Find top-rated Pros in your area

Enter a zip code and get matched to businesses near you.

Southern Outdoor Appeal

Founded 1997 • With Angi since July 2010

5.0

(22) Verified Reviews

Business Details

Phone Number

Address

9600 Escarpment Blvd Ste 745

Austin, TX 78749

Description

Southern Outdoor Appeal is in the business of creating beautiful backyards by building the areas that homeowners want to spend time around. We design and build custom decks of all shapes, sizes and materials, patio covers, arbors/ pergolas, enclosed/screen-in porches, outdoor kitchens, firepits, fencing and so much more. We are a family owned business with more than 30 years of construction experience. This company started in the Houston area in 1997 and has since moved into the Austin area. We offer a lifetime craftsmanship warranty on every structure we build. We have the same great group of guys on every job and there is always a superintendent on the job to talk to about your project. We also have great subs to handle specialty services such as electrical and plumbing on every job so that the homeowner is getting a licensed and insured specialist at all times. We do provide free consultations for every job. We also design your perfect project using 3D color renderings from two different design programs. Additional DBA - Southern Outdoor Appeal LLC. Additional email - matt@southernoutdoorappeal.com....

Verified Reviews

A few reviews for this pro...
5.0

10/26/2018


Joel R.

The project went well and we are very pleased with the outcome. Matt is a pro at coordinating the construction flow. Would not hesitate to use them again for another project.

Description of Work
Outdoor living area

Category electrician, lighting, outdoor kitchens

5.0

10/25/2018


Teresa G.

The project went very smoothly. Matt was good about making sure we were happy with the outcome of the project. Overall Southern Outdoor appeal did a great job!

Description of Work
Covered patio and fireplace was built

Category decks

5.0

10/20/2018


Amy C.

Cabana turned out beautifully. Matt was very responsive which is hard to find in contractors. I would definitely use them again.

Description of Work
Cabana next to pool

Category countertops, decks, electrician, lighting, roofing, woodworking, outdoor kitchens

5.0

10/20/2018


Brett C.

Went excellent. Matt was excellent throughout the process as he guided us to things we weren't thinking about and made really good suggestions. Suggestions he made turned out great and we're happy we added them (things like wet bar, colors, other things that come up in a project like this). I would definitely work with Matt again because he was professional, always got back to me with any questions I had, and he was just easy to work with to solve little problems that come up in construction and projects. We always found a good solution and everything turned out great.

Description of Work
Matt and his crew built a pool cabana with outdoor kitchen. They really did a fantastic job and the quality of the workmanship is what sets it apart. Whenever friends and family visit, they comment on the quality and the feel of the cabana. Some have used it as a blueprint for their projects as well.

Category decks, patios, outdoor kitchens

5.0

10/19/2018


David H.

Matt did a great job. The biggest frustrations only came from the City of Austin, but Matt and Sunnie did a great job managing it. We paid Matt when it was done, but he kept helping us months afterwards to make sure all the permitting with the city was complete. He is a very trustworthy person and great to work with.

Description of Work
Southern Outdoor Appeal built our pool house. It included a garage, small kitchen, bathroom, patio and a large recreational room with lofted ceiling

Category countertops, decks, electrician, lighting, roofing, woodworking, stamped concrete, patios

5.0

10/18/2018


Jenn W.

I would refer Matt and his team at Southern Outdoor Appeal to friends and family. Very pleased with our end product.

Description of Work
Composite wood deck

Category decks

5.0

10/18/2018


Jillian B.

Matt & his team expanded our small, square outdoor patio by pouring concrete, extending our roof line, and adding an outdoor kitchen. He gave great recommendations on materials and appliances based on our budget. I was able to show him a picture of a privacy screen I found on Houzz and his team was able to recreate it - it looks marvelous.

Description of Work
Backyard patio expansion

Category stamped concrete, patios, outdoor kitchens

5.0

10/18/2018


Joellen A.

Southern Outdoor Appeal does an amazing job. They worked with our pool company and built everything around our pool; the stairs off of the house, a three level patio, fire pit, outdoor living room and a fence. A year later we hired them again to add a huge fireplace, hearth and serving area to our outdoor living room. This past July when our mailbox got run down we hired them for a third time. They do it all and they do a great job! We will be using them again soon for our final project, our outdoor kitchen. Matt and Sunnie are wonderful to work with! We highly recommend Southern Outdoor Appeal.

Description of Work
Back yard oasis

Category countertops, decks, electrician, fencing, lighting, roofing, hardscaping, patios, outdoor kitchens

5.0

07/14/2016


Steve D.

Category decks

5.0

02/22/2016


Michael P.

Matt Channel and his crew were very reliable and professional understanding my tight schedule to get this project done on time and within my budget. This wasn't easy project being downtown Austin dealing with parking, building inspectors, and the logistics of the project. I am already looking for Matt to do another future project at another one of my restaurants locations in Austin.

