Find top-rated Pros in your area

Enter a zip code and get matched to businesses near you.

Aegis Fine Rug Cleaning

Founded 1983 • With Angi since September 2007

3 employees. No subs. Cost is determined by the job. No travel charges. No service fees.No fuel surcharges. Do not contact through email. Additional DBA - Aegis Fine Rug Service. We accept payment in full at time of rug pick up by all major credit cards, including American Express and checks. We offer hypoallergenic rug foundation to protect your wood or stone floors, and rug repairs. We offer free pick up and delivery. If you have a question about your rugs or how to care for them please call. We are local and not a franchise. Only people and pet safe cleansing agents are used in the washing process.

Verified Reviews

5.0

(30) Verified Reviews

Showing 1-25 of 30 reviews
Chris R.
5.0
07/17/2015
It went great, but the thing that made it even greater, was the fact that whenever I had questions about how to care for my rugs, Tim welcomed my calls and gave me great information. We have a lot of pets, so rug care is challenging! The thing about Tim is that service continues to his clients even after his part of the job is finished. He is very knowledgeable about carpets and rugs. The cleaners I purchased from him work better than the stuff I've wasted money on from Home Depot and Pet Stores. And he's given me tips on which cocktail of natural cleaners works on which carpets, depending on stain and fiber. I highly recommend him. When my cat baptized a different rug, I called Tim, and he helped me figure out what to do at no charge. This is an excellent, most excellent service provider. It's not like just getting your rugs cleaned, it's like getting a partner in your rug care. No kidding!
Description of Work
It has been a couple of years since Tim cleaned two of my fine, oriental rugs. He did a great job for me then. I consider him the guru of rugs. One of the rugs he had to trim, since we attempted to clean it ourselves and we almost ruined the piece --Tim fixed our mistake. I do not remember what we paid him then, but it was worth every penny.
Category
oriental rug cleaning
Joseph P.
5.0
01/13/2015
If you want someone taking care of your fine rugs who appreciates them as much as you do, you will be thrilled with Tim Petzold and Aegis Fine Rugs. Tim cleaned several rugs for us and repaired one. His expertise is impressive and he handles everything, including bringing movers to deal with furniture, etc. Communications with him are excellent, with frequent cards from him as progress on your work is made. Top notch professionalism in every way.
Description of Work
Fine rug cleaning and repair.
Category
oriental rug cleaning
Beth T.
5.0
07/03/2014
They were fantastic. Everything was done on time. They even brought organic dog treats for our golden retriever. I find they have very personalized service and I like that very much.
Description of Work
They cleaned my large antique area rugs.
Category
carpet cleaners, oriental rug cleaning
Louis D.
5.0
07/03/2014
Very informative, friendly, and honest.
Description of Work
came to the home to view the rug to be cleaned, advised the cost, time to complete, took the rug and it was cleaned and returned as promised. Also provided information on future care of that rug and one other.
Category
oriental rug cleaning
Kathryn C.
5.0
06/17/2014
They were excellent. I was very happy with them. He's a very nice guy. He's very knowledgeable about his profession.
Description of Work
They picked up a rug that I have purchased. They brought it to their cleaning facility. They brought it back and put it back down for me. It's a large rug of 8 1/2 by 12.
Category
carpet cleaners
Jamie P.
5.0
05/05/2014
Tim's incredibly knowledgeable about rugs. They hand wash all of their rugs and provide great care.
Description of Work
This is our rug cleaner. We also purchased a rug pad from them. We had them clean 1 very large area rug.
Category
oriental rug cleaning
Catherine S.
5.0
11/07/2013
There are so few times when the provider exceeds expectations, but this is one. My rug is unique and dear to me as it is a gift from a former beau that we picked out together while in Morocco. It was dirty when purchased years ago and has never been cleaned. I knew from experience it could not be cleaned using any home methods or typical carpet cleaners -- even spot cleaning with water was an issue! I called Aegis who came to my home to provide background on the type of rug, fibers and dyes used and provided an appraisal. They set my expectations, described the process that would be used and the care that would be taken to protect the rug's uniqueness. Then they took my rug away. Today my rug was returned and it looks far better than it did when it was purchased!! It is like I have a brand new rug. The colors are brighter showing even the most muted colors in a new light. Aegis Fine Rug Services exceeded my expectations in a big, big way.
