Find top-rated Pros in your area

Enter a zip code and get matched to businesses near you.

North By Northwest Lawns

With Angi since April 2012

4.4

(131) Verified Reviews

Business Details

Phone Number

Address

807 Cedar Park Dr

Cedar Park, TX 78613

Description

No description has been provided for this pro.

Verified Reviews

A few reviews for this pro...
Pierre N.
3.0
10/30/2018
installation estimate was supposed to be 2-3 hours, they worked for 3 hours 15 minutes. The installation estimate was (labor rate)x(2-3 hours) + parts. The estimate did not disclose if 2 technicians are sent instead of 1 without my knowledge, I essentially had to pay the labor of 2 technicians. what was supposed to cost (labor) X 2-3 hours turned to (labor) x 5 hours. I was charged an additional 2 hours labor. I can't speak of quality of work or technician professionalism, I was not at home nor can I judge their work, it is outside my expertise.
Description of Work
raccio flow meter installation
Category
irrigation systems

Service Provider Response

The estimated time for the rachio upgrade was given over the phone site unseen. The flow meter is needed to be installed before the master valve and your master valve was to close to the irrigation backflow and so it had to moved downstream to allow the space for the Rachio Flow Meter. This involves digging up a much larger area, cutting pipe, and moving wire's, not a simple task. As for the tech's, we had two tech's arrive at your property as they were coming off a much larger repair, and since you contacted the office 2 - 3 times within 4 hours the morning of the service, we pushed your Work order to the front as we are trying to accommodate your request as much as possible. Long story short, irrigation repairs are not straight forward, there is no telling what other issues you will run into until someone starts digging. We do our best to estimate how much time is going to be needed and sometimes we are right on the dot but there are times where circumstances will take additional labor, a factor that we can not control.
Matthew B.
5.0
07/16/2018
It went great. They got the work done as requested and in a timely matter. Everyone was really nice to work with. They were also significantly cheaper than other providers. None the less, I felt like the quality was on par.
Description of Work
Installed Sprinkler System
Category
irrigation systems
Cindy M.
5.0
01/09/2017
Perfect, plants and sod were good quality. Easy to work with them.
Description of Work
Re sod yard and additional landscaping after installation of swimming pool.
Category
landscaping, lawn service
Ruben G.
5.0
05/06/2016
Workers went about doing their jobs with quality
Description of Work
Good job went their way to add additional services/products that I have asked
Category
decks
Joe B.
4.0
01/06/2016
Very pleased that the service has been delivered as promised and expected.
Description of Work
lawn / landscaping service per agreement.
Category
landscaping, lawn service
kyle K.
5.0
12/24/2015
Quote process was smooth and on time. Work done as hired and at agreed price. Work done on time. Cleaned up after themselves. Would hire again for landscape install and irrigation.
Description of Work
Installed new landscaping, rerouted and installed new irrigation. Worked with me on trees and shrubs to use, allowed me to order some at a savings myself and did good install. Service done as priced and on time.
Category
landscaping, lawn service, irrigation systems, mulch, tree service
Thomas S.
5.0
12/17/2015
Beautiful job, very pleased, they did the work in a timely fashion.
Description of Work
Installed flower beds along a 65' fence.
Category
landscaping, lawn service
Mark M.
2.0
10/29/2015
not well, first time that we had setup they couldn't find my address on the map tool they were using, instead of calling to get directions or let me know just a no show. the 2nd time he showed up late and only seemed to be interested in the hot girl he saw on the way over.
Description of Work
provided drawing for changes to back yard
Category
lawn service
John M S.
4.0
02/19/2015
It was acceptable. It was not detailed enough. It was very general. I expected a more professional design and not just a sketch.
Description of Work
I used North By Northwest Lawns for an estimate.
Category
landscaping
John J.
5.0
01/29/2015
They came out to give us conceptual ideas for our landscaping, which was what the Big Deal was for. They were not actually able to do the work because of scheduling issues, but we did like and use the ideas they gave us.
Description of Work
$49 Landscaping Evaluation and Plans
Category
landscaping
Chris P.
4.0
01/07/2015
The provider was on-time but there was confusion as to how many people were to do the job. The work was adequate.
Description of Work
Hedge trimming, general yard cleanup.
Category
lawn service
kat C.
5.0
11/05/2014
We had a great experience with NXNW Lawns! Jordan, Tiffany, and Jay were all great to work with. Project came out better than I had envisioned, on time, and on budget. They worked with us to meet our pricing, and afterwards when we had a decomposed granite washout, and when a couple of plants did not make it. I would highly recommend them to anyone!
Description of Work
Cleared front yard of all foliage. Designed a xeriscape. Installed and maintained xeriscape.
Category
landscaping, lawn service
John M.
1.0
10/23/2014
