Find top-rated Pros in your area

Enter a zip code and get matched to businesses near you.

Master Services

Founded 1995 • With Angi since April 2008

We are a certified chimney professional company. A family owned company serving Texas for over 18 years. We have an a+ rating with the dallas better business bureau. We are also the only chimney company in texas to have the positive feedback necessary to be listed in the award winning ebsco best picks reports book. We also have offices in Houston, Denver and Oklahoma City. Those phone numbers are available on our website.

Amenities

Free Estimates
ask for details
Warranties
yes
Senior Discount
$10.00
Eco-Friendly Accreditations
No
Bonded
Insured
This pro has not provided any licensing information to Angi at this time.All statements concerning insurance, licenses, and bonds are informational only, and are self-reported. Since insurance, licenses and bonds can expire and can be cancelled, homeowners should always check such information for themselves. To find more licensing information for your state, visit our Find Licensing Requirements page. Contact pro for more details.

Verified Reviews

4.6

(205) Verified Reviews

Showing 1-25 of 205 reviews
Ugur P.
1.0
11/01/2022
I would never ever hire this company again. This company will make your life miserable and cause you a lot of unnecessary stress. If you hire this company, please make sure you can go to top of the roof and inspect their work once it is done. Initially, they send couple great employees to inspect the chimney and give an estimate which makes one think that he or she is hiring a great company. However, the work they do can be better by ten years old. This company provides bad quality of work and poor workmanship and they make a lot of excuses and false statements. Again, please make sure you can inspect their work if you hire this company. I would not give them a single penny until they finish the work and it is inspected by the home owner. I found many mistakes and damages to my existing shingles. Be very careful.
Description of Work
Chimney boards and chimney cap
Category
chimney sweep
Debra E.
1.0
10/08/2018
The technician thoroughly inspected the chimney, the attic, and the interior leaks. He said that he felt that the leakage could be stopped by waterproofing the exterior of the chimney chase, sealing the flashing, doing minor tuck point repairs to cracks in mortar joints, replacing the chase cover (chimney cap) and spark arrestor, along with a chimney pipe storm collar. They refused to warranty however, saying "if there is any sandy or gritty mortar present there is no warranty." An additional addendum in the warranty says that "water leak repairs are NOT 100% guaranteed if a leak has occurred." (This should have been a warning sign to us, in spite of the technician's insistence that the leaks could be fixed this way.) The repairs were done in October 2017. In late 2017/early 2018 we had additional leakage. I called Master Services and they sent out a different group of technicians who said that some of the flashing sealant had not been done correctly by the original technicians. They did the repairs in February 2018. During the next major rainstorm, there were additional leaks. In April 2018, I called again and they sent out yet another group of technicians. They said that they couldn't see where it would be leaking but took a piece of sheet metal up and "jury-rigged" it to fit the spark arrestor and just below to "deflect rain." The next rainstorm brought more leakage in the same locations as all previous leaks. My husband said to not call them again. We are currently having major work done to the chimney by another chimney repair company. They pointed out to us that the chimney cap install was done by Master Services who screwed it on from the top, leaving it vulnerable to leaks from the top. (Chimney caps are to be screwed on from the sides.) In addition, the chimney cap was not allowing the water to run off the cap, but rather had become a "birdbath". They also pointed out that our spark arrestor was not replaced as Master Services had claimed, but was rusted and probably original to the home. In addition, a water test on the chimney indicated that whatever waterproofing solution that Master Services had used, did not work. The bricks and mortar wicked up all water sprayed onto them. The biggest problem, however, is that the sheet metal attached to the spark arrestor on Master Services' third attempted repair (to "deflect rain"), had almost completely blocked the exhaust from the chimney and was a huge fire hazard. Fortunately, we had not used the fireplace after the metal was attached since the weather had turned warm. Other contractors called since Master Services' repairs, have indicated that no amount of sealant or waterproofing could have fixed the deteriorating brick and mortar. Master Services should have known that such a repair would not stop the leaks.
Description of Work
We had a brick facade chimney that had begun leaking into the interior of our house.
Category
chimney caps, chimney repair
RAJESH K.
5.0
05/29/2018
Fix an issue with the gas fireplace.
Description of Work
fix fireplace
Category
chimney sweep
Mary lou B.
5.0
11/02/2017
They were very prompt, informed me of every step, and did a great job.
Description of Work
Cleaned out animal nests in chimney, replaced rotten wood around chimney, and placed and new chimney cap with lifetime warranty.
Category
chimney caps, chimney repair, animal removal
Rene C.
4.0
10/09/2017
Other than a bit of timing issues the crew took care of the problem we had from the hurricane. I thought they would attach the lower pan but was told later that wasn't part of the job! Next time I will be sure to ask EVERTHING included. What they did they did well and I have no problems so far.
Description of Work
We had a new spark catcher and skirt attached to our chimney.
