Find top-rated Pros in your area

Enter a zip code and get matched to businesses near you.

COVID-19 Update
We are taking additional precautions to protect our customers.

Health & Safety Measures

We will wear masks and gloves when we visit your home
All statements concerning COVID‑19 business operations and essential services are informational only, and are self‑reported and not verified by Angi.

1st Choice Chimney

Founded 2009 • With Angi since June 2011

4.5

(61) Verified Reviews

Business Details

Phone Number

Address

3302 Westgrove Dr

Arlington, TX 76001

Description

1st Choice Residential is a leading provider of chimney cleaning & gas fireplace & bbq grill cleaning & repair throughout the DFW area. Located in DFW we offer a full range of expert chimney and fireplace repair including chimney cleaning, fireplace and chimney repair, chimney inspection, chimney
Gas Fireplace Service project
Gas Fireplace Service

fireplace services

202276001

Verified Reviews

A few reviews for this pro...
1.0

07/26/2021


Sara I.

No Call, No Show, No Apology Homeowners, beware! We recently contacted First Choice Residential Chimney to have our chimney cleaned and a damper clamp installed prior to moving into our new house. Simple enough! First Choice scheduled our appointment for 2 p.m. on a Friday, and we were given a two-hour service window (2 to 4 p.m.). No call, no show! After 4 p.m. on the day of our appointment, we called the company to discuss next steps. From there, it took yet another hour to reach the assigned service provider. After all was said and done, we never received an apology (or any impression that the scheduling coordinator or owner cared about wasting our time), so we decided to take our business elsewhere. Everyone is going to mess up at some point or another. It's not the mess that matters but how you recover from it. First Choice failed on both accounts, and their lack of ownership is evident from their customer-facing staff to their senior leadership. After reading other reviews, we realize that our experience is not unique. We hope this review will help guide other homeowners to a company that cares about their customers' time, not just their money.

Description of Work
Chimney Servicing and Damper Clamp Installation

Category chimney sweep, chimney repair

1.0

03/02/2021


Babette M.

I paid $79.00 for 10 minutes of looking at it to see if they could do job, after I told them the size of burner and size of pipe, serviceman said it would be easy to replace. Approved order for burner $103.00 and 75.00 for labor. Serviceman came out for repair Feb. 10 could not fix it and had to call a plumber. Paid $103.00 for part even though it wasnt installed. Plumber came out and found serviceman loosened pipe inside wall without telling me, plumber said if he would have replaced burner and left when I used it gas would have filled walls with gas and could have burned house down. I have written emails to company 6 times and called Feb. 11 and talked to scheduler she said her boss would call me back...never happened. The serviceman called his boss and told him he couldnt get burner off the boss told him to break end off and bend it so it would be close so I could use it..Really. Over all very bad experience with this company would not hire them again.

Description of Work
Replace gas burner in Wood Burning fireplace

Category chimney sweep, fireplaces

5.0

03/01/2021


Robert W.

Great! Professional and knowledgeable service.

Description of Work
Maintenance on gas fireplace

Category fireplaces

5.0

01/28/2021


Josh B.

They were able to get out to our house the very day they responded to our quote request. Great service. The techs were professional and honest about the work needed. We'll certainly work with again.

Description of Work
Converting fireplace from gas back to wood-burning.

Category fireplaces

5.0

12/31/2018


Richard B.

The technician who came to check out our gas fireplace was on time and friendly. He fixed the pilot light problem as well as cleaned up the glass and fireplace in general. That was fantastic! He also showed me how to take the glass off if I needed to clean it in the future. He said the unit was in great shape!

Description of Work
The pilot light would not turn on in our gas fireplace.

Category fireplaces, gas logs

2.0

12/27/2018


Robert B.

Buyer Beware! They charged us 3 times the regular rate of $145 for trip charge and fireplace checkup even though it was all in one trip and he was here less than an hour! They charged $450 until we made them reverse it. This business is looking to rip people off and is not interested in being fair and equitable.

Description of Work
Fraudulent Charges!

Category chimney sweep

1.0

12/02/2018


jesse G.

instead of counterflashing they sloped tar on the chimney cheap job and they lied said that they put counterflashing 13 to 15 months later had a big leak so I got up there myself and seen and took pics to prove there was never any counterflashing installed I showed them the pics and they still lied to my face they both say they are Pasters but lie like snakes

Description of Work
counter flashing

Category chimney sweep, chimney repair

1.0

12/02/2018


jesse G.

they never installed counterflashing and house leaked a year later I did the brick work they were supposed to install counter flashing instead they slopped tar over it pics tell the whole story cheep work and no conscience looks like they got some guys from 7-11 day labors to do the work

Description of Work
install counterflashing on cimney

Category chimney sweep

5.0

11/11/2018


Amy D.

Very professional. My firebox needed to be patched and they let me know my options to either patch I replace, cost and what each would get me as far as future use. Worked thoroughly and quickly and very personable.

Description of Work
Sweep chimney and patch firebox

Category chimney sweep

1.0

03/05/2018


Leena A.

worst customer service ever. I️ apparently spoke to a “manager” about wanting a new unit due to having repair done on my fire place time and time again. The so called “manager” told me I️ was clearly confused because I️ didn’t need a until although we were tired of constantly paying for repairs. Crazy to know that a “manager” would loose a huge service just because she didn’t understand. Your company just now lost money and the other three customers I️ was going to bring to you all to fix there fire place as well.

Description of Work
Wanted a new fire unit but manager disagrees so decided not to help with any questions

Category fireplaces

1.0

02/12/2018


Kenneth G W.

One of the worst experiences I've ever had with a contractor. I hired them on 1/2/18 and fired them today, 2/12/18. This is a very long story spanning over 6 weeks. There is not enough space to relate all of the details, but here are the main issues: - No-show on the first call. - After the cleaning, technician did NOT call me with results of cleaning and investigation. - I then talked to Melissa to get the information I needed. She did NOT call me back. - I then talked to Mary who got me in touch with the technician. - I talked to the technician, Christian. He said the damper was not repairable. - I asked Christian to call me with gas log and new door options. He said he would call. - He did NOT call back. - I fired 1st Choice and hired another contractor. He told me that he COULD fix the damper. - He also went on the roof to inspect the chimney and found a rag in the chimney. Really! - Unbelievably poor communications plus poor service. Amazing!

Description of Work
Clean chimney, repair damper, install fireplace doors

Category chimney sweep, chimney repair, fireplaces, gas logs

2.0

07/05/2017


Candace N.

Man did not even go up on the roof to inspect, then came gave me a quote for $10K less than 2 other Chimney Contractors. WOULD NOT RECOMMEND

Description of Work
Replace Chimney

Category chimney caps, chimney repair, fireplaces

5.0

03/29/2017


Yvonne A C.

I would use this company again to check my gas burning fireplace. The gentleman that came to my home was knowable and explained how this fireplace worked. I have lived in my home for about 10 years and never use my fireplace. After he left I used it during the winter season.

Description of Work
Check my gas fireplace that had not been used in 10 years,

Category chimney sweep

5.0

03/20/2017


John S.

It was excellent. One person came out for two different visits. It took a total of about four hours. They left the area clean. Their price was competitive. They were right on time. Their professionalism is an A+. I would definitely use them again.

Description of Work
They cleaned two fireplaces. They also added some rock.

Category chimney sweep

5.0

03/10/2017


Frederick M.

It went great. They were very professional and the only complaint is that they promised to get back to me on a price for external chimney vent cover that the previous owner had cut up and they did not do that.

Description of Work
fireplace servicing and repair

Category chimney sweep, fireplaces

5.0

03/07/2017


Mariann G.

Great! Very professional...job well done.

Description of Work
clean and tune gas fireplace

Category chimney sweep, fireplaces

5.0

02/22/2017


Liz M.

He was professional, helpful, and respectful.

Description of Work
I needed dryer vents cleaned.

Category chimney sweep, dryer vent cleaning

4.0

02/13/2017


Ray C.

Did a great job, although they had to reschedule because someone called in sick.

Description of Work
Clean plugged up dryer duct.

Category chimney sweep, dryer vent cleaning

5.0

02/10/2017


Donna C.

It was great. He did a fine job. Was on time and very tidy with a messy type job.

Description of Work
Chimney needed cleaning

Category chimney sweep

5.0

02/04/2017


Patricia R.

I am very pleased. The technician had to make multiple trips but in the end the result was well worth it.

Description of Work
The direct gas fireplace would not light. A service package purchased through Angie's List. Additional work was required outside of the original scope.

Category fireplaces, gas logs

5.0

02/04/2017


Candace N.

Great experience! Steve was professional, educational, thorough, personable. Taught us things we didn't know about our fireplace system. Called ahead-much appreciated. Recommend this service & Steve. Will use again.

Description of Work
Gas fireplace inspection

Category fireplaces, gas logs

5.0

01/30/2017


Denise B.

She came, told me what she was doing along the way. Gave me some other tips on keeping it clean and working properly. She was very personable, and not just an employee making a paid service call. She really took the time to talk with me, not 'to' or 'at' me. Didn't leave until she knew I was satisfied and if I had anything else needed or questions that maybe didn't come up in the initial request.

Description of Work
Gas fireplace wouldn't ignite. Had no idea what the problem was. That's their forte'. lol.

Category gas logs

5.0

01/16/2017


Bill G.

Great job, went the extra mile to make sure it was fine right. Provided the needed assessment on what else I needed with a quote.

Description of Work
Chimney cleaning and inspection

Category chimney sweep

5.0

01/05/2017


Valerie M.

Best service call i have ever had. The technician was great. When she found the leak she had to come back with a new part. She came back with the part after her last appointment to make sure we got fixed. I highly recommend this service company

Description of Work
Service gas fireplace and fix gas leak

Category chimney sweep, chimney repair

5.0

12/31/2016


Shirley B.

I purchased this service through a big deal. The company was very accommodating in scheduling services around my work schedule. Loren, the Technician, arrived on time, was very professional, courteous, and knowledgeable about what needed to be done to service my gas fireplace to ensure that it worked optimally. He inspected the fireplace and replaced the wall switch that was no longer working. He added artificial ashes/embers to improve the look of the fire when burning. This was my first time using this company but I plan to continue to use them in the future.

Description of Work
Fireplace inspection and replaced electrical switch.

Category fireplaces

    Other local Pros in your area

    Climate Doctors

    Climate Doctors is family owned & locally operated. We understand that taking care of your family is the number one priority. Climate Doctors was started to provide complete duct cleaning and energy efficient solutions to help consumer's homes have better air quality and a more efficient heating and air systems. Climate Doctors will do what it takes to do a complete cleaning & inspection of the duct work to assure unfiltered air from the attic is not entering into the home environment. Award Winning.  

    Angi Certified

    Offers Coupon

    Shirley Air Inc.

    We believe in "NO HIDDEN FEES-GREAT GUARANTEES" ! We are family owned and operated by individuals who believe in ethical-honest-trustworthy-reliable business practices. Located in Euless Texas, Shirley Air, Inc. has been in business since 2012. At Shirley Air, Inc., we understand that every customer is unique and so are their needs. Our team is committed to providing superior service to you with the wide range of services we provide. One of our principal values is always aiming for a higher level of service. We want our professional services to satisfy you completely. We always strive to do our very best as we love making our customers happy.  

    Angi Certified

    Dryer Vent Wizard of Central Dallas Ft Worth

    Homeowners with clogged dryer vents typically experience longer drying cycles resulting in $18-$24 more per month in energy costs. Additionally, over 15,000 dryer fires occur each year, with failure to clean being the leading factor. The trained professionals at Dryer Vent Wizard specialize in cleaning, repairing, altering and installing dryer vent lines. It’s all we do, so we have the right knowledge, tools and techniques to do the job right. An informed decision is the best decision… download our Dryer Fire Warning Signs brochure (PDF below). Additional phone: 972-822-2050  

    Angi Certified

    Business Highlights

    Veteran Owned & OperatedVeteran Owned & Operated
    LGBTQ+ FriendlyLGBTQ+ Friendly
    Family Owned & OperatedFamily Owned & Operated
    Emergency Services OfferedEmergency Services Offered
    Wears MaskWears Mask
    Bonded
    Insured
    All statements concerning insurance, licenses, and bonds are informational only, and are self-reported. Since insurance, licenses and bonds can expire and can be cancelled, homeowners should always check such information for themselves.To find more licensing information for your state, visit our Find Licensing Requirements page.
    General Information
    Free Estimates
    No
    Eco-Friendly Accreditations
    Yes
    Payment Options
    Check, Visa, MasterCard, American Express, Discover
    Senior Discount
    10%
    Emergency Service
    Yes
    Warranties
    Yes

    Services Offered

    Gas Fireplace Repair Stone & Masonry BBQ Grill Cleaning Repair Gas Fireplace Installation Chimney Sweep Dryer Vents Outdoor Kitchens Pest Removal

    Services Not Offered

    Air Vent Air Duct

    Frequently Asked Questions & Answers about 1st Choice Chimney

    How is 1st Choice Chimney overall rated?

    1st Choice Chimney is currently rated 4.5 overall out of 5.

    What days are 1st Choice Chimney open?

    1st Choice Chimney is open:

    Monday: 8:00 AM - 6:00 PM

    Tuesday: 8:00 AM - 6:00 PM

    Wednesday: 8:00 AM - 6:00 PM

    Thursday: 8:00 AM - 6:00 PM

    Friday: 8:00 AM - 6:00 PM

    Saturday: 10:00 AM - 6:00 PM

    What payment options does 1st Choice Chimney provide

    1st Choice Chimney accepts the following forms of payment: Check, Visa, MasterCard, American Express, Discover

    Does 1st Choice Chimney offer free estimates?

    No, 1st Choice Chimney does not offer free project estimates.

    Does 1st Choice Chimney offer eco-friendly accreditations?

    Yes, 1st Choice Chimney offers eco-friendly accreditations.

    Does 1st Choice Chimney offer a senior discount?

    No, 1st Choice Chimney does not offer a senior discount.

    Does 1st Choice Chimney offer emergency services?

    Yes, 1st Choice Chimney offers emergency services.

    Are warranties offered by 1st Choice Chimney?

    Yes, 1st Choice Chimney offers warranties.

    What services does 1st Choice Chimney offer?

    1st Choice Chimney offers the following services: Gas Fireplace Repair Stone & Masonry BBQ Grill Cleaning Repair Gas Fireplace Installation Chimney Sweep Dryer Vents Outdoor Kitchens Pest Removal

    Are there any services 1st Choice Chimney does not offer?

    Air Vent Air Duct