Find top-rated Pros in your area

Enter a zip code and get matched to businesses near you.

Tucks Home Improvements

Founded 1998 • With Angi since August 2009

4.6

(92) Verified Reviews

Business Details

Phone Number

Address

3418 Harvest Dr

Cibolo, TX 78108

Description

Owner operated. Occasionally uses subs. Cost is determined by the job. No travel charges, unless job is very far from home base. No extra charge for after hours service....

Verified Reviews

A few reviews for this pro...
5.0

10/16/2021


Kevin L.

Tuck and his helper did excellent work. We hired him to finish our fireplace with shiplap and a large wood beam as well as replace a bunch of different types of light fixtures throughout our home. Additionally, he removed large mirrors from our walls, re-textured and painted where the mirrors were, reseated our front door, and removed and covered a recessed light. He is detail oriented, leaves the job site clean, and went above and beyond what we asked him to do. We will definitely call him again next time we need a hand around the house.

Description of Work
Finish fireplace (shiplap + wood beam mantel), replace light fixtures, remove large mirrors, retexture & paint drywall, realign front door hinges, hang TV on wall, remove recessed light.

Category drywall, handyman service, lighting, remodeling, interior painters

Service Provider Response

Thank you

5.0

07/14/2019


Robin L.

Mr. Tuck was an answer from Heaven. Quite seriously, he reminded me so much of the way my father worked to not just repair things, but improve them. He was very thorough and thoughtful, and he communicated through every step of the project. I will be calling him again soon for other things that need to be done around my home.

Description of Work
I needed the two support posts for my back porch replaced.

Category contractors, handyman service, deck cleaning

Service Provider Response

Thank you for your kind words.

5.0

04/18/2019


Paula C.

Second time we used Tuck, but not the last. He has replaced a wood fence, done light carpentry, paint, and has now refreshed the landscaping in our front yard. Fantastic, customer oriented handyman. If you looking for someone who does high quality work, shows up as scheduled and communicates well with customers Tuck the guy for you! I live in another state and need regular handyman service for a rental home. I need someone I can trust and depend on to take care of my handyman needs. Tuck has proven he is a person I can trust to meet that need. Look no further. Call Tuck!

Description of Work
Landscaping

Category fencing, handyman service, woodworking, house painters

5.0

02/16/2019


Paula C.

Tuck does excellent work. He completed the work in a very timely and professional manner. He had various small repairs to do around our house to include fixing blinds, a gutter, hanging a tool rack in the garage, repairing some rotten wood, and the largest job was replacing the wooden fence in the backyard. He got all of the work done quickly and did excellent work. He was always available by phone when we needed to talk with him.

Description of Work
Various home repairs and replacing wooden fence

Category fencing, handyman service, woodworking, house painters

Service Provider Response

Thank you for your kind words.

5.0

02/13/2019


Stephen L.

It went great! It involved new tile, new electric outlets, new electric fixtures, fan maintenance, new mirrors, followed by complete repainting.

Description of Work
Needed bathroom remodeling

Category ceramic tile, electrician, handyman service, lighting, remodeling, woodworking, ceiling fans, home remodeling, interior painters

5.0

11/29/2017


Judith B.

Tuck came out right away, listened to my woes, came back the next day and finished the job. I had called about 15 people to come and look at my small job. They either never showed up or never provided a bid or gave an unreasonable cost. As far as I'm concerned, Tuck is my hero, will only call on him from now on.

Description of Work
Some detail staining on fence and deck that two other contractors failed to complete.

Category decks, fencing, handyman service

3.0

11/14/2017


Louis M.

My major mistake was not asking for an estimate in writing. The oral agreement was for a certain amount but then I found out there would be additional costs.

Description of Work
I needed some boards on my home replaced and the door on my shed fixed. In addition, I needed the skirting on my shed replaced.

Category handyman service, woodworking, house painters

Service Provider Response

The home owner changed the whole job description. He had me doing other things in lieu of the original job description. The only price increase was the board that I had to specially pickup and he agreed to it before I started. I went out of my way to be helpful to this man even leaving a handful of screws for a project that he was going to do and even looking on the internet and finding the right material for him. Some people you can't please no matter what you do.

5.0

10/30/2017


Regina R.

Great job and friendly. Reasonable este and job was done perfect and finished in the time period we needed. I highly recommend Tuck for all of your home improvement needs, outside and inside, he does it all affordably and right the first time.

Description of Work
New Fence..

Category fencing, woodworking

1.0

10/12/2017


Barbara D.

Not well. He does not listen to his customers. He tried to tell me that it wasn't necessary to replace the rotten wood, that after he finished you would never know it was there. I have had to hire someone else to completely tear out what he did and repair it correctly.

Description of Work
Paint exterior and repair leaking window.