Description of Work
Cleaned a hard-to-clean, hand-loomed Moroccan rug.
Category
oriental rug cleaning
Kimbrly V.
5.0
08/26/2013
I did not use the services of Aegis Fine Rug Cleaning, but I definitely would in the future. I called, and was promptly connected to the owner who spent a great deal of time discussing my rug, the cleaning process, the price, and various tips to keep my rug in good shape. Since I purchased the rug at a consignment shop the cost of cleaning it would have been more than I paid for it. Even though I did not hire Aegis to come out and clean my rug the owner spent a lot of time on the phone going over my options. I'll definitely use Aegis in the future, and would recommend this company to all of my friends looking for this service.
Description of Work
Discussed various types of rugs. Explained the cleaning process in detail. Gave me tips on how to keep my rug clean and in good shape.
Category
oriental rug cleaning
Randall J.
5.0
07/15/2013
Tim showed up at the appointed time, assessed the condition of the rug, and described what he would do to it. Two weeks later he delivered the rug. Frankly, I was amazed. The rug looked almost new! The stains were gone, except for one small spot. It was faded so much that you have to know where to look to find it. The 2 small rips were repaired and are undetectable from the top side of the rug. The color was much brighter. It is now a great addition to the room. Aegis exceeded our expectations. If you have a quality rug that needs some TLC, call Tim.
Description of Work
Cleaned a wool rug that had been badly abused - pet stains, ground in dirt, crushed by heavy furniture, torn, and, apparently, never vacuumed. Tim picked up and delivered the rug, thoroughly described the cleaning process, and gave us a realistic sense of what to expect in results.
Category
oriental rug cleaning
Dax R.
5.0
03/04/2013
Excellent experience from Aegis! Had a very large rug that had been in the family for many years. Tim, the owner, was extremely knowledgeable and took the time to explain to my wife and I the process and advantages to keeping the rug clean, and the type of cleaning he performed. The cleaning is inclusive of delivery (both ways) and all cleaning processes, versus my experience with a-la-carte rug cleaning. Tim even followed up with a hand written thank-you note to confirm our selected pick-up time, and on the day of the pick-up, surprised us with a warm box of cookies from Tiff's Treats. Tim did exactly as he said he would, arrived on time, completed the cleaning within two weeks, and helped us with the purchase of a new rug pad to help protect our new hardwood floors and maintain the life of our rug. Highly recommended!
Description of Work
Oriental Rug Cleaning
Category
oriental rug cleaning
Gary K.
5.0
02/12/2013
I needed an estimate on the cost and practicality of getting an oriental rug cleaned that at one time belonged to my grandfather. Tim came to my home and spent a considerable amount of time explaining all that I think I needed to know and although I ended up not getting the carpet cleaned, Tim was extremely gracious, polite and professional.
Description of Work
Excellent Experrience
Category
oriental rug cleaning
Rick W.
5.0
12/18/2012
Very good experience. Would recommend them for any rug cleaning.
Description of Work
Aegis picked up four oriental rugs to be cleaned prior to a "downsizing" move. They then delivered them to our neww house. Rugs had not been cleaned in over 10 years and subjected to lots of adult, teenager and dog & cat traffic. Rugs were very clean and original brightness of colors was brought back out. Whites were white again. Cleaning was as good as advertised and service was outstanding.
Category
oriental rug cleaning
Kris R.
5.0
10/30/2012
I will never stray from Aegis Fine Rug Cleaning again! Since I've had my oriental rugs they have been cleaned three times, twice by Aegis and once from another company, which was in between the two Aegis cleanings. The owner, Mr. Petzold, is not only a personable individual, but his knowledge of oriental rugs and the cleaning thereof is vast. When he cleans my rugs they come back soft and fresh-smelling, with the piles all showing the same direction. When I used a different company, the rugs felt hard, didn't seem like they had been cleaned at all and had a chemical oder. At Aegis, the rugs are cleaned with tea-tree oil, a more natural approach that I appreciate. Mr. Petzold has an old fashioned work ethic from a by-gone era. He performs a stellar service in a day and age that sees many companies go at a job either half-heartedly, or not provide enough oversight of their employees. He also communicated with me concerning an estimated time from for delivery, dependent upon the fringe remover, then called and emailed for a more specific time. This first call give me an idea about when to expect him so that I could determine my own course of action for the week. Basically, Mr. Petzold understands that folks are busy and need to plan ahead of time. No doubt, when the rugs are ready to be cleaned again I'll be calling Aegis.
