Find top-rated Pros in your area

Enter a zip code and get matched to businesses near you.

Advanced Foundation Repair

Founded 1891 • With Angi since September 2007

2.6

(11) Verified Reviews

Business Details

Phone Number

Address

10192 I-10 E

Converse, TX 78109

Description

The Pro-Lift foundation repair system is customizable to fit individual building needs and is backed by a lifetime transferable warranty....

Verified Reviews

A few reviews for this pro...
5.0

12/31/2016


James M.

really well. spent a lot of time in inspection and survey. explained what they were doing and what it meant. result was we did NOT need any repair

Description of Work
foundation inspection and repair if necessary

Category foundation repair

Service Provider Response

Thank you for your review, [Member Name Removed]!
1.0

12/28/2016


Paul D.

Like previous reviews below, I too had a very negative experience with Mr. Frank Check. He called me today at approximately 11:45 asking if he could come early for the appointment. I told him no since I was still at work. He sounded annoyed. I asked him if we could keep our 1pm appointment as previously scheduled. Well, I live in Austin and I got stuck in a bit of traffic and arrived at 1:05pm. My daughter, who was home, said he came about 10 minutes earlier and left since I wasn't home. He was gracious enough to leave a card. No call to me to ask if I was running late or to check in. Nothing. I tried calling him back and he didn't answer the phone. In my book, this is monumentally rude given I left work early to meet his guy. His card says he's the general manager. Think about it: if this is the level of customer service from the general manager before they even get the job, what's it going to be like when the average worker comes (or doesn't) and when they already have a portion of the down payment. Is management going to make it right? My guess is no. Considering similar negative reviews below, I'm glad this happened at this point in the process and not later on.

Description of Work
foundation repair inspection/estimate

Category foundation repair

5.0

09/08/2015


Nancy W.

Well done

Description of Work
Foundation repair

Category foundation repair

Service Provider Response

Thank you for your review, [Member Name Removed]!
1.0

03/17/2015


Daniel B.

Advanced Foundation originally came to the property on May 19, 2014 to assess the work needed. They did not begin work until September/October of 2014, and ultimately never finished the work. Roughly half the job is still needing to be finished, and the half that was done wasn't done correctly, even after multiple visits to the complex. Our last communication with them was February 25, 2015, and we are still trying to get them to come finish the job. On top of all of that, their corporate office called our property manager stating they were going to put a lien on the complex for nonpayment. Our property manager had to tell them that the work had never been finished.

Description of Work
Advanced Foundation was contracted to fix drainage and grading issues at my condo complex (I am the HOA board president).

Category foundation repair

Service Provider Response

[Member name removed], My name is Ben Marshall, and first of all, I want to apologize for not responding to your review right away. We are currently working with your property management company, Team Group Systems, to resolve the issue. Our release of the lien is currently in the mail, and Team Group Systems has stated that we may go out and perform the additional work once they have received the lien release. Hopefully we will have this resolved soon. Thank You, Benjamin S. Marshall Vice President, Structural Repair, LLC Structural Repair, LLC as General Partner for Advanced Foundation Repair, LP Work 469-341-2671 Cell 817-201-4536 5601 W. Jefferson Blvd. Dallas, TX 75211
5.0

01/15/2015


Joe T.

It went well! They do what they said they would do and got everything done in the time frame set. I highly recommend their services.

Description of Work
The provider installed piers to help the foundation of my home. They were very professional with their work and have been helpful throughout the process.

Category foundation repair

1.0

09/25/2014


Christina M.

I guess they don't actually want business. What a colossal waste of PTO to be home for this b*******. I called the vendor to confirm my appointment, they confirmed, then the time came and went and nothing happened. When I called back 2 hours later, he said he'd tried to keep the appointment. All he did was show up to my door, left a card. Didn't ring the doorbell or knock. My dogs didn't even bark, and they bark at people walking down the street, so he must have tiptoed to the door and left the card and ran away super fast. In an attempt to keep my PTO from being totally wasted, I called and begged for a revisit, but he coudln't be bothered. Don't waste your time on Mr. Frank Check.

Description of Work
Provider did absolutely nothing.

