Angie's List is now Angi. Learn more

Find top-rated Pros in your area

Enter a zip code and get matched to businesses near you.

Hot Water Guys

Founded 2004 • With Angi since July 2006

4.8

(75) Verified Reviews

Business Details

Phone Number

Address

352 Link Rd

Houston, TX 77009

Description

The Tankless Water Heater Experts! We specialize in the sale, installation and service of Tankless Water Heaters, helping homeowners and business save money on their energy costs, as well as save them from the headache of running out of hot water. Our professional installers and service technicians are certified by most major manufacturers. Service technicians are highly skilled in repairing both tankless and tank water heaters of all brands. We provide FREE HOME ESTIMATES for installation....

Verified Reviews

A few reviews for this pro...
5.0

03/09/2021


Rebecca L.

It was quick, efficient and thorough. We would definitely go with Hot Water Guys again!

Description of Work
Installed a new water heater

Category plumbing,water heater repair

3.0

11/04/2020


Peter J P.

Work was done. They knew what the problem was before coming out. Didn't have part on truck. Charged $145 for service call for first hour - he was here 20 min. Returned a few days later (weekend in between) and installed part. Was charged an additional $100 for second service call - additional hour labor - was here about 25 minutes. I have NEVER been charged a second service call to bring a needed part that was not on the truck for anything! Certainly no incentive to carry any parts on the truck. Did not even see the invoice until after service man was paid - then received it by email. When we called the company and asked for a refund of the second $100 we were told that was their policy. My only complaint is being charged $100 for the second visit. The owner said that we were told that AND that it is in their Terms & Conditions, which we signed. We were NOT told that, and who ever reads those long Terms & Conditions. I have now read them, and it is very ambiguous.

Description of Work
Display needed to be replaced. Water heater cutting off every other day and had to be unplugged to reset.

Category water heater repair

Service Provider Response

When you initially called you let us know that "unit was shutting off and you were unplugging it to reset". During every phone call while booking service appointments we are very clear with our customers about our pricing structure. We were not given information that would have let us know exactly what part would need to be replaced. We try to bring any and all parts that we have in stock to our customers homes based on the information that is provided to us. On your Nortiz water heater, the display is a part that we rarely have to replace. We did not have your model's part in stock as it is an older model. Our technician diagnosed your machine in 26 minutes, having arrived at your home on October 29th at 3:01pm and finishing the job at 3:27pm. He let you know that he would need to have our office order the display as that is what his diagnosis found and he would have to return to install it at our second hour rate of $100 per hour plus the price of the part. We ordered the part as promised which we included free expediated shipping for you since we did not have the part in stock. We returned the day we received the part to install it for you. You signed our TERMS AND CONDITIONS at the time of service that states: "By signing below, I authorize Hot Water Guys to begin any service work required to repair my machine. I am also in agreement that I am responsible for any and all diagnostic, labor, and parts costs that are accrued during the service call. I acknowledge that all costs and fees were explained to me at the time the appointment was made, and I agree to these amounts. I understand that the labor costs associated with the service call does not include the cost of parts needed to repair my machine." You may think the above stated is "ambiguous" but we make it very clear from first contact what our pricing is. This is not the first time you have used us and would have been informed on more than one occasion of these charges. We are happy to continue the conversation regarding the matter from 11/3/20.
5.0

01/13/2020


Terry A.

Hot Water Guys did an excellent job replacing my two aging tank hot water heaters with two new tankless hot water heaters. They provided a prompt onsite estimate to perform the job that was very competitive in price and were very knowledgeable about what would be the best system to meet my needs. They had an excellent scheduling staff and answered all of my follow up questions. On the day of installation they sent two specialized crews to perform the work. Both crews were very professional and did an excellent job of installing both units and cleaning up after the job. They were on time to start and finish the job, very customer focused and worked together as a team.

Description of Work
Replace two tank hot water heaters with two tankless hot water heaters.

Category water heater repair

5.0

09/16/2019


Jay K.

Called Wednesday, exchanged a few Q&A emails & rough estimate. Owner stopped by Friday to offer an onsite review & quote. Unit was installed the following Monday. I recommend Hot Water Guys highly. Everything went very professionally & smoothly.

Description of Work
Install a tankless hot water system

Category water heater repair

5.0

09/26/2018


stephanie H.

Brian was a little late but apologized twice and felt genuine. He went right to work and was done quickly. He was informative about how to extend the life of my water heater. I was delighted all around. TWO other big name companies (A) and (JM) both said the item was not repairable and would cost many thousands to replace, along with other hard sell techniques. This was repaired under WARRANTY and cost me an hour of labor only (first hour is 145 and every hour there after is 100). Could not be happier. Would definitely use again for repair or if I decide to go tankless. Thank you so very much. You guys are the BEST!

