Find top-rated Pros in your area

Enter a zip code and get matched to businesses near you.

Garland Insulating Ltd

Founded 1948 • With Angi since May 2004

Family owned and operated. Dba: garland insulating, ltd.

Amenities

Free Estimates
Yes
Warranties
No
Senior Discount
no
Eco-Friendly Accreditations
Yes
This pro has not provided any licensing information to Angi at this time.All statements concerning insurance, licenses, and bonds are informational only, and are self-reported. Since insurance, licenses and bonds can expire and can be cancelled, homeowners should always check such information for themselves. To find more licensing information for your state, visit our Find Licensing Requirements page. Contact pro for more details.

Verified Reviews

4.9

(110) Verified Reviews

Showing 1-25 of 110 reviews
Hien N.
5.0
05/03/2018
Went well. Workers worked hard. Quality not top notch but still pretty good.
Description of Work
Foam insulated a new house
Category
insulation
Harry T.
5.0
03/31/2016
Excellent inspection and professional appearance.
Description of Work
Mike Watson arrived at the scheduled time and listened to my concerns. He did a professional inspection of the area in concern and confirmed the area was properly insulated to R30. He took pictures which he shared to confirm his findings. Another company was trying to sell us $1000+ to do what was always there. I enthusiastically recommend this company and in particular Mike Watson.
Category
insulation
Maureen M.
5.0
02/22/2016
Excellent service from Mike Watson coming to provide an estimate to Dion and Jesse performing the work. Dion and Jesse were prepared to come early, which was fine with us. Both were very professional and personable and they finished much more quickly than we anticipated. We recommend them highly.
Description of Work
Added R30 insulation to the attic.
Category
insulation
Jeffrey M.
5.0
12/23/2015
Mike Watson was the sales rep and he was prompt and attentive offering suggestions and alternatives. No long wait time, they were able to schedule within 10 days once I decided to go with them. With all they were doing for me, they thought they could be completed in 2 days and they met that time table. Clean and organized. Friends had referred me to the company and I would recommend them to my friends if they asked for a recommendation.
Description of Work
1930's home with original rock wool insulation in the attic. Garland Insulating (the Garland Insulating actually in Garland, TX) removed that insulation, sealed duct work, added R36 fiberglass insulation and sprayed radiant barrier paint in huge, tudor style gabled attic.
Category
insulation
Jim L.
5.0
11/09/2015
Great from start to finish. Mike sales rep. provided more company history, estimate & appointment info. Dione & Jesse installation reps. came early and were great. We are very pleased the busy company continues to offer wonderful services to single residences.
Description of Work
Attic Insulation
Category
insulation
Stefanie C.
5.0
04/11/2015
Overall, the process went well. Mike is the salesman who visited my home and provided the estimate. Other than a late arrival, Mike was professional and explained the impact of the insulation on the comfort of the home but could have done a better job quantifying the energy savings. During the buying decision, Mike was available for questions and followed up in a professional manner. I chose Garland because they were the most competitive on price and met the same service expectations as the other provider. The installation crew were prompt, but there was some confusion at the dispatch because I was not notified that the crew was in-route and had to adjust my schedule. Once the crew arrived, the set up quickly and installed the installation. They quick, efficient, and mindful of not making a mess. They laid plastic down and cleaned up after themselves. I'm looking forward to the added comfort of my home.
Description of Work
Garland Insulating blew 12" of insulating into the attic.
Category
insulation
April H.
5.0
01/26/2015
Mike visited my home to provide a quote for adding insulation in my attic (it is quite lacking at the moment), and doing a radiant barrier. He was very polite and professional. He was running a bit behind (about 20 mins), but he did call me to let me know, so it was no big deal (it was a rainy day and traffic was moving slower than normal so I wasn't surprised). He explained quite a bit to me about the products they use, how the process works, what my options were, etc. He took his time throughout the appointment, and was not pushy and did not try to use any 'high pressure' sales tactics. He was straightforward and provided me a verbal estimate on site, as well as a summary sent via email afterwards listing all the options we discussed and the prices. I was happy with the experience.
Description of Work
Provided estimate for adding insulation and radiant barrier.
Category
insulation
Georgia C.
5.0
11/28/2014
Mike Watson of Garland Insulating came to my home to measure my walls. He was professional and courteous. He calculated the cost of blown-in Johns Mannville white fiberglass insulation at the above quote. Then he emailed the quote to me. I signed, scanned, and returned the acceptance paper by email. Then on November 26 of this year, Pedro and Lucio arrived shortly after 8 a.m. I explained to them where the insulation was to be installed and they began to work, prepping the rooms with plastic dropcloths for the floor. I had already moved furniture from the wall area and covered everything with dropcloths. Mr. Watson arrived around 9 a.m. to check on the job. He also brought us, me included, breakfast from the local McDonald's. I was still in the process of clearing kitchen cabinets. Pedro and Lucio had begun blowing in the insulation. I think Pedro did this part and Lucio drilled 3-inch holes in the walls. All of this was done from the