Yaardvark Landscape Management

About

Founded 2004 • With Angi since March 2012

We are a 6 time Super Service Award winning landscape company specializing in landscape lighting - Drainage solutions - Landscape design/installation - Irrigation installation and repair ....

Awards and Badges

Angi Super Service Award badge
Super Service
Award 2021
Angi Certified

Business Highlights

Family Owned & OperatedFamily Owned & Operated

Images

A Service Provider's profile image

+22 more images

Verified Reviews

4.9

(134) Verified Reviews

Ratings Distribution

5

119

4

3

3

3

2

3

1

6

Rating Details

Price

4.8

Professionalism

4.9

Punctuality

4.9

Quality

4.9

Responsiveness

4.8

Read reviews by category

lawn & landscaping (102)lawn care (62)leaf removal (31)landscape lighting (17)mulch delivering (17)drain pipe installation (12)tree service (12)irrigation system (9)rototilling (3)gutter cleaning (3)pressure washing (2)hardscaping (1)
Showing 1-25 of 134 reviews
5.0

06/21/2022


Kamryn P.

Nick and Chris are absolutely fantastic to work with. They pay attention to detail and do extremely high quality work. I've never had such a good experience with another landscaping company. I highly recommend you use their services!

Description of Work
drainage repair, landscape design

Category gutter cleaning, landscaping, lawn service, mulch, drain pipe

Cost $9,000

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 06/13/2022

Images

Review for Yaardvark Landscape Management - PO Box 140846, Nashville, TN - 39773208

Service Provider Response

It was absolutely our pleasure. Thank you for trusting us with your project. We hope to work with you again in the future and really appreciate that you took the time to leave us a review.
5.0

05/27/2022


Pam F.

Great! Nick is very professional from recommendations made to installation and the work done wax exactly what we wanted. We were very pleased with the entire process. They even put mulch around 2 of our trees as a courtesy. Clean up was immaculate. I would definitely recommend Nick Plummer at Yaardvark for any landscaping needs.

Description of Work
Uplighting if 5 trees with mulch and border around trees

Category landscaping, rototilling, outdoor lighting

Cost $3,200

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 05/27/2022

Service Provider Response

We really hope you enjoy youre new lights. Thank you for the kind words. You guys were great!
5.0

02/07/2022


Debbie A.

I’ve been using Nick Plummer with Yaardvark for several years for leaf management and shrub trimming. I’ve been wanting simple landscape lighting for the front of the house for a long time but was hesitant not only because of cost - but was afraid any company I called would try to talk me into more than I wanted. When I called Nick - he promptly came out to discuss. We came up with exactly what I had in mind and within a couple of weeks - they were installed and I love them!!! Great company you can count on!!

Description of Work
Landscape lighting

Category gutter cleaning, outdoor lighting

Cost $2,200

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 02/03/2022

5.0

11/23/2021


Debbie A.

We’ve been using Nick with Yaardvark Landscape Management for leaf removal and shrub trimming for several years. They are always prompt and do a superb job. Nick even texted me to remind us of this years leaf removal - which I appreciated. Call them - they do a great job.

Description of Work
leaf control

Category leaf removal

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 11/22/2021

5.0

11/15/2021


Peggy A.

Nick and his crew did an excellent job on my side yard erosion issue. Out of the three bids I received for the work Nick from Yaardvark Landscape Mgmt. had the best plan and was the most knowledgeable. He went above and beyond in creating the perfect fix for my yard. I highly recommend Yaardvark Landscape Mgmt.

Description of Work
Repair yard erosion problem

Category landscaping, mulch, drain pipe

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 11/10/2021

5.0

11/07/2021


Kristy W.

They did a very good job. Professional and kept in touch throughout process.

Description of Work
drainage pipe, grading, sod, seed , aeration

Category landscaping, drain pipe

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 11/10/2021

5.0

08/20/2021


Teri T.

Nick and the Yaardvark teak were a pleasure to work with. They transformed our front yard from an afterthought to the focal point of the house. I worked with Nick to let him know what I wanted (including synthetic turf) and he created a beautiful design concept with mocks that allowed me to see what the final product would look like. Nick and his team not only took care of the removal of the old landscaping but also improved grading and drainage, installed lighting, and took their time crafting the right hardscape to support the design. Great team to work with. Friendly and attenteive. Highly recommend!

Description of Work
synthetic turf, outdoor lighting, drainage / grading, landscape design / installation , hardscape

Category landscaping, mulch, drain pipe, hardscaping, outdoor lighting

Cost $17,000

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 08/01/2021

Images

Review for Yaardvark Landscape Management - PO Box 140846, Nashville, TN - 39530394

+3 More

5.0

07/19/2021


Duke P.