Description of Work
Needed gas water heater repaired.

Category plumbing,water heater repair

5.0

12/17/2017


Rainier V.

Received a call back the same day I left a message and scheduled an appointment. Repairman was on time, diagnosed the problem (pipes not screwed together), and identified other issues with the system (i.e., copper pipe was not used from hot water and pipe that builder installed was already corroding). Overall great job. Would definitely use them again.

Description of Work
Inspection of tankless water heater. Hot water had stopped while taking a shower. When I went to the attic, noticed that a venting pipe elbow had disconnected from the vent through the roof.

Category water heater repair

5.0

06/02/2017


Jan R.

Great work. Installation looked really nice. I like these guys. I also like the unit. But just know that when you lose electricity service (like when a transformer goes out) you won't have hot water any more because the thermostat for the tankless unit is electrical. However, all the endless hot water otherwise makes up for those few times.

Description of Work
I decided on Rinnai tankless hot water heater and they sent me a list of authorized dealers in my area. I rated the price as N/A because I didn't actually get any other estimates. Then I found a coupon on Angies list. They took out the hot water tank and installed a tankless Rinnai hot water heater.

Category water heater repair

5.0

04/10/2017


Susan J.

Preformed work well and gave tips and insight along with recommendations

Description of Work
Check and adjust tankless hot water heater

Category water heater repair

5.0

10/17/2016


Thomas T J.

Showed up on time to visit and make an estimate, working team showed up on time and finished the work in time, cleaned up and was done after lunch

Description of Work
Installation of tankless water heater

Category plumbing

5.0

08/27/2016


Liz W.

Very well. The guys performed all the work in one day and were so helpful and friendly. They were very professional. I will recommend them to anyone wanting to replace their ugly wastefull hot water tanks with a small efficient tankless heater. I was especially impressed because we live in an old house with an addition. I feel my gas lines are now safer because of their work. Kudos!

Description of Work
Remove two hot water tanks and replace with a tankless unit.

Category water heater repair

5.0

08/02/2016


Kenneth C.

Very experienced, accurate and quick. These hot H20 guys are the real deal if you want your tankless hot H2O fixed. The entire service call was completed within 35 minutes. Dan and Brian trained me and instructed simple homeowners preventative maintenance practices. Thank you, Hot H2O Guys!

Description of Work
Restored my Takagi T-K3 tankless flash hot water heater back into operational mode. Found sources of the 2 errors codes. The servo on the flow sensor and control valve was cleaned, due to rust particles that was in the H2O pipes. The house was recently repiped from galvanized to pex tubing. All faucet screens, faucet valves were cleaned. The hot H2O guys took care of the Tagaki tankless tank clean out.

Category water heater repair

5.0

08/01/2016


Duncan G.

Very pleased with the work they carried out. Great customer service and the service tech was very courteous and professional.

Description of Work
Repair hot water heater in the attic

Category water heater repair

5.0

02/09/2016


Dianne S.

Hot water guys came out on time (call to see if they could come before schedule appointment because they was done with their last job). Repair our Hot water tank also gave us information that was very helpful to extend the life span of our hot water tank. The install went smoothly and professionally. We call them and they sent a teck out within a few hours. The problem was repair that day. We really appreciated their quick service. Thanks, Brian and Sam Hot Water Guys 352 Link Rd. 77009 (832)673-0909

Description of Work
Problem:( No hot water) 1. 4 Flash on honeywell; 2. Drained tank and flushed out per Whirlpool. 3. Removed plastic drain valve and installed brass valve and nipple so tank can be flushed. (Installed 24" Inlet pipe and brass valve 3/4 ball)

Category water heater repair

5.0

11/05/2015


Aaron W.

eThe service received from JD the engineer was outstanding, I would go so far to say top notch! We've had a problem with our water heater since Sunday where running the hot water would caused the water heater to shutdown and raise an error code 13, I messaged the hot water guys and scheduled an appointment for today, JD turned up inspected the water heater identified the problem and I had hot water at the end of the appointment! I've had another plumber out previously who knew nothing about tankless heaters and tried to sell me a new one! If you want honesty and professionalism look no further! Only other comment is they are normally fully booked each day which is a shame I would have had them round sooner!

Description of Work
The engineer resolved an issue with my tankless water heater.

Category plumbing,water heater repair

5.0

10/28/2015


Reagan P.

This went great. I would call Hot Water Guys again in a heartbeat. Our tankless unit had a remote control and this is no longer an option; even the personnel at Rinnai had no idea how to fix the issue. But after checking everything out, the guys found the staples in our wiring and were able to remove them and restore function.

