Angie's List is now Angi. Learn more

Find top-rated Pros in your area

Enter a zip code and get matched to businesses near you.

FIREPLACE MAN INC

Founded 1949 • With Angi since February 2004

4.5

(80) Verified Reviews

Business Details

Phone Number

Address

5902 SOUTH WEST FREEWAY

Houston, TX 77057

Description

The Fireplace Man, Inc. was established in 1949 and continues to be a professional, friendly, family owned and operated company based in Houston, TX. We have 21 Live Burning Displays and the most realistic looking logs in the world. "We build new Fireplaces the old fashioned way, all brick... or factory built." - G.Edward Birnbaum (Owner/Operator) ...

Verified Reviews

A few reviews for this pro...
5.0

02/19/2022


Michael H.

My wife and I recently called and then physically went to the store and met Ray who showed us a variety of gas logs for our wood-burning fireplace and we selected the Big Tex set with double burner since we had a large and tall fireplace. They scheduled us for installation 2 to 3 weeks out and everything went perfectly and we could not be happier with our new gas logs. They look exceptionally real!! Thank You!!!! While I realize there have been some negative reviews of this business OUR experience was exceptional!!

Description of Work
Convert Wood Fireplace to Gas Logs

Category chimney sweep,fireplaces,gas logs

Service Provider Response

Thank you so much for taking the time to let us know you enjoyed your experience we really appreciate it!
5.0

11/20/2017


Elizabeth M.

Great— Robert took care of the installation. It also required coordination with a plumber to turn off and on the gas to the fireplace since Robert doesn’t do that.

Description of Work
Replaced a flooded fireplace

Category remodeling,fireplaces

3.0

10/04/2017


Amy A.

Had to have the chimney repaired again two months later.

Description of Work
Chimney repair

Category chimney caps,fireplaces

5.0

03/20/2017


Vaughan C.

Great… two chimneys a cleaning and interior and exterior inspection and report. Very through.

Description of Work
Chimney flue cleaning and inspection

Category chimney sweep,chimney repair,fireplaces

5.0

05/02/2016


Christina R.

I had actually had a different company come a few months ago and they said they couldn't fix my fireplace. So I had gone to Fireplace Man's showroom to buy a whole new fireplace, anticipating it would cost me between $3000 and $5000. When I told the people there about my experience, they said their technician could almost certainly fix my current fireplace, so I decided to let them try. In contrast to the first company, whose worker could not even find the model tag of my logs, this fellow immediately found it, disassembled everything, ascertained the flawed part, and the next day brought a replacement. Now my fireplace is working great, and I saved a significant amount of money over replacing the whole thing. I was flabbergasted at the cost of the part; however, apparently fireplace parts for my model are discontinued, and it's a big problem to find the right replacement that can be warrantied. The part was $600, and the rest of the cost was labor. Money well spent. I recommend Fireplace Man because of their skill, and the fact that they passed up a chance to sell me a costly new unit. That kind of integrity earns a lot of goodwill from me.

Description of Work
Replaced the failed valve on my gas fireplace.

Category fireplaces

4.0

04/16/2015


Doug C.

They were kind of so-so. We paid him $50 to come out and take a look at our fireplace. He said everything was okay. He didn't see anything. He seemed pretty thorough. However, I looked into the fireplace later on and I looked up and saw that all the grout was missing. It had all fallen out. He had gone through the roof of our firebox and ruined our manhole. We fixed it ourselves.

Description of Work
He inspected our chimney.

Category chimney sweep

5.0

04/10/2015


KATHLEEN W.

He was very good and he did not try to sell us a bunch of stuff. The professionalism was very good and he kept everything clean.

Description of Work
I use Fireplace Man and he cleaned the chimney.

Category chimney sweep

1.0

02/24/2015


Christine S.

Terrible experince. This company will rip you off. Not only are the prices unreasonable, the owner is rude and unprofessional. Check the Yelp reviews which will say the same. (My husband booked this guy w/o checking reviews) The service rep was nice enough. Spent an hour and a half at our house. Fixed one break in the main gas line that runs from our house to our outdoor gas lanterns. Charged us over $600. This was not the agreed upon cost. When we asked questions the owner, Eddie, became confentational, rude and condescending. The company is unprofessional and a complete rip off.

Description of Work
Serviced a gas line that runs to 3 lanterns in the backyard.

Category fireplaces

5.0

02/16/2015


Suzanne R.

All good! Service person arrived as expected. I received a pre-service reminder call. Service was completed in a timely manner, restoring the function of my gas fireplace.

Description of Work
Cleaned and repaired gas fireplace

Category fireplaces

1.0

12/31/2014


Andy C.

