Find top-rated Pros in your area

Enter a zip code and get matched to businesses near you.

John Gause Plumbing

Founded 1992 • With Angi since April 2011

4.8

(49) Verified Reviews

Business Details

Phone Number

Address

4425 Rock Prarie Rd

College Station, TX 77845

Description

John Gause Plumbing is the Brazos valleys plumbing repair and maintenance specialists. We specialize in 24 hour services such as sewer, gas, water and back flow services.

Verified Reviews

A few reviews for this pro...
Gordan M.
1.0
07/06/2018
They did not respond to my initial request
Description of Work
Quote for plumbing
Category
plumbing, water heater repair
Bradley C.
3.0
09/11/2017
after not being able to repair the shower valve, they installed an incorrect valve for the location. It should have been a 2 way shower diverter valve instead of a regular bath/shower valve. Never worked correctly.
Description of Work
Had a 2 way shower diverter valve that was leaking.
Category
plumbing
Linda G.
5.0
10/28/2016
They did a good job, but are a little pricey.
Description of Work
They replaced my outdoor faucet.
Category
plumbing
Paul P.
5.0
09/22/2016
Excellent work! Keith was very quick arriving and performing the job. Extremely happy with service and price.
Description of Work
Replaced seals to leaking shower (both handles) and toilet fill valves for both toliets.
Category
plumbing
Charles S.
5.0
09/19/2016
Service was completed on time and to satisfaction. Friendly service and cleaned up after job.
Description of Work
Replace fixtures and repair leaks.
Category
plumbing
Doug S.
4.0
02/12/2016
This job was fairly complex and took more time than usual since other sub work was protracted. John and his crew did a good job being flexible and the work was good quality. We had a couple of hiccups along the way, but John was professional in his negotiations and finding solutions.
Description of Work
They plumbed an addition on my residence.
Category
plumbing
Judy M.
5.0
10/30/2015
This was a wonderful experience. Last night I found water bubbling up out of my meter. BTU looked at it, turned the water off, and told me I had to call a plumber. I found this provider on Angie's List and called him this morning. Even though it was sprinkling, he came out this morning, and finished the work, including digging up part of the yard, in a little over an hour. Very friendly, efficient, and courteous. My bill was only $100.00. He told me they charge only about $85/hour, and don't add fees like a lot of plumbers do.
Description of Work
Fixed a leak in my water meter.
Category
plumbing
Barry J.
5.0
09/14/2015
I noticed a damp carpet in one of the bedrooms this weekend. Being a little bit of a do-it-yourself sort of person, I checked the A/C drains and bathroom plumbing adjacent to the bedroom. I discovered water behind the commode around the water supply pipe. I gathered the tools to remove the commode and cataloged the parts I would need to repair what I thought was a leaking brass fitting. After much thought I decided to leave the job to professionals ... and am I glad I did. I called John Gause Plumbing around noon expecting to maybe get someone out the next day. Brad said he would try to fit me in today and to my surprise I got a call little more than an hour later that someone was on their way. Keith showed up shortly and in very quick fashion checked out the A/C drains much better than I did. He checked the pipe behind the commode and determined the leak was elsewhere. There was no way around it, and he had to cut some holes in the wall to check the pipes. He was very careful to cut the sheet rock so it could be easily repaired later. The leak was elusive, but he found it in short order. It was a tee high up in the wall where the A/C drained and it had a huge crack in it. Although it was a bit of a challenge to cut out and replace this 2 inch tee inside the wall, he managed to do it without having to cut a hole in both sides of the drywall. I doubt anyone likes a customer hanging over their shoulder while they work, but Keith was courteous, friendly and explained everything he was doing. He did, in one hour, what would have probably taken me about 4 days to repair. The cost was very reasonable and I suspect just a fraction of what I would have spent on the do-it-yourself route. I will definitely call John Gause Plumbing when the next repair is needed.
Description of Work
Repaired a leak in the wall
Category
plumbing
Makenzie D.
5.0
06/24/2015
It was an after hours call, but he was still there in about 15 minutes. He allowed my husband to ask as many questions as he wanted and was very helpful. When you need emergency plumbing maintenance, he's the one to call!
Description of Work
Fixed leak on water line near water main.
Category
plumbing
Sandra J.
5.0
08/26/2014
He was very accommodating in the timing on short notice and pricing. Easy to work with and did the job well. Would highly recommend.
Description of Work
Installed a garbage disposal and checked other plumbing
Category
appliance repair, plumbing
Gail M.
5.0
05/27/2014
They were real fast and came the day I called. The hot water heater was delivered by a major hardware company and this company installed it. It was good service and they also took out my old hot water heater and hauled it away. I don't know that they were the cheapest, but they were responsive. I was happy. They had to go up into the attic to make sure it was done right so the price seemed reasonable at the time.
Description of Work
I used John Gause Plumbing to put in a hot water heater.
Category
water heater repair
Jonell K.
5.0
05/03/2014
Relying on Angie's list for plumbing contractors in our area, we contacted 3 companies for bids on tankless water heaters. 1 never responded, 2 provided bids and 1, John Gause Plumbing was awarded the job. The team was prompt and provided a fast installation. We now know who our go-to plumbing company will be in the future.
Description of Work
replaced an upstairs water heater with a tankless water heater
Category
plumbing, water heater repair
David M.
5.0
04/01/2014
This is the plumber you want to call in the Bryan /College Station area. During the remodeling of my house I have used, or had contact with, three different plumbing companies and John Gause is by far the best. I used the Angie's list site to schedule an appointment and was contacted shortly afterwards to discuss the work needed and confirm the time. The plumbers arrived as promised and went to work . The quality of their work , and their knowledge of their profession, was better than the other two companies combined and their pricing was very reasonable. You cannot afford sloppy work when dealing with a gas line and this company did a top notch job. I would not even consider using anyone else after this experience.
Description of Work
Installed gas line from attic down wall to new gas cooktop.
Category
plumbing, gas leak repair
Rodney S.
5.0
03/27/2014
Overall the job went well, were able to identify the problem and repair it in a reasonable time frame, cost overall was fair, workers had a little bit of trouble but at that point Mr Gause came to job site and was able to repair problem shortly. I wish they would have picked up a little more after themselves, only had to ask one of them one time to remove his dirty shoes, after that he did it himself. All the employees were pleasant, the youngest man a hard worker had a good working knowledge about the problem, and was the lead worker on the repair. There were a few negatives but I would recommend giving them a try if you have a plumbing problem
Description of Work
Fixed hot water leak under slab.
Category
plumbing
Andrea M.
1.0
03/22/2014
I used the Angie's List app to contact this provider. I quickly received a response that yes they could come on the day I requested. I then replied back asking what time, mind you my contact number was in my first message to them. And heard nothing. On the morning of the day they said that they could come I even contacted them again. Not a darn word. Perhaps my problem was too small for them, I do not know. But I cannot recommend them. I contacted Angie's List to see if I was using the contact portion of the app incorrectly and was informed that it was designed exactly for how I used it. In the end, I found another provider.
Description of Work
Could come, did not come.
Category
plumbing