Category contractors, drywall, insulation, woodworking, house painters

Service Provider Response

First of all I wasn't hired by this lady through Angie's List. Her significant other works with my wife cutting hair and they kept on asking me to give a bid and I refused a bunch of times and finally I gave her a bid. The whole time I was there she micromanaged me. I never got to finish the job the second day she was trying to tell me how to do my job and I saw how it was going to go and so I walked so I didn't get $4,100. So this is a lie and she's had other people walk off her jobs. She totally tried to micromanage me the whole time I was there. Her significant other told my wife that she just butted heads with me that she didn't like me from the get-go. Not a very pleasant person. Please look at the rest of my reviews before you make a decision. I have never had the trouble that I had with her and have never walked off a job until this episode with her. My painters who are subcontractors walked off the job also even after she asked him to stay.

5.0

04/05/2017


Elspeth R.

Tuck was quick to give us an estimate for our project and showed up the day after to do the work. After removing the old shelving, he discovered there were multiple access holes for plumbing that we couldn't block with new shelves. But Tuck immediately had a plan for how to put in shelves and still allow access to our plumbing (he put in a series of screws so that everything was removable). I was thrilled that he was able to adapt so quickly! The work only took part of one day and it looks fabulous. It's exactly what we wanted. Really pleased with our new bathroom closet!

Description of Work
We needed shelving and a hamper taken out of a bathroom closet and then replaced with new shelving and painted.

Category woodworking

5.0

08/26/2016


Astrid W.

We couldn't be more pleased. Tuck responded back to us within just a couple of hours after we messaged him. He came out quickly to take a look at what we needed done and gave us an estimate immediately. We received two more offers from other companies but his was the most reasonable and fair. He did an outstanding job and even took our old oven/cooktop for recycling at no extra charge (other companies asked $50). He is an honest and reliable handyman that knows his business and we will definitely contact him again for future projects!

Description of Work
Cut out cabinets for a slip in gas range, remove existing drop in oven/cooktop and install gas range oven.

Category countertops, handyman service, woodworking

5.0

07/28/2016


Jacqueline L.

It was amazing. Tuck arrived on time, at 8 am, and set immediately to work. He had the entire project completed and cleaned up by noon. The AC installation was also completed in short order and was not easy as the unit had to go in a hole in the exterior wall and required brute strength in addition to carpentry skills.

Description of Work
This time we had Tuck replace the steps off our back porch. He tore out the old ones, designed and built the new ones, including picking up the lumber and supplies for the project. In the past he has also reinstalled a heavy AC unit in my studio wall, and installed beautiful shutters in our kitchen.

Category decks, handyman service, woodworking

5.0

04/28/2016


Gregory L.

After our first experience with Tuck, we felt so comfortable with his work ethic and his character that we gave him our house key, left a list of repairs, and went out of town. He worked for about a week on our list and we were very pleased with everything. He has returned to perform additional projects to prepare our house for sale. Tuck will bid a project or work hourly and we have found him to be well organized, very efficient with his time, and an excellent value. He arrives when promised (often early) and cleans up at the end of the day. My husband and I would highly recommend Tuck to any homeowner.

Description of Work
We have used Tuck Home Improvements on many occasions for almost every service listed on his ad. Tuck has repaired walls, replaced doors, fixed drywall, installed fixtures, and repaired exterior roofs, trimwork, and painting inside and out. We have yet to find a project that Tuck can't finish.

Category contractors, closet systems, drywall, fencing, handyman service, deck cleaning, woodworking, house painters, interior painters, cabinet refacing

5.0

04/21/2016


Kim H.

We are using him with our rental home, so are not at the location. He was very professional, communicative, provided photos, and overall excellent with service. We would recommend him to anyone!

Description of Work
Repair door frame; recaulked shower, general handy man work

Category handyman service, woodworking

3.0

02/08/2016


Jacquelyn C.

The provider was very responsive to the bid request and was punctual for the appointment and installation. He was also very pleasant, which made me hesitate in providing this review. He was to provide the necessary services quickly. I appreciated that he declined the tile installation, understanding that it was not within his skill set. Unfortunately, the provider cut the laminate too short for the countertop leaving a noticeable gap on one side of the countertop that he did not correct. He also pulled the countertop through a back window and drug it along stained concrete floors. This caused significant scratches in the stained concrete and on the back window sill. We paid the full amount (he did not offer a discount for his errors). We will not use this provider in the future.

Description of Work
We requested an estimate on tiling a shower and installing formica countertops. Tucks was unable to provide the tiling services, but did install laminate countertops.

