Find top-rated Pros in your area

Enter a zip code and get matched to businesses near you.

Kris Miller - Decorating Den Interiors

Founded 1969 • With Angi since May 2010

5.0

(48) Verified Reviews

Business Details

Phone Number

Address

4006 Hyridge Dr

Austin, TX 78759

Description

Independently owned & operated since 2000. Full-service design firm, available for hourly consultation &/or sourcing home decor merchandise (furniture, window treatments, rugs & flooring, lighting, bedding, art & accessories). Award-winning service in Austin area, and recently expanded team now services Hays County. Visit our website at https://kmiller.decoratingden.com/ ...

Verified Reviews

A few reviews for this pro...
5.0

09/13/2022


Dan R.

I had a very positive experience working with Kris. She helped me with the project of getting my guest house fully furnished and ready for guests in a two month timeframe. What was wonderful about working with Kris was that I felt that everything was taken care, managed, and delivered smoothly and elegantly. Kris was also able to help with some bonus elements such as wall painting, bench staining, window drapery, and cookware. Very helpful.

Description of Work
Guest House Furnishing & Remodeling

Category furniture sales, home remodeling, interior painters

Service Provider Response

Thank you for the kind words, [Member Name Removed]. Your guest house project has been one of my favorites this year... a gem of a space that I hope you & others will enjoy! Great working with you & appreciate the creative freedom you provided.

5.0

06/13/2022


EVE M.

Amazing! Kris immediately understood what I was looking for and gave ideas I hadn't considered. She is thoughtful about budget, helping me prioritize and come up with less expensive ways to complete projects. Kris really knows what she's doing, I'll be hiring her for all future projects!

Description of Work
kitchen and bath design consulting

Category interior designers

Service Provider Response

Thank you so much, [Member Name Removed]! It was a pleasure to meet you & discuss your remodel project!

5.0

11/30/2020


Randall S.

Kris was great. She showed us samples and helped us decide on which shutters to purchase. We went with the white wooden shutters, which were specially sized for our windows after her installer came and measured them. This happened during the beginning of the pandemic and they were very careful about this. We are very happy with how they look and function. We were a little surprised to find out that we immediately started using them every day and we still do! They looked so nice and were so convenient we got rid of all of our curtains, shades, etc. and just use the shutters now! We will definitely be using Kris Miller's company again when we purchase a house!

Description of Work
Shutters for Condo

Category window treatments, muralist

5.0

02/24/2020


Amber G.

Kris was an absolute pleasure to work with. She listened to our needs, provided practical counsel and options, wasn’t pushy, communicated clearly and regularly, and completed the project on time and budget. She kept our project moving over the holidays, and kindly worked with the manufacturer of the product we were interested in to ensure we had all available color options (new ones had just been announced). Her installer arrived on time, was careful with the old blinds (so we could donate them) and house, and efficient, with Kris ensuring that the work met her expectations and ours. We highly recommend Kris.

Description of Work
Room darkening shades for bedroom windows

Category window treatments

5.0

01/18/2020


Vicki R.

Kris was great to work with - efficient, smart and fun. My project was small but had a short deadline. This was my first time working with an interior decorator. Kris explained basic design ideas patiently, helped me come up with a vision for the office, and made sure the move-in was timely and smooth. It was a pleasure to work with her and I love my new office!

Description of Work
Furnishings for a small professional office

Category interior designers

5.0

11/01/2019


Deborah A.

Wonderful. Kris is fantastic to work with and she is very talented. Her ability to pull together colors, furniture, decorations, etc. is pure magic. I love coming home everyday to enjoy what she has done to my place.

Description of Work
Interior decorating

Category interior designers

5.0

10/30/2019


LINDA L.

Kris was great. She would pick out several options for each selection (tile, faucets, etc.) and we would go over the options together. Everything she picked went well together and I think it will come together beautifully when it is finished. After everything was selected and ordered, she would continue to provide advice via email for all the small choices, i.e., should the floor tile pattern be diagonal or straight. Kris really helped to keep me from being overwhelmed by all the options available, and she worked within my budget. She was also very comfortable to work with and be around.

Description of Work
This wasn't the usual designer project. I decided to DIY flip my Mother's condo, updating the 70's finishes in order to sell it. I needed a lot of help picking new kitchen counters and fixtures, new tile and fixtures for 3 bathrooms, interior paint over all, new lighting fixtures and engineered flooring.

