Angie's List is now Angi. Learn more

Find top-rated Pros in your area

Enter a zip code and get matched to businesses near you.

J and J Chimney Sweep

Founded 1976 • With Angi since February 2012

5.0

(21) Verified Reviews

Business Details

Phone Number

Address

PO Box 50614

Amarillo, TX 79159

Description

CSIA certified CDET certified BBB member...

Verified Reviews

A few reviews for this pro...
5.0

12/01/2016


James N.

Very clean and fast. Experienced and courteous staff. I guessed on the cost, but I'm positive that I'm close on the amount.

Description of Work
Cleaned and examined the chimney in our new house.

Category chimney sweep

5.0

11/15/2016


Judy W.

Great. Very professional, punctual, friendly and informative

Description of Work
Chimney cleaning & repair

Category chimney sweep,chimney caps,chimney repair

5.0

01/05/2016


Charles S.

Queried J&J via email regarding service. They were quire responsive and scheduled my service within 48 hours. They were ON TIME, protected the carpet and areas surrounding the fire place with drop clothes. Inspected top side and cleaned chimney and firebox. On the roof, they inspected the chimney, flashing and surrounding shingle areas. My only suggestion for this company is that they would provide a couple of pics of the cap, brick surround and flashing areas to show the customer. I think this would alleviate any concerns of the customers. Excellent service!!!!!!! Kudos to Benny and Drew. Excellent job.

Description of Work
Inspected and cleaned chimney

Category chimney sweep,chimney repair

Service Provider Response

Thank you for your kind words. I'll be sure to let Benny and Drew know your pleasure with their work. Jim
5.0

09/17/2015


Christy C.

Very nice! Punctual. Did a great job cleaning my chimney, the fire box, inspecting the fire box and cleaned the screen. He even gave my great tips for small maintenance to prolong the integrity of the fire box. They did a great job of cleaning up the area after the service. Will absolutely use them in the future.

Description of Work
chimney cleaning

Category chimney sweep,chimney repair

5.0

11/16/2013


Gene M.

Installed spark arrester and chimney clamp

Description of Work
.

Category chimney repair

5.0

09/24/2013


Denise M.

They arrived on time, inspected and told me what needed to be done. After I agreed, the work was completed timely and with little interruption to my day. Very professional and explained and answered all my questions.

Description of Work
Cleaned chimney and installed chimney cap.

Category chimney sweep,chimney caps

5.0

02/18/2013


Grace K.

We've recently moved to Amarillo and finally found a place to rent. Owner/landlord had just bought the place and was not sure of the condition of the woodstove in the living room. Since we wanted to use it if possible, needed to get it checked out. Started researching late Sept, knowing it would be busy season with cooler weather coming on. Checked out several places using Angie's List and narrowed it down to 2. Emailed both for quotes and heard back within 24 hours from each. Turns out the other place could not handle our inspection as the diameter of our pipe was smaller than their equipment could handle. Ended up back-burnering as other things came up. Finally called Jand J beginning of Nov and set up a visit for Nov 30. Was given pricing in response to my earlier inquiry and was told cost for inspection or for cleaning. Told would be one or the other cost depending on what was needed once they got a chance to look, as the cleaning price included the inspection. They called the afternoon before our appointment to reconfirm, and were here 10 minutes early the next day. They asked what all I was looking for, and I explained that we'd like to use the stove, knew it was less than 5 years old, but other than that did not know it's history or condition as we were renters, etc. They explained they would check it out and we could go from there. Turned out to be free of birds nests or other items suggesting it wasn't usable, so they went ahead with the cleaning. Were very neat, had drop cloths to cover everything, and vacumned as they went, even wiped everything down and cleaned the glass on the stove. Answered all my questions, including where to find and what kind of paint I'd need to touch up some spots on the stove. Gave me a few pointers about starting a fire in the stove (MUCH appreciated since it's been years since I'd used one), using the house's exhaust/return to circulate the warm air, how often I should get the chimney swept, etc. Even gave me a discount as the flue was not that dirty! Altogether a great experience, I would highly recommend Jand J to anyone needing a chimney sweep!

Description of Work
- Inspected chimney/flue - Cleaned same

Category chimney sweep

5.0

12/10/2012


Kirsti A.

I left a message asking for info about chimney cleaning. They called back within the hour, answered my questions, I made an appt. They called the day before to confirm the address and time. On the appt. day they called to make sure I was home and let me know they were on their way. They inspected the fireplace and chimney, laid tarps from my front door to the fireplace. Cleaned the chimney and fireplace and the glass doors to the fireplace. Very friendly and professional. They gave my daughter a little chimney sweep figurine to take to Santa to show that we'd had the chimney cleaned and were ready for him.

Description of Work
Cleaned the chimney from top to bottom - including my dusty glass doors in front of the fireplace.

Category chimney sweep

5.0

12/08/2012


Deonna W.

It went well overall. He did a great job!

Description of Work
They split the travel cost because we live out of town and he was cleaning other chimneys in the area that day so that was nice. He was very nice, punctual, and professional. He did a great job!

Category chimney sweep

Service Provider Response

Thank you for your kind comments. Jim
5.0

11/07/2012


Blair W.

I liked everything; they do a great job and this is the second time we've used them.

Description of Work
I used J and J Chimney Sweep for chimney sweeping.

Category chimney sweep

    Other local Pros in your area

    Chimney & Wildlife Specialists

    Chimney & Wildlife Specialists is an owner-operated business that serves the Dallas, Ft. Worth and Amarillo areas. All labor is performed by professional technicians who work for their local company branch—we never use sub-contractors. This allows us to hold our technicians to the highest standards of excellence in the industry, as well as maintain our commitment to customer satisfaction.  

    Bonded
    Insured
    All statements concerning insurance, licenses, and bonds are informational only, and are self-reported. Since insurance, licenses and bonds can expire and can be cancelled, homeowners should always check such information for themselves.To find more licensing information for your state, visit our Find Licensing Requirements page.
    General Information
    Free Estimates
    Ask for Details
    Eco-Friendly Accreditations
    No
    Payment Options
    Check, Visa, MasterCard
    Senior Discount
    No
    Warranties
    Ask for details

    Services Offered

    Chimney sweeping and repair. Dryer vent cleaning and repair.

    Services Not Offered

    Ask for details

    Frequently Asked Questions & Answers about J and J Chimney Sweep

    How is J and J Chimney Sweep overall rated?

    J and J Chimney Sweep is currently rated 5 overall out of 5.

    What payment options does J and J Chimney Sweep provide

    J and J Chimney Sweep accepts the following forms of payment: Check, Visa, MasterCard

    Does J and J Chimney Sweep offer free estimates?

    Ask J and J Chimney Sweep for details on free project estimates.

    Does J and J Chimney Sweep offer eco-friendly accreditations?

    No, J and J Chimney Sweep does not offer eco-friendly accreditations.

    Does J and J Chimney Sweep offer a senior discount?

    No, J and J Chimney Sweep does not offer a senior discount.

    Are warranties offered by J and J Chimney Sweep?

    No, J and J Chimney Sweep does not offer warranties.

    What services does J and J Chimney Sweep offer?

    J and J Chimney Sweep offers the following services: Chimney sweeping and repair. Dryer vent cleaning and repair.