Find top-rated Pros in your area

Enter a zip code and get matched to businesses near you.

Solar X Window Film Systems

Founded 1973 • With Angi since October 2007

Solar X Window Film Systems is an authorized 3M™ Window Film Dealer. Led by our president and industry veteran, Jim Nardone, we have proudly provided high quality window film solutions to homeowners and businesses in the Houston and Texas Gulf Coast Region since 1973. Solar X offers 3M™ Sun Control Window Films, 3M™ Safety & Security Window Films, and 3M™ Fasara™ Decorative Window Films for both homes and commercial buildings. We have installed window film for over 50,000 satisfied home and business owners from Galveston to Huntsville. No matter how small or complex, we have the resources, expertise and experience to tackle any window film project.

Amenities

Free Estimates
yes
Warranties
3m limited lifetime warranty
Senior Discount
no
Eco-Friendly Accreditations
No
Bonded
Insured
This pro has not provided any licensing information to Angi at this time.All statements concerning insurance, licenses, and bonds are informational only, and are self-reported. Since insurance, licenses and bonds can expire and can be cancelled, homeowners should always check such information for themselves. To find more licensing information for your state, visit our Find Licensing Requirements page. Contact pro for more details.

Verified Reviews

4.8

(41) Verified Reviews

Showing 1-25 of 41 reviews
William W.
5.0
07/10/2017
Great job, couple windows have small bubbles which should improve after 30 dats
Description of Work
Window tint for most of our windows in our house
Category
window tinting
Donelle P.
5.0
12/16/2014
Installer arrived and greeted me then got straight to work. He laid down protective covering on the floors and was very neat.
Description of Work
Installed window film in my house. Very professional sales and installation
Category
window tinting

Service Provider Response

Thanks for using Solar X. We always strive to be on time friendly and efficient. If you ever have any issues, please don't hesitate to call.; Also, please remember we have a referral program that puts $50 in your pocket and gets your friend $50 off their film work when they do more than 100 square feet. Thanks again!
Anthony M.
5.0
10/30/2014
Very professional, but was told there was no discount for Angie's List because the job was not large enough.
Description of Work
Window tint on 2 windows.
Category
window tinting

Service Provider Response

We appreciate you using Solar X for your window film work, [member name removed]! While the price may have been a bit more than you were expecting, rest assured you have made the best choice you can make by using a 3M film installed by Solar X. 3M is THE top of the line material, and Solar X is the 3M Dealer of the Year. Please refer us to a friend, and we will send you a check for $50 if they use our service for more than 100 square feet of work! Thanks again!
Doug A.
5.0
06/28/2014
Very good. We wanted to use the most resistant to sun and strength for security, so the material was in the upper-end of the cost in available products.
Description of Work
Added 3M solar film to 8 windows.
Category
window tinting, security windows

Service Provider Response

Our greatest hope is that our safety films go untested by storm or vandalism. If an event takes place, the 3M film will be your best deterrent to keep the glass in place. While the 3M Ultra safety films are at the upper end of the price scale for safety films, their unique construction makes it the best purchase for safety film that you can make. Please also let all your friends know we offer a $50 referral for jobs we get from your recommendation. Thanks for using Solar X!
Tonda S.
5.0
06/20/2014
They gave us a deal. They were good. They came out 6 months ago to a year ago and did an evaluation. We weren't ready. We had them come out a month ago and do another evaluation and they were really great about it. They weren't upset or anything. We had them do it. They had two technicians who came in, they did their job, and they did a really great job. They were really friendly and courteous and so forth. There were only two people in the area and they gave me the best price.
Description of Work
Window film system. Window tinting
Category
window tinting

Service Provider Response

We NEVER get upset with a customer that calls us back out to their home. We LOVE it!!! Making sure you get the product you want, at the best price we can give you, is what we are all about. Most of our customers call us after a period of making up their mind. We also offer a $50 referral fee to all our customers for recommending us to their friends. Your friends will get $50 off the cost of their job as well. Thanks for choosing Solar X. We really appreciate it.
Nelida T.
5.0
05/05/2014
WE called SolarX and they came the same day to give us the estimate. They scheduled the work for the following week. The estimator was prompt ,courteous and professional ,knowledgeable a and helpful in selecting the most appropriate film for our windows. The installer arrived at the scheduled time was extremely neat ,organized and tidy and left the rooms in. The same state as when he arrived. They did excellent work and we are calling them back to do more windows for us.
Description of Work
Gave us an estimate for the installation of film to some windows in our home,scheduled the installation ,and,then installed the film.
Category
security windows