We visited the provider's showroom, discussed various options with the salesperson then purchased a burner, automatic lighter and glass rocks and scheduled the installation. I told the salesperson the size of our fireplace and he indicated that the installation technician would need to bring two differently sized burners with him to ensure it was properly sized for our fireplace area. The salesperson was very professional and courteous. The technician arrived a little late, but was very courteous. He had only brought one burner (the larger size) with him, but insisted it was the proper size for the fireplace area (it went from one side of the fireplace all the way to the opposite side). The installation seemed pretty difficult with the technician having to bend and coil much of the gas tubing in order to squeeze in the automatic lighter and larger burner. Eventually, he was able to squish it all in and light it up. We were happy to have our beautiful, brand new fireplace installation working! That evening when using the fireplace, we noticed that flames were coming up from behind the ceramic plates that line the fireplace. Not knowing the source of the fire and concerned we had a leak somewhere, we immediately shut off the gas. The next day, we called the Fireplace Man and the owner told us we were running it too high. When we told him that his company had installed it with an automatic starter that controls the gas flow. He then told us that the pan was set too far back. He informed us that we needed to fix it by digging out all the glass rocks and resetting the pan. He did not offer to have his technician come out and fix the problem he had created. He recommended that I do it myself. On systems I'm not trained to fix. That was all I needed to hear, so we called another company out who indicated that the burner was oversized for the space, they put in a smaller burner and now everything works perfectly. This other company also indicated that they could have done it for about half the cost. I will not use the Fireplace Man ever again and suggest you do not do so either. I believe there are better options for you that can be found on Angie's List.

Description of Work
Provider checked the chimney for safety and then installed a brand new gas burner, automatic lighter and glass rocks.

Category fireplaces

    Other local Pros in your area

    All States Service Pro - Houston

    All States Service Pro is the largest and most popular home services company in the nation. All States Service Pro can help meet your needs with exceptional service at an affordable price. We are available 24/7 by phone and offer same day service seven days a week, so give us a call and book an appointment if you’re interested.  

    Offers by All States Service Pro - Houston on Angi
    ACW Jet Wash

    We Clean just about anything!! Commercial and Residential Pressure washing, Concrete Driveway wash and seal, Deck and Patio restoration. House Washing, Exterior structures. Stucco siding and Brick masonry Soft and power washing  

    Space City Lights

    Space City Lights provides residential and commercial outdoor lighting and electrical product sales, installation, and maintenance.  

    Offers by Space City Lights on Angi
    All statements concerning insurance, licenses, and bonds are informational only, and are self-reported. Since insurance, licenses and bonds can expire and can be cancelled, homeowners should always check such information for themselves.To find more licensing information for your state, visit our Find Licensing Requirements page.
    General Information
    Free Estimates
    Ask for Details
    Eco-Friendly Accreditations
    No
    Payment Options
    Visa, MasterCard, American Express, Discover, Check
    Senior Discount
    No
    Warranties
    No

    Services Offered

    The Fireplace Man offers a wide variety of professional Services that include, Designing and Building Outdoor Kitchens, Chimney Cleaning, Chimney Inspections, Relines, Glass Door Installations, Fireplace Door Measurements, Firebox Repairs, Leak Repairs, BBQ Installations, Gas Grill Installations, Mantel Installations, Custom Stone Installations, Building and Designing Fireplaces, Gas Light Installations, Chimney Caps, Bird Removal and more.

    Services Not Offered

    Ask for details

    Frequently Asked Questions & Answers about FIREPLACE MAN INC

    How is FIREPLACE MAN INC overall rated?

    FIREPLACE MAN INC is currently rated 4.5 overall out of 5.

    What days are FIREPLACE MAN INC open?

    FIREPLACE MAN INC is open:

    Sunday: Closed

    Monday: 8:00 AM - 5:00 PM

    Tuesday: 8:00 AM - 5:00 PM

    Wednesday: 8:00 AM - 5:00 PM

    Thursday: 8:00 AM - 5:00 PM

    Friday: 8:00 AM - 5:00 PM

    Saturday: 9:00 AM - 4:00 PM

    What payment options does FIREPLACE MAN INC provide

    FIREPLACE MAN INC accepts the following forms of payment: Visa, MasterCard, American Express, Discover, Check

    Does FIREPLACE MAN INC offer free estimates?

    Ask FIREPLACE MAN INC for details on free project estimates.

    Does FIREPLACE MAN INC offer eco-friendly accreditations?

    No, FIREPLACE MAN INC does not offer eco-friendly accreditations.

    Does FIREPLACE MAN INC offer a senior discount?

    No, FIREPLACE MAN INC does not offer a senior discount.

    Are warranties offered by FIREPLACE MAN INC?

    No, FIREPLACE MAN INC does not offer warranties.

    What services does FIREPLACE MAN INC offer?

    FIREPLACE MAN INC offers the following services: The Fireplace Man offers a wide variety of professional Services that include, Designing and Building Outdoor Kitchens, Chimney Cleaning, Chimney Inspections, Relines, Glass Door Installations, Fireplace Door Measurements, Firebox Repairs, Leak Repairs, BBQ Installations, Gas Grill Installations, Mantel Installations, Custom Stone Installations, Building and Designing Fireplaces, Gas Light Installations, Chimney Caps, Bird Removal and more.