Description of Work
Installed a entire Polygal roof on my rooftop patio at my restaurant.

Category decks, roofing, patios

5.0

01/18/2016


Lawrence F.

We have been completely delighted with the work performed by Southern Outdoor Appeal. Matt Channel - the owner and designer - patiently worked with us as we considered various options - and arranged for us to visit completed projects to help scope the type of material that we ultimately selected. Matt and his team were so helpful, and allowed us to explore various options without any pressure to select one material over another. They gave their opinions when asked - which we appreciated. As the design proceeded, it became apparent that there would need to be some additional work done to deal with some drainage problems. Matt recommended a landscaping firm that we hired separately to solve the drainage problem. We appreciated the fact that Matt steered us to a good firm to solve a problem that could have been quite serious if not dealt with properly. The bid for the work was clearly explained up front, as was the payment approach. Matt was very careful (and conservative) when presenting the schedule for the work - not over-promising. Once the plans were approved and the city building permit obtained, Matt scheduled the construction and had his crew on the job as promised. We appreciated the crew's professionalism - very clean on the jobsite with attention to cleaning up daily and making sure that any hazards were dealt with. This was important as we have two curious preschool grandsons who could have easily gotten into the work materials. Matt and his project manager Joey were easily accessible for questions, and made regular visits to the jobsite to ensure the work was progressing as envisioned. Near the completion of the work we had a change of mind and added some lights to the deck. Matt incorporated the changes and arranged for an electrician crew to perform the installation. All of the workers - from the framers to the man who came to haul away the leftover construction debris - were courteous and professional. Matt and Joey performed the final inspection - and Joey personally took care of some remaining details that needed to be done. In summary, we are 100% satisfied with the design, quality workmanship, and personal service provided by Matt Channel and his team at Southern Outdoor Appeal. We recommend them without hesitation or reservation! All of the "A" ratings that we gave are completely warranted!

Description of Work
Designed and built a 730 square foot deck composed of Azek (synthetic material) decking. Their service included interactive design, preparation and submittal of all building permits and inspection documents, foundation and structural work, decking, construction of benches and accommodation of existing large trees, and decorative lighting. The choice of Azek material was significantly more expensive than wood, but the pros (durability and virtually no maintenance) and cons (more expensive than wood) of this choice were explained and we have been completely satisfied with the decision.

Category decks, outdoor kitchens

5.0

09/25/2015


Guy C.

The existing deck has an intricate railing design in ipe. Two other well rated companies no bid because they could not work to that level. Southern Outdoor Appeal took the job and executed it well. When I had concerns, they addressed them promptly. The job site cleanup was prompt and thorough.

Description of Work
Built an extension to the existing deck

Category decks

5.0

10/24/2014


Adam V.

We began our outdoor project with the idea of adding an outdoor living space. After our first bid from a different outdoor living company (which was very high) we started thinking about scaling back the porch so that we could possibly accommodate a pool too. We met with Majestic Poolscapes about the pool and they recommended us to Matt and Southern Outdoor Appeal. Frankly, we weren't giving Matt and SOA a very fair shot to win our business. He was referred to us late in the game and we had already received CAD designs from other porch companies. We told him we like to operate quickly and transparently and even though we were deep in the process with other companies, we hadn't really experienced that in our other bids/estimates. We told him what we wanted, how behind he was in the quoting process, and how quickly we needed it. He freed up time in his schedule to meet with us the next day, got us the initial numbers by late that same night and gave us an official quote the next day. He followed that with the official CAD design as quickly as his team could render it. What we got were very fair numbers, without sacrificing quality, and the design fit very well with the design of the pool. We also left our meeting with Matt with a high degree of confidence that he and his crew would work well with our pool contractor and their crews. There were a couple of hiccups on scheduling during the project but that was to be expected when you have several crews coming and going and they have to deal with the weather, inspections, other work being completed, etc. All in all it was a very well coordinated effort that made the best of what mother nature gave them. When there were changes, Matt explained what changed, gave us practical options to choose from and kept them as close as possible to the original budget and design. He and his team had a high attention to detail. He was always stopping by and making sure his team was touching up stuff before we even had to point it out. Even came by to fine tune the finished product (when he didn't have to) while we were on vacation. It was a nice touch and nice surprise to come back to. He was personable, passionate about what he does and could tell he and his crew took great pride in their work. All around a great experience. I will gladly be a reference for SOA.

Description of Work
They did the above ground portion of our outdoor living area. Added a hip roof (so that it looks like it was part of the house all along), outdoor fireplace, cedar posts, cedar tongue and groove ceiling, electrical, stained concrete countertops.

