Find top-rated Pros in your area

Enter a zip code and get matched to businesses near you.

Rivertown Interiors

Founded 1982 • With Angi since June 2010

At Rivertown Interiors, our services provide you the opportunity to customize your own design. From custom beds to upholstered furniture, you choose distinctive fabrics, dimensions and detailed accents. Our interior designers can assist in selection of fabrics for all your home interior needs. Whether you are decorating a commercial space, a new home or remodeling an older home. Rivertown interiors will bring together a talented design team to transform your home from ordinary to extraordinary For any additional information, please contact David Spitz 512-258-2080 Thank you

Verified Reviews

4.9

(27) Verified Reviews

Showing 1-25 of 27 reviews
wanda B.
5.0
03/04/2021
It went very well. Dave did everything he said he would, and I am very pleased with his workmanship, punctuality, and his price is very competitive. Wanda B
Description of Work
It was a small job: I had arm caps and head rests for a new couch and chair. From beginning to end Dave Spitz did an outstanding job for me. He came to the house, took measurements and completed the job in record time. The workmanship was terrific, and Dave is a very friendly and easy to work with. I would highly recommend him.
Category
furniture repair, upholstery

Service Provider Response

Thank You.
Regina K.
5.0
01/28/2021
Dave was great! Very nice and easy to work with. Gave me great advice for upholstery materials. Bench turned out beautiful!
Description of Work
Upholster a bench
Category
furniture repair, upholstery