Waited for heavy rains before posting a review - their work did the trick, no problems at all. I have them coming to look at other jobs! Great folks to work with.

Description of Work
grading

Category landscaping, irrigation systems

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 07/19/2021

Service Provider Response

[Member Name Removed], Im very happy to hear that your pool isn't getting filled with mud any longer. I will try to make it by next week to look at the erosion issue you have next to the driveway. It a pleasure doing business with you.
5.0

12/22/2020


Anna S.

Nick helped us dream up our landscaping design. He worked to find just the right plants that fit our house and budget. His team nailed the installation for the landscaping and the lighting. They were professional, friendly, and answered all of our questions. Will absolutely use them for the next phase of our addition.

Description of Work
Landscape lighting installation, low voltage repair, landscape design, installation

Category landscaping, outdoor lighting

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 12/22/2020

Service Provider Response

Thank you so much for taking the time to review our services. We really appreciate that you chose us for this project and look forward to working again with you in the future. Best regards, Nick
5.0

12/13/2020


Julie B.

Yaardvark did a wonderful job revising the landscaping in my front yard. I wanted the beds completely redone and Nick, the owner, did a great job of making suggestions about what we should plant and where. Being new to Nashville, I was not knowledgeable about gardening here. He put me at ease with his suggestions about low maintenance plants that would make the yard pop with color. Their price was reasonable and the crew was friendly and professional. I will hire them again in the spring to redo the back yard.

Description of Work
revision of landscaping in front yard

Category landscaping, lawn service, lawn treatment, mulch, rototilling

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 12/13/2020

5.0

11/23/2020


nashville C.

As usual, I got multiple bids, in this case for this 150' Hillside French Drain. Nick of Yaardvark Landscape Management gave a professional assessment of the work, solid advice, and fair price. He his crew, with two trucks and trailers, were able to do the job earlier than we had thought. He work through sunset, I got a First-Class Hillside Drainage System that should last 50+ years, I highly recommend Yaardvark.

Description of Work
150' long French Drain

Category drain pipe

Cost $2,500

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 11/23/2020

Images

Review for Yaardvark Landscape Management - PO Box 140846, Nashville, TN - 39044289
5.0

10/01/2020


Art R.

These guys are amazing at what they do. I'd hire them again in a flash. Please consider this company .

Description of Work
Had a problem with runoff

Category landscaping, drain pipe

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 10/01/2020

5.0

12/04/2019


stephanie V.

Excellent work. They were knowledgeable and made great suggestions for plants and shrubs that made a big difference in looks. Will call again!

Description of Work
Landscaping

Category landscaping

Cost $1,100

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 12/04/2019

5.0

11/22/2019


Carlene G.

They were very professional and knowledgeable. Great to work with!

Description of Work
landscape design / installation

Category landscaping, mulch

Cost $4,000

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 11/06/2019

5.0

11/13/2019


JOE B.

It was an excellent experience. Nick and his team worked with us to get a lighting plan that met our needs and fit within our budget. Everything went as promised-- and the lighting looks great.

Description of Work
outdoor lighting

Category outdoor lighting

Cost $5,000

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 11/17/2019

5.0

09/27/2019


Travis A.

I've worked with Nick and Yaardvack for 6 years now. They've been thoroughly honest and transparent with me in every interaction. I recently had them do some landscaping for me and they replaced several dead evergreen trees in my backyard. They did a great job, made sure the site was cleaned up and everything was presentable. They also went above and beyond and adjusted some of my sprinklers for me to ensure the new trees were getting adequate coverage. Pricing for the work was fair and they followed through with support when I needed their expertise on proper plant care. Really appreciate doing business with an honest company like them and they've earned my business for the past six years and going forward.

Description of Work
landscape installation/ irrigation repair

Category landscaping

Cost $2,400

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 09/27/2019

Service Provider Response

It has been our pleasure to provide our services at your property. Thank you so much for these kind words. Best regards
5.0

06/01/2019


Janet P.

This job went smoothly from start to finish. On his first visit, Nick walked with me through the problem drainage areas and described how he would correct the issues. We also discussed some tree and bush trimming. Nick followed up with a very detailed and competitive quote that described everything discussed during his visit. He stayed in touch with a starting date, weather dependent. When he found the ground to be a little too soggy for much of the work on day 1, he and his crew completed the tree and bush trimming which included hauling off all of the limbs plus other landscape debris that was piled in our yard. Day 2 completed all of the drainage work, including landscape cloth, seeding and straw. Nick was on-site for all of the work and followed up a few weeks later to see if everything was working as planned. He goes above and beyond what is expected.

