Find top-rated Pros in your area

Enter a zip code and get matched to businesses near you.

Archie's Backyard Retreat

Founded 1976 • With Angi since May 2010

4.2

(19) Verified Reviews

Business Details

Phone Number

Address

3019 Keller Hicks Rd Bldg 15

Keller, TX 76244

Description

ACP Covers is right on target when it comes to patio covers, carports, shade covers, lattice covers, pergolas, arbors, outdoor kitchens & outdoor fireplaces. We have been outfitting the metroplex for over 30 years, staying in business by providing consistently excellent products and services. We install all these types for any situation, to protect your vehicles or sitting areas. From expert repairs and installations, to steel, aluminum & cedar, we provide true protection to your residential, commercial or industrial situation. Check out our NEW CLEARVIEW COVERS! The shade & view of a lattice cover with protection from rain, snow & sunburn!. Additional DBAs - A C P Unlimited, Acp, Archie's Backyard Getaways, Archie's Backyard Retreats....

Verified Reviews

A few reviews for this pro...
4.0

07/31/2017


john M.

Work started in time frame estimated. Work completed in time estimated. Jobsite always left neat.

Description of Work
Cedar patio cover

Category awnings, decks, patios

2.0

06/08/2016


Trevin R.

I called their office on Tuesday and a polite woman answered and I explained in great detail, that I needed the deck vertical supports and plank supports replaced, and needed to re-secure the deck to the wall it was attached to, specifically stating it was not a remove and rebuild. She set up an appointment for 2pm the following day. Approximately 40 minutes after the appointment was set to begin I got a phone call asking if we could reschedule for later in the day and I agreed. At 330 he showed up, walked into the backyard and looked at the deck and said, "I will give you the name of a guy who does this kind of work, with how busy we are, we just don't do repairs, we only do new construction." This infuriated me because it was a waste of both of our time, not to mention I wasted an entirely good afternoon waiting around at the house for this kind of information.

Description of Work
Asked him to bid repairing our aging 2nd story deck. A large job.

Category decks, remodeling, patios

5.0

07/24/2015


Joe F.

Overall excellent job. They're a mom and pop company, just to help you knowing what to expect. My porch is about as complicated as this kind of project can get -- the roof meets the patio from 2 directions, so there's a valley, there's a window at the patio, a sliding door, and it butts against a chimney. The original plan for the cover wasn't doable without a much more massive structure, so we discussed our options and they executed everything very well. They cleaned the jobsite really well, which most contractors I've been dealing with do not. I'd recommend them for any type of exterior work they do -- porch coverings, awnings, pergolas, etc -- but you'll want to be around to answer questions and discuss the job if any problems arise.

Description of Work
Installed a cedar patio cover with shingles.

Category awnings, decks, landscaping, hardscaping, patios

1.0

06/17/2015


Stacey W.

Never heard back from a representative.

Description of Work
Nothing.

Category decks

4.0

06/05/2014


Charmaine P.

Description of Work
We had them build out a Pergola using ACP cover, they had to redo it a few times as the length was incorrect. Project was not supervised so it took longer than it should have. Its hard to get a hold of Danny, but when you do he did come over and tried to fix the problem. Two years later during an ICE storm I noticed wated in my living room because of the metal insert they had put in my roof, he did come and fix that. As I mentioned before he is a nice guy to work with but very hard to get a hold of. Takes a few days to return calls.

Category decks, patios

4.0

05/28/2014


Jorge L.

We made our first 1/2 payment back in September 14, 2013. I was told work would start in 2-3 weeks and would take 3-5 days to complete. Work started within 2 weeks but then stalled. The concrete work was done and the cover was put in place. It then rained and the roof was leaking. They came out to fix. During the next rain, the roof leaked in a different spot. They came out and fixed. The outdoor kitchen was installed but not completed. I then did not hear back from a representative for nearly 3 months. During which time, they had not replaced the gutter, the outdoor kitchen sink was not sealed, the outdoor kitchen doors would not open all the way, and they had not over-layed the concrete. We specifically (verbally) discussed an over-lay to the concrete but neglected to write those words down in addition to the concrete portion so we had to pay additional for that outside the contract price. Finally the gutter was put in place 2 months later (after many rains and snow falls). Our patio area and wood pillars were soaked with water for the majority of the winter/early spring. Finally, we agreed on a final pay-off amount that I deducted all the missing work so that I could complete it myself. One side note that was irritating to me was that the representative showed up 3 out of the 5 times intoxicated; although they were still pleasant, I did not believe that was very professional. Positives about Archie's. We, overall were pleased with the visual of the product. I have enjoyed the patio area, although it was lacking work. They were never pushing on any products or services and the limited contact that I had with them they were very pleasant. Although I am happy with my patio, I am not sure if I would use Archies again. First, they did not do any of the work themselves. All work was done by a third party. It would have been cheaper and more effective if I had hired those workers directly. Also, I think they got tied up with jobs and since mine was75% done, put me on the back burner for 8 months. I respect that the company has been in business a long time and may have many happy costumers; unfortunately I was not 100% satisfied....closer to 80%.