Service Provider Response

We always like hearing that a customers experience was a good one. Happy customers are the best recommendation you can get. Thanks for choosing Solar X for your film work. You had a lot of choices, and we feel like you chose well...Recommend us to your friends and you can both get $50 out of the deal!!
alexis G.
4.0
05/01/2014
There were no troubles with scheduling. The deal itself didn’t turn out to be great. However, the quality was good. The deal was for the lowest quality of film. Instead of getting the film that was included in the deal, they allowed me to use the cost as a credit toward the quality of film that I had wanted.
Description of Work
I purchased a Big Deal for the installation of 3M window3 tint solar film. They installed the window film on two window domes.
Category
security windows
Doug T.
5.0
04/17/2014
It was an Angie's List Big Deal that I purchased. It was great. They did a really good job.
Description of Work
I used Solar X to put solar film on our home windows.
Category
window tinting

Service Provider Response

Straight A's was always a good thing when we were in school, and it remains a good thing today! Thanks for the high marks! If you ever need more work done, just give us a shout. we also have a referral program that gives you $50 for having a friend get film on your recommendation. your friend also gets a $50 credit.
Neal J.
5.0
01/20/2014
I called Solar X on a Thursday and set a free appraisal appointment for Friday, the next day. Rick Carter showed up exactly at the appointment time scheduled, explained in detail the various types of window film and how they would perform. I chose the film I wanted from his very simple (but highly instructive) discussion and the samples he provided me. Then he calculated the appraisal price and I accepted the proposal and set the following Monday for installation. Total time for this took about 45 minutes. A Solar X technician showed up on time the following Monday. He was very courteous and patient with all of my questions as he was installing the window film. The installation took about 1 1/2 hours. My main purpose was for privacy from the neighbors and passerbys. It also has proved to reduce the glare and heat from the sun as stated. This coming summer it will be great for that! My home office is in the front of my home. Now I can open all of my shutters and have a beautiful view of the neighborhood, the flower gardens I have in front, and the sky without people seeing me. It's just great!!!!!! I highly recommend Solar X for this type of home improvement.....very professional, knowledgeable, courteous, and timely. lll
Description of Work
Furnished and Installed 3M Night Vision window film to 3 large windows and 2 to smaller upper windows in my home;. Total square footage was 114 sq feet of windows to be film covered.
Category
window tinting

Service Provider Response

Thank you for the kind words, [member name removed]. I am happy you were satisfied with our product and our service. We try really hard to make our customers happy. If you have any friends that may need our services in the future, we have a referral program. We would really appreciate the recommendation, and who couldn't use a gift card?!? thanks again, Rick Carter
Sam N.
5.0
11/28/2013
The sales person who cam in, Austin, was very honest and courteous. Austin gave a very good quote. The installer who came in was also friendly and did a thorough job. He did say that it takes 30 days cure and so, I am waiting for the 30 days to pass to ensure that there are no problems.
Description of Work
Installed 3M film on the top windows in the living room.
Category
window tinting

Service Provider Response

Thank you so much for doing business with Solar-X. If there are any questions please give me a call. Don't Forget that we have a $50.00 referral program. Thanks again for the opportunity to do business with you and your family. Austin Nardone
David N.
4.0
11/17/2013
I met with them regarding window tinting services. The estimate I received did not include the measurements ? only the price. I went with another company that provided me with a clear price (written estimate) for each window. Also, I received the Huper Optic window film, which is comparable but less expensive than 3M. Both have lifetime warranties.
Description of Work
Provided an estimate.
Category
window tinting
Catherine M.
5.0
10/15/2013
There were two gentlemen who were very pleasant and professional. They seemed to work quickly. They told me there might be a couple of noticeable small bubbles that would disappear after 30 to 60 days as the tint adjusted. It has been over 30 days and there's still only one small bubble left so am watching that. They also said that 3M -- the manufacture of the tint -- would send me a warranty which they did. Austin Nardone was in charge of the work. This is a family business and he is the son of the owner. We used Safety and Security window film on some windows and Night Vision on others. Solar X is a good company with a fine product so we can highly recommend them.
Description of Work
Tint windows in the entry way, office, living room, kitchen glassed in window box, and master bedroom.
Category
window tinting