Service Provider Response

Thank you.
Leslie W.
5.0
07/14/2020
Dave and helper were wonderful and did a excellent job for me. I would hire them again and recommend highly.
Description of Work
Repair on recliner
Category
furniture repair
Deborah D.
5.0
06/06/2020
Dave did a professional job reupholstering 6 parson style dining room chairs. The job was completed ahead of schedule. My chairs are beautiful. I highly recommend Rivertown Interiors. I dropped an outside chair cushion when I picked up the chairs, I am so pleased.
Description of Work
Upholstering 6 dining room chairs
Category
furniture repair, upholstery
Barbara B.
5.0
02/23/2020
David and his crew at Rivertown Interiors have done a great job on several reupholstering projects for me. Most recently a chair that was a family antique and needed extensive repair as well as new upholstery. They did a wonderful professional job and were great to work with. Highly recommend Rivertown Interiors!
Description of Work
Chair refurbished and reupholstered
Category
furniture repair, upholstery
Paul M.
5.0
06/26/2019
The whole process went extremely well. The initial consult, estimate, pick up, craftsmanship, delivery and timeline were right on the mark. David listens well and inspires confidence.
Description of Work
My wife and I live full time in an Airstream travel trailer, usually never longer than three or four months in any one place. We used Angie's List to review our local options near Austin. That's how we found David Spitz. His reviews were too compelling to search further. Choosing David to reupholster our dinette and L-sofa was a no-brainer.
Category
upholstery
Holly Joy S.
5.0
08/10/2016
Very prompt reply to request, straight forward pricing, utmost courtesy on pickup/delivery, put extra care into choosing right materials and technique to ensure good looks will last.
Description of Work
Upholstery service: recover 4 barstools w/new vinyl and nailhead trim.
Category
upholstery
Deborah W.
5.0
07/17/2016
The caning in our chairs had rotted & dogs chewed out the foam & fabric from the seats. Dave was very prompt returning phone calls & worked with me on fabric choices, etc. I've never had upholstry work done before so I can't comment on the pricing except to say how happy I am with the finished product. The cost included all materials, labor, & taxes and he did not go over budget. Important too is that he met my deadline. Dave was delightful, knowledgeable, & professional. I will definitely use him again.
Description of Work
Recane & replace seats for 6 dining room chairs
Category
upholstery
Susan L.
5.0
06/10/2016
Dave did a wonderful job on the cushions. He came recommended by another upholsterer and I'm so glad I used him. They came out so nice!
Description of Work
Upholstered sofa and chair cushions
Category
upholstery
Chris R.
5.0
06/09/2016
This is an honorable company that acts professionally and follows through. Great quality work with very polite management and crew.
Description of Work
Re-stuffed and stitched our 20-yr old leather couches.
Category
upholstery
JONI C.
5.0
12/07/2015
Very well, very pleased with the new upholstery. This sofa was made in the 70's, from Roche Bobois, 14 pieces all covered in leather/vinyl. Dave did a great job!
Description of Work
New upholstery on a vintage 70's sofa, 14 pieces in all.
Category
upholstery
William M.
5.0
09/09/2015
Dave did an outstanding job on our headboard. We could not be more pleased with the final product, workmanship, and his professionalism. We would highly recommend Rivertown Interiors!
Description of Work
Replaced leatherette on headboard with quality fabric of our choice.
Category
upholstery, woodworking
Cathy D.
5.0
05/24/2015
It went very well. He was very knowledgeable and helpful. He is doing more work for me. I paid $65 per chair. This job was to cut off the cushion itself because it protruded too much in front. It was not to remove stuffing.
Description of Work
cut down size of cushions on kitchen chair seats - and recovered with the leather and reattached cushions to chairs
Category
upholstery
Roderick D.
5.0
12/03/2014
Dave Spitz at Rivertown Interiors is a treasure. He responded to my initial email query with a phone call, and helped guide me thru the project. He picked the chairs up on schedule, and delivered them back a few days ahead of schedule. Pricing was per his original estimate. The quality of the work is superb. I expect to get another ten years of comfortable service from these chairs. I highly recommend Rivertown Interiors, and I will definitely use them again.
Description of Work
Reupholstered two small recliners. I furnished the material. Chairs were picked up at my home and delivered back when the work was completed.
Category
upholstery
Harold R.
5.0
07/06/2014