Description of Work
I called the company and spoke to the owner about having my four oriental rugs cleaned. He had just made a delivery and was already on the road, so he came right over after making sure the time was convenient for me. After an informative discussion, he gave me an exact quote, which included not only rug cleaning, but also removing the fringe (thank goodness because I hate that stuff!), then off he went with my rugs.
Category
oriental rug cleaning
AMANDA D.
5.0
10/23/2012
My experience with Aegis was wonderful from beginning to end. I called Tim to get a quote on cleaning an inexpensive rug with a wine stain. Tim asked detailed questions about my rug and the stain. He determined that the quality of my rug (polyacrylic fiber) may not withstand thorough cleaning and suggested an alternative and less expensive method to try and clean the rug. He also suggested a reputable binding shop to resize the rug and cut out the stain. Tim provided me with the names and locations of both resources. He also gave me some tips on getting the binding done at a good price without middleman markups. I was truly amazed by Tim's excellent customer service and sincere desire to help solve my problem regardless of whether he got business. Thanks Tim!
Description of Work
Tim provided me with information on how to save my inexpensive rug stained with red wine.
Category
oriental rug cleaning
Kathy C.
5.0
10/15/2012
I have known Tim Petzold from Aegis Fine rugs for 10 years. In the past he has taken care of my carpets wonderfully. My big "a ha" was when I installed hardwoods and he cleaned my rugs. Shortly after we bought our very expensive Persians, my daughter dropped an eraser with ink. I assumed that we would be content to just cover it with our furniture. I was so wrong! Tim had previously cleaned our carpets, and knowing his attention to detail, I called on him for my expensive rugs. Imagine my surprise when he and his team arrived, moved the furniture and took our rugs. When they were returned they were as beautiful as they day we bought them. Here is how it works with Aegis: He brings a team of the best movers, takes the rugs, and returns them in exactly the place they were, but looking brand new. Also, he has advice on how to rotate the rugs and to make them last forever. I will never use anyone else but Aegis. He is not cheap, but in comparing prices he is right in line. Others charge for furniture move, etc. but his prices are all inclusive. I had 4 large rugs cleaned. And at no charge his team fixed a fraying part of one. Most importantly, they provide expert advice on all flooring. Aegis is truly the best there is.
Description of Work
Four large rugs, with stains. I have never cleaned them in the five years I have had them. I have new pets, plus there are stains that have developed over the years.
Category
oriental rug cleaning
Christina L.
5.0
10/01/2012
It went very well. The rug was damaged by flooding and they picked it up, cleaned it and returned it in great condition. Lovely and nice people to work with.
Description of Work
They picked up my vintage Chinese rug that had been damaged by flooding. They cleaned it and returned it rolled up. It was returned promptly in beautiful condition. The owner was very nice and great to work with. They sent me an coupon and followed up. I was very impressed with their work and responsiveness.
Category
oriental rug cleaning
Kathy M.
5.0
09/17/2012
This was not a simple pick-up, cleaning, and return. While the carpets were being cleaned, my husband and I decided that we wanted to sell on consignment at least one of the carpets. Tim was terrific in recommending a reputable home consignment establishment, and he delivered the carpets there for no additional charge. One of the rugs we decided to take home and use. It was cleaned beautifully and it looks great. I know it had been terribly dirty and stained so I am very happy with the sevice. Tim is a very personable guy. He knows his business (or at least sounds like he does!) and communicated/explained all aspects of the job and transactions. He shows his appreciation for your business with -- in our case -- Tiff's Treats and a very kind thank you message. Tim is the kind of businessman that you really WANT to find on Angie's List.
Description of Work