Purchased coupon, 4 hours for $135. Finally asked for a refund when they wanted to postpone SCHEDULING estimate another week, which would have been a month just to schedule. After Angie's List contacted them, N X NW did call and were rude on the phone basically telling me my job was too small. They told me their hourly rate per worker was $35*, so the coupon was worth $5 ! Now they are offering the same four hours for $200 BUYER BEWARE * "For additional labor we charge $35/man hours."
Description of Work
Nothing, spent three weeks trying to get an estimate SCHEDULED and phone calls returned.
Category
lawn service
Joseph H.
5.0
10/19/2014
Good process, I just misunderstood the service to be lawn care when it was instead for landscaping labor.
Description of Work
.
Category
landscaping, lawn service
Nick H.
4.0
10/02/2014
There was some mis-communication but the provider addressed the issue with out a problem. I had to be persistent about getting information before I agreed to use them for the job but once I agreed they were punctual and professional. They made recommendations that were appreciated and added to the quality of the work. I would use them again.
Description of Work
I had the median strip replaced with river rock and I had two paths created using pavers.
Category
landscaping, lawn service, hardscaping
Debbie F.
5.0
10/01/2014
Overall, I was very pleased with the work performed. They were responsive and professional. The owner actually came out and 'fixed' some areas that the workers didn't clean up very well. I found all their employees courteous and hard workers. My opinion of the poor reviews is that the company is possibly going thru growing pains. The work that they did for us was great and we love it. We are working with them now on a continued maintenance contract.
Description of Work
I used the Angies List offer for general winter cleanup and spring readiness. Once they were here, I decided to have additional work done. They installed 2 flagstone walkways in back yard with decomposed granite sealed for erosion. They cleared all beds and installed decorative river rock in front beds. Arizona river rock was installed in backyard where we have a horrible run off problem.
Category
landscaping, lawn service, masonry, hardscaping
Mary H.
5.0
09/28/2014
The date of the landscaping had to be rescheduled due to rains. However, they came on the revised date and did an absolutely awesome job. They removed the old landscaping in record time. The new landscaping was planted and looks awesome. They laid the first load of rock and when they began to lay down the second load the supervisor noticed the rock, although the same name as the first load, was not the same color. He had the workers take up the second load of rock. The remaining loads of rock exactly matched the first load. They estimated the job would take two days. But, even with the issue with the rocks, they completed the job in a day and a half. We have had numerous compliments on our yard and it is, by far, the best looking yard in the neighborhood. The office staff was friendly. They could use some more experience with customer service but I am sure that will come in time.
Description of Work
North by Northwest Landscaping designed a Xeriscape for our front yard. The design worked really well with the plants we wanted to keep. They also did all the landscaping work from taking out the items in the yard that were not wanted to planting the grass and plants.
Category
landscaping, lawn service, hardscaping
Diana A.
5.0
09/25/2014
They do this bi weekly. I can always depend on someone always answering my questions. They care and offer good options for your lawn. Everyone is professional I highly recommend this Lawn Service
Description of Work
Cut lawn, trimmed bushes, blowed leaves cleaned lawn
Category
lawn service
Thomas B.
3.0
09/25/2014
Design: Pretty good. However, one of the design elements created a trip hazard that involved spikey rocks. Retaining Wall: excellent Front Yard: It became apparent that the crews were taking longer than NXNW had projected and that they were under serious pressure to complete the task. In the yard crews haste, they removed the protective plywood sheets that they had laid down to drive their heavy equipment to the back yard for the Xeriscaping. But, since there was continued need for that piece of equipment in the back, the crews drove the unit over the established grass of the front yard. This created many lumps in an area of the yard that had not been involved in the contracted work. The machine also made several holes in the turf (zoysia). As of this writing, the yard damage remains though not as severe as it was in April. Increased cost: The owner realized that his designer had underestimated the cost of the large flagstone rocks used to form a path for the back yard design after the contract was signed. He asked me to pick up to the increased cost ($1,200) and I agreed to cover half of it. The owner and his designer visited the property after the work had been finished and had a good opportunity to see the damage done to the no-contract area of the front yard. I am uncomfortable submitting unfavorable reviews but have done so now because I received an email request for a review from the contractor.
Description of Work
- Designed and Xeriscaped back yard. - Built low retaining wall for front edge of yard - Elevated front quarter of yard to meet the new elevation established by retaining wall
Category
lawn service
Padmanabham A.
4.0
09/10/2014
It was an Angie's List Big Deal that I purchased. It was okay but not great. I used somebody else to do the job. The design was not what I liked nor the cost. They didn't do much.
Description of Work
They did a landscape design.
Category
landscaping