Category ceramic tile, countertops, hardwood floor, interior designers, lighting, remodeling, home remodeling, interior painters

5.0

10/30/2019


Penny M.

I have worked with Kris on multiple occasions over the past 6 years. She has helped me with wooden blinds and shutters, window treatments, re-upholestering an old chair, custom bedding and recommending an excellent painter (interior and exterior). She has always been very helpful in guiding me in color selection, showing me many options in multiple price ranges and never pressuring me into buying something I don't want or like. When I decided I didn't want custom bedding in a guest room, she honored my choice and was still more than eager in helping me decorate the room and pick the right colors and decor. When I had a plumbing disaster and several pieces of hardware were discarded accidentally, she immediately got new ones sent me to very quickly at no charge. I will continue to use Kris in the future for all my decorating needs!

Description of Work
Window treatments, upholstery, bedding, interior painting, overall decorating guidance

Category furniture repair, interior designers, upholstery, window treatments, muralist, interior painters

5.0

10/29/2019


L E.

When we first moved into our new home, we were overwhelmed trying to figure out what furniture we needed and how to decorate it. Kris helped us figure out a plan and narrow down our style. Then she got down to the work of helping us pick out the furniture, rugs, window coverings, lighting, and art we needed to make our home comfortable and beautiful. She’s always very responsive, has great ideas, and keeps her commitments. Plus, she’s just a really nice person who makes you feel comfortable and takes the intimidation out of the design process. I would recommend Kris to anyone!

Description of Work
furnishing and decorating living room, dining room, kitchen area, entryway, hall

Category glass repair, interior designers, lighting, furniture sales, window treatments, muralist

4.0

10/25/2019


greg K.

This was my first time working with a designer and Chris was great! She really listened to what I was saying to get a vision that pushed me out of my comfort zone, but still stayed true to me and my design aesthetic. She asked all the right questions to make sure we stayed in the budget I was wanting to stick with. She was always on time and prepared. She was flexible when it came to times and worked around my schedule. I was happy with the end result!

Description of Work
Interior decorating

Category glass repair, interior designers, wallpaper, muralist, interior painters

5.0

10/25/2019


Sharon S.

Kris has helped us design 2 homes over the course of 15 years. From a design standpoint, these 2 residences are at opposite ends of the spectrum. One is classically traditional & conveys opulence… the other is strikingly modern & urban. Kris works on these spaces in tandem, which illustrates her flexibility as a designer and reveals that she is comfortable working with a variety of design styles. My husband & I travel frequently and, when not traveling, have very busy careers. One thing we really appreciate about Kris is her ability to work autonomously & without much direction from us. She’s a fabulous project manager and adept at managing both details & deadlines. We trust Kris to listen to our needs, develop a plan, and execute it as promised. We also trust Kris in our homes when we’re not present. Because we are a couple on the go, we utilize our homes as havens… to retreat & recharge. Kris has made this possible for us, and for that we are grateful.

Description of Work
Interior Design

Category carpet installation, ceramic tile, countertops, flooring contractor, furniture repair, glass repair, interior designers, lighting, remodeling, upholstery, furniture sales, custom furniture, window treatments, muralist, home remodeling, house painters, interior painters

5.0

10/24/2019


Kathleen C.

Thanks to my first brief search, I found the exact right person for everything I needed in Kris Miller on Angie's List. Kris has an amazing eye and is a joy to work with. From the first meeting, I was able to relax and rely on her for color and materials in fabric, furniture, lamps, tables, rugs and window treatments. She was able to incorporate my existing 1930's furniture with the new pieces we chose for our modern house. She has done a magnificent job doing all of those things in our living room, dining room, master bedroom, guest bedroom and screened porch. I highly recommend her!

Description of Work
Choosing paint colors, wood floor materials, upholstering furniture for dining room, choosing new furniture for living room, master bedroom, guest bedroom, media room, two offices and screened porch.

Category furniture repair, glass repair, hardwood floor, interior designers, lighting, upholstery, furniture sales, custom furniture, window treatments, interior painters

5.0

10/24/2019


Eric D.

We hired Kris to provide some design consultation and manage a lot of upgrades for the interior of our house, and we couldn't be happier! She found amazing furniture and wall displays, and she also managed the repainting of the entire downstairs. In the end we felt like we were in a brand-new house, and we have Kris to thank for that!