Category
chimney caps
Jennifer P.
5.0
07/25/2017
They did a great job and everything looks good. The team who was here to install everything was professional and left everything nice and clean!
Description of Work
repair chimney, install chimney cap, install gas logs
Category
chimney sweep
Michael M.
5.0
06/13/2017
Richard and Charles were excellent. Very efficient. Arrived on time. Cleaned out the vent and gave me an estimate on a new chimney cap. Very happy with Master Services.
Description of Work
Clean out dryer vent
Category
chimney caps, dryer vent cleaning
Theresa A.
5.0
05/25/2017
After inspecting everything, they recommended more work to make fireplace safe to use. I also needed a new chimney cap as water was leaking into the house. I had a water spot on the ceiling but thought the recent roof replacement fixed that. Chimney cap was sunk in and water was sitting, slowly dripping into the house. They fixed everything. Fireplace is now safe. Very happy with the work.
Description of Work
Originally hired them to sweep my chimney.
Category
chimney sweep, chimney caps, fireplaces
Whitney S.
4.0
05/17/2017
Fine. As mentioned another reviews, they do a "safety inspection" where they will find a small crack summer requiring replacement of the insert
Description of Work
Chimney cleaning
Category
chimney sweep, fireplaces
Margaret M.
5.0
02/18/2017
Master Services did a great job. They did the inspection and scheduled the work the following weekend. They were punctual, friendly, and knowledgeable. I will not hesitate to use them again.
Description of Work
Inspection, Chimney Sweep, Replace cracked prefab panel, Paint firebox, Install reflector shield, waterproof bricks
Category
chimney sweep
Margaret E.
5.0
02/08/2017
They are always very polite and punctual. I'd recommend them.
Description of Work
They performed a routine maintenance and cleaning for our gas log fireplace.
Category
fireplaces
Kent M.
3.0
02/01/2017
Scott came out on Jan 18th to provide a bid, very nice and professional. Bid accepted and job was scheduled on Jan 26th. Crew showed up on time and work completed in a few hours.. Unfortunately not all work I paid for was completed.. Paid for a full trim replacement on the east side of the chimney but they used existing, cut off the damaged section and put on a small trim piece that didn't match the original trim size. Evident from the ground that there was a seam on that piece of trim, didn't look good. All remaining trim was to be caulked and painted which didn't occur. Called company to advise of problem and Scott was scheduled to come back out on Jan 31st which he didn't do, instead they sent another crew who knew nothing of what happed on previous visit, they had to call in to get direction on what to do. They did stay and complete the job but they did not replace the one piece of trim that was damaged with 1 full piece of trim, no idea why but with add'l caulk and paint, looks better but can still tell it's not one full piece of trim. Painting of the trim work is not the best but looks better. Last comment is the crew needs to clean up better. On both visits, shingle debris fell on top of my spa, neither crew made an attempt to clean it off.. Last crew dripped paint on patio and didn't clean that either
Description of Work
Repair trim damage, installed chimney chase cover
Category
chimney caps, chimney repair
Edwinia M.
5.0
08/25/2016
We are so glad we took advantage of the off season August sale. The work was completed this week and it is so nice. No leaks, rain tested already. The workers were experienced, professional, courteous and did very good. We are so happy it looks good and works. They also did an amazing cleanup, didn't hurt our St Augustine, can't even tell where they worked! You won't be sorry for choosing this company.
Description of Work
Break down chimney and restack, waterproof & cap
Category
chimney sweep, chimney caps, chimney repair
Sylvia D.
5.0
02/13/2016
It took a couple of visits to perfect the installations; i.e., measurements, etc. Masters Services is an honest company with professionals that care about their clients. The project was finished yesterday, 02/12/2016, and even though I just couldn't wait until winter returned, I started a fire in the cooler late afternoon and kept it going for hours. NO smoke; just a beautiful roaring fire!!! My heartiest THANK-YOU is sent to Masters Services.
Description of Work
I have a prefab fireplace which was compromised during a roof installation some years ago causing the attic and house to fill with smoke. Masters Services swept the flue and replaced the back refractory panel. Installed a chimney chase cover and spark arrestor and attached banding to the pipe in the attic keeping it centered in the plywood hole.
Category
chimney repair
Laura D.
5.0
12/31/2015
Thought we were going to have to have our damper replaced. Instead of recommending a new one they fixed our original one free of charge! Great, honest company and I look forward to calling them again when the need arises.
Description of Work
Repaired damper above the fireplace.
Category
chimney sweep, chimney repair, fireplaces
Kevin M.
5.0
12/30/2015
I expected to pay for a chimney cleaning for a home I purchased. Master Services came out and did their inspection and told me I didn't need to spend the additional money.
Description of Work
Chimney Inspection
Category
chimney sweep, house cleaning, chimney repair
Shinya H.
1.0
12/12/2015
He sat down and told why we needed to make all these changes. I don't think he wanted to clean the fireplace, because he got a call before the inspection, and he told the customer on the phone that he'd be there soon.
Description of Work
They were supposed to clean the fireplace, but they did only a 5 minute inspection and determined I needed over $900 in repairs.
Category
chimney sweep, chimney repair, fireplaces