Service Provider Response

We apologize that NXNWL made you feel that we did less than an A+ job. Due to the high volume of Big Deal sales during that time it caused us to have schedule delays with the landscape drawings. Although there are no comments provided we do appreciate the feedback. We are always trying to improve the way we do business to keep all our past and future customers happy.
Jeffrey H.
5.0
08/28/2014
It was fine. They got the plans back to us in about one week. They were fine to work with and the scheduling was pretty easy and they came out quickly after I called them.
Description of Work
It was Big Deal for $49 landscaping evaluation and plans. They gave us plans for regular landscaping.
Category
landscaping

Service Provider Response

We are pleased that you were satisfied with the work NXNWL provided for you and the feedback as we take these into consideration.
Cliff S.
1.0
08/11/2014
After purchase of the 4 hour package I was informed that services were at least 2 weeks out. No specific date was given and no solution provided. North by Northwest has been unimpressive and my new Angie's List membership has lead me to a bad service provider. I'll cough this one up to bad luck after I get my refund from North by Northwest. I ignored the previous negative reviews of this company, I hope future prospective customers read and learn from others mistakes.
Description of Work
I purchased the 4 hour package for $135. No services were rendered.
Category
lawn service

Service Provider Response

[Member Name Removed], We apologize that there was scheduling delays in the beginning but overall after completing the job I hope that you were pleased with the work we provided for you. NNXWL Mgmt
Thura H.
5.0
08/11/2014
Jordan came out to do the consultation and design. We walked through my yard and I explained some of the challenges I was having with it as well as some of the work that I wanted to have completed. We discussed the different options that I had. He took the information I provided and created a drawing of the proposed changes that we went back and forth a few times over email till it was good. He then go a quote created for the proposal over to me. I was please with the service provided and Jordan was very professional and helpful in providing information about all my different options. I did have them actually complete the work. I will review that separately.
Description of Work
Came out and talked about landscaping goals. Put together drawing and design for work to be completed.
Category
landscaping, lawn service

Service Provider Response

[member name removed] We are glad that you were pleased with the overall consultation with us and hope that you were pleased with the work that was completed for you! -NXNWL mgmt
Wendy K.
2.0
08/06/2014
It took over a month to get an appointment to get someone to come to my house and over two months to get my yard plan back. They were just to busy to want to do my job. After my plan was emailed to me there was a quick revision done then no follow through on giving me any pricing or a time frame to do my job. I got the feeling they just didn't care if they got to landscape my yard because like I said after I was emailed the plan there was no communication after that. I was very disappointed.
Description of Work
Gave us a landscape plan of what to do to our yard.
Category
landscaping

