Angie's List is now Angi. Learn more

Find top-rated Pros in your area

Enter a zip code and get matched to businesses near you.

COVID-19 Update
We are actively performing limited services. We are taking additional precautions to protect our customers.

Pressure washing houses, driveway, etc & building privacy wood fence installation

Health & Safety Measures

We complete exterior work only (No need to enter home)
We will wear masks and gloves when we visit your home
We accept remote payment
All statements concerning COVID‑19 business operations and essential services are informational only, and are self‑reported and not verified by Angi.

Affordable Fence & Home Repairs

Founded 2007 • With Angi since April 2011

3.7

(9) Verified Reviews

Business Details

Phone Number

Address

8550 Easton Commons Dr

Houston, TX 77095

Description

Women Owned & Operated. I know good contractors outside of what services I offer and can sub-contract....

Verified Reviews

A few reviews for this pro...
5.0

04/27/2017


Deirdre R.

They did a great job, exactly what I asked them to do. They were easy to schedule the same week I called, on time, and got the work done in two days.

Description of Work
They repaired an existing chain link fence around the back yard, and built a wooden fence with gate along the front.

Category fencing

4.0

04/12/2017


Deborah H.

Went well and timely. Done in one day. delivered as said.

Description of Work
Fencing replaced

Category fencing

5.0

04/12/2017


RUTHERFORD C.

it went well

Description of Work
portion of fence rebuilt

Category fencing,interior painters

1.0

05/31/2016


Elizabeth S.

Description of Work
If you are looking for a quick, cheap fix on a fence this is who to call. Melissa was prompt with quote, on was on site for the job. I have a small fence with a gate that needed replacement. My daughter needed a large fence for a corner lot. We both had very reasonable quotes and based on reviews at this site decided to have the jobs done. The wood is a very low grade, many boards are split by nails. Slats were placed with varying size gaps, allowing for anyone in front yard to see clearly into back yard. My daughter's husband had to point out to workmen that the frame work was not level. Both gates gave the men problems. Melissa suggested we reuse the hardware to save money. My exterior latch is now missing the thumb latch and they left a gaping hole in the frame work that defeated the purpose of the interior locking mechanism. I had to show them a better fix for the problem than what they were attempting to do. My daughter's gate was hung with the hinges on the opposite side of the original fence, making it awkward to keep gate open for entering. They used some nails that were too long so they pounded them done on the yard side of the fence. When this was questioned, her answer was that makes the fence more secure in storms. From the street the fences look okay, but while staining the wood the inferior workmanship is evident. Very disappointed and would not use this company again.

Category errand service

Service Provider Response

Keep in mind, these are 2 different separate jobs next to each other is the daughter with husband and the mother across the street as we worked on the same days to complete both jobs. We installed pine pickets her daughter requested to keep the cost down instead of using cedar pickets. Which cedar last longer and it doesn't shrink between slats and the pine wood bends, sags, warp, and shrinks allowing you to see through the pickets, which is what her daughter requested in order to save money for her property. That's what happens when you use Pine instead of Cedar pickets to save money on material and they wanted pine wood. We were not done framing the fence, when the husband came to say it wasn't leveled, at that point, we readjusted the post to be leveled. Yes, we reused the gate hardware to save them money as they were in good condition, so we painted them making them workable and as new again. I would be happy to revisit and repair or replace the thumb latch to the mother's gate. Keep in mind, they were fine when we did the walk through to both properties to accept the work completed. We worked during rain to complete the job. Yes, we did have complications with Mom's property gate mechanism. We had to cut into the 4x4 to install the hardware to allow the gate to close properly as we completed her gate repairs. I asked the homeowner for her approval, she wasn't happy at first with the hardware mechanism. She suggested to a better fix and finished and accepted the job. The homeowner's daughter was satisfied with work completed to their house, but Mom speaking for her daughter's behave as they were 2 separated contracts.
5.0

01/17/2016


KAY L.

Melissa was prompt in coming to do estimate as well as prompt in coming to perform work. She was very professional, friendly & her price was fair. I couldn't have asked for a better experience. I would highly recommend her company.

Description of Work
Replaced part of my fence

Category fencing,interior painters

Service Provider Response

Ms [Removed Member Name] needed her fence done asap and at an affordable price. I gave her a quote on Friday and on Saturday we showed up to build her fence and completed it the same day. I promised her to repair her gate for free, and that promise is still valed when ever she ready . J. Melissa Martinez
3.0

07/07/2015


Tim C.