Tim picked up two large oriental carptes (wool/Karastan) for cleaning and repair. Came to the house, measured the carpets, and priced the cleaning by square foot. He explained how the carpets would be cleaned and how it was different from how most contractors cleaned them. He explained about possible repairs, and possible charges for that. He provided a detailed written invoice and loaded the carpets on his truck. When they were cleaned, they were delivered.
Category
oriental rug cleaning
Matt B.
5.0
06/05/2012
The service was prompt. He informed us as to what he would do, what we could expect and how long it would take. The rug has just been returned on time and at the appointed time. It looks great. I know why he is the best in town. We will use him again for our other rugs as we get to them.
Description of Work
We have a fine oriental rug that needed cleaning. There were a few spots from dog problems.
Category
oriental rug cleaning
Jan B.
5.0
03/21/2012
They were prompt and the customer service wast he best of any company that I've had. I would use them again in the future.
Description of Work
They cleaned my rugs.
Category
oriental rug cleaning
Susan B.
5.0
02/21/2012
Punctual, professional and friendly. Top-notch service. Pricey, but worth it.
Description of Work
Cleaned 3 oriental carpets for me. and did a great job. Great service.
Category
oriental rug cleaning
DAVE D.
5.0
09/22/2011
Tim could not do a better job. Your rugs will be carefully removed, thoroughly and safely cleaned and returned to you looking better than ever. Tim supervises each aspect of the process and is extremely knowledgeable, careful, and reliable. Tim has a great passion for rugs and is very easy to deal with. You will not be disappointed.
Description of Work
Offsite cleaning of Oriental rugs
Category
oriental rug cleaning
VJ A.
5.0
05/14/2011
Tim @ Aegis truly provides Old World caliber customer service. He sends thank you notes. Who does that these days? I found it charming and wonderful, like a breath of fresh air. When he picked up the rugs he answered all my questions and put my mind at ease that they'd take good care of our rugs. And that they did! The 3 rugs came back smelling fresh and looking fabulous. Aegis is not a budget "carpet cleaning" service, but if you have some rugs that you're afraid to have cleaned, fear not. Call Aegis.
Description of Work
We had 3 oriental rugs cleaned, 2 of which are handmade. One of the rugs is a pre-WWII Persian, and is quite large at 13' x 10'. Needless to say, I'd been putting off having them cleaned for fear they'd be mangled.
Category
oriental rug cleaning
Chandra M.
5.0
04/02/2011
We had two large oriental rugs cleaned. One was extremely dirty, old, but valuable. When we bought it 15 years ago it was dirty and we had never cleaned it because I was worried about getting it cleaned by someone who didn't know what they were doing. After reading about Aegis I figured that I'd give it a try. The rug came out better than my wildest dreams. I fell in love with this rug; the colors just popped out and it looks GORGEOUS! When they delivered the two rugs and after I saw the great job they had done I sent another large and old rug off with them. I can't wait to see what it looks like when we get it back. If all businesses were run like Tim runs Aegis we wouldn't need Angie's list. ;)
Description of Work
Awesome!
Category
oriental rug cleaning
Helen B.
5.0
02/17/2011
It was a really good experience, and I would certainly recommend them and use them again myself.
Description of Work
We had flooding during the big storm when we were out of town, and Aegis was highly recommended by our neighbor to clean our oriental rug that was water logged. We had given up on it, but called Aegis to see if there was anything they could do. The owner came out and he was delightful. He said they would try, although the dye had run terribly. They tried mightily, and the rug looked so much better, but not perfect. The service cost nothing because I had a coupon from Angie's list!
Category
oriental rug cleaning
DAVE D.
5.0
09/01/2010
Tim, the owner, does business the right way. He visits each customer personally and finds out what needs to be done. If you have fine rugs you will want someone as knowledgeable and diligent as Tim. He really does sweat every detail and this shows in the finished product. You rugs will be handled carefully and will be returned to you sparklingly clean and in better condition than when they left. Throughout the process, Tim is considerate, fair, and pleasant to work with. No one else will be cleaning my rugs from now on.
Description of Work
We had some minor water damage on one of our smaller rugs. Tim came by promptly and offered his help for free as an introduction and as an Angie's list member. He also discussed the other rugs and pointed out that they require regular cleaning and why this is important and healthy. When he returned the original rug we decided to have four other rugs cleaned.
Category
oriental rug cleaning

