Find top-rated Pros in your area

Enter a zip code and get matched to businesses near you.

Perkins Inc. - The Energy Conservation Company

Founded 1978 • With Angi since October 2009

Perkins Inc. specializes in energy saving and comfort assessments and upgrades including, home weatherization, duct leak sealing, replacement windows, insulation removal, and we install multiple types of insulation for existing residential homes in the Dallas Metroplex. From complete attic insulation removal and attic renovation jobs to just simply increasing the amount of insulation in your home. We are insulation, window replacement and comfort experts here to help you with any size energy conservation or insulation project you have. Perkins Inc. stands behind our products, service and customer satisfaction. Our customers, our neighbors and our friends have fueled our growth with their referrals and testimonies to others. We have built our business the old fashioned way-we earned it. We have accomplished this one customer at a time by providing them with the expertise they need and the service they want.

Verified Reviews

4.8

(20) Verified Reviews

Showing 1-20 of 20 reviews
Jeffrey M.
3.0
12/23/2015
My issue with this company is they are slow to return calls or require multiple call backs or emails to get the one response you need. To his credit, Scott told me he spends most of his time in attics and is not always easily available. I had to pursue getting my quote as he did not send it after a week and when I had questions about it, he responded once, but when I had a few more questions, he never responded by phone or email. Therefore, i gave up and went with Garland Insulating, in Garland, TX and was very pleased with their work. Ironically, if I had ever been called back on my last set of questions, I probably would have given my business to Perkins.
Description of Work
Scott Perkins visited my home for an inspection of my attic insulation and listened as I explained my thoughts on various options which I had already researched and then provided his opinion and recommendation . He was quite friendly and seemed knowledgeable about the options.
Category
insulation
Christy G.
5.0
11/12/2015
unknown
Description of Work
He did an excellent job in our small old attic, and removed 50 years of old insulation. My father-in-lawn went up and looked, and everything is now perfect! His pricing was the best. He's been great so far, and I'd be willing to recommend him any time
Category
insulation
David B.
5.0
08/22/2015
My attic was filled with very old rock wool insulation which had degraded and was causing a terrible dust problem in my house. They removed all the old insulation and sealed, sanitized, and deodorized the attic floor. They then installed 20 inches of blown fiberglass insulation. They did a great job and I am waiting for a bid from them to replace my windows.
Description of Work
Removed and replaced attic insulation
Category
insulation, replacement windows
Elizabeth W.
1.0
08/14/2015
Sent message to Perkins on 8/7 via Angie's List explaining I wanted them to call me about setting up an appointment for an estimate. They never responded so I called and left a detailed message on 8/10 that I wanted to get an estimation for the removal of old insulation and installation of new insulation. Have never heard from them. I have contacted another vendor for an estimate.
Description of Work
Never responded
Category
insulation
clark F.
5.0
04/17/2015
The home we purchased had a mix of rock wool with fiberglass insulation added over it. The rock wool insulation had degraded to the point of causing excessive dust in the home due to the lack of air sealing. Also, there was old raccoon and rat feces leftover from prior to the previous owners replacing the roof. The old roof replaced was wood shake, so there was a lot of chunks of wood left laying about the attic after the demo of the old roof. I found Scott's company on Angie's list and he responded quickly to a request for a quote for insulation replacement. He did not charge for the inspection and after crawling up in the attic and measuring, he gave me a quote that did not change at final billing. Scott was very receptive of what I wanted and gave sound advice on how to accomplish my goals. He was punctual and professional throughout the process. The amount of insulation and debris they pulled out was considerable, and when he left everything was as clean as when he started. I feel confident in recommending Scott's services to all those I know.
Description of Work
Removed old insulation and debris. Air sealed attic floor. Sanitized and Deodorized attic. Installed covers over non IC rated recessed lighting fixtures. Installed batt insulation on knee w Installed new blown in insulation and baffles.
Category
insulation, energy audit
Margaret B.
3.0
04/15/2015
I called to ask about having an assessment done of my home. When they called me back, they explained that the computer they used to perform this assessment was out for repair and they would call me about a week later when it was back. That was about 2 months ago and I have never heard back from them. They may provide a great service - but I have no idea.
Description of Work
I never heard back
Category
insulation
Tim K.
1.0
04/01/2015
Called and scheduled the appointment, earliest he had was a week away. The day of the appointment he never showed up or never called. I called him and he said he got busy and totally forgot me. Said he could be here in an hour, after I had been waiting all morning. Will be a cold day in h*** before I would use this so called companuy
Description of Work
Quote for insullation
Category
insulation
Debbie S.
5.0
03/11/2015
unknown
Description of Work
Free consultation. Reviewed our concerns and advised against using service based on need. Need was not evident at this time. I really appreciated the integrity and honesty in the consultation. When we do need this service, we will seek out this company again.
Category
insulation
Howard M.
5.0
02/24/2015
It went very well. He was very prompt. He left the area clean when they were done. I would tell a friend that they were very upfront and did not try and up sell me on anything.
Description of Work