Service Provider Response

We did have a long delay returning landscape drawings to those who purchased the $49 Big Deal during that time period due to the high volume that was sold. NXNWL has been diligently working hard to fix these issues and are thankful for your feedback so we can continue to better ourselves.
Rangarajan C.
1.0
08/04/2014
See above. I think it went dismally.
Description of Work
He came and looked at my yard perfunctorily. I expected him to come up with a landscaping plan. Despite several reminders he did not. This in spite of the fact that I gave him a plan to work off of, which came from a landscaper I had engaged fro the same purpose. I think this was highly unprofessional.
Category
landscaping, lawn service

Service Provider Response

We apologize that NXNWL did not provide a landscape drawing to you as promised during that time period. Due to the high volume of sales for the Big Deal promotion going on at that time we were behind on returning drawings to customers. We appreciate your feedback as we always trying to improve ourselves.

    Other local Pros in your area

    Tree Deep

    We have the experience and dedication to bring your dreams to reality! We guarantee your satisfaction, and we won’t leave until the job is done right. Our team has quality experience in this industry, and we make sure our customers are happy before we leave. Call or click to schedule an estimate today!  

    Angi Certified

    Hometown Decking & Decorative Concrete

    Angie's List Super Service Award several years running! At Hometown Decking & Decorative Concrete our goal is to provide you an awesome outdoor entertaining or personal area. We provide free estimates and planning sessions. We have a long list of references and would love the opportunity to come out and help find something for you. Locally owned & operated.  

    Angi Certified

    Marling's Home and Exteriors

    At Marling's Home And Exteriors we strive to provide our customers with an unforgettable experience by providing you with exceptional customer service and a quality finished product! Marling's Home And Exteriors focuses on keeping up with the latest methods of a true quality build that will outlast the competition! our services include General contracting, deck building, new construction/ remodel framing, siding installation, patio covers, pergolas, gazebos, outdoor kitchens , and much more! We take the extra steps that most builders do not to provide you with the highest quality builds!  

    Angi Certified

    Insured
    All statements concerning insurance, licenses, and bonds are informational only, and are self-reported. Since insurance, licenses and bonds can expire and can be cancelled, homeowners should always check such information for themselves.To find more licensing information for your state, visit our Find Licensing Requirements page.
    General Information
    Free Estimates
    Yes
    Eco-Friendly Accreditations
    No
    Payment Options
    Check, Visa, MasterCard, American Express, Discover
    Warranties
    Yes

    Services Offered

    Services Not Offered

    Ask for details

    Frequently Asked Questions & Answers about North By Northwest Lawns

    How is North By Northwest Lawns overall rated?

    North By Northwest Lawns is currently rated 4.4 overall out of 5.

    What days are North By Northwest Lawns open?

    North By Northwest Lawns is open:

    Sunday: Closed

    Monday: 7:00 AM - 5:00 PM

    Tuesday: 7:00 AM - 5:00 PM

    Wednesday: 7:00 AM - 5:00 PM

    Thursday: 7:00 AM - 5:00 PM

    Friday: 7:00 AM - 5:00 PM

    Saturday: Closed

    What payment options does North By Northwest Lawns provide

    North By Northwest Lawns accepts the following forms of payment: Check, Visa, MasterCard, American Express, Discover

    Does North By Northwest Lawns offer free estimates?

    Yes, North By Northwest Lawns offers free project estimates.

    Does North By Northwest Lawns offer eco-friendly accreditations?

    No, North By Northwest Lawns does not offer eco-friendly accreditations.

    Are warranties offered by North By Northwest Lawns?

    Yes, North By Northwest Lawns offers warranties.