Description of Work
Interior Design Upgrades

Category carpet installation, flooring contractor, hardwood floor, interior designers, furniture sales, custom furniture, window treatments, muralist, interior painters

5.0

01/28/2019


stephen F.

Kris was terrific. She was referred to us by a friend who also had a great experience. She was kind, insightful and could not have been more helpful. The end product looks great too!

Description of Work
Blinds for a new house

Category interior designers, window treatments

5.0

01/19/2019


Laurie H.

Kris is very professional yet personable. She takes the time to listen to what her client needs and then helps facilitate the process from concept, design, purchase and final installation to make a dream become reality. She never rushes her clients to make a fast decision but makes sure they understand their options and then works with you to help you have samples and sketches to envision the final product before moving forward. She can work within your stated budget and clearly communicates throughout the entire process whether she's helping you have something custom built or ordering through one of her many wonderful suppliers. I've worked with Kris for 20 years, through 2 new home constructions, 1 complete remodel and numerous refresh projects and can't imagine working with anyone else. I have always been completely satisfied with her beautiful work.

Description of Work
New home interior selections; remodel paint, flooring, cabinet, granite and tile selections; interior design and furniture, rug, paint and window treatment selection and purchases

Category interior designers, remodeling, custom furniture, window treatments, home remodeling

5.0

10/10/2018


Barbie B.

Working with Kris Miller was a delight and what a transformation! Our kitchen is good sized and the storage is decent, but it is dated with the honey-colored maple cabinets and lack of lighting. I had a limited budget, so this was just a make-over using existing cabinets and doors, with the exception of the island. Kris and I decided to use the same color cabinet color as the one in the laundry/mudroom room: Benjamin Moore White Dove. I have some dark espresso wood accents in the house and the new island was stained to match these accents (wine niche, stair railing and fireplace mantel). The biggest decision was with the countertops. Kris knew exactly where to go in Austin and took me to a couple of stone and granite yards. She quickly knew what would and wouldn’t work with the overall goal being to open up the kitchen and create a lighter, clean feeling space. We selected Astoria Granite, which can work both in cool and warm spaces and has beautiful movement, but is soft with the pattern. For tile selection, we kept the color monotone by going with a white marble to continue the cabinet coloring down the wall to meet the countertop. However, we had some fun with the pattern and her intuition of an arabesque 3x3 tile was right on. I have a light fixture in the entry way which is the same style. Two of the most impactfull changes from Kris were removing the bar height countertop and taking it all to one level. It really opened up the space. The next was to increase the island size and create a new design with drawers and some open storage at the end for baskets (to collect all the loose papers that tend to find their way on countertops) and cookbooks. Kris sketched out a design for the carpenter and it turned out beautiful and very functional. Lastly, we added some more space in the kitchen and gave it a custom look by encasing the refrigerator with a new cabinet. I love the extra space and look! In addition to the kitchen make-over, we also re-stained the hardwood floors and painted the walls. Kris helped with the both color selections and offered to show me the paint selection on one of her client’s homes so I could see an example of the paint applied. Kris is a joy to work with and this is not our first project she has helped me with in our home. She also designed our Master Bath for which she was honored with Best Bathroom Makeover. She is very professional, knows the right vendors and she does a fabulous job of reflecting your style with her inspirations.

Description of Work
I recently did a kitchen make-over and some big updates to the house with floor and wall colors with Kris Miller at Decorating Den Interiors.

Category ceramic tile, countertops, hardwood floor, interior designers, lighting

5.0

10/06/2018


stephen W.

Very well. She was attentive to our concerns on budget and very punctual in her response. We would hire her again.

Description of Work
Redesign of master bath

Category interior designers

5.0

09/24/2018


Sean F.

Kris helped us choose and install our perfect window treatments. She provided expert advice based on our needs and preferences and budget. She made a daunting and costly process easy and accessible.

Description of Work
Window treatments

Category interior designers, window treatments

5.0

09/24/2018


Elaine O.

The installer arrived at the exact time of the appointment. He was efficient doing his work. I left him for over an hour while I went to check on my sister who was in the emergency room. He figured out a way to exit my house and still have me return to a locked house when I got back home. The measurements were perfect. The blinds add a look of class to my newly remodeled home and how nice is it to block out that glaring Texas sun!