The chair seats we wanted re-done had been covered with a leather laminate material that didn't hold up well, and the workmanship on them was poor. Searched for upholstery services in the Austin area, read reviews and picked three to contact. The Rivertown Interiors website features a number of complete decorating jobs, and we almost didn't get in touch because we thought our job might be too small, but we are certainly glad we did. Initial contact was by email, during the third week of April. Dave Spitz, the proprietor of Rivertown Interiors, deals with customers directly. He seems to be on the move constantly, but stays in touch via smartphone. In the contact email, we described what we wanted, and subsequently made an appointment for him to come look at the chairs. That in itself was exceptional, because many Austin businesses feel Leander is beyond the pale. We went ahead and removed the cushions from the chairs because we wanted to tighten up the frames. Dave showed up on time, looked at the job, and told us what he thought would be the best way to proceed. He had fabric samples with him, and we selected a faux leather covering with a high wear rating. Because the material was thick, Dave suggested the use of "Turkish" corners, a technique that keeps fabric layer thickness more even and improves appearance. He gave us a verbal quote of labor cost per seat and a materials estimate based on the amount of fabric required, and said he would follow up with a written quote when he knew the actual material cost. We weren't in a great hurry, so we told him we'd rather have quality work than rapid delivery, but he also gave us a rough time-frame for completion. We shook hands and Dave took the seats away. He sent a complete estimate a few days later, and we assented by phone. Dave sent a final invoice when the job was completed (12 MAY 14) and delivered the seats a couple of days later. We paid on delivery. Overall, this was the kind of straightforward deal that was once the norm in Texas. We were impressed by Dave's professionalism and attention to detail, also by his no-nonsense attitude. The quality of the work was excellent, verbal commitments were honored, and no corners were cut. Because it was a small job, it was probably more informal than Dave can afford to be on larger projects, but we certainly appreciated it.
Description of Work
Re-upholstered four dining chair seats that were done a couple of years earlier by a shop in Cedar Park.
Category
upholstery
Jeffrey F.
5.0
03/19/2014
They did a great job. Their price was very competitive. He was very responsible. He was very punctual. They are very professional.
Description of Work
Rivertown Interiors did upholstering for me and my wife. Chairs, cushions, et cetera.
Category
upholstery
Susan J.
5.0
08/20/2013
I am very happy to have this piece of family history usable again. Dave gave me a variety of options that would have kept the cost lower, but this chair was special and I went for a full remake. He re-glued all wood parts, replaced springs, added support for the springs, replaced all the stuffing, and upholstered. I shopped for fabric and delivered that to Dave [a chunk of the $1000.00 overall cost] - Dave did all the rest. And he would have ordered the fabric as well if I'd found the right match in his samples ... but I was fussy about paisley and color combinations. Dave is great to work with - a busy man, so not necessarily the quickest turn-around out there ... but well worth waiting for his workmanship. He is very responsive to phone inquiries and takes pictures of work in progress. This chair was Daddy's, but I sat in it all the time as a teenager, listening to the radio. I feel re-connected ever time I sit down in it now. Anyone with a family treasure can trust it to Dave's care.
Description of Work
Dave resurrected a family treasure -- my dad's platform rocking chair was taken apart, rebuilt, reupholstered.
Category
furniture repair, upholstery
Barbara J.
5.0
07/02/2013
David Spitz with Rivertown Interiors has been my go-to upholsterer for almost 20 years. He has done many many things for me and everything turns out great. He has even fixed up upholstered pieces of furniture for me that have come from the factory 'less than perfect'. I highly recommend Rivertown Interiors for all your upholstering needs.
Description of Work
Reupholstered all cushions for patio club chairs
Category
upholstery
Robin B.
5.0
01/24/2013
In November Dave came to our home with material samples. We looked at the samples while he measured the couch. We selected 2 samples. Dave said he would check on availability & email me 2 quotes & their availability; I received an email the next day. We went with the material that was available since we needed it before Christmas. Even though he was busy he was able work us in. He came to our home picked up the couch & even delivered it to our son's new home. Dave went above & beyond expectations.
Description of Work
We had him recover an old couch we were giving our son - the couch had pet stains & the cushions were flat. He removed all of the old material including batting and replaced with new batting then recovered the couch with faux leather material. The couch looks better than it did new.
Category
upholstery
Paula T.
4.0
05/17/2012
The finish is smooth, it isn't rough. The staining part is not uniform enough. I would hire them again if it didn't require staining.
Description of Work
We used them for finishing two bathroom cabinets that were custom made.
Category
woodworking
Charles E.
4.0
03/20/2012
Overall the job was satisfactory. It was expensive and took longer than I thought it should have. The bottom of chair had a rip in the material which I did not notice until some months after we got the chair back.
Description of Work
Upholstered a chair and matching ottoman. Overall the job was done well but took several months to complete the job. Noticed that there was a tear in the cloth material on bottom of chair. Not sure if this material was replaced or new fabric was added and it got torn in moving back to my home.
Category
upholstery

