Angie's List is now Angi. Learn more

Find top-rated Pros in your area

Enter a zip code and get matched to businesses near you.

Home Exterior Systems LLC

Founded 2003 • With Angi since August 2009

4.7

(71) Verified Reviews

Business Details

Phone Number

Address

11111 Katy Fwy Suite 910

Houston, TX 77079

Description

For more than a decade, Home Exterior Systems LLC distinguishes itself from all other remodeling and home exterior contractors in several important ways. First, above all else, HES undergoes rigorous industry certification and consumer review scrutiny unmatched in South Texas. To achieve consistently top rankings we must use top brand materials, install with best trained team using industry best practices. Our proprietary “White Glove” project management ensure customers comfort and awareness, and above all, minimize negative surprises. We are a multi-year Angies List, Hardie Elite Preferred, Best Picks, HOUZZ, Home Advisor, and BBB Excellence award winner, among others. These reviews mean the world to us. Over 40 percent of our business comes from repeat customers, or from their referrals. Thank you for considering Home Exterior Systems. We install James Hardie Siding....

Verified Reviews

A few reviews for this pro...
5.0

05/05/2020


Shara H.

They did a phenomenal job, were quick, on time, and cleaned up as if they were never here. I would highly recommend them and I would definitely hire them again. .

Description of Work
They redid my Hardee siding.

Category siding

5.0

03/13/2019


Karrie M.

it was fantastic!!! all of the workers were prompt and courteous and did a GREAT job!!! I have more work that will need to be done and I will be using them again in the future!

Description of Work
I had all my facia, soffit and siding replaced and painted

Category siding,house painters,doors

Service Provider Response

[Member Name Removed], It was a pleasure working for you, and thanks again for the referral of your neighbor. We look forward to doing more work on your street! Vicky
5.0

02/26/2019


Joe S.

From the first time I met the salesman Bart, he was professional and quoted the work I had requested. The company and salesman was upfront with the cost and possiable additions that were possiable. There were no surprises when more work, like they suspected (no framing around the windows) was needed. Additional costs for the framing was fair and the complete project only took a week as quoted. Would definitely hire this company again. House 🏠 looks brand new!

Description of Work
Resided with hardy plank and replace windows in an 80 year old house.

Category contractors,insulation,siding,replacement windows,house painters,doors

Service Provider Response

It was a pleasure to work for you, we look forward to helping with additional work later this year, thanks Vicky
5.0

01/31/2019


Deborah B.

Home Exterior Systems was great at assessing our project and submitting a fair, reasonable and easy to review proposal. Although we did not ultimately select them for the work due to comfort with a company that did a lot of work for neighbors, we certainly would have been happy moving forward with them. They have a lot of expertise and credibility and combine this with a high level of professionalism and communication. Bart and Keith were very easy to talk to and it is clear it is a top company.

Description of Work
Siding and Gutters

Category gutter repair,siding,interior painters

Service Provider Response

Thank you for taking the time to review us, I am sorry we could not earn your business but please keep us in mind for future projects.
5.0

01/09/2019


MIKE R.

They did a beautiful job. They were neat, clean, and courteous of his customers. He's really good at the projection of costs. I would recommend them.

Description of Work
Sheetrock installation for our patio. And hardboard.

Category siding

5.0

12/07/2018


Anne B.

It was wonderful, they were prompt, did a good job and they are neat.

Description of Work
They did Hardie plank.

Category contractors,siding

5.0

10/08/2018


George T.

It went very well. The guys were prompt and did the little extra touches I asked them to do

Description of Work
we had some siding replaced and painted

Category siding,house painters

Service Provider Response

thank you, it was a pleasure working for you!
5.0

04/02/2018


Suzanne P.

I was very impressed by Vicki's commitment to customer service. Although my project did not work out for Home Exterior Systems, she pointed me in the right direction and gave me excellent advice. She did not have to call me back but she did and helped guide me on how to get my project completed. If any major jobs come up, I will definitely call them back!

Description of Work
siding/window repair

Category siding

Service Provider Response

thank you for taking the time to review me, good luck with your project
1.0

03/09/2018


D P S.

