Angie's List is now Angi. Learn more

Find top-rated Pros in your area

Enter a zip code and get matched to businesses near you.

Southern Outdoor Appeal

Founded 1997 • With Angi since July 2010

5.0

(22) Verified Reviews

Business Highlights

Emergency Services OfferedEmergency Services Offered

Description

Southern Outdoor Appeal is in the business of creating beautiful backyards by building the areas that homeowners want to spend time around. We design and build custom decks of all shapes, sizes and materials, patio covers, arbors/ pergolas, enclosed/screen-in porches, outdoor kitchens, firepits, fencing and so much more. We are a family owned business with more than 30 years of construction experience. This company started in the Houston area in 1997 and has since moved into the Austin area. We offer a lifetime craftsmanship warranty on every structure we build. We have the same great group of guys on every job and there is always a superintendent on the job to talk to about your project. We also have great subs to handle specialty services such as electrical and plumbing on every job so that the homeowner is getting a licensed and insured specialist at all times. We do provide free consultations for every job. We also design your perfect project using 3D color renderings from two different design programs. Additional DBA - Southern Outdoor Appeal LLC. Additional email - matt@southernoutdoorappeal.com....

Other local Pros in your area

Improving Homes 4 You

Improving Homes 4 You is a professional general contracting service company specializing in repairs and home improvements, both residential and commercial, in the Nashville, TN area including Goodlettsville, Hendersonville and Gallatin. Our goal is to add value to your home by providing superior customer satisfaction and reasonable prices. We are licensed, insured and provide excellent services including carpentry, electric, plumbing, painting, drywall, and more. No project is too large or small! "We can repair what your husband fixed!".  

ProTex Fence and Stain, LLC

Please call (512) 402-8822 for a free on-site estimate. Or visit us on our website to fill out an estimate form. www.protexfenceandstain.com FB @protexfenceandstain We combine our expertise and commitment to quality with the best products and state of the art tools and equipment to offer unmatched services. We install all types of fencing, and stain (fences and decks). We have crews waiting to help you.  

Offers by ProTex Fence and Stain, LLC on Angi
LoneStar Power Washing

Concrete Surfaces-driveways-Side walks-Houses-Roofs-Commercial building-Heavy duty equipment and more  

Verified Reviews

A few reviews for this pro...
5.0

10/26/2018

The project went well and we are very pleased with the outcome. Matt is a pro at coordinating the construction flow. Would not hesitate to use them again for another project.

Description of Work
Outdoor living area

Category electrician,lighting,outdoor kitchens

5.0

10/25/2018

The project went very smoothly. Matt was good about making sure we were happy with the outcome of the project. Overall Southern Outdoor appeal did a great job!

Description of Work
Covered patio and fireplace was built

Category decks

5.0

10/20/2018

Cabana turned out beautifully. Matt was very responsive which is hard to find in contractors. I would definitely use them again.

Description of Work
Cabana next to pool

Category countertops,decks,electrician,lighting,roofing,woodworking,outdoor kitchens

5.0

10/20/2018

Went excellent. Matt was excellent throughout the process as he guided us to things we weren't thinking about and made really good suggestions. Suggestions he made turned out great and we're happy we added them (things like wet bar, colors, other things that come up in a project like this). I would definitely work with Matt again because he was professional, always got back to me with any questions I had, and he was just easy to work with to solve little problems that come up in construction and projects. We always found a good solution and everything turned out great.

Description of Work
Matt and his crew built a pool cabana with outdoor kitchen. They really did a fantastic job and the quality of the workmanship is what sets it apart. Whenever friends and family visit, they comment on the quality and the feel of the cabana. Some have used it as a blueprint for their projects as well.

Category decks,patios,outdoor kitchens

5.0

10/19/2018

Matt did a great job. The biggest frustrations only came from the City of Austin, but Matt and Sunnie did a great job managing it. We paid Matt when it was done, but he kept helping us months afterwards to make sure all the permitting with the city was complete. He is a very trustworthy person and great to work with.

Description of Work
Southern Outdoor Appeal built our pool house. It included a garage, small kitchen, bathroom, patio and a large recreational room with lofted ceiling

Category countertops,decks,electrician,lighting,roofing,woodworking,stamped concrete,patios

5.0

10/18/2018

I would refer Matt and his team at Southern Outdoor Appeal to friends and family. Very pleased with our end product.