Service Provider Response

We would like to thank you for being a SolarX customer! We appreciate the kind words. If your bubble has not dried out, be sure to call us so we can replace that piece of film for you! Also we have a referral program, so if you have any friends that may need film,please pass our name along. Thanks again, Rick Carter Sales supervisor
Bernard F.
5.0
07/17/2013
No issues. Other authorized dealer for 3M in the Houston area was much more expensive.
Description of Work
Installed 3M Prestige heat blocking window film on 6 large windows.
Category
window tinting
Sondra C.
5.0
06/15/2013
very good! guys were fast, professional and courteous. they explained the process, didn't leave a mess and were friendly. i would highly recommend them!
Description of Work
installed 30 3m night vision panels at my home
Category
window tinting
Denise H.
5.0
05/09/2013
Service personnel arrived on time, performed work and left the work area clean.
Description of Work
The company applied SolarX window film by 3M to bathroom window and back door window to cut down heat exposure to the home and improve energy efficency.
Category
window tinting, energy audit
Jennifer W.
5.0
04/22/2013
SolarX's product also gets top marks from me. My West-facing windows caused my two daughters' bedrooms to be much hotter than the rest of the upstairs, resulting in them turning down the thermostat and making my bedroom freezing cold! I was also concerned about UV rays causing sun damage to their skin over time. When I learned that the SolarX film repels 94 - 95% of the harmful UV rays, is when I decided to make the investment. The rooms are noticeably cooler, and no longer have that "hurt your eyes" brightness, even in mid- to late summer afternoons. I'm no longer being frozen, and I have peace of mind about their future skin cancer chances. Their rooms are pleasant to be in, both temperature-wise and in the quality of light. I couldn't be more pleased by the product. I should mention that because I now live in a townhouse, I could not put up awnings without everyone agreeing and getting them. I also couldn't use any treatment that would cause my windows to "look funny" or "blind my across-the-way neighbors, so I chose the slightly more expensive film that is almost undetectable from the outside. It was worth the additional cost for me to avoid any issues with my new neighbors, plus I'm happy that my windows don't blind anyone outside! Highest ratings across the board for SolarX.
Description of Work
SolarX gets top marks for professionalism. After I filled out the online form, someone from SolarX contacted me right away by phone, and we made an appointment. SolarX was on time to that appointment, had everything with him needed to do my West-facing windows, and got it done right then! I did not have to pay any additional charges. The technician was very professional, very personable and very capable, and I give highest ratings to SolarX for their performance. The technician removed the blinds (didn't have to remove the curtains), washed the windows, measured and cut the film, applied the film, cleaned up all the leftovers, and replaced the blinds, He gave me clear instructions on how to care for the film, and left everything just as he found it. It took him about 30 minutes per window.
Category
window tinting

Service Provider Response

I wish we had you on board as a sales person!! reviews like this one make us feel awesome!! thank you so much for choosing us to complete your film work. If you ever need us again, just give me a call. We also have a referral program to reward you for telling your friends about us! If you ever lose your job, just give us a call! Thanks again, Rick Carter
Alisa O.
3.0
04/21/2013
My living room in my home faces West and during the summer in the evening it gets quite hot in this room. I had this window tint installed expecting it would reduce the amount of heat coming through. The sales man was nice, not pushy. The installer was nice but made a bit of a mess. When they install the product they use a lot of some sort of water based solution. I was unaware of how much would be used. By the time the installer was done my wooden window sill was soaked through. I wish he would have told me what a mess this would cause and I would have gladly provided some towels to collect the water instead of risking damaging my window sill. Overall, I was upset about the mess and now regret the purchase since it does not seem to have made much if any difference in the amount of heat coming into this room.
Description of Work
I had the reflective tint installed on a total of 6 windows and one storm door (2 windows) with the hope of reducing the heat in my living room.
Category
window tinting
Robert G.
5.0
03/04/2013
The installation went very smoothly. The technician was very competent and enthusiastic, and very professional. The window film provides solar protection as well as impact protection in the event of a hurricane. The 3M system is similar to commercial installations in high-rise buildings where it results in energy savings and provides wind protection. It also provides security protection against break-ins. We are very pleased with the results and would recommend Solar X and the 3M window film system to any homeowner.
Description of Work
Solar X installed 3M Ultra Night Vision Safety and Security Window Film on all windows in our one-story house. The estimate took approximately 1 or 2 hours. The installation took about 7 hours.
Category
security windows