Category foundation repair

Service Provider Response

I arrived at the appointment time. Homeowner did not answer the door. Called the phone number given to the office. No answer. Left business card. She called two hours later and wanted me to come back. Told her my appointments are scheduled through the office and she would have to reschedule. She called the office and got mad at the office administrator for not having a appointment that day. Said a few choice words then hung up.
1.0

12/27/2012


Connie G.

On 11/16/2012 Mr. Check was the estimator Advanced Foundation Repair sent to see me about the latest foundation issues I was having. He made notes, took measurements, etc. When I didn't hear back from him after 2 or 3 weeks, I called his cell number to get a status/information. To this day (almost 5 weeks later) he has never called me back.

Description of Work
Foundation inspection and measurements taken on 11/16/2012 as part of warranty from initial work done in December 2007 by Advanced Foundation Repair (also listed as Advanced Pro-Lift Foundation Repair).

Category foundation repair

Service Provider Response

I have checked the elevations taken on that day. The home does not need warranty work. It needed more work. A bid was sent to her.
1.0

09/30/2011


Darrell B.

We chose the tunneling option, the most expensive, as I worked from my home and couldn't conduct business with workers tearing up my floors and requiring me to lodge elsewhere. I regret this choice, as I later realized tunneling, which I was told by the representative, would be just as effective in resolving my foundation problem as thru-floor installation, did not allow proper compaction of the dirt used to replace that which had been excavated to install the piles. The result, the clayey soil in this region settled/consolidated, basically shrunk and receded, from the foundation, causing huge voids where they had dug, within a year of completing the job. During heavy rains, water would drain into these holes, possibly over-saturating the clay, weakening it and causing further movement. The company came out once or twice under the warranty they bragged so much about and added dirt to the voids; however, it appers to have not been properly compacted, and that dirt did as the dirt did before, leaving me with the same situation a few months later. The worst part is that the portion of the house they said need not be included in the proposal, has been gradually sinking to the point that every wall is cracked and every door sticks or won't close, above that un-supported part of the home. Several foundation companies confirmed this, who had come to the home, including Advanced Foundation Repair. Advanced Foundation Repair wrote up another proposal to remedy the new problem and would you know it, had you added the piles of the new proposal to that of the original proposal, you would have had a nearly identical proposal to that of what Atlas and Du-West proposed years ago, in the first place, only this time, the combined price of what we paid Advanced Foundation Repair and what they were proposing 6 years later, approximately equaled, or possibly exceeded what Atlas would have charged us, had we gone with Atlas in the first place, inspite of watering the dirt around my home regularly, as recommended by foundation specialists. The only problem now, is that about $17,000 and 8 years later, my home has sustained more structural damage than it had before Advanced Foundation ever came to my home. I can't qualify for another loan. My wife hasn't been able to find a job for 3 years, and all we can do is helplessly watch our house split apart. We continue to pay on the loan we took out to repair the foundation in 2003. They also kept ignoring us at our request for them to come fill in the holes around where they placed their piles. I suspect that their "engineer" knowingly excluded piles in the presently sinking area, from his proposal, to get the lowest price and win the job, in 2003. To date, I've never been able to verify this "engineer" was really licensed in the State of Texas. Furthermore, it's my opinion that Advanced Foundation Repair's Warranty is worth no more than the paper it's printed on. Pay the extra money and go with Du-West, Olshan or Ram-Jack. Their shady contract is ver one-sided, offers little, if any recourse to the consumer and more importantly, requires you to sign you rights away to a civil suit, limiting you to arbitration. Word on the street is that this arbitrator is a long-time friend of the comapnies owner, and the contract requires the loser to pay all arbitration fees.

Description of Work
Representatives from Atlas and Du-West came to my home and took elevation readings, as did Advanced Foundation Repair, afterwards. The first two companies gave an almost identical scope of work in their proposal, proposing both interior piles and exterior piles. The exterior piles were proposed along the entire perimeter of the home. Atlas and Du-West put price tags on their proposals ranging from $28,000 to $36,000. Du-West, the highest, seemed outrageous, but $28,000 was a lot of money too. So when Advanced Foundation Repair gave us their proposal, their representative, who claimed to be a licensed, professional engineer, they said we didn't need all of the interior and exterior piles proposed by the other companies, showing few, if any, piles underneath the northeast sides of the house. The licensed engineer, cheaper price and product sold us. We did a "cash-out" refinancing of our home to cover the hefty expense.

