following services: CHIMNEY CAPS, REPAIR & SWEEPING. DRYER VENT CLEANING.

Other Local Pros In Your Area

DUCTZ of DFW

5.0

(15)

Angi Certified

DUCTZ of DFW

If you're looking for quality air duct cleaning services, turn to DUCTZ. We are the trusted name in air duct and HVAC cleaning because we utilize industry-leading methods, advanced technology, and effective techniques. Our team of highly trained professionals has the knowledge and insight to tackle even the most stubborn build up. We carefully inspect the property before creating a customized cleaning plan including recommended actions and next steps.  

Cyclone Professional Cleaners

Angi Certified

Offers Coupon

Cyclone Professional Cleaners

Expert Frank has the solution for your cleaning job with 20+ years research and development. He's always used new green and powerful pre-treatments to separate the bond between dirt and your air ducts or floor. Then the strength of 325 horsepower engine trucks (superior equipment power) force grime out with professional high heat and deep extraction tools. Only residue free, brighter, cleaner and sanitized spaces are created. You will save time and money with a wide menu of services that can be accomplished in just one appointment. Our family business is dedicated to serving your family from the moment we personally greet you, solve your cleaning needs without pressure, and finish the visit making sure you have seen quality cleaning performance for reasonable rates. Have a refreshingly simple transforming cleaning experience with Cyclone Professional Cleaners. Our clients have endorsed us. A+ Better Business Bureau. Expertise Best of Plano 2021. Three Best Rated 2021-2023, Best Pick Reports 2023. 972-390-8700 https://cyclonepro.com  

Climate Doctors

Angi Certified

Offers Coupon

Climate Doctors

Climate Doctors is family owned & locally operated. We understand that taking care of your family is the number one priority. Climate Doctors was started to provide complete duct cleaning and energy efficient solutions to help consumer's homes have better air quality and a more efficient heating and air systems. Climate Doctors will do what it takes to do a complete cleaning & inspection of the duct work to assure unfiltered air from the attic is not entering into the home environment. Award Winning.