Angie's List is now Angi. Learn more

Find top-rated Pros in your area

Enter a zip code and get matched to businesses near you.

J R FLOORING SANDING & RFNSHNG

With Angi since July 2010

5.0

(8) Verified Reviews

Description

No description has been provided for this pro.

Other local Pros in your area

Smith Quality Flooring LLC

Fully insured, affordable pricing and offering free estimates. Installing our high-quality product that will exceed expectations. We have 25 years of professional flooring experience and remodeling services. We are here to address all your hardwood, luxury vinyl plank, and laminate flooring needs, as well as all types of custom renovations that will bring your dreams to reality.  

Offers by Smith Quality Flooring LLC on Angi
Diaz's Wood Floors

Independently owned and operated business, serving the greater Houston area. No subcontractors. Small and large jobs accepted. Attention to detail is my specialty!! No hidden charges! Call for your free estimate: 832-758-9698. Se Habla Espanol.  

Offers by Diaz's Wood Floors on Angi
American Home Improvement

With over 20 years of experience American Home Improvement is a locally owned and operated construction & remodeling company specializing in kitchen and bathroom remodeling. At American Home Improvement we take great pride in our work and it shows. From the moment you contact us to the moment the job is finished, you will have experienced the best the industry has to offer. Our broad and comprehensive technical expertise in construction & remodeling gives us the advantage of handling any type of project for all applications. Whether you need bathroom remodeling, kitchen remodeling, wood flooring, or remodeling for commercial & industrial applications, you can be certain we will provide top quality, professional installation, and superior service. All Phases of Flooring, Granite, Carpet & Bathroom & Kitchen Remodel. References Available Upon Request. $0Financing Available. 1 year labor warranty.  

Offers by American Home Improvement on Angi

Verified Reviews

A few reviews for this pro...
5.0

04/14/2018


John L.

Very good work, at a good price, with prompt service. Jose is very responsive, polite and professional. We had entire house (kitchen, bathroom cabinets, all hardwood floors done in a darker stain, the results turned out better than I had imagined).

Description of Work
Hardwood refinishing (sand, stain, polish)

Category flooring contractor,hardwood floor

5.0

09/06/2016


Sidney R.

Description of Work
.

Category flooring contractor

5.0

10/19/2015


Claudia L.

Mr. Robles met with me at 6 PM. I had his bid that night. I agreeded to the bid. The work began the next week. There were 4 guys working. They showed me four stains to choose from. There was a bad place on the parquete that needed replacing. Mr. Robles found replacement parquete. When the floors were finished you could not tell where the repairs were made. I was very pleased with all work and the time it took to complete. I am thinking of using them again to lay laminate in 2 bedrooms and a hall. 5 stars!

Description of Work
Sanding, staining, patch some parquete, and finish with 2 coats of finish.

Category flooring contractor

5.0

08/04/2015


Ivan S.

It went great. I called last week, Jose came out looked at the floors, understood our needs and sent a written proposal. The proposal was exactly what he said it would be, they showed up on time and did a great job. I would refer him to anybody as an honest, fair, flooring contractor.

Description of Work
Cleaned and polished hardwood floors for real estate listing.

Category flooring contractor

5.0

12/13/2013


Alma R.

It went very well from the initial appointment when he came to give me an estimate. Spoke to me very well. When they came in to sand the floors they explained all the process and told me exactly what dust issues I would have and solutions. I was VERY PLEASED and have referred others to give them a call. All info was upfront and on the website.

Description of Work
Resanded and stained orginal hardwood floors.

Category flooring contractor,hardwood floor

5.0

06/26/2013


Anjali S.

The hardwood in the entry foyer needed polish. We also had some previous water leak stains in the guest bathroom that also has hardwood. J R flooring was extremely professional and did a very good job. They were punctual, gave us written invoice and estimates before they began work and were able to give us an appointment the following day after I called them. The came completely prepared with all the necessary equipment and materials and showed up on time. They put 2 coats of polish. The only other thing I would recommend is putting 3 coats and wait for a day in between the last coat to get a better shine.