Category foundation repair

1.0

05/15/2009


PATRICIA M.

We purchased a house in August 2006 with a Lifetime Warranty from Advanced. They had set 25 steel pilings in February 2004 at a cost to the previous owner of $12,825. In the spring of 2008 we contacted Advanced as there was noticeable shifting with cracks showing up. The technician came out and they subsequently submitted a bid to us to add 19 more steel pilings at a cost of $10,850. Not much of a Lifetime Warranty, in my opinion. And they did not get the job.

Description of Work
Advanced Foundation Repair gave us a bid for foundation work. We had a Lifetime Transferrable Warranty from them (we thought.)

Category foundation repair

Service Provider Response

In Feb. 2004, Advanced mare repairs to the house for a company that was buying, repairing, and reselling homes. The repairs covered approximately half of the home. In Aug. 2006, The current owner purchased the home. Advanced had no knowledge of the sale. Apparently, there was a misunderstanding between the seller and the purchaser concerning Advanced's warranty. Advanced's warranty only covers the areas worked on by Advanced. The owners wanted Advanced to repair the remaining unrepaired half of the home for free/ The written warranty clearly states that the warranty is limited to Advanced's existing work.
1.0

12/22/2008


Donna C.

We were remodeling our house and because of them we've been having to spend extra money because we couldn't move back into our house for three months. The job was supposed to be done in 7 days. We were supposed to get a lifetime transferable warranty which we have not been able to get. They won't send it. We call and call constantly and they don't return our calls, or they tell us they are going to do something and that they will get back to us but never do. They did a really bad job, even the manager came over and looked and agreed.

Description of Work
They lifted the foundation of the house and dug holes inside and outside. They disappeared for weeks with all the holes still open. They came out to tunnel under our house and replaced a line.

Category foundation repair

Service Provider Response

The work was originally scheduled to start much sooner that Apr. 17, however, at the owner's request, the work was delayed. The job started on 4/17/2008. The house was lifted on 4/23/2008 and the engineer certified the work on 4/24/2008, 1 week after the job started. Because the house was 12 inches out of level before being lifted, there was extensive plumbing damage. This was anticipated by all parties. On 4/24/08, Advanced provided the owner with a proposal for plumbing repairs. The owner rejected the proposal and another one was presented on 5/9/2008. The owner rejected the proposal and hired their own plumber. The owner informed Advanced on 5/25/08 that the plumbing repairs were complete. Advanced completed the remaining repairs on 5/27 and 5/28. In October, the owner informed Advanced that there was not enough money to pay Advanced the balance due. Advanced accepted $1,492.00 less then was owed and closed the matter. The warranty is in the contract and has been in the owner's possession since the work started. In an effort to satisfy the owner, Advanced did replace several patches. It was and is our opinion that we did a good job and kept our commitments.
2.0

09/08/2007


Eileen B.

I called to make an appointment. Very professional receptionist scheduled my appointment. Service representative came at appointed time. He took measurements inside and out, then we discussed how various parts of the house had been added at different times. He said it would be very hard to get the house completely level due to that, that if you leveled the old part, that it would cause major cosmetic damage to the new part. He said he would recommend an approach that would not completely level the house for that reason. He said he would email estimate within a day. I didn't get it. I called; they said they would send it in the mail. I still didn't get it. I was having a hard time getting a response from either the main number or rep's personal number. Finally got Mr. Check on his cell phone. He said receptionist had had a death in family and nobody else was available to answer phone or send/receive email. He said he would mail me another copy. I never got it.

Description of Work
I had numerous cracks inside and outside the house, plus doors that did not hang straight or would not stay closed. I also knew that I had a cracked foundation because we had previously had a water leak from under the living room and had to pull back the carpet and saw it. I wanted to have leveling measurements taken, get advice on what exactly was causing the crack and unlevel conditions, get advice on how to fix it, and get a price estimate.

Category mudjacking

Service Provider Response

Advanced dropped the ball and failed to live up to its standards and the customers expectations.