Category ceramic tile, countertops, flooring contractor, woodworking

Service Provider Response

I'm really surprised at this review because I explained to the husband that the gap at the end of countertop (between wall and countertop) would be covered by the backsplash. I could not install a laminate backsplash because the husband is a do it yourself guy and the electrical boxes were way to low to install laminate boxes. I suggested a tile backsplash and he agreed that it would look a lot better. I had no choice but to bring the backsplashes in through the window because it had rained for about a week and the ground was flooded and a mud pit. Trying not to track mud into the cottage was a feat in itself. The scratches came up with a little rubbing.The only reason I did this job when it was still raining was because they were on a tight time frame.

5.0

02/03/2016


Roberto B.

Tuck did a great job. Everything turned out great.

Description of Work
Trim work around our breakfast bar. Installed light fixtures in our master bath.

Category lighting, woodworking

5.0

02/02/2016


Robert S.

Tuck is great! He was fantastic at communicating - he is quite handy with texting. He was prompt with a bid, stuck to the agreed rate, and asked lots of questions to make sure we were on the same page. When there was a tiny mishap with the dog door, he quickly resolved the issue and it works great! He also sent pictures to us when he was out shopping for materials to ensure that we were getting exactly what we wanted. All of the work he did is 1st rate and we could not be happier!

Description of Work
Tuck installed trimmed out dog door in the wall (moved an electrical outlet to do this), added a tiled bench in master shower, and installed cabinetry in our laundry room.

Category custom cabinets, ceramic tile, electrician, woodworking

5.0

01/25/2016


Roberto B.

Working with them has always been fast, courteous and very well priced for his services. I would highly recommend them.

Description of Work
Repaired Sheetrock added molding trim and painted

Category drywall, woodworking, interior painters

5.0

11/17/2015


Warren W.

I had horrible, I mean horrible wallpaper in one of the upstairs bathrooms. I thought that I would need to have the wallpaper removed and then painted. Tuck showed me that the original wallpaper had been expertly installed with no seams, overlaps, peeling or buckles. He suggested a coat of oil based primer be applied first to maintain the integrity of the water based glue underneath the original wallpaper. Once that was applied he spray painted and textured the walls. His honesty and logical approach saved me a bunch of money and headaches!

Description of Work
Bathroom remodel.

Category drywall, remodeling, wallpaper removal, home remodeling, interior painters

5.0

11/10/2015


Warren W.

Very professional. He explained everything and finished on schedule.

Description of Work
Rebuilt rotting upper balcony/deck and stairs.

Category contractors, decks, wallpaper removal, deck cleaning, woodworking

5.0

10/29/2015


Suzanne H.

I am thrilled!!!!!!!!!!!!! Tuck replied to me within an hour of me contacting him on Angie's List; that right there is more than I can say for 3 other service providers that I contacted--they never responded. Tuck came out the very next day to take a look at the job and give me a bid. The previous tile installer had to be fired in mid-job due to complete lack of skill and Tuck said he could fix the mess that had been made and would finish the job. I was so relieved to find someone who I could trust to do the job. He told me exactly what he would do and how long it would take to finish the job--just 2 days which was fantastic. He was prompt, clean and polite and friendly!! I highly recommend Tuck to do tile; I am also getting a bid from him on replacing some rotted wood on our front porch. Thank you so much for making our fireplace a beautiful part of our home!!

Description of Work
replaced fireplace tile surround with ledge stone and tile on hearth

Category contractors, ceramic tile, woodworking

4.0

10/07/2015


John A.

Tucks did install the ceiling fans very promptly at a fair price. I asked him about installing some built ins and he stated that he would get back to me with a price but he never got back in touch with me.

Description of Work
Installed Ceiling fans

Category electrician, woodworking, ceiling fans

1.0

07/24/2015


Michael S.

First time I contacted Tuck, he forgot the date so when he had to reschedule. We he first went out he did a survey of the job. He called me back to tell me how much it would cost and I did not think it would be more than $150 for the work that was required. He quoted me $310. I told him on the phone that I didn't think that was a good price but I needed to get the wall fixed for my tenants so I accepted. He went out to do the work on 7/10/2015 but did not mention to me that he had started nor when he finished the job. I was greeted with a text asking for his money. I responded back "Did you finish the job?" At the time I was out of town in Florida and luckily I had my check book to send him his payment. During the vacation, Tuck called me asking when I was sending the check to which I told him it was already sent and that he should expect it sometime the next week. I also told him that I was out of town so the check may not get to him as fast as he hoped. I received a text a couple days later from him stating that he still had not received the check and asked if I actually sent the payment. I sent him a long text telling him that I did not appreciate him thinking I would not pay him when I specifically told him that I had already sent the check to him from out of town. He apologized but I do not think I will be doing business with him again in the future. My tenants told me and I quote "Shoot if I would have known he was going to charge that much I could have done it if you would have just gotten me the supplies. I've patched drywall before and I know how to use a caulking gun." So to me this job was not worth the $310 he received. I have requested a receipt for the work 3 times and still have not received it. He stated on July 24th that I would get one July 27th. It is now August 4th and have not received anything, not even a reply back. Update: My tenants have stated that the window is again leaking. They also mentioned that he told them he was not getting paid to find the leak. Only to patch the damage to the window. This individual still has not sent me a reciept for the work. This is money out of my pocket that could have been saved for the lack of quality work performed. Update again: here is a link to the pictures of the so called work that was done and texts from my tenants. I want my money back because the company did not do a good job of fixing the issue I requested. https://www.dropbox.com/sh/mbz0wcls9g132ow/AABnIIk0SIIeKG6cCiRNrs5ra?dl=0

Description of Work
Caulked outside window frame, patched drywall, textured and painted the wall.