Service Provider Response

We apologize that Ms. [Member Name Removed] is upset that her chimney was not cleaned. However, our company policy is that if a fireplace does not pass inspection, we do not clean it. Cleaning a chimney gives a client a perceived notion that the chimney is safe to use. We do not want to falsely mislead people into believing that. Our technician discovered an issue as soon as he looked into the firebox that made the chimney unsafe to use. At that point, he let Ms. [Member Name Removed] know about the issue and completed his outside inspection. There were several issues outside as well that he included in the estimate. But, the issue that has to be addressed in order to bring the fireplace "up to code" was inside the firebox. The National Chimney Guild Association of America passes along to all chimney companies that a chimney should not be cleaned and prepared for use if it is not up to code. Our technician also took pictures of the issue inside the firebox and those are available for Ms. [Member Name Removed] to view. We have reached out to Ms. [Member Name Removed] to make sure that she understands our policies and procedures, but have been unable to reach her.
Debbie W.
5.0
12/03/2015
Employees showed up promptly and were very courteous and professional. Very neat install and cleanup. Answered all questions and made sure we were happy with the job before they packed up and left. Will use them again!
Description of Work
Came out and did inspection and gave suggestions on repair and installation of gas logs. Accepted bid on chimney cleaning, crack repairs and sealing, as well as chimney cap and the logs.
Category
chimney sweep, chimney caps, chimney repair, gas logs
ROB M.
5.0
10/07/2015
The two technicians were very professional and courteous. They provided a thorough explanation of the results of the inspection and pointed out some clear trouble spots with the bricks and masonry on the weather facing side of the chimney. They were respectful of my home when moving equipment in and out for their work. I would use them again. They received a B on cost because I found other Chimney Sweep companies for about $50 less; however, Master Services came more highly recommended. B on punctuality because the technicians were about 20 minutes late for the appointment. Not a big deal for me because I had the extra time.
Description of Work
Chimney sweep and inspection.
Category
chimney sweep, masonry, chimney repair
JOHN D.
5.0
09/21/2015
We have a 1978 very wide chimney that had a miniscule chimney cap on it. Breaks in the crown overlay resulting in water penetration below and bricks breaking off. Had another company come out to measure and they never called back with estimate. When we called the other company again, they said they weren't sure that they could make a chimney cap that large to cover entire chimney. That is when we called Master Services. They are a family owned business and came right out. They said they could custom make a cap to fit. We selected a contemporary style that complemented our exterior. We even selected a color that also complemented our soffit trim on our house. They added a new mortar crown overlay to cover the old cracked mortar. Best looking chimney cap in our neighborhood, and we know because we looked at others in our neighborhood as we do our walking. Excellent company and we highly recommend them for all chimney work.
Description of Work
Installed new custom made chimney cap, mortar crown overlay, waterproofing to our very large chimney.
Category
chimney sweep, masonry, roofing, chimney caps, chimney repair
Ellen S.
5.0
08/20/2015
This is the second time we've used Master Services. The work was done over 2 visits. The first visit was the inspection and cleaning where we learned our refractory panels were broken. The tech also suggested we install a shield to protect the panels in the future. On the second visit, they replaced the broken refractory panels and installed the shield. While I am still a littled shocked at how expensive those little panels are, my fireplace looks brand new! They do excellent work, and I will use them again.
Description of Work
Chimney inspection, cleaning, replace 3 refractory panels, and install reflector shield
Category
chimney sweep, chimney repair, fireplaces
Jacqueline J.
5.0
07/23/2015
Good, although simple and seemed expensive just for sheet of metal. It helps increase heat within house and was pretty quick and painless.
Description of Work
Added metal reflector to back of fireplace.
Category
chimney sweep, fireplaces
Michael M.
1.0
06/28/2015
Service tech set up equipment started the process and walked away from equipment. The vacuum hose fell off and filled the house with soot. Tech finished and left - no cleanup or offer to clean up. It took me several days to clean up the mess.
Description of Work
Chimney Sweep
Category
chimney sweep
Kenneth C.
5.0
05/29/2015
Very nice job, looks great. Unfortunately, it did not stop my leaking roof. I asked the vendor to come back out and double check their work. I had been told by a roofing contractor that my leak was caused by an old chimney cap. Master Services came back out promptly and checked their work. They found no problem with the new cap. However, they went the extra step and located a spot on the flashing around the fireplace box where the water could get in. They do not do roof work, but went the extra mile to help me out.
Description of Work
Installed a new chimney cap and spark arrestor.
Category
roofing, chimney caps, chimney repair, fireplaces
Nancy F.
5.0
04/28/2015
John is absolutely excellent. His knowledge and professional acumen are wonderful. Was always on time and ready with his crew to give the best service and quality. 6 stars for John.
Description of Work
Repaired chimney and replace chimney caps
Category
chimney sweep, chimney caps, chimney repair