Description of Work
Grading to correct drainage in backyard, tree and bush trimming.

Category landscaping, tree service, outdoor lighting

Cost $4,000

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 04/05/2019

3.0

05/24/2019


W. W.

I contacted Nick Plummer of Yaardvark Landscape Management on Angie's List during the first week of March, 2019. I was seeking to have drainage issues resolved on one side of the lawn and in a portion of the rear section of my yard. Water would pond for a week or so in a low area on the side of my lawn and for a day or two behind the house after heavy rains. Nick called me the next day saying he would get out the following week to see the issue and provide an estimate. He didn't call or come out that week but came on March 19th and provided an estimate online the next day. The job would involve grading,, seeding, developing swales and matting. I agreed to have him do the work and advised him he could pick up his requested 50% initial deposit in two or three days. From that point, weeks went by and excuses followed for not beginning work , namely being tied up on other jobs and twice vacationing with his family. He came out on April 17th and did the work himself that day. He was paid In full at that time with the understanding that he would come back and fix any issue with his work at no additional charge. Afterwards, due to the nature of the drainage work he did, I waited for several rains to fall (about three weeks) in order to determine the success of his work. I discovered that water was again continuing to stand in a small section of the backyard he had graded and texted him about it. I sent him a photo of the area as he requested and waited.. When he stopped by he marked the area with orange paint assuring me he would come back to fix the situation. As of today, May 27th, more than two weeks later, he has not returned or contacted me. Between the delays, lack of follow through and his at times verbally combative responses to me, I cannot say that the two months dealing with Nick has been a pleasant experience. As of today June 3rd, Nick returned and completed the work.

Description of Work
Resolving lawn drainage issues in two sections of my lawn.

Category landscaping

Cost $3,395.8

Services Performed? Yes

Work Completed On 05/08/2019

Service Provider Response

If I may I would like to fill in the blanks. When I 1st met with you I did state that we were 4 to 6 weeks out on work of this nature. Starting date dependent upon a price agreed upon and the deposit being collected. Upon our initial meeting which was days after a rain you had 2 areas which you stated were problematic. One of which was still holding 15-18 inches of water and looked as if it flowed directly at the house during rain. The other you described held water for a couple days after heavy rain and it was directly behind your house within inches of your foundation. We did begin and end work on the dates you described. Our "Excuses" were valid as it is difficult if not impossible to perform this type of Fine grading in muddy/saturated soil. This spring was extremely wet and it did prolong our begin date which was still inside my original estimation of 4-6 weeks. As we were wrapping up and beginning to put the finishing touches on the project you came out and demanded that the swale on the hill was wrong and that we remove an additional 12 inches +/- of soil across a 20 ft. area. You said that you could tell by looking, it would still hold water. I then grabbed an 8ft. level to show you that it was an optical illusion due to the topography. The bubble clearly showed that water would in fact flow out of the area with no obstructions. you said that you didnt care what the equipment showed, you coukd tell by looking that it was wrong. This is where you felt that I was "combative". I then stated that we would not be moving any more soil for the originally discussed price and that I would personally guarantee the functionality of our work. You said that the customer is always right and that I should make these adjustments at no additional cost. The additional excavation would have added several hours to the scope of work. I thin re affirmed that we would return and repair if it did not work. The second 15 ft. x 15ft. area which was holding water inches from your house had a direct feed from uphill stormwater. The area was re graded and a swale formed with fine tolerances due to the relatively flat topography around the back and side of the house. This swale was approximately 85 ft long with only fractions of an inch drop per ft. This type of grading is meticulous and has little room for error. This was initially not an issue and you said that it looked great. Needless to say you did not come across as a pleased client when I collected payment but I assured you that it would work as described or we would make it right. After a couple weeks and several storms I waited for a real substantial rain to return and view the functionality of the system. This particular storm had rained all night and into the morning dropping over an inch of rain. I made a point to head to your property directly after the storm ended to find that there was no standing water at all on the hill site and only a small puddle at the bottom of the 85 ft. swale near the house. The puddle was less than a 1/2 inch deep and 16 inches in diameter. Keep in mind that you did not call me to return and that i wanted to make sure that the project was in fact operating as designed. It was. I called you on the phone before coming to see if it was ok and you joined me outside. You were still unsatisfied with the work on the hill and said that you were waiting for a harder rain🤔. Keep in mind that this area was holding 15-18 inches of water for days after a rain and now it had no standing water whatsoever and was firm enough to drive on. At this time you said that you called you're neighbor over and that he agreed with you that it didn't look right. I agreed that it was an optical illusion due to the topography but an 8 ft. level doesn't lie. You told me that you didn't care what side of the level the bubble was on, you could tell by looking that it wasn't right. I must admit at this point I'm sure that my demeanor was likely changing. I then took the time to set up a laser level to shoot the elevations of the site. I explained that it was an auto leveling laser and that there were no tricks which could be played using this device. I painted the elevations across the 20 ft swale to show that there was more than 12 inches of drop across the area(you stated was wrong) when we really only needed 1/2 inch. You were still trying to say that I should have removed more soil simply because the customer is always right. 😔 At that time you directed your discontent for the lower swale which we created with the low tolerances and said that you were upset that it was holding water and that it wasn't right. I agreed that there shouldn't be any standing water and that we would return to fill in the area with topsoil and re seed ant no additional charge. This standing water area was approximately 1/2 inches deep and 16 inches around in one of the flattest and most difficult areas to grade. It likely settled a little across the several weeks after we finished or wasn't quite perfect before we left. At that time I promised that we would return and fix it free of charge but we were trying to finish a project that was going to take every second of our attention before I was leaving town a week later. I did not want to send a team member out to fix this small area due to the current state of our relationship so I returned to fix it as I promised when I returned from my vacation. During my follow up visit i did inform you that you're lawn care guys were mowing the areas which I told you would need to mature before putting a mower on it. Keeping grass growing through the matting is vital to its functionality. When I returned to add the small amount of topsoil I noticed that the mowing crew had almost killed the entire stay of grass and informed you once again that it was being cut too low. I put down extra seed across the entire space free of charge. I would like to note that the client spent quite a bit of money extra to have THE BEST erosion matting installed so she wouldn't have future erosion issues. Due to the scope and scale of the project we threw in an extra 300 +/- square feet of this matting at no additional charge. I tried to do everything in my power to make you happy yet you still leave this half truth of a review. I wish you all the best and hope by this point in the year that you now realize that the drainage repairs that we provided will work for many years to come if you keep grass growing in them . So if you're crew killed the grass we installed then I would add seed as soon as the fall weather cools and the rains come back. Thank you for your business. Best regards, Nick
5.0