Other local Pros in your area

Harper Carpet Care

Harper Carpet Care is a locally owned and operated company by Harley Harper. We pride ourselves in personal customer service and our vast knowledge of carpet and floor care. With our small size comes Big Service! We can offer you more knowledge and experience than the big box companies at a more affordable price. Don't let the bigger companies pass their big overhead on to you, the customer. We have been certified by the IICRC in carpet cleaning and flood water restoration for over 9 years. As an Owner Operated business, you can feel confident that you will always recieve the Highest level of Quality service. We at Harper Carpet Care always strive to offer the best products on the market and floor maintenance methods available.  

Angi Certified

2022 Super Service Award

Offers Coupon

HARTS CARPET CLEANING

We offer the finest in Steam Cleaning by using the best products and most powerful equipment on the market. Not only do we use the best, we strive to be the best by giving our customerst the utmost in service. We are a local small company but growing because we care about your home and carpets. We can do tile and grout as well as upholstery, we offer 100% Satisfaction Guarantee and Prompt on time service. Why wait? *Call us today at (512) 707-1102*  

Angi Certified

Phone

Address

3267 Bee Cave Rd

Austin, TX 78746

Other Information

Services Not Offered

Wall to wall carpet cleaning, air duct cleaning, tile and grout cleaning, furniture cleaning, appraisals, rug sales or trades.emergency water or fire damage mitigation. If you need any of these services, please consult Angie's List for a great provider.

Payment options

Check
Visa
MasterCard
American Express
Discover
Bonded
Insured
All statements concerning insurance, licenses, and bonds are informational only, and are self-reported. Since insurance, licenses and bonds can expire and can be cancelled, homeowners should always check such information for themselves.To find more licensing information for your state, visit our Find Licensing Requirements page.

FAQ

Aegis Fine Rug Cleaning is currently rated 5 overall out of 5.

Aegis Fine Rug Cleaning is open:

Sunday: Closed

Monday: 9:00 AM - 4:00 PM

Tuesday: 9:00 AM - 4:00 PM

Wednesday: 9:00 AM - 4:00 PM

Thursday: 9:00 AM - 4:00 PM

Friday: 9:00 AM - 4:00 PM

Saturday: Closed

Aegis Fine Rug Cleaning accepts the following forms of payment: Check, Visa, MasterCard, American Express, Discover

No, Aegis Fine Rug Cleaning does not offer free project estimates.

Yes, Aegis Fine Rug Cleaning offers eco-friendly accreditations.

No, Aegis Fine Rug Cleaning does not offer a senior discount.

No, Aegis Fine Rug Cleaning does not offer warranties.

Aegis Fine Rug Cleaning offers the following services: Hand washing of Persian Carpets, Oriental, Navajo and area rugs. The owner washes every rug by hand and all rugs are safely dried flat.Never hung, wrung or spun dry which can stretch or distort wet rugs and lead to dye bleeding. All rugs are washed individually which prevents cross contamination with other client's rugs. No rugs are fed through machines. There are no extra charges for pick up, delivery, fabric protectant, deodorizing, moth repellent, soaking to treat for pet odors and stains.

Wall to wall carpet cleaning, air duct cleaning, tile and grout cleaning, furniture cleaning, appraisals, rug sales or trades.emergency water or fire damage mitigation. If you need any of these services, please consult Angie's List for a great provider.