Category countertops, decks, electrician, roofing, woodworking, stamped concrete, outdoor kitchens

Service Provider Response

Thank you so much [removed member name] for your review. It was an absolute pleasure working with you and bringing your outdoor project and vision to life. We hope you are enjoying this beautiful weather in your new outdoor living space. Please do not hesitate to let us know if you ever need anything at all in the future!
5.0

09/30/2014


Fred M.

it went great. Matt Channel was great and this was a very challenging job with the back of the deck 11 feet high off the back of the pool. Matt worked well with the pool company and the end result is quite impressive.

Description of Work
built a beautiful TREX deck around our pool. Built bench seat and stairway.

Category decks

5.0

09/30/2014


Morry B.

We were extremely happy with the quality of the work as well as the price for our new outdoor covered patio. We received about 5 or 6 different quotes. Many of the quotes tried to talk us out of the sloped and shingled roof given our budget. Southern Outdoor Appeal worked with us to get under our budget and still have a roof that covered the patio and matched the house. Southern Outdoor Appeal drew up the designs and plans so we got to see a visual of how the porch was going to look and approve it. When they started, we were extremely impressed with the carpentry. The carpenter they used was incredibly detailed and would actually walk us through what he was going to do. We even changed up the design slightly during the building and it was not a problem whatsoever. Southern Outdoor Appealed rolled with the changes. When it came time to stain the concrete, the existing patio just soaked up the stain. Matt came out several days in a row to keep adding stain to get it to match the new patio. It looks great. It's nearly impossible to tell that the part of the concrete was laid 10 years before the other part. We've had a number of gatherings on the porch since and all of our friends have commented on the craftsmanship. We recommend Southern Outdoor Appeal to our friends and we would highly recommend using Southern Outdoor Appeal to anyone using Angie's List.

Description of Work
Southern Outdoor Appeal extended our existing 10x10 patio into a 30 x 10 covered patio as well as added an outdoor kitchen.

Category decks, outdoor kitchens

4.0

07/28/2014


Debora S.

Description of Work
I received an estimate to repair and replace an existing deck and add a pergola and an additional 6 feet to the upper deck section. they must be very busy because I found it difficult to get follow through. They came in significantly higher and I wanted to understand if something about what they were quoting was different. I never heard back from them in response to my phone message. the man who came out was very nice and very professional. I guess my 25,000 job wasn't enough with the building boom in Austin to get attention.

Category decks

5.0

04/16/2014


Linda S.

This company is run by such a professional husband/wife team. They have a staff who are also very professional over the phone. After the crew completed our 1st deck in a very timely and quality manner, we had them do our 2nd deck. The crew is very skilled; the owner is very hands-on and available any time I had a question; the work area was cleaned after completion and the whole, overall experience was was of ease and satisfaction. I truly can't say enough good things about this company. You won't be disappointed if you go with this 1st class operation!

Description of Work
Replaced 2 old decks with new lifetime guaranteed wood-look product.

Category decks, outdoor kitchens

5.0

12/12/2013


JENNIFER E.

Matthew Channel was timely, professional, and did an excellent job on our deck. We still love it 3 years later.

Description of Work
Ipe deck.

Category decks, outdoor kitchens

5.0

10/26/2013


Matthew P.

The work was outstanding. and the supervision excellent. They had to coordinate their work with a pool construction. I never had to be involved. Matt does not forget any details and is reliable to a fault. The work was done as advertised and modifications were made as needed in the most cost efficient way. Matt and Sunnie are outstanding people. I would rate their business as one of the top 1 or 2 we have ever dealt with. I would enthusiastically endorse them without any hesitation, In addition Matt works with a fencing company that are equally as good.

Description of Work
Matt constructed an extremely complex 700 square foot deck that was attached to a pool. The deck alone was $30,000 and had to support the weight of a hot tub as well. It was on a side of hill and was also in the trees. The deck had curved sides and steps as well.

Category decks, patios

5.0

06/26/2013


PAMELA S.

I met Matt Channel, the owner, when he came out to meet with us for an initial consultation. I found him to be very knowledgable and professional in all he did. He showed us photos, and examples of his work. He subsequently sent us a proposal with different options and prices. We hired him to build a rough cedar pergula that measures 17 x 24 - very large. Two stucco columns were added to blend the pergola into the original architecture. We also applied polygal on top to make it more weatherproof with some UV protection. Matt's people were very professional. If we had any questions or inquiries, he was quickly on the phone or at our house to clarify. It took a few more days than we had anticipated but in the end we are extremely pleased with the finished product. The very last crew - the stucco guys - didn't clean up quite a well as I thought they should. All I had to do was give Matt a call and he not only came over to clean up, he even brought over a magnetic machine to make sure all metal items were picked up in our grass area. You can't ask for more than that. I feel Matt always goes the extra mile. I would not hesitate to recommend this company to anyone. I believe he will do everything he can to make his customers happy.

Description of Work
Built a 17 x 24 pergula.