Service Provider Response

Thank you for choosing Solar X for your safety film work. the 3M Ultra series is the best safety film on the market! We are really glad you are happy with your purchase. If you ever need us in the future, just give me a call. Likewise, if you have any friends that may ever need our services, we would appreciate the recommendation. We offer a referral fee for any work that gets completed by your friends. thanks again for the good grades! Rick Carter
Charles D.
5.0
01/21/2013
Great people and a very good product
Description of Work
Attached energy effecient window film to existing windows
Category
window tinting
Julie B.
2.0
12/30/2012
The company advertised for window film on Angie's List. They did not specify exactly which one the deal was on. When I went to their website, I assumed it was the cheapest they offered which as the Prestige line. I was satisfied with that and bought the deal and set up an appointment. The salesman from SolarX was professional and prompt, but when we started talking about product, he brought out a window film that was not listed on their website. It was a much cheaper film - it was reflective - something I didn't want nor would my homeowner's association o.k. The Prestige film on their website would have cost over $2000 to install on the two sides of the my house that would need it. I felt this was a bait and switch and got a full refund from Angie's List.
Description of Work
None.
Category
window tinting
Pheroze T.
4.0
12/07/2012
They came out to provide the estimate on doing additional work as our windows would exceed the 50 square feet maximum covered within the deal. The estimate went well. He arrived on time and he provided good feedback. The quote was very general and not detailed - didn't mention total square footage or rate per square footage which would have been nice to have. We mulled over if we could go through with the work and have decided to put it off for now.
Description of Work
I purchased a Big Deal for window security film.
Category
security windows
Rick B.
4.0
09/10/2012
Good work and good customer service.
Description of Work
Solar tint on home
Category
window tinting
Julie M.
4.0
08/06/2012
It was fine. The only issue I had was with the ad they had and the way it was worded. I had to upgrade to a better film than what was initially offered. The work turned out very well in the end.
Description of Work
This was for window tinting for my home.
Category
window tinting

Service Provider Response

Thanks for choosing Solar X for your film work [member name removed]. We are working with Angie's list to make our wording more clear in the future. Thanks for the feedback! If you have any friends that might be able to use us, let me know. We offer a referral fee if your friends do the work. thanks again, Rick Carter
Jim C.
5.0
08/06/2012
It was fine. They were very prompt and showed up when they said they would.
Description of Work
They installed some window tinting on our home.
Category
window tinting
Jose C.
5.0
08/06/2012
They use very good products and had a nice presentation when they came to my home. The price was a lot higher than what I anticipated. They were very professional and explained everything. They left a bid right away so that was good as well.
Description of Work
This was for window tinting.
Category
window tinting

Phone

Address

1333 W. 25th St

Houston, TX 77008

Other Information

Services offered

3M Prestige Window Film, window tinting, safety and security films, graphic & design films, residential and commercial window treatment, blinds & roller shades.

Services not offered

Auto tinting

Payment options

Check
Visa
MasterCard
American Express
Discover

FAQ

Solar X Window Film Systems is currently rated 4.8 overall out of 5.

Solar X Window Film Systems is open:

Sunday: Closed

Monday: 8:00 AM - 5:00 PM

Tuesday: 8:00 AM - 5:00 PM

Wednesday: 8:00 AM - 5:00 PM

Thursday: 8:00 AM - 5:00 PM

Friday: 8:00 AM - 5:00 PM

Saturday: 9:00 AM - 12:00 PM

Solar X Window Film Systems accepts the following forms of payment: Check, Visa, MasterCard, American Express, Discover

Yes, Solar X Window Film Systems offers free project estimates.

No, Solar X Window Film Systems does not offer eco-friendly accreditations.

No, Solar X Window Film Systems does not offer a senior discount.

No, Solar X Window Film Systems does not offer warranties.

Solar X Window Film Systems offers the following services: 3M Prestige Window Film, window tinting, safety and security films, graphic & design films, residential and commercial window treatment, blinds & roller shades.

Other Local Pros In Your Area

CoolVu of Houston NW

5.0

(5)

Angi Certified

CoolVu of Houston NW

At CoolVu of Houston West & NW, we provide innovative Solar and Security Window Films solutions, Printed Graphics & Architectural Surfaces to both residential and commercial/retail customers. We offer free in-home or remote consultation with recommendations to affordably enhance and protect your space. As an independent, locally owned and operated franchise, we combine the highest quality products and excellent customer service to help you get the most out of your home or business. CoolVu of Houston NW & West proudly serve Greater Houston and surrounding areas.