Service Provider Response

Good Morning, I am very sorry to hear that you had this issue. It is very possible this may have happened. And I deeply apologize. If the date you are referring to is Friday March 14, John had a death in the immediate family that day and also his mother had to be rushed over to the hospital. Things got very hectic that Thursday-Saturday. I am very very sorry. I will be sure to let him know and give you a to apologize. If there is anything in the future, please let us know and we can help you at a discounted rate.
Luciana B.
5.0
02/10/2014
While neither repair was an emergency and this was a small job for them, they knew it was important to me to have this taken care of quickly and they were professional throughout. I had tried unclogging the toilet myself, but for some reason this time nothing was working (plunger, wire-coat hanger, enzymes...). And I rarely use the disposal, and had been forgetting to run it every week just to keep things "loose" - so now it stuck and not turning. Again, the "do it yourself" options failed me. The phone communication was good getting things scheduled quickly (called on a Sunday and scheduled service for Monday early evening when I could be home after work). Technician was also very courteous and professional when he arrived - he was also very efficient. Removed shoes outside (was raining) and put on booties. He was careful not to drip dirty water through the house once the job was done. The cost was extremely reasonable (especially when I had gotten quotes from other companies who wanted $200 minimum just to come out and see what needed to be done). But it is how companies treat the small every-day jobs that start to build my loyalty - so I'll definitely be using them in the future for my plumbing needs.
Description of Work
Unclogged a toilet and got disposal unit working again.
Category
plumbing
Robin J.
1.0
11/22/2013
My hubby called to see about fixing a line under our house where the hot water heater connected.....he advised hubby that he was to old to crawl under houses with crawl spaces but his boys could do it for 120 an hour. Hubby cut a hole in the floor at leak site found problem called gause back & said remember me from this morning? Gause said, yep and we r all booked up. Conveniently! Didn't even listen to what he had to say! Well, sorry, mr. Gause, Angie's list is here now and I don't think you should blow off customers anymore! We were willing to pay your price--sure do hope your customer service improves....
Description of Work
Only gave an estimate! he blew off a paying customer who had done half the work himself!
Category
plumbing, water heater repair