Description of Work
Resurface and refinish pre-finished hardwood in the entry foyer

Category flooring contractor,hardwood floor

5.0

03/25/2013


Dan E.

I contacted JR Flooring on a Tuesday and discussed/agreed on a scope of work to sand and refinish 300 sq ft of antique pine flooring. We agreed on price for the job even though it was outside of the published price advertised on the web site. Nevertheless, it appeared to be reasonable. The crew showed up two days later and began work. The floor was sanded and a sealer coat was applied. It is worth noting here that most floor finishers usually quote two coats of finish as was the case here. However, be aware that the sealer coat is usually considered as one of the two coats. Therefore, only one finish coat is applied. Sealer coats can be considered a wash coat of thinned finish coat, shellac or what is commonly referred to as a pre-stain coat. After the sealer was applied and dried, it became apparent that the initial sanding was less than stellar which created a large contrasting dark area to be visible. This dark area was nothing more than the remnants of the old finish not being sanded out properly. At this point, I stopped the work and requested that this area and any other similar areas be sanded and a new coat of sealer be applied. At this time came the usual litany of excuses but I was persistent and had a chat with the owner Jose Robles. Jose agreed to make things right and re-sanded the dark areas which allowed them to match the remaining floor. The result was very good. The floor was then screened and a final finish was applied. A few days after the final finish coat was applied, it was apparent that one additional coat was needed as the first finish coat (not the sealer coat) soaked into the wood in several areas leaving several duller splotches. I attribute this to the sealer coat being applied too sparingly as one finish coat should be adequate with a good sealer coat applied first. I did not bring this up with Jose as I was in a time crunch to refinish the floor and for the most part the floor refinish was adequate. If I chose to use JR Floor Refinishing again, I would consider two finish coats in addition to the initial sealer coat. If you decide on floor refinishing, be sure to stay engaged with the process and call attention to any problems before the floor refinish is completed. I would say that JR Floor Refinishing would be worthwhile to consider. They are conscientious about their work and will work with you to ensure you're satisfied with the results. And, by the way, make sure that the crew does not clean their tools and equipment on your lawn. They did this on my job and left a large dead spot in my Zoysia grass.

Description of Work
Sand and refinish 300 sq ft of recycled antique pine flooring.

Category flooring contractor

5.0

10/29/2012


Alice T.

Sergio was on time and worked within our schedule even working one weekend because we were having company. Each day when he left the place was all cleaned up, he kept plastic over the door openings where there were no doors and kept the doors closed when could. this is a dusty job but all went very well. tan and I met him at Trinity Lumber so I could see the wood to make sure the quality and grain whas what I wanted. It was, so loaded on Sergio's truck and out we came to the house. The work went very quickly with excellent results. We are very happy with the flooring and will have him come and do some more. I would recommend him and the company to anyone who wants a really good Oak Floor that they can enjoy for many years.

Description of Work
I had Red Oak Flooring put down and refinished. The first item is quality lumber. Sergio's came from Trinity Lumber.. They have the best in town. Make sure one has a good measurement and know how it is being laid and the quality of sealer being used. If using in an office be sure and purchase a mat that is made especially for hardwood floors. This will save the surface of the wood and the sealer. I had a new floor laid upstairs over the subflooring which was good quality 2x6''s. There needs to be a good solid subflooring or the new wood will squeak. If having a hardwood floor put down over concrete I recommend that it be raised on Skeets. This allows the wood to breathe as well as makaes for a great softer feel when walking. It is so much easier on feet and legs. When glued to concrete the wood becomes as if walking on concrete. No good. the sanding of the new floor as well as the sealer are very important. Sergio used Dura Sealer. I had not used that before but is harder and makes a much nicer finish than what I had used in the past. How this is done makes all the difference in the look and feel of the floor. Why spend a lot of money on it when the finish work is terrible. Good quality lumber, a qualified installer and/or refinisher and be sure you are prepared to stay out of the area for however long it takes. The sealer smells as it is poly mix but just open up that area as all is fine. Sergio met all of the above and besides he was a very likeable person.

Category flooring contractor,hardwood floor

    Services Offered

    Services Not Offered

    Ask for details

    General Information
    Eco-Friendly Accreditations
    No