Description of Work
Composite wood deck

Category decks

5.0

10/18/2018

Southern Outdoor Appeal does an amazing job. They worked with our pool company and built everything around our pool; the stairs off of the house, a three level patio, fire pit, outdoor living room and a fence. A year later we hired them again to add a huge fireplace, hearth and serving area to our outdoor living room. This past July when our mailbox got run down we hired them for a third time. They do it all and they do a great job! We will be using them again soon for our final project, our outdoor kitchen. Matt and Sunnie are wonderful to work with! We highly recommend Southern Outdoor Appeal.

Description of Work
Back yard oasis

Category countertops,decks,electrician,fencing,lighting,roofing,hardscaping,patios,outdoor kitchens

5.0

10/18/2018

Matt & his team expanded our small, square outdoor patio by pouring concrete, extending our roof line, and adding an outdoor kitchen. He gave great recommendations on materials and appliances based on our budget. I was able to show him a picture of a privacy screen I found on Houzz and his team was able to recreate it - it looks marvelous.

Description of Work
Backyard patio expansion

Category stamped concrete,patios,outdoor kitchens

5.0

02/22/2016

Matt Channel and his crew were very reliable and professional understanding my tight schedule to get this project done on time and within my budget. This wasn't easy project being downtown Austin dealing with parking, building inspectors, and the logistics of the project. I am already looking for Matt to do another future project at another one of my restaurants locations in Austin.

Description of Work
Installed a entire Polygal roof on my rooftop patio at my restaurant.

Category decks,roofing,patios

5.0

01/18/2016

We have been completely delighted with the work performed by Southern Outdoor Appeal. Matt Channel - the owner and designer - patiently worked with us as we considered various options - and arranged for us to visit completed projects to help scope the type of material that we ultimately selected. Matt and his team were so helpful, and allowed us to explore various options without any pressure to select one material over another. They gave their opinions when asked - which we appreciated. As the design proceeded, it became apparent that there would need to be some additional work done to deal with some drainage problems. Matt recommended a landscaping firm that we hired separately to solve the drainage problem. We appreciated the fact that Matt steered us to a good firm to solve a problem that could have been quite serious if not dealt with properly. The bid for the work was clearly explained up front, as was the payment approach. Matt was very careful (and conservative) when presenting the schedule for the work - not over-promising. Once the plans were approved and the city building permit obtained, Matt scheduled the construction and had his crew on the job as promised. We appreciated the crew's professionalism - very clean on the jobsite with attention to cleaning up daily and making sure that any hazards were dealt with. This was important as we have two curious preschool grandsons who could have easily gotten into the work materials. Matt and his project manager Joey were easily accessible for questions, and made regular visits to the jobsite to ensure the work was progressing as envisioned. Near the completion of the work we had a change of mind and added some lights to the deck. Matt incorporated the changes and arranged for an electrician crew to perform the installation. All of the workers - from the framers to the man who came to haul away the leftover construction debris - were courteous and professional. Matt and Joey performed the final inspection - and Joey personally took care of some remaining details that needed to be done. In summary, we are 100% satisfied with the design, quality workmanship, and personal service provided by Matt Channel and his team at Southern Outdoor Appeal. We recommend them without hesitation or reservation! All of the "A" ratings that we gave are completely warranted!

Description of Work
Designed and built a 730 square foot deck composed of Azek (synthetic material) decking. Their service included interactive design, preparation and submittal of all building permits and inspection documents, foundation and structural work, decking, construction of benches and accommodation of existing large trees, and decorative lighting. The choice of Azek material was significantly more expensive than wood, but the pros (durability and virtually no maintenance) and cons (more expensive than wood) of this choice were explained and we have been completely satisfied with the decision.

Category decks,outdoor kitchens

    Services Offered

    Customized decks, screened in and enclosed patios, arbors and pergolas, water features, fireplaces and pits, outdoor kitchens and lighting, stone work & decorative stamped concrete.

    Services Not Offered

    Landscaping & building pools.

    General Information
    Free Estimates
    Yes
    Eco-Friendly Accreditations
    Yes
    Payment Options
    MasterCard, American Express, Discover, Check, Visa
    Senior Discount
    No
    Emergency Service
    Yes
    Warranties
    Yes