Category drywall, handyman service, replacement windows, woodworking, interior painters

Service Provider Response

This customer is perplexing to me. I gave him a price for the work to be done. I did the work as he told me. He asked me to get in touch with tenant and make arrangements with him. I did so and did the work. I texted the client and asked for payment. He replied " did you do the work"? I told him I had and received no response from him. Since he lives in the same community as I do, I thought the check should arrive in two or three days. It did not. I asked if he had sent the check, not knowing he was out of town in Florida. He became indigent that I would question him. If I would have known he was out of town would have given more time for check to arrive before I questioned him. I did not know if we needed to question post office about the whereabouts of said check. He has made a huge issue about the price I charged, he should not have accepted my bid. His resolution to this complaint is a total refund. It seems to me it has always been about the money. If he would have come to me in a civil manner I would have done all I could to make him a happy customer. He has burnt that bridge. Shalom.

5.0

05/18/2015


gladys C.

He came right out since he's not very far from where I live. It didn't take him very long at all. I was very pleased with the work he did.

Description of Work
He took off the shower head put a diverter on it and installed a hand wand on one.

Category handyman service

4.0

05/05/2015


Mitch W.

It went good. He is a good guy. He fixed my armoire door & fixed computer table.

Description of Work
Fix armoire door & fixed computer table.

Category handyman service

    Other local Pros in your area

    NK Electric, LLC

     

    Texas Professional Tile

     

    S&M Services

    We specialize in pressure washing driveways, sidewalks, fences, decks and more. We are a start-up, veteran owned and operated business by two brothers. We have several years experience and provide quality work and guaranteed satisfaction for our customers.  

    Business Highlights

    Emergency Services OfferedEmergency Services Offered
    All statements concerning insurance, licenses, and bonds are informational only, and are self-reported. Since insurance, licenses and bonds can expire and can be cancelled, homeowners should always check such information for themselves.To find more licensing information for your state, visit our Find Licensing Requirements page.
    General Information
    Free Estimates
    Yes
    Eco-Friendly Accreditations
    No
    Payment Options
    Check
    Senior Discount
    No
    Emergency Service
    Yes
    Warranties
    Yes

    Services Offered

    Remodeling, home improvement & repair. cabinets, inside & outside trim, siding, decks, wood & laminate flooring, tile, laminate countertops, ceiling fans & lights and electric fixtures. faucets, shower fixtures, and replacing toilets. sheetrock, tape & floating, painting & staining.

    Services Not Offered

    Ask for details

    Frequently Asked Questions & Answers about Tucks Home Improvements

    How is Tucks Home Improvements overall rated?

    Tucks Home Improvements is currently rated 4.6 overall out of 5.

    What days are Tucks Home Improvements open?

    Tucks Home Improvements is open:

    Monday: 8:00 AM - 4:00 PM

    Tuesday: 8:00 AM - 4:00 PM

    Wednesday: 8:00 AM - 4:00 PM

    Thursday: 8:00 AM - 4:00 PM

    Friday: 8:00 AM - 4:00 PM

    What payment options does Tucks Home Improvements provide

    Tucks Home Improvements accepts the following forms of payment: Check

    Does Tucks Home Improvements offer free estimates?

    Yes, Tucks Home Improvements offers free project estimates.

    Does Tucks Home Improvements offer eco-friendly accreditations?

    No, Tucks Home Improvements does not offer eco-friendly accreditations.

    Does Tucks Home Improvements offer a senior discount?

    No, Tucks Home Improvements does not offer a senior discount.

    Does Tucks Home Improvements offer emergency services?

    Yes, Tucks Home Improvements offers emergency services.

    Are warranties offered by Tucks Home Improvements?

    Yes, Tucks Home Improvements offers warranties.

    What services does Tucks Home Improvements offer?

    Tucks Home Improvements offers the following services: Remodeling, home improvement & repair. cabinets, inside & outside trim, siding, decks, wood & laminate flooring, tile, laminate countertops, ceiling fans & lights and electric fixtures. faucets, shower fixtures, and replacing toilets. sheetrock, tape & floating, painting & staining.