They came to put insulation and thermal pent covers in the attic.
Category
insulation
GEORGE R.
5.0
12/18/2014
unknown
Category
insulation
Dirk W.
5.0
08/18/2014
I had spent a lot of time researching insulation upgrades for my attic and had several companies out to provide estimates. I was looking to have my old insulation removed and possibly have spray foam or blown-in insulation re-installed. Scott promptly returned my initial call to schedule a time that we could meet at my home, which with his busy schedule was only a day or two. Scott showed up on time and even called to let me know when he was on his way. Scott spent more time in my attic measuring and inspecting the current condition than all the other contractors combined (6-7). He was very knowledgeable and spent the time to discuss what he had found and the different options available for my particular situation. He listened to my concerns and to what I wanted to achieve with this project, the important thing was that he did not try and talk me into something that I did not need or something that was not necessary. He was very prompt in emailing his estimate that included a list of all the services and pricing (for my home) that they provide. This allowed me to pick and choose the options that I wanted and could see the differences in price. Scott and his crew arrived early and on time the scheduled morning, they were all very friendly and courteous. They covered their work area outside with plastic before they began to setup their machines. They worked all day in the attic removing old batt and blown-in insulation and old construction debris that were left from the building of the house and hauled them off. I was really impressed with the way that the clean out went, I inspected their work at the end of the day and all insulation, debris and dust were gone. At the end of the day they cleaned up anything that happened to escape their vacuum bags and you could not even tell they had been there. Scott also showed me a few things that he found after everything was removed that could not been seen with the insulation in place, such as the air conditioner coolant line was missing foam in a few sections causing condensation to pool and a couple of dead rodents and where they possibly had accessed the attic. I was able to address these issues so that I would not have further problems later. Scott and his guys arrived a few days later as scheduled to complete the job. They arrived again on time and called prior to let me know they were on their way. Just as the time before, they were friendly, courteous and very professional and got right to work. They spent several hours air sealing with foam can lights, in-ceiling speakers, vent pipes, around a/c vents and any hole that they could find. They placed measuring sticks throughout the attic and blew in insulation to the agreed upon depth that we had discussed. They then as before cleaned up anything that had got on the ground and you could not tell that they had been there. The noise level from road noise, wind and even my A/C was greatly reduced and the comfort level is much more improved. After a few days I have already noticed my A/C is running a lot less and less often and it is a much more comfortable environment. I would absolutely recommend Perkins, Inc. to anyone.
Description of Work
Old attic Insulation removal, air seal attic floor and blown-in insulation installed in attic.
Category
insulation, energy audit
Stephen S.
5.0
08/11/2014
Scott was one of 2 other contractors I contacted. He was the only one that climbed through the attic to look at what the job required. The other 2 contractors only stood where the attic stairs was and shine a light around. One contractor said to just spray new insulation over the old. The other never sent a quote for the work. We have had problems with rats in the attic so I knew all the old needed to go. Scott arrived on the day he said they would do the work and stayed late to get it all cleaned out on a Friday. They came back on Monday and spent all day sealing and sanitizing the attic and exposed duct work and then sprayed in 15" of fiberglass insulation. They worked through the garage access hatch and never had to enter the house for access. They cleaned up everything that dropped into the garage and also sealed around the attic access in the house. They were professional and provide several options on their estimate for the work for varying depths of insulation and the additional sealing, sanitizing were priced out. They were great to work with and didn't have a problem working in the hot temperatures in the attic. Would definitely use them again.
Description of Work
Removed old insulation, cleaned attic, sealed air gaps and install 15" of new blown fiberglass insulation.
Category
insulation, energy audit
Ann T.
5.0
07/23/2014
They're clean and fast. I like them. They did excellent job. The attic was very clean. You can smell fresh air. He's very efficient. When they go to my house they make sure everything sealed and makes sure they don't step on my carpet. The workers are very professional. The owner worked with them. I recommend them to anyone. If I have another house I would definitely use them.
Description of Work
I used Perkins Inc. - The Energy Conservation Company for insulation and sprayed and cleaned the attic as well. They cleaned everything. They removed the installation from my garage and they even cleaned my garage.
Category
insulation
William D.
5.0
03/14/2014
Scott Perkins was knowledgeable, professional, on-time, and willing to do whatever it took to make sure we were satisfied with the end product. They protected the interior of our home from damage with plenty of plastic lining on the floors and walls from the entry up into the attic. They use high quality material and made sure to keep us up-to-date on progress and timeline for completion. Scott informed us of a badly installed bathroom attic vent duct so that we could contact our contractor and get it fixed before Scott blew in the new insulation. He is very customer service oriented and I will recommend him and his company to all my friends and neighbors.
Description of Work