Description of Work
provided a quotation for fence replacement and one section of new fence. I did not use this company.

Category interior painters

Service Provider Response

This owner had alot of fence to be build, so the cost was high for what he wanted done out in the country. J Melissa Martinez
1.0

03/03/2015


JANICE D.

1. This company does not follow it's contract. Signed contract was for two payment of $1463.91. Upon finish, additional cost of $325.00 was demanded. Contract says "Any alteration or deviation from above specification involving cost will be executed only upon written order". I did not write such request. One limb was removed and I was charged for having to have roots cut. I would think that an experience contractor would have foreseen cutting roots since they did not use the same post holes. Had I been asked I would have trimmed the limb myself. 2. There seemed to be animosity when my husband asked them to hammer down the nails extending on the other side of board. 3. They hammered nails into neighbors vinyl siding to attach a board to cover the fact that picket was not installed to post in proper position. 4. The rear entry gate latch was incorrectly installed. We can not padlock it. 5. The front entry gate bottom is so high that my dogs can escape. 6. I expect these gates to sag within the year. 7. For the rot board, They used decking board not intended for ground contact then piled soil against them. 8. There was a gross excess of over-ordering supplies that they took without asking. *9. If a contractor "conveniently" walks off with both copies of the signed contract and doesn't send a copy online as promised...You are being set up for the BAIT and SWITCH!!!!!!! .

Description of Work
Tear down and replace 100 linear foot fence with two gates. Tear down and remove two structures.

Category interior painters

Service Provider Response

First of all, I did mention to the owner that the tree roots needed to be cut at the bottom of ground to install and level the rot board they wanted installed for the first time. These roots were not at eye level and the owner would not be able to cut them without proper tools. Thats why there was an extra tree root cost, which she paid willingly. There was no animosity with either owner. We did as he asked with the nails. If anything was not to the owner's satisfactory upon completion and doing a walk through for an approval. The owner wouldve paid me. When anyone uses pine wood to save money instead of cedar, then yes, the gates or pickets will warp or sag. For the rot board, the decking board was treated and intended for ground contact. We did piled soil against them for the security of dogs and thats how the previous fence was. As a contractor, I always order extra lumber that I paid for and will take what I do not use, instead of not having enough. If an owner provides the material, then we dont take it. The owner was provided a list of materials that would be used and it was used. The owner always gets an estimated bid emailed, thats for their convienence. Im not in a custom to take what's not mine. When asked by an owner for an additional copy of their bid. I always resend them one but they should have one in their emailbox. There is no set up for the BAIT and SWITCH here!!!!!!! She just needed to communicate with me, I would have been happy to comply with any repairs or changes and would still go today, "free of charge" to fix the gate lock I have pictures of all the work that was done for this home owner and was appoved at completion. J Melissa Martinez
5.0

08/01/2014


Cindy C.

I liked her very much but she was too expensive. She gave me three or four prices. She did follow up and offered a match but she couldn't give as good as the bill I got. I didn't get back with her and I went with somebody else. She was very nice, timely, and professional; she just came in way out of our budget. I would consider her for another quote or a job.

Description of Work
She gave me a bid. It was for drywall painting, door replacement, bathroom vanity replacement, and kitchen installation; it was basically for home renovation.

Category fencing,remodeling,home remodeling,interior painters,doors

Service Provider Response

Customer was very nice, never had anything done to her home for over 20 years. Client was trying to get the least amount of money for a lot of work and ready to resale. I offered quality work and also to cut back or match other contractors bids but said she wanted to work with contractors her family had found. She said she had other work she wanted me to do and never contacted me.
5.0

03/24/2014


Natalie G.

I can't tell you how blessed I am that we were able to find Melissa. When we bought our new house a little over a year ago, we needed a lot of work. From replacing the fencing around the yard to plumbing repairs to aesthetic stuff (fixing drywall, changing out ceiling fans, etc), Melissa has been there and done it all successfully. We have worked with Melissa for ongoing repairs and she is always quality, responding quickly and respecting my time. Most importantly, you have to trust your contractors. I would consider Melissa a friend and have trusted my children here at home with her as well while I have run errands. I have given her the key to my house without reservation and she has always treated my home as her own. I can't say enough great things about Melissa!

Description of Work
My go-to for ALL home repairs!