inside of my home and that was exactly what I had asked Mr. Watson to do. I knew there would be dust, but because the weather was nice, I opened all windows to help with air circulation. Of course, I turned off the central heat and locked the cat in the main bathroom, along with an oil-filled radiant heater for him to stay warm. We ran into a snag when the men made it to the kitchen. Originally, I had planned to remove the backsplash I had installed ten years ago but electrical outlets and all the work involved made it an impossibility. Instead, Pedro said he could blow the insulation from an opening and place it everywhere in the walls. That is exactly what he did. Lucio located the places in the sheet rock that made the opening in the walls accessible. All in all, they were done in three hours. The difference the insulation has made was immediate. There was absolutely no insulation in my exterior walls. The kitchen was always cold because it faces the north. My feet would freeze while standing at the sink. Dishes and all cooking utensils stored in the cabinets were always ice cold. Not any longer! Yahoo! I can hardly wait to see how this impacts my electricity and natural gas bill. My small walk-in closet is no longer a freezer and it is on the south side of my home. The bedrooms are warm and I can set my thermostat to 76 degrees and actually feel comfortable. Another insulating company I found on Angie's List would have charged me more than what I paid Garland Insulating and the insulation they would have installed was cellulose. Also, the other company refused to come to my home to measure my walls. Instead, the salesman and quot;estimatedand quot; the cost and it was over $200 higher. I also did not find Garland Insulating on Angie's List until AFTER I contacted Lowe's. Lowe's gave me the name of a tile man who then asked my permission to share my need with Garland Insulating. Even though I found Garland Insulating on Angie's List AFTER Lowe's helped me, I am completing the review here. Interestingly enough, when I searched for Garland Insulating later, the business popped up. I wonder why I didn't find it first here? I've lived long enough to realize that everything happens for a reason and in its time to happen. God always has His hand in when it comes to meeting my needs. May God bless Mike Watson, Pedro, Lucio, and Garland Insulating now and forever. Amen.
Description of Work
Insulated my exterior walls
Category
insulation
Sonia D.
5.0
05/23/2014
There was nothing I didn't like about them. We would use their services again if needed.
Description of Work
We used the services of Garland Insulating.
Category
insulation
Dinah F.
5.0
04/14/2014
Professional, prompt, timely, friendly. Would recommend.
Description of Work
New attic insulation for 1940s home, approx 1100 sq. ft.
Category
insulation
Michael O.
5.0
04/06/2014
This is the second time I have used Garland Insulation. The first at my house and this time at a friend's house that I am fixing up. The estimator arrived on time, made a thorough examination of the attic (it is a challenge because of two cathedral ceilings) and provided an estimate on the spot. I scheduled the work and the crew arrived early (they called me to let me know they were at the house. they had to wait on mye to arrive since I don't live in the house.). They got to work as soon as I arrived and completed their work in under two hours. They cleaned up afterwards. There performance on this job was equivalent to their performance on my house which is why I chose to use them again. When I had my house done, I got several estimates. Garland Insulation was competitive and they are considered by many to be the premier insulation contractor in the area. I know why. It isn't likely I will ever need them again but I will certainly recommend them to my friends.
Description of Work
Add insulation to attic.
Category
insulation
Dave D.
5.0
03/17/2014
Excellent installation. Quick, efficient, clean. Salesman didn't try to and quot;upselland quot;, which I appreciate. We have several rental properties and will use this again.
Description of Work
Added blown insulation in attic. Attic space approximately 1100 sq ft. This was their minimum charge. They also added a few strips of batt insulation for a vertical surface.
Category
insulation
Sonia D.
5.0
10/03/2013
They were very good and showed up when they said the would. They were very clean and there was virtually no mess. I thought they were very professional. My neighbor had used them and were pleased, so I decided to use them. Overall, I was pleased with them as well.
Description of Work
They put new insulation in my attic. My home is 3200 sq feet, single story.
Category
insulation
Abhinay A.
5.0
09/10/2013
- Only insulation service company in the city that carries Formaldehyde free JM insulation material - Sales person who came to provide an estimate was very knowledgeable. They measured correctly and gave a very good price - It took a few phone calls back and forth to get the scheduing done correctly - On the day of service, the crew arrived on time and finished their work very quickly. They were very professional and personable at the same time.
Description of Work
Add insulation in the attic (retrofit).
Category
home improvement stores
Richard L.
5.0
08/28/2013
They did a great job. I highly recommend them.
Description of Work
Foam Insulation
Category
insulation
Christi B.
1.0
08/15/2013
We have rental properties so my husband left his job to meet him at one of the houses. He explained what the problem we would like for him to look at. Mike schedule an appointment several days out. My husband showed up at the house, waited 45 minutes past the scheduled time, left him a message and never heard from him.
Description of Work
Mike Watson did not show up for the schedule appointment with my husband and he did not call to reschedule or notify he would not be there.