Was told by the salesman that the job was too small for them, that they had a $2,000.00 minimum. This, after being told, during my initial call into their office and describing in complete detail (location on house, span of work area in feet, material description and dimensions) the required work, that they did indeed do small jobs. This experience was a complete waste of my time.

Description of Work
Some exterior wood siding removed and replaced

Category siding

Service Provider Response

[Member Name Removed], I am sorry for the confusion. I actually went back to my call log and discovered I spent 32 minutes discussing your project with you so you can imagine my amazement when you told Bart you only wanted to replace one board. I apology that you feel like we wasted your time, I promise I would have never scheduled an appointment given the information of one board. We trust you will find a good fit for your project.
5.0

02/25/2018


John S.

Some years back, HES installed new Hardie siging - great job, covered in former review. We recently sold that house, during which process the buyer's inspector made recommendations on siding caulking at window and door frames. The inspector's recs (noted by the buyer) seemed wrong to me, so I contacted HES. HES promptly provided full details on the Hardie specs and the underlying engineering. The buyer was pleased. So was I.

Description of Work
Siding Specifications

Category siding

Service Provider Response

[Member Name Removed], We appreciate the opportunity to work for you. Best of luck on your new adventure! Vicky
5.0

02/22/2018


John S.

My wife and I love the new look of our home not to mention increasing the property value and enhancing the curb appeal, basically we have a new home without having to move, the end results exceeded my expectations. They replaced all windows, siding, fascia, soffits, trim, gutters, downspouts with a 3-color paint scheme on our 2-story home, basically a complete exterior makeover and we were extremely pleased with the company and all the people we had contact with from the onset of the quotation process throughout the construction phase all the way through project completion. All company personal were available whenever I had questions or a change order needed to be initiated from the owners, salesman and project manager … just a phone call away! There were a few surprises hiding behind the old siding when it came down and Jorge’s (on site project manager) communication of issues that arose at that time and solutions to rectify problems were fair and reasonable. I found the craftsmanship of the work performed was exceptional and the crew’s attention to detail was spot on. The crew showed up daily at sunrise and stayed busy to sunset from day one until the project was complete. They were hard working friendly and went out of their way to make sure we were getting what we paid for. They did an exceptional job at what they were paid to do however only area I feel they fell short in was exercising care for my landscaping which has now been restored to its pre-construction grandeur! I highly recommend Home Exterior Systems and would use them again if the need arose.

Description of Work
Window replacements, siding, paint & gutters

Category gutter repair,siding,replacement windows,house painters,doors

5.0

09/21/2017


Brandy L.

They were extremely wonderful. They explained my options and looked at all the windows, gave me their opinion and advice and provided me a quote to replace all the windows in the front of my house.

Description of Work
They gave me estimate to replace all the windows in the front of my house.

Category replacement windows

5.0

08/15/2017


Amy and Joe S.

We have had a few huge storms and we have had no problems with the roof. A few weeks ago we had 5 inches of rain and not one leak.

Description of Work
We found this company a few years ago on Angie's List when we had siding done. We have recently used them to put a new roof on our home. It was amazing. 2 groups showed up the Saturday before Fathers day and they worked so hard! They did the job within one day with the amount of people that they had it was extraordinary!

Category remodeling

5.0

08/01/2017


Lee C.

It was great service. He answered all my questions.

Description of Work
Gave an estimate on windows and roofing.

Category replacement windows

4.0

07/26/2017


karen T.

Overall they did a good job. I would use them again. Daily clean up of nails wasn't great, but quality of work was good.

Description of Work
Replace siding, new windows, painting. This was a large job, and we got several bids, but felt like they were the most qualified.

Category siding,replacement windows,house painters

5.0

07/03/2017


Timothy L.

This is an update to an old review. The company contacted me to make things right. I was unable to edit my original review. So here goes. Originally there was some issues with getting the follow-up information after the physical part of the survey was completed. As far as the survey itself, a pleasant experience. After, it took an extended amount of time to get the quote for repair but ultimately I got the information I needed.

Description of Work
Infrared survey to find water leak.

Category siding

5.0

06/27/2017


john C.