Category decks

5.0

03/11/2013


Rachel M.

I thought they were very professional. They were good to respond. I like them a lot. Our project got bigger which included remodeling of a small part of our home so we decided to go with a remodeler instead of an outdoor specialist.

Description of Work
I got a quote from Southern Outdoor Appeal for a patio.

Category decks, patios

5.0

06/15/2012


Patricia T.

We're so glad we found Southern Outdoor Appeal and the project was great from start to finish. Our expectations were met and exceeded. They were very timely in contacting us and Matt, Sunnie, JW, and all involved were great to work with. They take pride in their workmanship and it shows, we could not be happier. We are looking forward to calling them back for future outdoor projects and highly recommend them!

Description of Work
Constructed a pergola, installed ceiling fans, and capped our existing concrete patio with flagstone.

Category decks, hardscaping, patios

    Other local Pros in your area

    Alpha 5 Construction

    Alpha 5 is a construction company that specializes in all your renovating and remodeling needs. We work with our clients to make sure every aspect of a project is completed to the highest standards and by using high quality products. Most of all, we build trust with our clients through honest and transparent communication. That trust allows us to give you quality workmanship on your next project.  

    Austin LED Supply

    Austin LED Supply is a locally owned and operated LED lighting supply business located in Georgetown, TX. We have more than 10 years of experience in the industry. We sell all kinds of LED lights, fixtures and bulbs. We custom make LED strips orders for all your home and business projects. We will custom make your project to the specifications you are imagining. With the variety of LED strips and aluminum channels available, we will give your home a touch of modernity.  

    Apex Wood Restoration

    Super Service Award Winner for the last 7 years running! To prevent unnecessary repairs, your deck should only be trusted to a professional wood cleaning contractor – a contractor that professionally cleans or strips your deck’s existing finish, uses cleaners that are safe around your plants and landscaping, properly neutralizes and brightens your deck, and applies a sealer that will be effective in preventing future deterioration. Apex Wood Restoration will not only restore your deck to like-new condition, but you can rest assured that the work will be done correctly and without the worry of damage, providing for years of future enjoyment. Locally owned business since 2000. Specializing in pressure washing & staining decks, fences, pergolas and playscapes. 10% discount for veterans.  

    Business Highlights

    Emergency Services OfferedEmergency Services Offered
    Bonded
    Insured
    All statements concerning insurance, licenses, and bonds are informational only, and are self-reported. Since insurance, licenses and bonds can expire and can be cancelled, homeowners should always check such information for themselves.To find more licensing information for your state, visit our Find Licensing Requirements page.
    General Information
    Free Estimates
    Yes
    Eco-Friendly Accreditations
    Yes
    Payment Options
    MasterCard, American Express, Discover, Check, Visa
    Senior Discount
    No
    Emergency Service
    Yes
    Warranties
    Yes

    Services Offered

    Customized decks, screened in and enclosed patios, arbors and pergolas, water features, fireplaces and pits, outdoor kitchens and lighting, stone work & decorative stamped concrete.

    Services Not Offered

    Landscaping & building pools.

    Frequently Asked Questions & Answers about Southern Outdoor Appeal

    How is Southern Outdoor Appeal overall rated?

    Southern Outdoor Appeal is currently rated 5 overall out of 5.

    What days are Southern Outdoor Appeal open?

    Southern Outdoor Appeal is open:

    Sunday: Closed

    Monday: 8:00 AM - 5:00 PM

    Tuesday: 8:00 AM - 5:00 PM

    Wednesday: 8:00 AM - 5:00 PM

    Thursday: 8:00 AM - 5:00 PM

    Friday: 8:00 AM - 5:00 PM

    Saturday: Closed

    What payment options does Southern Outdoor Appeal provide

    Southern Outdoor Appeal accepts the following forms of payment: MasterCard, American Express, Discover, Check, Visa

    Does Southern Outdoor Appeal offer free estimates?

    Yes, Southern Outdoor Appeal offers free project estimates.

    Does Southern Outdoor Appeal offer eco-friendly accreditations?

    Yes, Southern Outdoor Appeal offers eco-friendly accreditations.

    Does Southern Outdoor Appeal offer a senior discount?

    No, Southern Outdoor Appeal does not offer a senior discount.

    Does Southern Outdoor Appeal offer emergency services?

    Yes, Southern Outdoor Appeal offers emergency services.

    Are warranties offered by Southern Outdoor Appeal?

    Yes, Southern Outdoor Appeal offers warranties.

    What services does Southern Outdoor Appeal offer?

    Southern Outdoor Appeal offers the following services: Customized decks, screened in and enclosed patios, arbors and pergolas, water features, fireplaces and pits, outdoor kitchens and lighting, stone work & decorative stamped concrete.

    Are there any services Southern Outdoor Appeal does not offer?

    Landscaping & building pools.