Category
insulation
Wendy S.
5.0
07/18/2013
They did a great job. Everything they proposed with the heating and cooling effect did happen, and in fact is better then they predicted.
Description of Work
They foamed our exterior garage and added more insulation to the main home.
Category
insulation
richard B.
5.0
07/15/2013
Fantastic service. Really prompt with the intial consult. Their represnative, Mike Watson, was terrific. Very eager to answer any questions and gave very thorough details of his reccomendations and what he would do and wouldnt do. He quickly responded to phone calls. The workers who came out were very careful and did a very good job. Mike even came back out to go over the job with me and make sure it was to our satisfaction. There were a couple of little additions that need to be done and they came back the very next day to add them. Really great service and highly reccomend them if you need insulation.
Description of Work
Blown in insulation to attic, also additional light covers, baffles, and attic covers to provide further insulation.
Category
insulation
Laura L.
1.0
06/17/2013
I was going to put hardwood floor in the second level and needed to find an insulation company to add insulation to mid floor to reduce the noise from the second floor to first floor. From Angie's list I found this company called Garland Insulating. They sent a rep. name Mike to come out and gave me an estimate and a demo. The demo kit was a bucket with insulating material they were going to use inside with a small chamber in the middle of the bucket. Then he turned on a sound generator and put in the bucket and close the lid (the lid also had the insulating material attached). I could still hear the sound but it was very weak. I was very excited to see the results. The rep told me that when they added the insulation, they will pack the spacing between the second floor and the lower level sheetrock. So I told them to go ahead to add that to my floor. Then I was told that I have to cut the holes in the first floor ceiling so they can add the insulation and patch the holes after they are done. So I had to hire a painter to do that (The cost for cutting the holes in ceiling and patch up greatly exceeds the cost of the insulation). When the worker showed up, the worker told me that he will add about 3 inch material on top of the sheetrock. I told him what the rep told me and asked him to check with his office and make sure he is doing the right thing. By the time I returned from work, the holes have been patched. When we checked the results, we were very disappointed. We did not feel the difference before and after. So I called them up and they sent out an installation supervisor. I asked the supervisor to stand in the first floor room and I went to the second floor room and walked a few steps and came down. When I asked him what he thinks, he replied:and quot; Is there any insulation up there?and quot; . After I told he what happened, he called up his boss (the insulation director) and asked me to call the boss. So I did. The director told me that she will send the rep out with here crew and make things right. When I asked her whether she is the rep's boss, she said and quot;Yesand quot;. Then it took me a few weeks to track down the rep and he said he is not going to do anything more and I need to pay him.
Description of Work
They suppose to put inculation in mid floor to reduce the noise transfer to the lower level floor.
Category
insulation
Carole T.
5.0
05/10/2013
He looked around in the attic to see what I needed. THey came when they said they would. It went like clockwork. I would recommend.
Description of Work
They added insulation in my attic.
Category
insulation
Jack D.
5.0
05/10/2013
The workers came in, began adding the insulation and asked if we had any questions. The went to work and had it completed in less than 2 hours. Once they were completed with the work they showed us what was done. Everything went like clockwork and we couldn't be happier with the results.
Description of Work
We wanted to increase the amount of insulation in our attic. We called Garland Insulating and they came out the next day to give us an estimate. They told us that the workers would be at our house on Thursday morning and sure enough, they were here ontime.
Category
insulation
Mark H.
5.0
04/25/2013
Excellent company. Sales person explained options, and reasons for each, and let us choose - no high-pressure sales, and actually made recommendations that saved money. Crew was fast and professional. Put down plastic from front door to attic access in bedroom hallway, and kept everything clean. Highly recommend.
Description of Work
Install 16 soffit vents and attic baffles, install 4 insulated pot-light covers, insulated attic with blown in insulation to R 30 (one foot added to existing old insulation). Install attic hatch insulated and zippered "tent" to seal hatch.
Category
insulation
Raymond C.
5.0
02/26/2013
I am very pleased with the work performed by Garland Insulating Houston. Jason, the sales representative, was very professional and helpful in explaining the options and answering my questions. He did not use high pressure sales pitch to sale other products. The technicians arrived on time and completed the work on schedule.
Description of Work
Attic insulation
Category
insulation
Kirk F.
5.0
01/22/2013
They did a great job. The insulated and cleaned up perfectly, avoided clogging vents, and installed to the thickness throughout
Description of Work
Great company
Category
insulation
Robert H.
5.0
07/18/2012
The crew showed up a 8:30am as promised. They put down plastic drop cloths to protect the floors and started the job. They did a great job and were in and out in about an hour. Don't forget to ask for your Angie's List discount when getting an estimate.
Description of Work
Added 8 inches of fiberglass insulation to attic.
Category
insulation