We are very pleased with the work that was done. The materials were top quality, the staff at HES is professional, delivers what they promised and the quality of the work is outstanding. The installation crews were on time, obviously skilled in the process's of installation of both the windows and the hardy materials and the house looks great. I would not hesitate to use HES again when selecting a contractor to perform work on our home.

Description of Work
All exterior wood was replaced with hardy including fascia,soffit, porch walls and ceiling. additionally all windows were replaced.

Category siding,replacement windows,house painters

3.0

06/14/2017


Tina J.

Started out good with the Salesman giving us the quotes. Talked up the fact that the company prided themselves on communication. That it was the utmost importance as it is a family run business. Proposal was outstanding but that is where all the good stuff stops. Unfortunately, we were dealing with people who were consistently late, ZERO communication from any member of the company. I always had to call them to find out where they were. My husband and I were having to take off the 3 days to insure that the alarm system was not engaged and my dogs were taken care of. Crew never showed on day one. Once again I had to call and was told they were behind and would be there on Friday to start. No one ever mentioned when siding was being delivered until they showed up on Thursday while we were leaving the house. Contacted company to tell them the siding was delivered and they stated they would be there either Thursday evening or Friday. Showed up Friday morning only to be told that THEY decided not to work that Friday or Saturday for personal reasons with no care that we were having to take vacation time for this. Was promised 2 crews to knock it out on Monday but that was a complete lie. Called the company multiple times to complain that now I would have to leave my house unprotected by the alarm for them to finish not to mention the stress on my dogs. They also never communicated to us they would be leaving all their equipment next to my back door. Once again a communication issue. Wasted the original 3 days of vacation time that we both took off for the work to be done since NOTHING was done during that time frame. Employees couldn't calculate payments correctly. Had to call multiple times to locate the crew for the gutters. Wasted more of my time contacting company to track down their employees and receiving ZERO communication from them. NOT WORTH THE STRESS!!!! Cost me more money for time taken off work that could not be recoup and more time contacting them on top of the original quote. NO OFFER FOR COMPENSATION FOR THEIR COMPLETE LACK OF CONSIDERATION OF MY TIME.

Description of Work
Initially we just wanted to have the soffits replaced. After talking to the sales guy we decided to go and have siding placed on the gables, soffits, trim, garage door jamb and the gutters replaced.

Category gutter repair,siding,house painters

2.0

06/11/2017


Jessica S.