Service Provider Response

Thanks you very much for exercising your right to review. And I am very sorry if you feel like you where treated poorly. But honestly, I do not recall receiving a call for a leak in Iola. Also this does NOT sound like something we would say to you. In addition, our rates are not $120 hour. They are $75 hr. We always strive for customer service. I am 35 years old and still very able to crawl under homes, as well as our plumbers. Not sure why i would have told you we where to old to crawl under a house. Also, our normal lead time to Iola is 1 to 2 days. Thanks again for your consideration
Kevin C.
5.0
10/31/2013
I would easily recommend John Gause Plumbing. Our house is about 20 yrs old. Our issue was sewer smell and flies in the master bath. We had researched online and tried many remedies, but none worked. When the plumber arrived, I was shocked that they removed their shoes before entering our home! That was a nice touch! I then realized that he was not alone, but had a full team with him. We all gathered in the bathroom and I fully explained the problems we were having. He explained that he would first take a look into the pipes with a camera to diagnose any blockages or broken pipes. The camera uncovered some interesting issues. The lines were covered in "debris" and "sludge" that the camera was not very efffective. His team then was able to "clean" the line with presserized water to allow the camera to better see. After the pipes were cleared from years of sludge, it was determined that our line in the slab was not installed properly and it has a "bow" in it which causes the water and sludge to stand. The pipe still had a good flow, so his team decided that it was not an issue that was in need of immediate repair. The team then returned to the bathroom and removed the cover to our shower drain, tub drain and sink drains to determin if standing water in these was the issue. They determined that all were draining porperly and sealed properly and not allowing for standing water for flies to breed. He then asked if he could remove the toliet because it was the likely source of the smell and the flies. Upon removal, it was discovered that the "flange" was cracked and was allowing seepage under the toliet. The flange was not adjusted or a new one installed peoperly when the bath was remodeled and tile was put in about 5 years ago. It seems the plumber who installed the tolied after the tile was put in simply chose to tighten the toilet without having the flange at the proper height. This caused the flange to be put under stress and eventually crack and cause release of gas and sludge under the toliet through the crack. The reason it did not leak from under toilet was because the remodeling contactor also used tile morter to seal the toliet base to the tile. The plumbing team replaced the damaged flange and installed a new flange at the proper height. The toilet was also reinstalled with new wax seals and new bolts. As a courtesy, he also changed out our water line because it was a cheaper plastic one. He recommended the metal hose connections asthey will last much longer and have a very small history of failure. Again, he replaced at no charge while explaining. After watching his service team analyse the issue and not jump to conclusions or try to sell me services I really didn't need, I asked about another issue. Our house is about 20 yrs old and believe it or not, we were still using the original water heater that wasinstalled when the house was built. I'm not a plumber, but I did know that it ws time to replace as I did not wish to return to a flooded house one day soon. John Gause team looked at the heater and again analysed. He offered two options of replacement sizes he recommended and offered very comfortable pricing. Needless to say, I now have all of my issues repaired and a brand new water heater at far less than I was expecting to pay. Thanks to the team I met, John, Brad, Keith and Spencer. Needless to say I think they really went above and beyond and I feel confident in their work.
Description of Work
He researched problem in master bath and eliminated possible issues until problem was solved. He also provided advice on other issues I was discussing with him at no additional charge. Our problem is multifacited, but he was able to correct the major issue with our toilet and drains.
Category
plumbing, water heater repair, sewer cleaning
Mark B.
5.0
10/30/2013
Bad and his wife came and did a great job. took care to not damage anything that did not have to be removed. Unloaded Cabinets that they were going to have to work in. treated my belongings with respect. That means a lot to me.
Description of Work
Brad came in and replace a water pipe that had busted in the slab. I thought we where going to have to bust up concrete but he isolated the leaking pipe and rerouted it up through the attic. Very little mess great job. And he came and did this after hour. For sure to use them again.
Category
plumbing
Jared S.
5.0
10/15/2013
Brad and Anne at John Gause Plumbing were absolutely fantastic! We called to have them check on our rent house because the water bill was sky-high. They responded quickly, saving us from another 400 gallon water bill. It would have been easy for a contractor to take advantage of us being out of town, but they were up-front and honest with us, keeping us posted at every stage of the repair, AND doing a great job. The price was incredibly reasonable considering their response time and professionalism. They came highly recommended from several happy business and residential customers, and now I see why! I'll never use anybody else, and I wouldn't hesitate to recommend them to anyone needing their services.
Description of Work
Fixed a leaking toilet, replaced the insides of another toilet, and replaced water shutoff valve.
Category
plumbing
Kris P.
5.0
10/07/2013
EXCELLENT in every way! This was my first time to use an "Angie's List" contractor and I can only HOPE all future services are as good as this one. My experience with John Gause Plumbing was exceptional...from start to finish. As an out-of-town home owner (my college-student sons occupy this home...) I usually find all repair endeavors to be more complicated because of the long-distance aspect. No so with the folks at John Gause...they made it so simple! Work was done immediately, at a reasonable price, and they communicated with me over the phone to keep me posted. Awesome service...THANK YOU.
Description of Work
Inspected damaged clean out pipes (2) for damage and repaired both.
Category
plumbing
Kurt K.
5.0
09/09/2013
The outside faucets were leaking along with the faucet in the main bathtub. We scheduled the service and they came out that day. The job took a little longer as they had a hard time finding the correct part for the bathtub faucet. It was an old system. They went out of their way and went to several supply houses to find the correct part. It was installed that day though. Its been three months now and no leaks. They did a great job.
Description of Work
Replaced outside faucets and stopped a leak from the faucet in the main bathroom.
Category
plumbing
Constance H.
4.0
07/23/2013
The only criticism was they had to order part and it took them quite awhile to finish.
Description of Work
Corrected leaks. Installed new shower heads in all bathrooms. Repainted ceiling.
Category
plumbing
Janice B.
5.0
07/01/2013
Incredibly fast and smooth.
Description of Work
Replaced heating elements in water heter
Category
plumbing, water heater repair
Susan C.
5.0
05/31/2013
Their pricing was fine. They were prompt and friendly.
Description of Work
John Gause Plumbing fixed a backed up sewer for us.
Category
sewer cleaning, drain cleaning