Description of Work
Extended our backyard patio, placed a cedar cover, and added an outdoor kitchen.

Category concrete repair, decks, landscaping, remodeling, garage builders, hardscaping, patios, outdoor kitchens

5.0

04/09/2014


Gary C.

They gave a prompt reply to my request for an estimate and they came out on time. I think they're reasonable when compared to the other ones that I was getting and they're affordable. Overall, they're good. I like his demeanor and quality is good. I would recommend him.

Description of Work
Archie's Backyard Retreat installed a new pergola in the patio area.

Category patios

5.0

10/11/2013


Mike D.

They started on Wednesday morning at 7:30 and finished the job at 12:00 p.m. on Thursday. The work was excellent. It blended in with our wood that is on the back of the house. It looks like it was built when our house was built.

Description of Work
He built a awning to cover my outdoor kitchen.

Category decks, outdoor kitchens

5.0

09/25/2013


Robert G.

Archie's Back Yard Retreat built my shade structure over a period of three days. They were very professional and took the time to make sure I was getting exactly what I wanted. After the initial quote, Dan Archie also came to the jobsite several times to check progress of the job and make sure I was completely satisfied. I would definitely recommend them, and use them in the future.

Description of Work
Built a covered shade structure made of cedar with a composite shingle roof over an existing concrete pad.

Category patios

5.0

09/23/2013


Michael T.

The owner and his son performed their services with professionalism and patience. We were slow in making our decisions on the stone, stain, and wood. They did not pressure us at any time, and when any questions arose, they were quick to respond. The quality and attention to detail by their workers were appreciated. The stone masons were incredible and accommodating to my wife when she wanted a different pattern on the patio. We had an excellent experience and would use them again for any of our future projects.

Description of Work
We had a full Gable style patio built into our current roof line with heavy rough hewn cedar. The project required tear out and repouring of a larger patio and adding the cover. The patio surface and the cedar columns were covered with Milsap Blend stone with cutouts for our retractable screens.

Category concrete repair, decks, patios

5.0

09/19/2013


Nancy S.

Dan supplied an estimate with pricing. He explained the different options that I had. His crew arrived when promptly on the installation date. The crew was professional and there craftsmanship impeccable. They did a final check and clean-up. Dan was present when I had a question and directed his crew as per the changes necessary. The price was fair and I love my new outdoor space to entertain and enjoy. I would definitely recommend Archie's Backyard Retreat to my neighbors and friends!

Description of Work
Archie's built a 15x16 outdoor pergola with privacy screen and clear view cover.

Category decks

5.0

09/19/2013


John M.

He is very professional and the people he hires do good work. They got the work done on time and everything has been up to snuff. He's responded to the one minor problem I've had and is going to take care of it. He seems very reliable and like he does what he says he will.

Description of Work
Archie's put up a pergola over my back patio.

Category hardscaping, patios

1.0

07/07/2013


Susan H.

For me it was a terrible experience because I tried to research and find a good provider by going to several home and garden shows . Only to pick one that I had to argue with over craftsmanship . When we tried to point out defects to employee he was angry, defensive and it showed in his work. The owners should be at site to review job instead they made him responsible for getting the remaining money owed. So at least I can warn others on Angie's list to beware.

Description of Work
I went to two home shows in our area and looked closely at demo, photos of completed work and talked to owner. After looking at several Pergolas I decided to go with Archie's . The one mistake I made is I didn't look up company on Angie's list until after I had problems. Owner came out completed written estimate, and require half payment cash or check, no credit cards. I was given a 2 hour notice before the crew came out to my house and started building the pergola and it was 2 weeks earlier than the estimated time. Work took 2 days to finish. First day they laid wood out to acclimate . When I came home from work 2nd day there was only 1 employee there finishing work. There was not a supervisor or owner to discuss problems with work. The wood was cracked and damaged from nailing too hard. Materials and carpentry were unacceptable in serval areas. Poles ,braces,and across top cracked and damaged or sub materials used. Called owner after I researched information and knew what I was talking about. After a heated phone discussion he agreed to come out and look at work. Again after a argumentative discussion he agreed to repairs. I wish I would have never called . It looks worse now than the fist time. It is leaning crooked. The carpenter nailed so hard the wood is smashed and cracked around the nails and he damaged the bottoms of the replaced poles.

Category decks

4.0

06/07/2013


Christopher A.

goog

Description of Work
goog

Category decks, hardscaping

4.0

06/04/2013


Ellen O.

We hired them to replace the cover on our pergola that had been damaged by hail. The installers did an incomplete job--they did not trim the cover material even with the edges of the pergola and they did not police the area when they finished (there were pieces of the old plastic cover on the patio and driveway and in the yard, and screws/fasteners on the patio and in the yard.) The owner agreed to have them correct the trim, but it took several calls to get them to come back.

Description of Work
Replaced cover on pergola

Category decks

5.0

03/08/2013


Dustin C.