From the beginning, with the proposal having the wrong siding checked on it, to the end where the project manager, Paul Martinez, disregarded direct instructions resulting damage to my home, had been a frustrating nightmare. Communication was poor for most of the project, it was either missing or incorrect. But the top four errors were as follows: First, the wrong siding was installed on my home after I had made sure the salesman corrected the proposal before I signed it-but it seems he didn't correct the Spec Sheet and that is what the project manager, Paul Martinez, read over. The error was noticed by me after the crew had installed about 30-40% of the Hardie siding on the back of my home. I spoke to Paul Martinez, immediately and let him know-he said he took responsibility for the mistake after he double checked what I said was correct. But he didn't offer to do anything to correct the error only tried to talk me into to keeping it. So to keep my home from being exposed to rodents, bugs, and humidity any longer that it had to be, and not knowing how long it would take to get the correct materials, and with the workers out there in the sun, I let them finish putting the wrong siding on my home. As it was, my home did sit overnight with exposed insulation and wood trim missing so that rodents, bugs, and humidity did have access. This was contrary to what the salesman, Bart Marnitz, had said which was that the crew would only remove what would be replaced in a day. Second, a Satellite Dish was torn off the roof. I had specifically told Paul Martinez I would get a roofer to remove the dish since it was attached to the roof and, as Paul Martinez pointed out, there would need to be some replacement shingles added. The removal of the dish took a some chunks of the decking with it. The painters patched two of the small holes and put mismatched shingles on my dark gray roof. This cost me additional money to repair and replace.Third, I had to have gutters removed before they could start work. The gutters were stacked at the back of my property with the bright orange plastic security fencing placed around it. I told Paul Martinez to make sure that nothing was stacked near or laid on top of them. After the crew left on the first day of actual work I found several ladders stacked right next to and some laying in the orange fencing and my gutters. I moved them off of the fencing and the gutters myself. Fourth, Before the paint crew started their work on Friday, I emailed, using the Builder Trend communication program (which was the way Home Exterior Systems wanted all communications to flow between me and them)Vicky McCollim with a copy going to Jyl Cashion to let them know the mess that was going on with my project and to say that I thought the project manager was spread too thin to give my project proper attention and it had been proven by the work and communication so far. I heard nothing from either one of them. After paying Paul Martinez the $8130.00 for the job on Sunday which included an adjustment to the cost for the wrong materials for a credit of $300.00, I read over the change order for the $300.00 credit and it stated that there was a roof repair at no charge. The roof damage was Home Exterior Systems' fault from ripping the Satellite Dish off the roof so why had the repair (and a poor repair at that ) been listed as a no charge extra? Also Paul Martinez state when the painters were finishing up that they had painted the back door as an extra-since the door remained closed the entire time I now have a stripe around three edges of my back door from the different colored paint not covering the whole door. There is also a seam in the trim right over the front door and a seam that isn't caulked on the front porch area. The corners of the soffits weren't mitered as the salesman, Bart Marnitz, had said they would be. I emailed once again late Monday afternoon (6/27/16) the company and directed the email to Pat McCollim with a copy going to Vicky McCollim. Vicky Mccollim responded with a call very soon after this last email went out and she apologized and said she took responsibility or what had transpired on my project she also said that she had not gotten the first email because some box wasn't checked in the Builder Trend setup for her to get my email. I the conversation she offered to have my windows washed inside and out. I declined because it didn't begin to cover the repair work or the wrong material or any of the frustrations of this project on my home. I emailed her on Friday (7/1/16) and stated I decided that I wanted to pay for the bare cost of the materials and labor only-without a commission to the salesman or percentage to the project manager and no charges of overhead costs to the project from the company. I also stated in the email that they would still come out ahead because they had not incurred the cost of the replacement materials and the loss on the wrong materials. I didn't mention the savings on the labor but that too would have been a factor. I felt it was a fair offer considering all the stress and lack of attention to detail on this job and the lack of communication and the blatant fact on at least two occasions the project manager had not listened to me, the customer, which resulted in damage to my property in one of those instances which I still needed to hve properly repaired. Her response back in an email was that she had tried to call me two times and left me messages. I checked and double checked and never got those calls or messages. Her answer to my request to pay bare costs was in an email and she stated she could offer me $1000.00 more I could not put a negative review an Angie's List. I didn't feel she was standing behind her words of "taking responsibility" for what all had gone on during the duration of this project on my home. I declined.

Description of Work
They were hired to remove and replace the vinyl siding on the side and back of my home along with all wood trim, soffits and fascia boards with Hardie Board and siding and then paint all of it. Also they were to remove an exterior picture window that had been covered over on the inside by a previous remodel and add insulation to the space and cover with Hardie siding.

Category siding,house painters

Service Provider Response

[Member Name Removed],
5.0

03/22/2017


R. J. R.

We used Home Exterior Systems for new windows in October of 2016. There were at least three people who came to do the work. It took about a week to complete the work. I liked the quality of the work.

Description of Work
They put in new windows.

Category replacement windows

3.0

03/09/2017


Louis F.

The company rep, Bart, cancelled my appointment because another appointment fell through and it was not worth his time to keep my appointment. It was too far away. My house is about about 20 miles from the company offices. I will find another contractor.

Description of Work
Asked for an estimate to repair or replace wooden siding in the home.

Category siding

Service Provider Response

[Member Name Removed], I am sorry that Bart cancelled the appointment, I will call him this morning for more details. Our reviews are extremely important and I must admit I am troubled by the score you would given us. I would ask you to reconsider, the estimate is a free estimate is a and from your note Bart did not do a no show, he notified you that he was changing/cancelling. His prescreening would have been as much for your benefit, in so much as. not to waste your time if we are not a good fit on this project. Again, I am sorry for any inconvenience this may have caused you. I can recommend a power washing team in the Conroe area if that is a help?
5.0

02/07/2017


Susan M.

