Find top-rated Pros in your area
Enter a zip code and get matched to businesses near you.
Geo Icon
Autumn Lane Outdoor Designs logo

Autumn Lane Outdoor Designs

Landscape Design Service, Sod Installation, Architect Service,

About us

- Landscape Design and Installation - Seasonal Garden Detailing and Seasonal Displays - Irrigation - Arbor Trimming and Removal - Outdoor Audio/Video - Landscape Consulting

Business highlights

7 years of experience

Services we offer

- Landscape Design and Installation Services - Seasonal Detailing Services - Trimming, Fertilizations - Irrigation Installation - Arbor - Tree Trimming and Removal - Outdoor Audio/Video - Landscape Design Consulting, Mulching

Amenities

Free Estimates

Yes

Reviews
3.97 Reviews
Number of StarsImage of DistributionNumber of Ratings
5
71%
4
0%
3
0%
2
0%
1
29%
Showing 1-7 of 7 reviews
Nguyen P.
May 2024
1.0
$14,000
It took me a while to write this review as I was contemplating whether or not to write this review but I figure it’s time and if it can help someone then I feel like I did my part in steering someone away from wasting hard earn money. I sought out Katherine services who owns Autumn Lane in 2022. I was sold on using Autumn Lane because Katherine had a design program to visually show me what she had in mind for my front yard. Come to think of it most of her pictures on her google page are just computerize design images and not real clients work. However the real life installation of the design she charged us to render looked nothing like it the picture she proposed. I wish I could attach pictures on Angie’s list. She also charges a $500 design fee which she said she will reimburse if we move forward. However, she only reimburse half because she says we only moved forward with half of the project (front yard only, no back yard). No one in their right mind would move forward with backyard design after seeing the quality of work she did for the front yard. It was my understanding the whole design fee would be credited to me and that was what was told to me. She also didn’t put grass to the front yard by our tree. When I bought this up to her she says there was grass there already and it just needs to be mowed . Yes there was some grass but it still needed more grass because there was clearly a large barren area with just dirt. So rather than own up to it apologize and offer to honor good work, I felt she gaslight me and was nickel and diming me and didn’t want to use the money we had already paid her to add more grass in the area I had concern. She said the quote was for the front yard and the area I had concern was clearly in the front yard. Another issue I had with her are her subcontractors she hires. The tree guy she hired over trimmed our tree . The sprinklers guy that installed our sprinkler system did a poor job and it burst a few months later (not even a year old yet) but she attributed it to the “freeze” we had. If the quality was good in the first place it wouldn’t have burst so easily. After having to live and stare at such terrible landscaping done by Katherine of Autumn lane I had to invest more money to redo it with another landscape person whom I won’t name.
Response from Autumn Lane Outdoor Designs
"[Member Name Removed], I'm disappointed that this is the first time hearing how unhappy you are with the installation. Although I appreciate the feedback, I'd like the public to hear my side of what happened. As for the design fee of $500. I gave you several designs for the front yard ($250) and several for the back yard ($250). You said you'd like the front yard done first as it was more of a priority. On the final invoice I credited you with the full amount for the front yard design, $250. It's a bit misleading to the public to say we did not honor a design credit when in fact, that's exactly what we did. As for the design. Again, a bit misleading. The design you attached is not the approved design. In fact, what we installed is exactly what the approved design looks like. You decided not to pay for the trellis and Cyclamen and went with Japanese Yew and Pansy's. Exactly what was approved. I cannot attach a photo of the approved design to my response; however, it is in our google gallery. It's also saved in my computer as "approved design" and I have an email with that approval. As for the grass area to the left of the driveway. It was so overgrown; it just needed a cut. The image you provided was not from the time when we were there. Again, misleading. As for the trees, we discussed trimming the front tree to allow for more light to the new sod to flourish and establish. I wish you could have provided a photo of how bad the trees were prior to cutting. The PVB for you irrigation system. I've been in the industry for 15 years. I can't tell you how many of these are replaced every year by freezing. We did not use "poor quality materials". I'm sorry it broke, so did half of the city. We have no control over mother nature. Your review can be so detrimental to a small company and to leave a one-star review that is so extremely skewed and flat out wrong is heartbreaking. I hope you find it within your heart to remove this review."