They had worked on my existing porch. I had a very good experience with them their quality of work was very high, the materials they had used were very good and the workmanship was very accurate and neat; it seemed as if the porch had been built with the house and seemed as an integral part of the house. Their price was very competitive and their dealings were professional and top-of-the-line. I would recommend them to anyone.

Description of Work
ACP Covers aka Archie's Backyard Retreat had finished a porch for me.

Category decks

5.0

09/17/2012


Amy W.

Fabulous! Dan, Justin and team exceeded our expectations and look forward to working with them again on our next project.

Description of Work
Dan, Justin and the team built a free standing Patio cover with built in storage for us. It is 12x17 with a shingled roof and aggaret flooring.

Category awnings, hardscaping, patios

1.0

08/21/2008


Marianne R.

They splattered concrete on our new windows and brick. The concrete was not flat but waved up and down. It began to have small cracks all over within two days, the broom finish was crooked, uneven and with rough variations that looked more like a leaf rake than a broom mark. The metal patio cover had dents, no caulking, leaking at many joints, screws screwed in to house with an inch showing from house to patio cover. The "gutters" leaked like there were no gutter. They offered to take out the concrete and do it again. They brought in a small digger that dented our carport steel poles, made about a one foot hole in the yard, and dented the one new patio cover pole. They only carted away some of the mess. The two workers on the patio cover acted put out the whole time. One came back to "clear" the gutter and he said we would have to take it down when we wanted to clean it out. They gave a slight discount of the final price after we told them we didn't want them working on the patio concrete anymore. We got someone else to fix the concrete and install a flagstone surface. The patio cover still has the same poor workmanship appearance until we can find someone to fix that problem next.

Description of Work
They were supposed to create a concrete overlay over an existing smaller concrete patio with a broom finish. Install a 20x13 metal patio cover.

Category awnings, concrete repair

Service Provider Response

We had employed a new concrete man who did not work out unfortunately was not qualified .we let him go and tried to make restitution with the customer
5.0

06/01/2008


TEDDY C.

Owner was more than willing to work around delays caused by late completion of other work. Once started the work took less than a day.

Description of Work
Had weather resistant plastic cover installed on top of existing arbor. Cover is tinted bronze and allows light thru but blocks UV. Helps to protect our outdoor fan and patio furniture. Has increased our usage of this area because it is more shaded and more protective in bad weather.

Category awnings

    Other local Pros in your area

    Charles Fawcett and associates

    I am a small contractor with a diverse back ground in real estate and remodeling projects, both interior and exterior spaces including landscape and irrigation.  

    Bright Sun Landscape

    Hello this is Bright Sun Landscape and masonry . We do any kind of masonry you want us to do ex: stone work, concrete, brick work and much more. To contact us (945-230-2400) or (214-500-6768) for more questions or you can also contact us by email Brightsunlandscape@gmail.com  

    Martinez Masonry & Landscaping

    At Martinez Masonry, our goal is to turn your design ideas into reality. Whether you are seeking additions to enhance your home/business, or repair existing masonry and/or landscaping, we can help. Call us today to schedule a consultation.  

    Insured
    All statements concerning insurance, licenses, and bonds are informational only, and are self-reported. Since insurance, licenses and bonds can expire and can be cancelled, homeowners should always check such information for themselves.To find more licensing information for your state, visit our Find Licensing Requirements page.
    General Information
    Free Estimates
    Yes
    Eco-Friendly Accreditations
    No
    Payment Options
    MasterCard, Check
    Warranties
    Yes

    Services Offered

    Pergolas, decks, patio covers, carports, outdoor kitchens, fireplaces & concrete overlay

    Services Not Offered

    Ask for details

    Frequently Asked Questions & Answers about Archie's Backyard Retreat

    How is Archie's Backyard Retreat overall rated?

    Archie's Backyard Retreat is currently rated 4.2 overall out of 5.

    What days are Archie's Backyard Retreat open?

    Archie's Backyard Retreat is open:

    Sunday: 12:00 PM - 4:00 PM

    Monday: 8:00 AM - 5:00 PM

    Tuesday: 8:00 AM - 5:00 PM

    Wednesday: 8:00 AM - 5:00 PM

    Thursday: 8:00 AM - 5:00 PM

    Friday: 8:00 AM - 5:00 PM

    Saturday: 10:00 AM - 4:00 PM

    What payment options does Archie's Backyard Retreat provide

    Archie's Backyard Retreat accepts the following forms of payment: MasterCard, Check

    Does Archie's Backyard Retreat offer free estimates?

    Yes, Archie's Backyard Retreat offers free project estimates.

    Does Archie's Backyard Retreat offer eco-friendly accreditations?

    No, Archie's Backyard Retreat does not offer eco-friendly accreditations.

    Are warranties offered by Archie's Backyard Retreat?

    Yes, Archie's Backyard Retreat offers warranties.

    What services does Archie's Backyard Retreat offer?

    Archie's Backyard Retreat offers the following services: Pergolas, decks, patio covers, carports, outdoor kitchens, fireplaces & concrete overlay