Description of Work
blinds installed on all the windows of my house

Category interior designers, window treatments

5.0

09/24/2018


Jenifer F.

Kris was a fantastic listener when we described thematic objectives, color concepts and overall likes and dislikes. She worked patiently with our pre-teen and teenage daughters in designing their bedrooms, and with us in updating our den/guest room. The girls love the unique furniture pieces, wall accents, rugs and bedding used to create their dream rooms, and my husband is enjoying the window treatment and sofa when working and playing music in the den. Guests have given the Austin-themed décor and new sleeper sofa a thumbs up.

Description of Work
Two Bedroom Makeovers and a Den/Guest Room Refresh

Category glass repair, interior designers, wallpaper, furniture sales, window treatments

5.0

08/01/2017


Cathy M.

Kris was a great partner and listened to what we had to say. She really understood how the room was to be used, and what we were trying to accomplish. She had great insights into functionality as well as good design ideas. Our project turned out great and we have received many compliments. We loved working with Kris.

Description of Work
Kris helped me a with a large drapery project that needed to be multi functional working to diffuse outside noise as well as bright sun from a conference room. She helped me select the perfect commercial grade material that met all safety codes, plus it looked great in the room with exposed metal beams and modern woodwork.

Category interior designers, window treatments

Service Provider Response

It was a real pleasure partnering with you on this project, and I'm glad to hear that the end-users of this space are pleased. I hope the drapery serves them nicely for years to come!

5.0

06/24/2017


Maura P.

Our natural decorating default is neutral and Kris was able to help us break out of that into some more interesting and exciting decorating choices. We very much appreciated her advice. She was very professional. She took care of a few problems that came up. She came within the projected budget and met deadlines.

Description of Work
I called on Kris to help with decorating my home after a remodel. She made a great selection of area rugs for me to choose from for almost all the rooms (we went from a carpeted upstairs to all wood flooring). She also helped with choosing locations for the various different kinds of wall art that we have.

Category carpet installation, interior designers, muralist

Service Provider Response

It was great to hear from you, [Member Name Removed]! I appreciate you looking me up again after our 2014 project. I think the artwork & rugs put just the right "finishing touch" on your newly remodeled home. Enjoy!

5.0

06/24/2017


Michelle R.

Thank you Kris so much for everything. When I started this project, I really didn’t have any idea of what I wanted nor would I have guessed the end result: a room both my husband and i enjoy very much. The room was dark & cramped with oversized furniture but is now open, bright, and inviting. You really incorporated the kitchen colors with a new palette for the living room, something that I could not envision nor would I have been able to do on my own. The process was pretty painless (except for the barstools!), and that is because of you and your keen sense of design. So thank you, it was a real pleasure. Until the next room…

Description of Work
Living Room Redo.

Category furniture repair, glass repair, lighting, furniture sales, custom furniture

Service Provider Response

Your feedback means so much, [Member Name Removed]. Thanks for the kind & generous words! Your project did have a unique set of challenges, but it was a fun challenge to take on with you. And, like you, I love the results!

5.0

05/30/2017


Carla M.

I have known and worked with Kris for many years. I am continually impressed with Kris’ keen decorating eye and skills. She has guided me through many projects, and I am always very pleased with the “outcome”. I feel very confident with her advice and recommendations. She is very thorough in her research, and always wants to make sure I am comfortable with my decisions. Kris is very professional, keeps me continually updated with written communications on the project, providing detailed information on costs and time frames. Most recently, Kris worked with me on bathroom updates, helping me select new tile floors and shower tiles, paint and paper colors for bathrooms and adjoining bedrooms. New updated window treatments were also part of our project. Kris also worked tirelessly to help me select 2 new large area rugs. I receive frequent compliments on our home interior, and most recently, received compliments on the rugs. I give Kris the credit and look forward to working with her more on future projects.

Description of Work
Bathroom updates including new tile floors, shower tiles, paper for bathrooms and paint colors for adjoining bedrooms.

Category interior designers

Service Provider Response

[Member Name Removed], it's hard to believe we've worked together for 14 years now! It's always a joy to hear from you & help with your projects. I appreciate your loyalty & the trust you continue to place in me.

5.0

05/22/2017


Annette R.