Very well. Both my wife and I were very pleased with both the sales man and the crews that did the work. We felt that they were professional, responsive and very detail oriented. After the job was done (and after I had paid), there were a couple of areas that needed some touch up once the paint had dried. I was very happy how there was no resistance as they very promptly sent a crew out to do the work. It was a pleasure working with them.

Description of Work
I needed my detached garage re-sided. We had wood that had some rot on in and replaced it with Hardie board siding.

Category siding

Service Provider Response

Thanks for your business, please consider us again in the future!
2.0

08/01/2016


Jane S.

They came to do an estimate. A couple of days later they refused to provide one staying that the work was too close to the fence. I stated during the initial call and during the confirmation call what the layout was. The guy even pulled up the map and said he could see the location of the map. Waste of time. I countered staying I can get someone to take it down. No dice.

Description of Work
Terrible. They also use this weird answering service. Good luck with someone getting back to you. I had to call 3 times before the gave me confirmation call.

Category siding

5.0

08/01/2016


David U.

Unfortunately Home Exterior Systems was unable to do our small scope of work, but Vicky was incredibly helpful over the phone in pointing me in the right direction. She has such a dedication to customer service that I indeed to use her company in the future when residing our whole home.

Description of Work
Wood Rot Siding Replacement

Category siding

5.0

07/25/2016


Jesus S.

Great work. Even better customer service. WHAT DID I NEED? It all started when I started working on the nursery for our first-born that I realized that I had a serious issue with wood rot/mold in the walls under/around my windows. I decided that I couldn't have my newborn son in a home with mold or risk any leaking windows, so I started getting quotes on removing all aluminum siding, replacing all windows, and replacing all siding with hardi-plank WHY DID I CHOOSE THEM? I'm a no-BS kinda guy. I don't want a sales pitch, I don't want a pressure situation and I don't tolerate a lie. This is why I chose H.E.S, I trusted them. I got a bunch of quotes, some were high, some were low. Actually, H.E.S was one of the low prices, which was surprising from the amount of professionalism and extra service you get. They provide the same, better quality windows than most (Simonton) window companies in Houston. Bart came over and gave me a straight forward quote and was able to help me out since I was spending so much, but all-in-all, for the amount of work they did, I got a great deal. I was quoted 14 windows, a custom entry door, all new siding, all soffets/facia, roofing repairs, framing under windows, removal/disposal of old aluminum siding, cleanup, paint siding/garagedoor/doors/trim AND a WARRANTY. They did it all with the guarantee of Hardie Elite Preferred status and all the proper insurance and documentation to back up their work. It was a no-brainer for me. CUSTOMER SERVICE Due to supplier issues, current work-loads and rain delays, the initial start date kept getting further and further out. Since I was on a crunch for time (remember a baby is on the way!) and couldn't start the nursery until the windows and siding was complete (framing, windows, sheetrock, trim), I contacted them in hopes for trying to get a definite timeline set up. What I got was a call from the OWNER of the company, Pat. A true family-oriented man, Pat understood my situation with the nursery and an expecting wife, and travel plans, etc and happily reorganized/split his crews to start immediately. Not only that, but he helped me out tremendously in finding/ordering a hard-to-find custom door that needed replacing at an outstanding price, sometimes working well into the night to check in on me and give me status updates. Pat and Paul kept up with the project the entire time, and made sure the house was completed quickly and CORRECTLY. The crew is very sensitive to YOUR wishes on the house. They take care to not make a mess inside, clean up after themselves, pick up nails, etc etc etc. True customer service. THE CREW They have awesome crew that are all very close-knit. Paul is there to answer any questions you may have and coordinates the crews and any change orders. Jorge is the man! Jorge runs a fine-tuned-crew that shows up ON TIME in the morning and work their butts off ALL day. They took care of the home as if it were their own and Jorge really pays attention to DETAIL. He is very knowledgeable and has the experience to fix/install anything you need. He truly went above and beyond for me. I went into this thing with the idea that if it costs a little extra money to get things done correctly, go for it. Luckily for me, Jorge does things correctly the first time and will not take shortcuts. They even took my old gutters off, saved them, repainted them and re-installed them. Till this day, I cant believe how much work these guys did in just a matter of two weeks and how good it looks! I can sleep easily at night knowing I have a water-tight home again. The end result. I have a beautiful new home just in time for the baby! I can't compliment these guys enough. They actually kind of restored my faith in customer service, which is rare these days. Well done.