    Other local Pros in your area

    Masonry Arts

    We are a full-service masonry co., locally owned & operated, & do all types of masonry work from entire new houses to commercial buildings to small mortar crack repairs. No job is too small as we treat all projects equally. We place extreme importance in our service, quality of work, & happiness of every customer. We want to give each customer "more than their money's worth" at every opportunity we can. Angie's list winner of "the 2009 Super Service Award"(2 awards), "2010 Super Service Award" (5 awards), 2011 award (8 awards), 2012 award (4 awards), and 2013 award (5 awards), 2014 awards, & every year including the newest 2018 awards. Always a perfect rating on the BBB. Ambassador membership of the Texas State Historical Association. NOTICE: Due to our blessing of success from a great reputation & quality work, along with an increased number of Angie's List members in San Antonio, etc., please allow extra time in me returning calls. We can still do rush jobs, etc. it's just that at times I'm extremely busy & get very many calls all on the same day. I like to stay small enough without a huge amount of employees, to ensure hands-on quality in work & correctness & in me doing all sales calls. But I surely will return your call the first possible chance. Thanks! Bob  

    Angi Super Service Award badge
    Super Service
    Award 2021
    Alvarado's Masonry Construction & Remodeling

    Family owned and operated Alvarado's Masonry Construction & Remodeling is a full service masonry company offering superior quality craftsmanship in San Antonio & surrounding areas. Specializing in brick, stone, block, glass block, flat stone, stone veneer, indoor & outdoor fireplaces, pizza ovens, chimneys, flower feds, BBQ, grills, mail boxes, retaining walls, walkways, any type of masonry job you can think of I can do for you. I am a Registered Home Improvement Contractor & I can also help you with any home improvement project you might have in mind, indoor & outdoor. I take great pride in performing only high quality work and to help keep costs down for our customers, We do all of our work, and I am always present to work & supervise. Cost is determined by the job & to ensure both parties are protected a Contract will always be provided along with a Warranty. Either myself or my wife will answer your call. We will be happy to work around your busy schedule & will schedule an appointment on your time. Call & ask For Jose Luis BBB member with A rating!!!  

    Offers by Alvarado's Masonry Construction & Remodeling on Angi
    Hercules Foundation Repair and Remodeling

    If the foundation of your home is in need of repairs, Hercules Foundation Repair is the company to call. We will carefully analyze your foundation issues in order to come up with the best solution for the problem. Call us for a Free Evaluation. 3rd generation family owned and operated.  

    Bonded
    Insured
    All statements concerning insurance, licenses, and bonds are informational only, and are self-reported. Since insurance, licenses and bonds can expire and can be cancelled, homeowners should always check such information for themselves.To find more licensing information for your state, visit our Find Licensing Requirements page.
    General Information
    Free Estimates
    Yes
    Eco-Friendly Accreditations
    No
    Payment Options
    Check, Visa, MasterCard, Discover, Financing Available
    Senior Discount
    10%
    Warranties
    No

    Services Offered

    Foundation repairs, Chemical Injections and Drainage

    Services Not Offered

    Ask for details

    Frequently Asked Questions & Answers about Advanced Foundation Repair

    How is Advanced Foundation Repair overall rated?

    Advanced Foundation Repair is currently rated 2.6 overall out of 5.

    What days are Advanced Foundation Repair open?

    Advanced Foundation Repair is open:

    Monday: 8:00 AM - 5:00 PM

    Tuesday: 8:00 AM - 5:00 AM

    Wednesday: 8:00 AM - 5:00 AM

    Thursday: 8:00 AM - 5:00 AM

    Friday: 8:00 AM - 5:00 AM

    What payment options does Advanced Foundation Repair provide

    Advanced Foundation Repair accepts the following forms of payment: Check, Visa, MasterCard, Discover, Financing Available

    Does Advanced Foundation Repair offer free estimates?

    Yes, Advanced Foundation Repair offers free project estimates.

    Does Advanced Foundation Repair offer eco-friendly accreditations?

    No, Advanced Foundation Repair does not offer eco-friendly accreditations.

    Does Advanced Foundation Repair offer a senior discount?

    Yes, Advanced Foundation Repair offers a 10% senior discount.

    Are warranties offered by Advanced Foundation Repair?

    No, Advanced Foundation Repair does not offer warranties.

    What services does Advanced Foundation Repair offer?

    Advanced Foundation Repair offers the following services: Foundation repairs, Chemical Injections and Drainage

    Are there any services Advanced Foundation Repair does not offer?

    Ask for details