Category drywall,fencing,handyman service,pressure washing,woodworking,ceiling fans,house painters,interior painters

Service Provider Response

The quality of work I have performed and the respect I've given to [member name removed] and her family is what I do in everybody's home. I know everyone struggles to find a good contractor but just call me and you will see I will get the job done.

    Other local Pros in your area

    ACW Jet Wash

    We Clean just about anything!! Commercial and Residential Pressure washing, Concrete Driveway wash and seal, Deck and Patio restoration. House Washing, Exterior structures. Stucco siding and Brick masonry Soft and power washing  

    Guardian Gate Services, LLC

    We help keep your property free from unwanted guests by designing Custom Gates that fit your lifestyle with secured access control at your convenience. We install and repair gate operators, traditional and ornate gates and provide estimates all while whistling old school show tunes. (Dance routines are an additional fee). With over 20 years of experience in the industry, we provide the best product knowledge, project planning and troubleshooting around. We aren't scared of any challenge or Gate Operator!  

    Experience services

    I Provide skilled and certified pressure washing services for all commercial and residential needs.  

    Business Highlights

    Emergency Services OfferedEmergency Services Offered
    Wears MaskWears Mask
    No License Required for Trade
    All statements concerning insurance, licenses, and bonds are informational only, and are self-reported. Since insurance, licenses and bonds can expire and can be cancelled, homeowners should always check such information for themselves.To find more licensing information for your state, visit our Find Licensing Requirements page.
    General Information
    Free Estimates
    Yes
    Eco-Friendly Accreditations
    No
    Payment Options
    Check, Visa, MasterCard, American Express, Discover
    Senior Discount
    10%
    Emergency Service
    Yes
    Warranties
    Yes

    Services Offered

    Commercial & Residential Pressure Washing: Brick or Wood Houses, Driveways, Decks, buildings. Painting: Interior & Exterior, Fences & Decks, Drywall. Floor Installations: Tile & Laminate. Roof Replacements (Shingles) Carpentry: Decks, Wood Fences & Gates, Sheds, Porches, Concrete Slabs, & Siding & Hardie Plank. Ceiling Fans & Light Fixture Installation, Honey Do's.

    Services Not Offered

    Major Electrical.... I have sub contractors for A/C & Plumbing under me

    Frequently Asked Questions & Answers about Affordable Fence & Home Repairs

    How is Affordable Fence & Home Repairs overall rated?

    Affordable Fence & Home Repairs is currently rated 3.7 overall out of 5.

    What days are Affordable Fence & Home Repairs open?

    Affordable Fence & Home Repairs is open:

    Sunday: 12:00 PM - 3:00 PM

    Monday: 8:00 AM - 5:00 PM

    Tuesday: 8:00 AM - 5:00 PM

    Wednesday: 8:00 AM - 5:00 PM

    Thursday: 8:00 AM - 5:00 PM

    Friday: 8:00 AM - 5:00 PM

    Saturday: 10:00 AM - 3:00 PM

    What payment options does Affordable Fence & Home Repairs provide

    Affordable Fence & Home Repairs accepts the following forms of payment: Check, Visa, MasterCard, American Express, Discover

    Does Affordable Fence & Home Repairs offer free estimates?

    Yes, Affordable Fence & Home Repairs offers free project estimates.

    Does Affordable Fence & Home Repairs offer eco-friendly accreditations?

    No, Affordable Fence & Home Repairs does not offer eco-friendly accreditations.

    Does Affordable Fence & Home Repairs offer a senior discount?

    Yes, Affordable Fence & Home Repairs offers a 10% senior discount.

    Does Affordable Fence & Home Repairs offer emergency services?

    Yes, Affordable Fence & Home Repairs offers emergency services.

    Are warranties offered by Affordable Fence & Home Repairs?

    Yes, Affordable Fence & Home Repairs offers warranties.

    What services does Affordable Fence & Home Repairs offer?

    Affordable Fence & Home Repairs offers the following services: Commercial & Residential Pressure Washing: Brick or Wood Houses, Driveways, Decks, buildings. Painting: Interior & Exterior, Fences & Decks, Drywall. Floor Installations: Tile & Laminate. Roof Replacements (Shingles) Carpentry: Decks, Wood Fences & Gates, Sheds, Porches, Concrete Slabs, & Siding & Hardie Plank. Ceiling Fans & Light Fixture Installation, Honey Do's.

    Are there any services Affordable Fence & Home Repairs does not offer?

    Major Electrical.... I have sub contractors for A/C & Plumbing under me