Description of Work
Remote control and electronics not working on tankless heater. Technicians diagnosed problem (radiant barrier installed in attic; installers had stapled through wiring on unit) and fixed it within an hour.

Category plumbing,water heater repair

5.0

07/23/2015


jack R.

It went well. They did a good job. They were up and running and brought the part with them and they did well. The only thing is they have a trip charge for coming out to certain areas. I was reimbursed the trip charge.

Description of Work
They replaced a module on a hot water heater under warranty.

Category water heater repair

1.0

05/14/2015


Brett W.

sent in a request for a tankless install but never heard back. Had one installed the next week by another plumber

Description of Work
nothing

Category plumbing,water heater repair

Service Provider Response

I apologize that you did not get a response. If you contacted us through our website, we didn't realize but the requests were not getting through to us. That option is now disabled on our website. I assure you that had we seen it you would have been contacted. We are now in the process of reworking our website and hope to have that function available soon. Again, I do apologize for the inconvenience.
5.0

05/11/2015


Patricia H.

Matt was very informative and courteous. He flushed my hot water tank and cleaned the filters. He did the work very quickly. I was VERY impressed and would highly recommend this company !

Description of Work
Flushed my hot water system.

Category plumbing,water heater repair

5.0

04/06/2015


AMEE P.

Arrived on time. Did a great job. They built a sturdy area for the tankless to be in stalled in my attic. Installed an electric outlet so it would have a dedicated outlet. Removed the old tank and took it out for disposal. They were very clean, and very polite. I would recommend d them to anyone for an installation of the tankless water heater The price was right on target.

Description of Work
Installed tankless hot water heater

Category plumbing,water heater repair

5.0

03/05/2015


Stephen C.

Matt, our service tech, did a great job of explaining what he found and what he did, and was especially careful when traveling through the house; recommend him and Hot Water Guys heartily!

Description of Work
Flushed our tankless water heaters.

Category plumbing,water heater repair

5.0

01/23/2015


John W.

Extremely competent and knowledgeable staff. Came out and took over an hour of measurements at the house before providing a price quote. After the quote we scheduled the install which took 6-8 hours. There are several steps to convert to tankless. A larger 2 pound gas pressure gas meter needs to be installed. Regulators for every other gas appliance in the house need to be installed. The plumbing work has to be tested and inspected by the city. The staff at Hot Water Guys coached us through each step so we knew exactly what to do and how to handle it. After the installation our kitchen hot water was not working. I thought it was due to the new tankless hot water heater. They came out (free) and discovered there was something stuck in the hot water line. They fixed it and now everything is working perfectly. We have 3 showers and a deep soaker tub and we can run all of them at once all night long if we wanted to do so!

Description of Work
Replaced an electric 30 gallon water heater with a Rinnai gas tankless water heater.

Category plumbing,water heater repair

5.0

01/02/2015


James S.

The owner, Tom Massimin, was great to talk to on the phone and wonderful to deal with when he came by for an estimate. The work was scheduled for a couple days later and the installation team was friendly, clean and knowledgable about the product. The tankless hot water heater has been in our house for two months now and it is great!

Description of Work
Installed tankless hot water heater, Rinnai V655iN, added an electrical outlet at the tankless heater, removed old water heater, all associated parts. The installation was done with easy access to the installation area in our garage (7 year old house).

Category plumbing,water heater repair

5.0

10/03/2014


Sue D.

It went well except for after the installation of the tankless water heater the vent to the outside leaked water inside the attic which caused the tankless system to shut down. On the second time they came out to look at the problem they fixed it and we have not had a problem since. They figured out a solution to the problem and I am happy. I love love love my tankless water heater. It is a propane system. I use much less propane than when I had the traditional water heaters. There price for the job was better than the other recommended tankless water heater installers.I don't remember what I paid but their quote was the best.

Description of Work
Took out our two old water tanks and replaced them with a tankless water system

Category water heater repair

5.0

09/27/2014


LaMonda H.

These guys are awesome! Very polite and professional.

Description of Work
Our tankless water heater was not working. They came out a week ago to find out what the problem was, ordered the parts needed and came back today to fix it. It is working great.

Category water heater repair

5.0

09/02/2014


Rachel H.

We used HWG for the initial installation of our tankless water heater. They were very professional, and I liked that they ONLY do tankless water heaters. We also consulted two other plumbing companies for the job, but went with HWG for the job because the tankless heater they could provide was super top notch (sort of like the Cadillac of tankless water heaters), for a little less than the price quoted by other companies for a decent tankless heater, but no Cadillac. The installation went very well and our tankless heater has been great. We only needed a repair done last fall. Nothing major. The HWG came out on time and did the repair, and we have been running smoothly since.