Phone

Address

2301 masch branch rd. ste. 201

Denton, TX 76207

Other Information

Services offered

Residential and commercial chimney cleanings, inspections, waterproofing, dampers, smoking corrected, bird & animal removal in the chimney, dryer, flashing, mortar crowns, gas logs, glass doors & fireplaces. We are also a nuisance wildlife removal company. We handle most types of nuisance wildlife including: raccoons, opossums, squirrels, rats, bats.

Services not offered

Remove dogs or cats.

Payment options

Visa
MasterCard
American Express
Discover
Check

FAQ

Master Services is currently rated 4.6 overall out of 5.

Master Services is open:

Monday: 8:00 AM - 5:00 PM

Tuesday: 8:00 AM - 5:00 PM

Wednesday: 8:00 AM - 5:00 PM

Thursday: 8:00 AM - 5:00 PM

Friday: 8:00 AM - 5:00 PM

Saturday: 9:00 AM - 5:00 PM

Master Services accepts the following forms of payment: Visa, MasterCard, American Express, Discover, Check

No, Master Services does not offer free project estimates.

No, Master Services does not offer eco-friendly accreditations.

No, Master Services does not offer a senior discount.

Yes, Master Services offers warranties.

Master Services offers the following services: Residential and commercial chimney cleanings, inspections, waterproofing, dampers, smoking corrected, bird & animal removal in the chimney, dryer, flashing, mortar crowns, gas logs, glass doors & fireplaces. We are also a nuisance wildlife removal company. We handle most types of nuisance wildlife including: raccoons, opossums, squirrels, rats, bats.

Other Local Pros In Your Area

Climate Doctors

Angi Certified

Offers Coupon

Climate Doctors

Climate Doctors is family owned & locally operated. We understand that taking care of your family is the number one priority. Climate Doctors was started to provide complete duct cleaning and energy efficient solutions to help consumer's homes have better air quality and a more efficient heating and air systems. Climate Doctors will do what it takes to do a complete cleaning & inspection of the duct work to assure unfiltered air from the attic is not entering into the home environment. Award Winning.  

Replacement of all types of residential and commercial heating and cooling equipment. Service provided on all types and brands of residential and commercial equipment. Heating, cooling and ventilating all types of commercial and industrial buildings; specializing in the design-build area.  

AD Star Services

5.0

(1)

Angi Certified

AD Star Services

AD Star Services is an independent, family-owned and operated business. Our commitment is to provide excellent service, at a great price to our customers. We have over 15 years of experience in the chimney sweeping and air duct cleaning industry. We understand that trust, quality, and customer service are essential to you and our team of experts strives to deliver on all three. Over 15 years, our company has established itself as one of the leading providers of a variety of residential services including chimney and HVAC repair, insulation services, and more. We pride ourselves on not only meeting your expectations but exceeding them. Our team of highly-trained technicians will help you find the right solution for your home service needs. We'll work with you during every step of the process, and never leave you guessing what's being done or why. And if you ever have questions about any part of our services, just ask; we're here to make sure you're always getting the best experience every time.