05/21/2019


Gretchen S.

Nick was so wonderful to work with! His professionalism and creativity were so refreshing. He was always available to discuss our project either via text, cell phone or email. He met all the deadlines we agreed upon and the finished project was Spectacular!! He was very attentive when listening to us about the “vision” we had for our landscaping & accent landscape lighting. Nick made, what could have been a very stressful project, a complete and total joy! If you’re looking for a reliable, contentious, honest, creative landscape company I highly recommend Yaardvark Landscape! We will definitely use them again for our next big project!

Description of Work
Landscaping design & landscape lighting,

Category landscaping, mulch, outdoor lighting

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 05/21/2019

5.0

05/13/2019


pamela W.

Yaardvark was terrific! I initially contacted them to help with the backyard of my newly purchased home. Not only did Nick offer solutions to the initial issues I had, but he also developed a plan to address water drainage problems to eliminate water leaking into the basement. Even though the scope of the task more than doubled with the drainage work, the job was completed within 2 weeks of my initial contact. As well, the cost of the work was very reasonable and, because of Nick's suggestions, I am confident I will save money in the future due to the drainage issues that were resolved. Nick was extremely professional, knowledge, and amiable. I will definitely reach out to Yaardvark for any future yard care needs.

Description of Work
Yard grading, fertilizing, seeding

Category landscaping, lawn service, lawn treatment, mulch, drain pipe

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 05/01/2019

5.0

04/13/2019


Ginny D.

Very knowledgeable and professional. Nick did an amazing job with recommending and installing the best quality lighting for our home exterior. I would absolutely hire him again and recommend him to anyone.

Description of Work
Landscape lighting

Category outdoor lighting

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 03/04/2019

Service Provider Response

Thank you for your kind words. The results achieved were fantastic. You have such a beautiful home and this really accentuated its charm while providing security and safety at the same time. I really appreciate your business. I look forward to working with you again in the future.
5.0

03/18/2019


Christina B.

Nick was great to work with! I really appreciated the time he took to discuss my project and offer different possible fixes. Ultimately, the project included extending an underground drainpipe, repairing erosion damage to my front yard, and adding metal edging around two plant beds. He scheduled the work quickly, and completed it in one day. Everything looks great, and I was particularly grateful for how Nick went above and beyond: seeding bare patches in the yard well outside the project area, for example, and sweeping the front walkway. I would definitely work with Nick again.

Description of Work
Exterior drainage and erosion repair

Category landscaping, drain pipe

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes