Find top-rated Pros in your area

Enter a zip code and get matched to businesses near you.

Adams Structural Inc

Founded 1984 • With Angi since January 2011

4.9

(38) Verified Reviews

Business Details

Phone Number

Address

4505 Michelle Dr

Arlington, TX 76016

Description

We offer free estimates anywhere in the DFW area and surrounding counties. We will travel with-in and out of the state for retaining wall work. Our engineering costs are some of the lowest you will find. Let us help you make the right choice for all your hardscape up-grades and retaining wall projects. There is not a job we can't handle. Modular/segmental ret. walls, concrete bag walls, timber walls, R.R tie walls, and natural stone walls are our specialties. Our Masterful crew has some of the best skills to give you the greatest looking wall or patio you could hope for....

Verified Reviews

A few reviews for this pro...
5.0

10/12/2019


Helen P.

We requested a diamond stone paver retaining wall. They were very punctual and professional. They diligently worked, and quickly finished the whole wall (30' long and 3' high). This wall is gorgeous. I would highly recommend this company to anyone that needs stonework done.

Description of Work
Retaining Wall

Category hardscaping

Service Provider Response

Thank you [Member Name Removed]. We greatly appreciate the work and are Happy the wall turned out so well for you. It was the perfect choice. Marcus
1.0

12/18/2017


maria W.

I called and make an appointment, no body showed up, I call to reschedule no body called back. Very careless people.

Description of Work
Retaining wall

Category structural engineer

5.0

08/04/2017


Justin S.

Marcus went out of his way to work our repairs into his busy schedule. He came out himself as all of his crews were busy and performed our repairs. The work looks terrific and I feel very fortunate that we found Adams Structural/Marcus. Marcus is a real gentleman and treated us extremely well. He was respectful of our time and budget and a pleasure to deal with. I would highly recommend him and his company!

Description of Work
My home is nearly 20 years old and the stone retaining wall the builder had installed was suffering from mortar cracks. We are in the process of selling our home and needed the cracks repaired quickly before listing.

Category masonry

5.0

07/07/2017


Glen L.

It was on time and on budget. The wall looks great and last thirty years.

Description of Work
Repaired retaining wall.

Category structural engineer, hardscaping

Service Provider Response

Thanks [Member Name Removed] for the review. We appreciate your return business.
5.0

06/16/2017


Justin S.

Marcus went out of his way to work our repairs into his busy schedule. He came out himself as all of his crews were busy and performed our repairs. The work looks terrific and I feel very fortunate that we found Adams Structural/Marcus. Marcus is a real gentleman and treated us extremely well. He was respectful of our time and budget and a pleasure to deal with. I would highly recommend him and his company!

Description of Work
My home is nearly 20 years old and the stone retaining wall the builder had installed was suffering from mortar cracks. We are in the process of selling our home and needed the cracks repaired quickly before listing.

Category hardscaping

5.0

06/02/2017


Gary O.

Everything went as planned. No problems at all.

Description of Work
The old wood retaining wall taken down and a new stone retaining wall put back up.

Category hardscaping

Service Provider Response

Thanks for the work [Member Name Removed]. We will be returning shortly as soon as the weather allows to complete the other work.
5.0

05/26/2017


Alice P.

It was wonderful working with Marcus (salesman). He understood I was am extremely busy and offered to give an estimate to replace the retaining wall in my absence. He later emailed the estimate. Marcus was always available to answer any questions I had--which were many. Jaime and crew were extremely professional. They started the project as scheduled and finished within 3 days as stated in the contract. They cleaned up everything and were extremely careful not to damage my neighbor's sprinklers, which were below the wall. They saved me $1000 less than the original estimate due to some creative engineering by not moving over my existing fence. It was a pleasure to have them do the job!

Description of Work
Replaced deteriorating railroad ties retaining wall with natural stone and added stone landscaping borders in entire front lawn.

Category hardscaping

5.0

05/22/2017


Robert M.

Marcus came out the day after I called and provided a very professional and accurate estimate. Work was completed less than a week later, took less than one day start to finish. Very professional job, impressed that there was no mention of upselling (upgrading from landscape timbers to rock, etc). Wall looks fantastic, yard was cleaned up impeccably. No complaints, would definitely use again.

Description of Work
replace landscape timber retaining wall

Category hardscaping

Service Provider Response

Thanks a lot [Member Name Removed]. You mentioned me not trying to upsell you and that is something I learned as being a customer myself. I don't like the awkward feeling of trying to get a customer to spend more money if it's not necessary. Only some situations require upgrades or alternative wall methods and that's why we like to offer options. In the end it's your money and it's not my job to spend it, only give you the best value. Thanks again for the review. Marcus
5.0

03/14/2017


Terry S.

Jaime and his crew of 4 workers came by on Wednesday afternoon and started preliminary work. They started removing all of the old railroad ties and hauled off some old shrubs. They came back on Thursday morning and continued to clear the railroad ties and leveled the ground as needed. They were very meticulous and took care to put one piece of fence back in place so my neighbors dogs would not get loose. They continued to work on Friday and then finished the primary work on Saturday. I had them come back on Monday for some misc work I needed completed which they completed by Noon. Jaime and his crew did outstanding work and I would definitely recommend them to anyone he needs a retaining wall put up.

Description of Work
I needed a new retaining wall. My existing wall was old railroad ties that were crumbling and rotten. Adams Structural was one of the firms provided to me by Donna S at the Angie's List Customer Support Center. That same day I heard from Mark B at Adam and he sent over one of his supervisors later that day. Jaime M discussed what I needed and he went off for a short period and then gave me an estimate for the job. Later that day (Friday 3/03), I called Jaime and accepted his bid.

Category hardscaping

Service Provider Response

Thanks a ton [Member Name Removed] for the positive review. We too want to Thank you for your business and allowing us a chance to showcase our quality of work. Take Care! Marcus
5.0

05/23/2016


Bud W.

Contractor exceeded all expectations. Marcus (sales) gave me the low bid and the cost was exactly what they said it would be-- no surprises. We chose the Pavestone Milsap blend he first suggested and are very glad we did. My neighbors have all been commenting on how beautiful the new wall looks. Project took one week, from start to finish, and also included removal and disposal of the old wall and fence. They set new fence posts (I plan to nail the rails and pickets myself). I was impressed with not only with the care they took with my property, but how careful they were not to make a mess of my neighbors property-- which they left better than they found it. The workmanship of Rubio (foreman) and his crew is first rate. I would use this contractor again without hesitation.

Description of Work
Replace existing railroad tie retaining wall with Pavestone blocks.

Category landscaping, structural engineer, hardscaping

5.0

03/04/2016


Stephanie H.

This company did a great job from start to finish. They were on time and on budget - and they did a great job on the details.

Description of Work
Retaining Walls

Category hardscaping

5.0

08/25/2015


Charles G.

The job/work done is outstanding. Quality work with quality products. I experienced a rather lengthy delay because they had trouble locating Railroad ties. In then end we swapped to "Milled Timber" which I think looks a lot better than RR ties. I didn't even know this was an option until they said they couldn't find high enough quality RR ties. So, although I did have a delay in getting things going I would still highly recommend them due to the high quality work performed.

Description of Work
Replaced a retaining wall

Category landscaping, hardscaping

5.0

07/13/2015


Amanda C.

Marcus was exceptional to deal with. He always answered the phone or promptly returned phone calls. We were on a really tight schedule as we needed an old railroad tie retaining wall completely replaced before selling our house. Although every wall company was backed up with work thanks to record rainfalls in May, Marcus understood our timeline and kept us up to date regularly on when he thought he could start work. In fact, he was able to start a few days earlier than he initially told us. The price was very reasonable, the work was completed within the number of days he estimated, the work was done to a very high quality, and the crew cleaned everything up very nicely. I would highly recommend Adams Structural!

Description of Work
Replacement of retaining wall

Category landscaping, hardscaping

5.0

06/08/2015


Tom G.

Marcus was very accommodating in working the project with all the rain we had the last couple of months. I wanted to let my backyard to dry out some before the old was was torn down and the new wall put up. He did that for me and they even straighten out my fence that is on the wall for me. All the work was completed in one day. Great job.

Description of Work
Replaced Railroad tile wall with new timbers.

Category hardscaping

5.0

05/26/2015


robert J.

The quality of work definitely exceeded my expectations. The patio looked brand new even with the existing pavers. I left town for the weekend but before I left I watched the crew and it was obvious that all five or six of them knew exactly what they were doing. When my wife and I returned after the weekend, We saw the retaining walls which looks fantastic. They had installed high grade railroad ties that look great. Marcus was very professional and the price was less than I had expected. I definitely recommend this company.

Description of Work
He replaced 40 feet of a railroad tie retaining wall, repaired an existing stone retaining wall and repaired a sunken Pavestone patio.

Category landscaping, hardscaping

1.0

05/16/2015


Patty B.

Never came to give estimate. Never could contact after missed appointment so moved on.

Description of Work
Nothing more than answer a phone

Category hardscaping

Service Provider Response

Hello [Removed Member Name], and all those reading this response. I just returned from my first real vacation in 6 years. When [Removed Member Name] called my cell phone I was day One into our trip and things were hectic. I was getting an unusually high volume of calls on my cell phone. I was continually trying to answer calls, return calls, navigate, and relax all at the same time. I asked [Removed Member Name] if I could call her back to schedule a meeting time. I had every intention on scheduling a date, but My Loving wife asked (demanded) that I put work somewhat behind me for the next 8 days. I agreed to this and that's what happened. I do however think all F's are harsh since we never gave you a price or quality. An N/A in these two columns would've sufficed. To everyone else out there don't let this comment deter you. We Are Great at what we do, and my crew is second to none! Kindest Regards, Marcus Banner (Adams Structural Inc.) #817-690-8081.
1.0

04/26/2015


James O.

I am unable to review the workmanship. Marcus arrived about noon and gave a verbal estimate to repair the wall using existing pavers but suggested that heavier pavers would be better and I agreed. Two days later I called to find out when the estimate might be sent and to verify they had the correct email address. Three days later another call for an ETA on the estimate. Two days later another call. Three days later I called again to gain insight on the reason for non-response and was again told someone would call me back. That was two days ago. Judging from the eleven previous reviews where the lowest cost of work was $2,500 I'm GUESSING they chose not to produce an estimate because the $1100 - $1300 unofficial bid was too little for them to bother with. Even though the cost would have been higher by replacing the pavers.. So, my only viable complaint is the lack of responsiveness. That doesn't bode well if something goes wrong with the job. good luck. update May 11. Accepted another bid of $3,700. Seems high but, perhaps, the $1300 verbal offer was a low-ball offer. Updated May 17: As for being dejected that was because of the amount that I have had to spend on house repairs. I did state, "It doesn't matter if it is expensive it has to be done and it has to be done right." If the $2800 includes the "concrete footer", the heavy stones we talked about, and filling in the low areas behind the wall then contact me. If the work is done I will update this review.

Description of Work
Examined the wall, gave a verbal estimate, and promised to email a more accurate estimate.

Category landscaping, hardscaping

Service Provider Response

Hello Jim, I apologize if you felt slighted or ignored in any way. The only time we spoke directly was that day at your residence. We visited over your project and many other things for more than a half hour. When we got to the wall discussions I advised on things from drainage, to wall repair, and to wall replacement. I did give you two verbal estimates and that's where your (dejected) reactions led me to believe there was no actual chance of getting the project. The repair was for $1,100 (which I dropped to $900.00), and the (verbal) quote for wall replacement was $1,800.00. Once I ran the numbers later on I realized the verbal quote was higher at an actual $2,200.00. Gauging from your earlier response that $1,800 was to much I assumed (which is my fault) that there was no real chance of getting the project. I put forth my efforts into other productive meetings and proposals. Unfortunately In this business we make judgement calls that don't always please everyone, but I know the majority of people we meet have a positive experience.
4.0

08/11/2014


Ronnye P.

What he was proposing was not exactly what I felt like I wanted that I needed. It was less expensive. I think it was $1300 or $1400. It was less expensive than what I was expecting. It was also less of a wall from what I was expecting. I don't think he understood exactly what I wanted or needed. I don't think at that time I knew what I wanted or needed either. He was professional and he was timely. I had no complaints about him.

Description of Work
I had them out for a quote. It was just for a kind of a walk-wall.

Category landscaping

5.0

06/20/2014


Louis M.

Hire these guys! There's not enough space to write all the positives in this experience, but here are the highlights: First, they had the best price, BY FAR, and the resulting product was as good as we could have expected from other providers who quoted thousands of dollars more. Second, they were honest. I originally contacted Marcus in March and he stated that he couldn't get to my project for another month, instead of telling us what we wanted to hear (that they could start immediately). A month later when I checked in with Marcus, he stated that while there was material (railroad ties) available to start our job, he didn't like the quality. He stated he would understand if we wanted to go with another service provider, but his honesty proved to me that Adams was the right outfit for the job. Third, they did good work. Since our house sits on a creek, it was a difficult job. Additionally, the existing wall was built unusually, with spikes running through all ties, making it more difficult to tear out. Jaime and the crew worked hard in the heat and on slippery, slanted ground, but the resulting wall was uniform and even. Fourth, they backed up their work. After the job was completed, I discovered that a sprinkler line had been severed (not uncommon for this type of job). There was no hesitation whatsoever... They came out the next day to not only fix the sprinkler line, but they also noticed a drainage pipe (from the gutter system on our house) had not been reconnected, so they fixed that too. Rather than "take the money and run" like many service providers have done, Marcus saw the project through to not only completion, but satisfactory reconciliation. Lastly, they cleaned up after themselves. Many service providers come in, do their thing, but leave a mess behind. Jaime and his crew were sure to clean up after themselves while placing everything back in its original location. Now we have a wall that is secure and we won't have to worry about it for decades.

Description of Work
Our home sits on a creek in North Dallas and the retaining wall needed to be replaced. We contacted three service providers, and elected to go with Adams Structural. The service included: Tear out of old wall Installation of new wall Re-Assembly of wrought iron fence

Category fencing, hardscaping

5.0

06/03/2014


Sandy K.

This is the second time we have contracted with this company. As before, the job started prior to the set date. The crew was very professional, and cleaned up the area after completion. Originally we were thinking of a deck for the area, but after receiving quotes quickly realized we needed to rethink our options. Marcus came out to look at the area, made design suggestions and suggested ways we could save money on the job. I could not be happier with the patio and am glad we did not go with a deck, I saved thousands of dollars, and have a beautiful large area for outdoor use

Description of Work
We had a brick patio installed, because the ground slopes, this required a low level retaining wall and back fill to be added. I also had my railroad tie retaining wall increased by one tier, so that river rock could be filled in an unused area

Category hardscaping

5.0

03/31/2014


Leslie G.

My retaining wall was deteriorating and some areas were collapsing. I looked on Angie's List for professional company with engineering experience as the wall was over 7 feet in places. I was contacted by Marcus, the project manager. He came and gave an estimate of cost and time. After the city issued the building permit, Marcus called and asked when I wanted the crew to arrive. The crew arrived and on time, was very professional, and cleaned up after they finished for the day. They were a quiet bunch until the last day and then there was laughter and kidding around. When I say professional, I mean they set plumb lines and ensured every tie was level. They were very punctual and took very few breaks. The project manager and foreman were easy to get in contact with if needed. I rated the cost as good as it was slightly higher than estimated; however, it was due to the amount of work and ties. I would definitely use Adams Structural again. It is so nice to walk out and not worry about a landslide!

Description of Work
Adams Structural replaced my entire railroad tie retaining wall. On the first day, the back wall was stripped of all railroad ties and a load of new ties were delivered. The job was completed after 2 weeks (as estimated). The crew cleaned up after themselves. They had taken down a section of fence and took out a couple of flowerbeds. After the job was completed, they replaced the fence (I requested and received metal posts) and constructed the flowerbeds as they had been before the construction.

Category hardscaping

5.0

03/22/2014


Sandy K.

The bid we received from Adams Structural was competitive with other bids received. We requested bids from 3 companies on Angies list, only two responded. Ultimately we went with this company because the sales representative was informative, confident, and very helpful. He carried with him brochures of block and stone choices available (not offered from the other company providing a bid) and offered options that he felt would work with our home. Marcus also offered options to help us save money. Upon request he provided us with referrals which we contacted. The job started on time (actually a day sooner) and was completed in the amount of time stated. Complete clean-up was done after the job was finished. The walls look great and we would definitely use this company again. We have been very satisfied with the job done

Description of Work
We replaced two railroad tie retaining walls; one was remade with railroad ties and one done in block.

Category hardscaping

5.0

03/13/2014


Haskell W.

I worked with Marcus throughout the project. We had 180 feet of rotting railroad-tie retaining wall around our home that we needed to replace. We got estimates from three different companies and choose Adam's structural after looking at referenced jobs they had completed for other customers. We decided during the planning process, that we would also change the footprint of the wall a little and add a brick paver patio as part of the project. This was a big job that took 2-3 weeks. Marcus and the crew were pros throughout the tear out and rebuild process. They took pride in the work, and welcomed my input along they way. The crew was detail oriented and flexible to our recommendations as they were establishing the new wall perimeter around the patio. The walls and patio are beautiful and my wife is happy :) I will use Adams Structural again if I need similar work.

Description of Work
Removed 180 feet of old railroad-tie retaining wall, built Highland Stone walls, put in custom Holland stone patio.

Category hardscaping

5.0

09/03/2013


Kevin P.

Once I gathered all of the finances for the job, I scheduled with Marcus to have them begin work. He called me around 8 PM on a Sunday night about a week early and told me that he had a cancellation and could started on the job the next day. The crew arrived and started work the next morning. It was a very large job that took 2 weeks to complete. They tore out the failing wall, which took a couple of days, and then began installing the new wall. There was a 1 day rain delay, but they otherwise completed everything according to schedule. The new wall is very well done. It looks good and looks like it will last for a long, long time. They cleaned up after themselves very nicely. There was unavoidable damage to grass due to all of the earth being moved, but it will grow back. I would recommend Adams Structural for any retaining wall job. They have reasonable prices and perform good, quality work.