Description of Work
Siding / Windows / Roofing / Structure repair / Gutter re-install / Painting

Category contractors,gutter repair,insulation,remodeling,roofing,siding,replacement windows,house painters,doors

    Other local Pros in your area

    Signature Effects Inc - Formerly Freddy's Painting

    Our crew members are experienced on inside and outside painting, as well as carpentry, siding installation, and wood refinishing. ADDITIONAL PHONE NUMBER 281-646-1406. We also count with professionals with training in the art of faux finish, Venetian plaster, wide variety of textures, and Luster Stone. Award winning. Family owned & operated. DBA- Freddy's Painting Additional website - www.freddyspainting.trustab.org. Additional contact name - Sylvia Desanjose  

    INNOVATIVE SKYLIGHTS & ATTICS

    We are a professional skylight installer and manufacturer with 15 years of experience.  

    Angi Super Service Award badge
    Super Service
    Award 2021
    Resto Medic

    Resto Medic provides 24/7 emergency restoration and mitigation services in the wake of a water loss, flood, sewer, fire, mold, and other disasters. We pride ourselves on excellent service with rapid response times. With licensed adjusters on staff to assist with your claims, we provide a comprehensive solution to the entire material damage process. Locally owned and operated in Tomball Texas, Resto Medic offers a 10% discount to all military, first responders, and teachers.  

    Offers by Resto Medic on Angi
    No License Required for Trade
    Insured
    All statements concerning insurance, licenses, and bonds are informational only, and are self-reported. Since insurance, licenses and bonds can expire and can be cancelled, homeowners should always check such information for themselves.To find more licensing information for your state, visit our Find Licensing Requirements page.
    General Information
    Free Estimates
    Yes
    Eco-Friendly Accreditations
    Yes
    Payment Options
    MasterCard, American Express, Discover, Check, Visa, Financing Available
    Senior Discount
    No
    Warranties
    Yes

    Services Offered

    Siding (James Hardie), replacement windows, gutters, exterior painting, roofing, outdoor kitchens and patio covers, concrete, roofing, radiant barrier, attic insulation, kitchen and bathroom renovation and remodeling.

    Services Not Offered

    Commercial remodeling

    Frequently Asked Questions & Answers about Home Exterior Systems LLC

    How is Home Exterior Systems LLC overall rated?

    Home Exterior Systems LLC is currently rated 4.7 overall out of 5.

    What days are Home Exterior Systems LLC open?

    Home Exterior Systems LLC is open:

    Monday: 8:00 AM - 6:00 PM

    Tuesday: 8:00 AM - 6:00 PM

    Wednesday: 8:00 AM - 6:00 PM

    Thursday: 8:00 AM - 6:00 PM

    Friday: 8:00 AM - 6:00 PM

    What payment options does Home Exterior Systems LLC provide

    Home Exterior Systems LLC accepts the following forms of payment: MasterCard, American Express, Discover, Check, Visa, Financing Available

    Does Home Exterior Systems LLC offer free estimates?

    Yes, Home Exterior Systems LLC offers free project estimates.

    Does Home Exterior Systems LLC offer eco-friendly accreditations?

    Yes, Home Exterior Systems LLC offers eco-friendly accreditations.

    Does Home Exterior Systems LLC offer a senior discount?

    No, Home Exterior Systems LLC does not offer a senior discount.

    Are warranties offered by Home Exterior Systems LLC?

    Yes, Home Exterior Systems LLC offers warranties.

    What services does Home Exterior Systems LLC offer?

    Home Exterior Systems LLC offers the following services: Siding (James Hardie), replacement windows, gutters, exterior painting, roofing, outdoor kitchens and patio covers, concrete, roofing, radiant barrier, attic insulation, kitchen and bathroom renovation and remodeling.

    Are there any services Home Exterior Systems LLC does not offer?

    Commercial remodeling