Description of Work
We had a repair performed on a tankless water heater that was installed by Hot Water Guys.

Category plumbing,water heater repair

    Other local Pros in your area

    Village Plumbing & Air

    Houston’s Plumbing, Heating and Air Conditioning Specialists. You can rest easy knowing your plumbing, air conditioning, and heating are in the hands of Village Plumbing & Air. “The Cleanest Techs in Town” not only provide quality service but also help you conserve energy. Fast and easy Financing available.  

    Abacus Plumbing Air Conditioning & Electrical

    Abacus Plumbing, Air Conditioning & Electrical's Motto is "You Can Count On Us!" Honesty and Integrity are hallmarks of the Abacus business philosophy and are the foundation upon which the company was founded. Abacus serves well over 35,000 homeowners every year (and growing) while maintaining a solid reputation with customers. All technicians are background checked, drug screened, licensed or certified, and fully trained for their respective trades. Abacus Plumbing was founded in 2003 and has become one of the most reputable, largest local Plumbing, HVAC and Electrical companies in Houston, TX with well over 100 employees. You can count on the analysis of your plumbing, heating and air conditioning problem as well as their recommendations and the quality of the work. Abacus offers a 100% Customer Satisfaction Guarantee on all work and offers best-in-market product & installation warranties .  

    BUDGET HOME SERVICES

    Usually, the two most important questions you want to be answered are… What’s wrong? …And… How much is it going to cost? At Budget Home Services, we don’t have a problem giving you a price over the phone. Many Houston homeowners who call us are frustrated because they have called other Houston plumbing service companies and have gotten a run-around when it came to getting a price. It is sad to admit that our industry is plagued with plumbers who intentionally will not give you a price or even a ballpark estimate over the phone because they want to get in your home where they can pressure you face to face into spending more than you should. One of the highest numbers of complaints to consumer protection agency is for home improvement and service companies.. Plumbing license: MPL 37466. A/C license: TACLB 53102E. Call us today for all your plumbing needs!  

    Licensed
    Trade License Number
    12257
    Trade License Locale
    Harris County
    Trade License Authority
    Texas State Board of Plumbing Examiners
    Trade License Expiration
    10/31/2021
    Insured
    All statements concerning insurance, licenses, and bonds are informational only, and are self-reported. Since insurance, licenses and bonds can expire and can be cancelled, homeowners should always check such information for themselves.To find more licensing information for your state, visit our Find Licensing Requirements page.
    General Information
    Free Estimates
    Yes
    Eco-Friendly Accreditations
    No
    Payment Options
    Check, Visa, MasterCard, American Express, Discover, Financing Available
    Senior Discount
    No
    Warranties
    Yes

    Services Offered

    Sell, install & service all major brands of tankless water heaters.

    Services Not Offered

    We do not sell, install, or service water softeners. We do not install tank water heaters but we do service them. We are also not a general plumbing company. Our specialty is Tankless Water Heaters

    Frequently Asked Questions & Answers about Hot Water Guys

    How is Hot Water Guys overall rated?

    Hot Water Guys is currently rated 4.8 overall out of 5.

    What days are Hot Water Guys open?

    Hot Water Guys is open:

    Sunday: Closed

    Monday: 8:00 AM - 5:00 PM

    Tuesday: 8:00 AM - 5:00 PM

    Wednesday: 8:00 AM - 5:00 PM

    Thursday: 8:00 AM - 5:00 PM

    Friday: 8:00 AM - 5:00 PM

    Saturday: 9:00 AM - 4:00 AM

    What payment options does Hot Water Guys provide

    Hot Water Guys accepts the following forms of payment: Check, Visa, MasterCard, American Express, Discover, Financing Available

    Does Hot Water Guys offer free estimates?

    Yes, Hot Water Guys offers free project estimates.

    Does Hot Water Guys offer eco-friendly accreditations?

    No, Hot Water Guys does not offer eco-friendly accreditations.

    Does Hot Water Guys offer a senior discount?

    No, Hot Water Guys does not offer a senior discount.

    Are warranties offered by Hot Water Guys?

    Yes, Hot Water Guys offers warranties.

    What services does Hot Water Guys offer?

    Hot Water Guys offers the following services: Sell, install & service all major brands of tankless water heaters.

    Are there any services Hot Water Guys does not offer?

    We do not sell, install, or service water softeners. We do not install tank water heaters but we do service them. We are also not a general plumbing company. Our specialty is Tankless Water Heaters