Remove old attic insulation, air seal attic floor, new R-19 Batt Insulation for knee walls / skylights, new R-49 blown fiberglass
Category
insulation, energy audit
Kathryn H.
5.0
02/25/2014
When Scott came to my house to give me the estimate (I received six in total), I knew I was going to hire him. First, he was one of the only people who appeared to have the energy and enthusiasm for the job. He was knowledgable. And, foremost, he didn't try to dilly-dally me with bogus claims or unnecessary services (sadly, you get a lot of this with insulation folks). In January, Scott and his partner removed all the batt and disintegrating insulation, roof and redecking debris, 75 years of dust, and four dead rats from my attic. They have this down to a science. They were very considerate and careful to contain the mess and you'd hardly know the procedure occurred after they'd left. They are EXTREMELY hard workers. I'm a very engaged homeowner, have spent a good deal of time in my attic and can attest to how horrible it was to be up there. They worked more than eight hours straight and the result was almost as clean as new construction. I was very, very pleased. He also fixed some decking to the joists in front of my furnace, making access safer and easier. Scott was also very flexible and accommodating. I wanted to have my electrician inspect my 75-year old wiring prior to installing the new insulation. That was no problem for Scott. They installed the new insulation on February 15 in a few hours, again, a very organized and neat job. My attic has been completely transformed from nasty and unpleasant to a clean and cozy environment. I'm looking forward to enjoying the savings in my energy bills! I would wholeheartedly recommend Perkins, Inc.
Description of Work
Removed old insulation (January 2014) and installed combination of new batts and blown-in insulation (February 2014).
Category
insulation
Marci A.
5.0
10/31/2013
Scott Perkins seemed fair and honest from his first visit to our home. He was very knowledgable about the insulation options and his bid came in at a reasonable price. Also, as hoped, Scott was actually involved in the insulation installation rather than using sub-contractors. Everything was right on schedule as promised. The only glitch was when workers started removing old insulation from the attic and carrying it through our home, causing problems for my husband (cancer surviver). They were very quick to respond to his request that they extend the plastic sheeting on the walls all the way to the front door to minimize the dust. Everything met and exceeded our expectations. Overall they did a great job!
Description of Work
Took out old attic insulation, cleaned up attic, blew in new insulation (increased R value), sealed all can lights and cracks.
Category
insulation
Jonathan C.
5.0
04/17/2013
They were great. Came as scheduled to do estimate, gave me several choices of how to proceed. Work was done on time, as scheduled. Completely cleaned up area they worked in. New insulation is great and such a money saver on heating this past winter.
Description of Work
Cleaned out old insulation, sealed attic, and added new blown in insulation to the entire house.
Category
insulation
Jason F.
5.0
01/31/2013
Scott is highly skilled at what he does with significant experience. What is refreshing is that he presents the data to you in a non-sales pitch way, a way that is matter of fact and from experience. I appreciated that approach as there was no sales pitch needed. He is thorough, takes time to explain everything, and follows up throughout the process. I got several bids on the job and found Scott's to be the most complete, honest, and fair. Attic work may seem simple but there is a lot of potential areas for trouble. I felt safe in Scott's hands and was well taken care of. I would highly recommend him to all who have insulation or attic issues.
Description of Work
Old insulation and all its years of accumulated garbage removed, duct reconnection (found after removal), floor sealing, pathway built/installed, and new insullation blown in.
Category
insulation
Brett W.
5.0
01/28/2013
Scott is a young man on a mission. Very Hard Worker. Professional, Respectful, Knowledgeable, & Personable. Also observed way Scott interacted with his Crew. He's also a Great Boss. Stayed late to ensure everything was just right. His Crew managed to get into some very difficult parts of the Attic which can only be seen as "Extra Effort" I would use Scott Perkins again, without hesitation, and will continue to pass the word. Scott deserves a very High Listing within Angies List.
Description of Work
Residential Insulation Job performed by Scott Perkins of Perkins, Inc "The Energy Conservation Company" - Vacuumed Attic (Hard Work) > 100% of old Rock wood Insulation > Discarded Shake Shingles > Rodent Poo - Afforded opportunity to view Residential Wiring within Attic. Reviewed, and Repaired as needed. - Foam Seal Ceiling Access Points, using Closed Cell Foam, with Fire Retardant (More Hard Work) > Placed Sealing Bead along where Walls, Lights, Fans, etc, connect to the Ceiling. > Also Foam Sealed around newly installed Duct Work within Attic - Glass Insulation (Blown-In), on Following Day (made it look easy) > Scott and his crew "Blew-In" an average of 20" to 22" of Certain-teed White Fiberglass Insulation. > Also added Insulation over the Garage as I "Putter" in the Garage.
Category
insulation
Venkatesh S.
5.0
01/12/2013
Got about 5 quotes and finally decided to work with Perkin's Inc. The irony here is even though they were listed in Angie's list, they did not have a single review on them. I am extremely happy that I decided to go with them and met Scott Perkins. It was a delight working with Scott, he was very flexible in working around my schedule and went over and above my expectation. My attic now look like it had fresh snow inside with clear white eco friendly blown-in insulation. There is no hesitation in referring to any of my friends and will be very happy to work with him I future if need arises.
Description of Work
The Project: I had a rodent issues in the attic of my small single story home and decided to address this issue by completely removing and replacing all the blown-in and batt insulation.
Category
insulation