Service Provider Response

Customer satisfaction is always our first priority, any and all complaints are corrected promptly at customers convenience. Corrections are made when customer notifies us of their complaint.
Melissa R.
5.0
02/24/2012
He is busy, so he couldn't get to us immediately. But we kept in touch over the phone, and I always knew I could call.
Description of Work
Leather repair - my dogs had chewed a hole in a leather couch, and Rivertown did an excellent job of repairing it. He cleaned and conditioned the couch, the side chairs and two ottomans, and they look great! I would highly recommend him!
Category
upholstery
Michelle B.
5.0
02/16/2012
All were beautifully done and completed on time -- important because I was having a large party.I recommend Rivertown Interiors/Dave Spitz without reservation.
Description of Work
This was the second project I did with Dave Spitz of Rivertown Interiors. He had done a great job of some upholstering for me, as well as having treated my new living/dining furniture for stain resistance. In June 2011, he built two custom headboards, made custom draperies for my guest room (incl. custom rod/finials), and made pillows and a bench cushion.
Category
interior designers, upholstery
Tricia D.
5.0
11/10/2010
David was VERY responsive from the first time I called his company. He gave me a very fair and accurate quote that did not change when the service was complete. He was always punctual when we met. He went above and beyond explaining the repairs that would be needed for my antique sofa and I am very confident in his abilities and knowledge. The work he did on my sofa is beautiful and he even did some extra cleaning and gluing of some of the wood pieces on the sofa. I would absolutely use his company again - I had an amazing experience!! Thank you, Angie's List!
Description of Work
Intricate repair of antique sofa. Sofa was un-usable prior to repair.
Category
furniture repair, upholstery, antiques
Marjean F.
5.0
09/23/2010
OUTSTANDING! Dave Spitz is an excellent designer who listens to a customer's ideas and turns a rough concept into a beautiful finished product. I have worked with other interior designers in the past and found many of them are too caught up in their own 'vision' to listen to or really work with a customer's ideas of what they need. Dave Spitz is excellent at listening and then bringing his professional expertise and resources to enhance the original concept beyond what we thought was possible. His work always comes in on time and on budget with the original estimates. There are no 'hidden suprises'. He hires excellent subcontractors and ensures that they are extremely respectful of the customer's home and scheduling needs. We look forward to using Rivertown Interiors again in the very near future with complete confidence in Dave's professionalism
Description of Work
Over the past year Dave Spitz from Rivertown Interiors has done the following jobs for me 1. Reupholstered a sofa that needed refreshing 2. Refinished a battered antique table 3. Redesigned and installed a new fireplace mantle, surround and hearth
Category
furniture repair, interior designers, upholstery

Other local Pros in your area

AC Cornerstone Bld LLC

We are a unique company in that we hire very few subcontractors. We are a crew of 5 talented craftsmen well versed in the construction industry and keep most of the work in house. Our customers are comfortable with us and never worry about their safety, thief, or just creepy feelings. I have over 30 years experience and enjoy the design/decorating aspects of the job as well. Our business is based upon referrals, and we always have repeat business with our clients. I will be glad to provide both current and past referrals. Mailing Address: 651 Hwy. 183 N suite 335-14 Leander, TX. 78642  

Angi Certified

A Team Solution services

A Team Solution Services is a general contractor based in Leander, TX, specializing in high-quality remodeling, electrical, and construction services. With years of extensive experience, our professional certified contractors are committed to ensuring that every stage of your project is completed according to your specifications.  

Angi Certified

NIN Home Repair

NIN Home Repair is locally owned and operated, specializing in General Remodeling and Home Repairs. We are reliable, easy to work with, and dedicated to getting your home back into shape.. We offer free estimates and would love to hear of your upcoming project. Call or click for an estimate today  

Angi Certified

Phone

Address

unknown

Austin, TX 78750

Other Information

Services Offered

Upholstering, Furniture Refinishing and Repair, Finished Carpentry and Woodworking, Interior Design and Decorating,
Antiques,
Furniture - Custom Made,
Furniture - Sales

Services Not Offered

Ask for Details.

Payment options

Check
Visa
MasterCard
American Express
Discover
No License Required for Trade
All statements concerning insurance, licenses, and bonds are informational only, and are self-reported. Since insurance, licenses and bonds can expire and can be cancelled, homeowners should always check such information for themselves.To find more licensing information for your state, visit our Find Licensing Requirements page.

FAQ

Rivertown Interiors is currently rated 4.9 overall out of 5.

Rivertown Interiors is open:

Monday: 9:00 AM - 5:00 PM

Tuesday: 9:00 AM - 5:00 PM

Wednesday: 9:00 AM - 5:00 PM

Thursday: 9:00 AM - 5:00 PM

Friday: 9:00 AM - 5:00 PM

Saturday: 10:00 AM - 3:00 PM

Rivertown Interiors accepts the following forms of payment: Check, Visa, MasterCard, American Express, Discover

Yes, Rivertown Interiors offers free project estimates.

No, Rivertown Interiors does not offer eco-friendly accreditations.

No, Rivertown Interiors does not offer a senior discount.

Yes, Rivertown Interiors offers warranties.

Rivertown Interiors offers the following services: Offering all interior designer services. Includes: Upholstery, Remodeling, custom beds, refinishing, drapes, repairs, custom furniture, custom trim work, and fabric protection.