Marshall N.
Feb 2024
1.0
$20,000
They have a pretty instagram account, but are morons. Worked with many contractors of various trades, most disappointing by far. Here’s my list: 1. All of our plants in backyard died. We hired another landscaper to test the soil, originally said it would take 1-2 weeks to get test results. Came to our door and said the good news is we don’t have to send it to the lab, because you can visually see how badly the soil needs to be replaced. So autumn lane wasted $15k of plants there. 2. “Turf” means grass at autumn lane. Maybe we’re the idiots, but we got 6,000 sqft of grass when we had discussed putting in what we had been referring to as artificial turf around our pool. 3. Didn’t stake any trees 4. Claimed weed fabric always installed, never installed 5. Sprinklers have never worked properly 6. New landscaper gave concrete data about poor plant recommendations and counts
Response from Autumn Lane Outdoor Designs
"[Member Name Removed], thank you for your extremely honest and inflated review of our company. Unfortunately leaving a bad review about 3 years after installation is a little misleading and can be detrimental to a small business. This is the first we've heard from you about ANY issues at all. A lot has happened in that time, we've had two freezes and a serious drought. First, If I recall correctly, you had asked if I could throw in the 'turf' then you would approve the quote for $2k LESS than the initial proposal. We are horticulturalists, we speak in exact terms most of the time, because we’re professionals. We never discussed artificial turf type, I never brought samples because unless it's specified and approved, we couldn’t quote it properly. As a responsible small business owner, I'd never give away 6ooo sq ft. of artificial turf. The original quote included 6 Palettes [Member Information Removed]. Augustine (which I might add, was on the photo rendering of your approved plan). If you refer to the approved proposal it states “3' turf to be planted behind spa”. Next, I have photos of the bed being prepped properly adding 10 yards new soil. Perhaps it’s the chemicals the city sprays along the fence/easement behind your home is what eventually led to the demise of your landscape. Also, of the $20k was a 9’x20’ trellis fence we build custom on site for you. We installed a new irrigation system and a landscape lighting system. All worked 100% when we left and on future site visits we made adjustments accordingly. Nowhere on the proposal do we ever specify putting out ‘weed fabric'. We don't believe in it. We did apply preemergent which might have caused the confusion (again). Best of luck to you and your new landscaper who thinks it’s ok to throw unwarranted shade on other companies to make themselves look better. You bought TX Natives, and all are performers for the Houston area and we plant on a regular basis. You could've reached out sooner, and we would have fixed whatever it was to make it right."

Karin S.
Oct 2018
5.0
Yes, I recommend this pro
I hired the company to make ready a home to sell. I’m a Realtor and first impression can make or break a potential Buyer. Excellent service...very professional, on time and on budget. I plan to call again when a client has landscaping needs to sell their home. This home had an offer in two days. The landscaping, I know, had a hand in it selling so quickly.

Ann T.
Oct 2018
5.0
Yes, I recommend this pro
They do a lovely job , very nice people to work with, very professional and well priced.

Dana D.
Oct 2018
5.0
Yes, I recommend this pro
The work looks great and I'm very pleased.

Mike W.
Oct 2018
5.0
Yes, I recommend this pro
I have used her a few times. She is very straight forward. She does good job and the product she uses is good quality. She has fair pricing. He responds by text, which is helpful and is easier to communicate that way.

Jenalee A.
Oct 2018
5.0
Yes, I recommend this pro
Needed to update my landscaping before listing my house. Katherine spoke with us about what needed to be done. She listened to what we wanted and gave ideas of her own. She then brought in an arborist to trim the trees, pulled out some overgrown shrubs, filled in bare spots in flower beds, then trimmed remaining shrubs and mulched the beds. Her workers were on time, got the work done quickly, and cleaned up after themselves. Her price was well within my budget.
Response from Autumn Lane Outdoor Designs
"Thank you, [Member Name Removed]!"

Licensing

State Contractor License Requirements

All statements concerning insurance, licenses, and bonds are informational only, and are self-reported. Since insurance, licenses and bonds can expire and can be cancelled, homeowners should always check such information for themselves. To find more licensing information for your state, visit our Find Licensing Requirements page.

*Contact business to see additional licenses.

FAQ

Autumn Lane Outdoor Designs is currently rated 3.9 overall out of 5.

Yes, Autumn Lane Outdoor Designs offers free project estimates.

No, Autumn Lane Outdoor Designs does not offer eco-friendly accreditations.

No, Autumn Lane Outdoor Designs does not offer a senior discount.

No, Autumn Lane Outdoor Designs does not offer emergency services.

No, Autumn Lane Outdoor Designs does not offer warranties.