Description of Work
I contacted several contractors for tearing down an existing gabion wall that was failing and installing a new segmental retaining wall in its place. Adams came back with the best price and had good recommendations. So I hired them to do the job.

Category hardscaping

5.0

08/12/2013


Mei C.

The contractor showed on time and emailed us the quote as promised. The start date was accurate and the timeline for which the project was completed was spot on. There was no issues or concerns that we had the work was done beautifully . The crew remove the old fence and wouldn't post from the ground and rebuilt are retaining wall reset metal post and replace our existing fence the crew was respectful and very clean with their work.

Description of Work
Replaced a retainibg wall, and reset our fence ontop of the wall. Also replacing our wood fence posts with metal.

Category fencing, hardscaping

    Other local Pros in your area

    Andy’s Sprinkler Drainage & Lighting

    Andy's Sprinkler, Drainage, and Lighting, founded in 1987, provides Sprinkler Repair & Maintenance, Outdoor Drainage Installation, and Low-Voltage Landscape Lighting services to home owners, property management groups, and commercial businesses. Our top priority is earning your trust through outstanding customer service provided by our honest, licensed professionals. Our technicians receive criminal background checks, receive extensive training (on top of their required state licensing), and we don't cut corners. If you want the job done right the first time, give Andy's a call today!  

    Lancaster Masonry

    Our mission is to be a provider that brings back the personal touch with our customers. We will build a relationship that will last a lifetime after you see our quality work. As a locally owned and operated business we feel invested in our clients and constantly strive for customer satisfaction. We won't leave until the job is done right! Call or click to schedule an estimate today!  

    Angi Super Service Award badge
    Super Service
    Award 2021
    Lonestar Masonry Repair

    Lonestar Masonry Repair specializes in residential and commercial masonry repair service. Our services include brick repair, crack repair, stone repair, mortar matching, chimney and fireplace repair, mortar cap repair, firebox repair, archway repair, patio repair, walkway repair and masonry restoration. To learn more about our services give us a call at 817-709-6834 to schedule your free estimate. Ask us about our military, first responders, and educators discount. http://lonestarmasonryrepair.com/  

    Business Highlights

    Emergency Services OfferedEmergency Services Offered
    Landscaping - Lakefront
    General Remodeling
    Bonded
    Insured
    All statements concerning insurance, licenses, and bonds are informational only, and are self-reported. Since insurance, licenses and bonds can expire and can be cancelled, homeowners should always check such information for themselves.To find more licensing information for your state, visit our Find Licensing Requirements page.
    General Information
    Free Estimates
    Yes
    Eco-Friendly Accreditations
    Yes
    Payment Options
    Check
    Emergency Service
    Yes
    Warranties
    Yes

    Services Offered

    Retaining Walls. Pavestone Patios. Flagstone Walkways. Drainage Work. Hardscapes

    Services Not Offered

    Sod. Sprinkler Work.

    Frequently Asked Questions & Answers about Adams Structural Inc

    How is Adams Structural Inc overall rated?

    Adams Structural Inc is currently rated 4.9 overall out of 5.

    What days are Adams Structural Inc open?

    Adams Structural Inc is open:

    Sunday: Closed

    Monday: 6:00 AM - 6:00 PM

    Tuesday: 6:00 AM - 6:00 PM

    Wednesday: 6:00 AM - 6:00 PM

    Thursday: 6:00 AM - 6:00 PM

    Friday: 6:00 AM - 6:00 PM

    Saturday: 9:00 AM - 12:00 PM

    What payment options does Adams Structural Inc provide

    Adams Structural Inc accepts the following forms of payment: Check

    Does Adams Structural Inc offer free estimates?

    Yes, Adams Structural Inc offers free project estimates.

    Does Adams Structural Inc offer eco-friendly accreditations?

    Yes, Adams Structural Inc offers eco-friendly accreditations.

    Does Adams Structural Inc offer emergency services?

    Yes, Adams Structural Inc offers emergency services.

    Are warranties offered by Adams Structural Inc?

    Yes, Adams Structural Inc offers warranties.

    What services does Adams Structural Inc offer?

    Adams Structural Inc offers the following services: Retaining Walls. Pavestone Patios. Flagstone Walkways. Drainage Work. Hardscapes

    Are there any services Adams Structural Inc does not offer?

    Sod. Sprinkler Work.