Phone

Address

PO Box 550368

Dallas, TX 75355

Service Categories

Hardware & Home Improvement Stores

Other Information

Services offered

Fiberglass insulation, cellulose insulation, foam insulation, tyvek house wrap, heatbloc-ultra radiant barrier spray & attic tents.

Payment options

Check
Visa
MasterCard
American Express
Discover

FAQ

Garland Insulating Ltd is currently rated 4.9 overall out of 5.

Garland Insulating Ltd is open:

Monday: 8:00 AM - 5:00 PM

Tuesday: 8:00 AM - 5:00 PM

Wednesday: 8:00 AM - 5:00 PM

Thursday: 8:00 AM - 5:00 PM

Friday: 8:00 AM - 5:00 PM

Garland Insulating Ltd accepts the following forms of payment: Check, Visa, MasterCard, American Express, Discover

Yes, Garland Insulating Ltd offers free project estimates.

Yes, Garland Insulating Ltd offers eco-friendly accreditations.

No, Garland Insulating Ltd does not offer a senior discount.

No, Garland Insulating Ltd does not offer warranties.

Garland Insulating Ltd offers the following services: Fiberglass insulation, cellulose insulation, foam insulation, tyvek house wrap, heatbloc-ultra radiant barrier spray & attic tents.

Other Local Pros In Your Area

Kosmos Solar

5.0

(4)

Angi Certified

Kosmos Solar

#1 Solar&Electrical Contractor. Based in Arlington, Central Texas & San Antonio, KOSMOS SOLAR specializes in catering to the energy requirements of residential as well as commercial consumers, offering them reliable, cheaper and greener energy solutions with our top notch solar panel installations. Known for our honesty and integrity coupled with top quality products and services, we are a go-to resort for people living in Arlington and other major destinations around Texas for their solar energy needs.  

Replacement of all types of residential and commercial heating and cooling equipment. Service provided on all types and brands of residential and commercial equipment. Heating, cooling and ventilating all types of commercial and industrial buildings; specializing in the design-build area.  

*Established in 2008* Efficient Home Solutions' mission as a Dallas AC - Plano AC contractor is to address your most critical heating and air conditioning concerns, which include comfort during our extreme North Texas summer and winter months, without breaking your budget. The majority of your home utility bill comes from attempting to create a comfortable climate for your family, typically 60 to 70% of your energy consumption. Whether your air conditioner and heater are working well or have seen better days, our Dallas AC - Plano AC consultants will make recommendations that can immediately save 30 to 50% off your present utility bills while increasing your level of comfort.