Other local Pros in your area

Alonso Window & Doors

Specializing in Window & Door Replacement. We guarantee your satisfaction, and we won’t leave until the job is done right. Our team has quality experience in this industry, and we make sure our customers are happy before we leave. Call or click to schedule an estimate today!  

Angi Certified

Brennan Enterprises Inc

Serving DFW. Angie's Super Service Award for last 8 years. BBB A+ Rating. The Brennan family has been servicing the needs of the Texas homeowner since 1979 and plans on continuing to do so for generations to come. When we say we want to be your home improvement partner for life, we mean it. See website for additional service areas.**Please note we currently are not interior doors or repairs**  

Angi Certified

Offers Coupon

Window World of Dallas-Fort Worth

Window World of Dallas-Fort Worth is a family-owned and operated business, and believes home improvement should be a simple, stress-free process. We focus on customer service and product quality, helping homeowners throughout the greater Dallas-Fort Worth area achieve their renovation goals. From replacement windows and replacement doors to premium vinyl siding, all of our products offer superior energy efficiency, endless comfort, and help lower utility bills all year-round. Contact us today to schedule your free in-home estimate!  

Angi Certified

Phone

Address

1304 Northridge Dr

Carrollton, TX 75006

Other Information

Services Not Offered

Duct cleaning, Wall insulation

Payment options

MasterCard
Discover
Check
Visa
American Express
Financing Available
Bonded
Insured
All statements concerning insurance, licenses, and bonds are informational only, and are self-reported. Since insurance, licenses and bonds can expire and can be cancelled, homeowners should always check such information for themselves.To find more licensing information for your state, visit our Find Licensing Requirements page.

FAQ

Perkins Inc. - The Energy Conservation Company is currently rated 4.9 overall out of 5.

Perkins Inc. - The Energy Conservation Company is open:

Sunday: Closed

Monday: 9:00 AM - 5:00 PM

Tuesday: 9:00 AM - 5:00 PM

Wednesday: 9:00 AM - 5:00 PM

Thursday: 9:00 AM - 5:00 PM

Friday: 9:00 AM - 5:00 PM

Saturday: 9:00 AM - 5:00 PM

Perkins Inc. - The Energy Conservation Company accepts the following forms of payment: MasterCard, Discover, Check, Visa, American Express, Financing Available

Yes, Perkins Inc. - The Energy Conservation Company offers free project estimates.

Yes, Perkins Inc. - The Energy Conservation Company offers eco-friendly accreditations.

No, Perkins Inc. - The Energy Conservation Company does not offer a senior discount.

No, Perkins Inc. - The Energy Conservation Company does not offer warranties.

Perkins Inc. - The Energy Conservation Company offers the following services: Attic Insulation, Insulation Removal, Attic Floor Air Sealing, Energy Assessments, Infrared Scans, Blower Door Test & Repairs (Air Infiltration), Duct Blaster Test & Repairs (Duct Leak Testing & Sealing), Home Weatherization, Attic Staircase Covers, Water heater wraps, Double foil single bubble insulation (reflective insulation), Replacement vinyl windows, Spray foam insulation, Soffit Vents, Attic Exhaust, Spray On Radiant Barrier, Foil Radiant Barrier,