    Other local Pros in your area

    CAPS Sprinkler Systems

    We are committed and dedicated to every customer we serve. We offer excellent service with competitive prices and a written guaranty. Our reputation is built on honesty, integrity, product knowledge and professionalism. Give us a call! Additional email - capsirrigationllc@gmail.com  

    Angi Certified

    Offers Coupon

    Calderon Construction LLC

    Multi-generation, Family-owned and operated. Over 25 years of experience in the industry! Give us a call or click to request a quote today! Open Sundays by appointment.  

    Angi Certified

    Expo Home Improvement

    Since 2006, we've specialized in Bath and Shower Remodels, Window and Door Replacements, and Insulation for your home. As a local company, it is our pleasure to offer only the best products and solutions, because we know the heart of every Texan home, is a family. Your new home improvement project should be a great experience! So choose a trusted contractor you know you can count on! Over 20,000 Texan Families have trusted us with their home renovations. Give us a call today! M-39963  

    Angi Certified

    2022 Super Service Award

    Business Highlights

    Emergency Services OfferedEmergency Services Offered
    Insured
    All statements concerning insurance, licenses, and bonds are informational only, and are self-reported. Since insurance, licenses and bonds can expire and can be cancelled, homeowners should always check such information for themselves.To find more licensing information for your state, visit our Find Licensing Requirements page.
    General Information
    Free Estimates
    Yes
    Eco-Friendly Accreditations
    No
    Payment Options
    Visa, MasterCard, American Express, Discover, Check
    Senior Discount
    5%
    Emergency Service
    Yes
    Warranties
    Yes

    Services Offered

    Commercial & residential unclogging sewer & drain lines, gas tests , hydro jetting, garbage disposals, , grease and septic ,line location, hot water heaters ,toilets and faucets, water lines, gas line testing, line cameras, water heater repairs.

    Services Not Offered

    Ask for details

    Frequently Asked Questions & Answers about John Gause Plumbing

    How is John Gause Plumbing overall rated?

    John Gause Plumbing is currently rated 4.8 overall out of 5.

    What days are John Gause Plumbing open?

    John Gause Plumbing is open:

    Sunday: Closed

    Monday: 8:30 AM - 5:00 PM

    Tuesday: 8:30 AM - 5:00 PM

    Wednesday: 8:30 AM - 5:00 PM

    Thursday: 8:30 AM - 5:00 PM

    Friday: 8:30 AM - 5:00 PM

    Saturday: Closed

    What payment options does John Gause Plumbing provide

    John Gause Plumbing accepts the following forms of payment: Visa, MasterCard, American Express, Discover, Check

    Does John Gause Plumbing offer free estimates?

    Yes, John Gause Plumbing offers free project estimates.

    Does John Gause Plumbing offer eco-friendly accreditations?

    No, John Gause Plumbing does not offer eco-friendly accreditations.

    Does John Gause Plumbing offer a senior discount?

    Yes, John Gause Plumbing offers a 5% senior discount.

    Does John Gause Plumbing offer emergency services?

    Yes, John Gause Plumbing offers emergency services.

    Are warranties offered by John Gause Plumbing?

    Yes, John Gause Plumbing offers warranties.

    What services does John Gause Plumbing offer?

    John Gause Plumbing offers the following services: Commercial & residential unclogging sewer & drain lines, gas tests , hydro jetting, garbage disposals, , grease and septic ,line location, hot water heaters ,toilets and faucets, water lines, gas line testing, line cameras, water heater repairs.