Kris Miller has been a wonderful find as far as providing high quality services and products for my home. She has helped me find the "perfect window coverings" for several homes now. I have known Kris for 10+ years and would recommend her highly to anyone looking for guidance in any area of home decorating and designing. Kris is professional, knowledgable, creative and fun. I have enjoyed working with her on numerous projects. She is attentive and intuitive, and has provided solutions for me that matched my budgets at a variety of levels throughout time. Kris has a ton of industry know-how and is well connected so has also helped me find other services in addition to those she provided directly. She is a wonderful consultant and I have relied on her for both of my most recent homes.

Description of Work
Window coverings for numerous rooms in several homes. Kris also helped me in locating and decision making around what wall art would be optimal in my home which has the majority of my walls are windows. She gave me guidance on how to use the wall space to be the most attractive, pulling together my rooms to give them the look and feel I wanted(office and living).

Category glass repair, interior designers, window treatments, muralist

Service Provider Response

Love, love, love working with you, [Member Name Removed]!!! Houses 1 & 2 have been wonderful projects. Looking forward to helping with houses 3, 4, & 5 too. :-) Thank YOU for being receptive to my ideas & recommendations. We've made some great selections together that really make your home special.

    Other local Pros in your area

    Austin LED Supply

    Austin LED Supply is a locally owned and operated LED lighting supply business located in Georgetown, TX. We have more than 10 years of experience in the industry. We sell all kinds of LED lights, fixtures and bulbs. We custom make LED strips orders for all your home and business projects. We will custom make your project to the specifications you are imagining. With the variety of LED strips and aluminum channels available, we will give your home a touch of modernity.  

    Triple R Interiors

    Hello I'm Richard with triple R interiors. I've been painting for since 2007...over that time, I've earned my stripes, transitioning from being a painters helper to owning my own painting contractor business. I do not cut corners and I'm here to satisfy my customers 100%!  

    Insured
    All statements concerning insurance, licenses, and bonds are informational only, and are self-reported. Since insurance, licenses and bonds can expire and can be cancelled, homeowners should always check such information for themselves.To find more licensing information for your state, visit our Find Licensing Requirements page.
    General Information
    Free Estimates
    No
    Eco-Friendly Accreditations
    No
    Payment Options
    Check, Visa, MasterCard
    Senior Discount
    No
    Warranties
    No

    Services Offered

    Decorating, furniture, custom window treatments, floor planning, upholstered furniture & re-upholstery, shutters, blinds & roman shades, area rugs & carpeting, wallcovering, custom and semi-custom bedding, color & texture coordination, lighting & accessories.

    Services Not Offered

    Ask for details.

    Frequently Asked Questions & Answers about Kris Miller - Decorating Den Interiors

    How is Kris Miller - Decorating Den Interiors overall rated?

    Kris Miller - Decorating Den Interiors is currently rated 5 overall out of 5.

    What days are Kris Miller - Decorating Den Interiors open?

    Kris Miller - Decorating Den Interiors is open:

    Monday: 8:00 AM - 5:00 PM

    Tuesday: 8:00 AM - 5:00 PM

    Wednesday: 8:00 AM - 5:00 PM

    Thursday: 8:00 AM - 5:00 PM

    Friday: 8:00 AM - 5:00 PM

    What payment options does Kris Miller - Decorating Den Interiors provide

    Kris Miller - Decorating Den Interiors accepts the following forms of payment: Check, Visa, MasterCard

    Does Kris Miller - Decorating Den Interiors offer free estimates?

    No, Kris Miller - Decorating Den Interiors does not offer free project estimates.

    Does Kris Miller - Decorating Den Interiors offer eco-friendly accreditations?

    No, Kris Miller - Decorating Den Interiors does not offer eco-friendly accreditations.

    Does Kris Miller - Decorating Den Interiors offer a senior discount?

    No, Kris Miller - Decorating Den Interiors does not offer a senior discount.

    Are warranties offered by Kris Miller - Decorating Den Interiors?

    No, Kris Miller - Decorating Den Interiors does not offer warranties.

    What services does Kris Miller - Decorating Den Interiors offer?

    Kris Miller - Decorating Den Interiors offers the following services: Decorating, furniture, custom window treatments, floor planning, upholstered furniture & re-upholstery, shutters, blinds & roman shades, area rugs & carpeting, wallcovering, custom and semi-custom bedding, color & texture coordination, lighting & accessories.

    Are there any services Kris Miller - Decorating Den Interiors does not offer?

    Ask for details.