Find top-rated Pros in your area

Enter a zip code and get matched to businesses near you.

Nashville Home Energy

Founded 2007 • With Angi since February 2013

4.4

(29) Verified Reviews

Business Details

Phone Number

Address

PO Box 92253

Nashville, TN 37209

Description

Nashville Home Energy Solutions is a locally owned, turn-key home performance company that can take your home from diagnosis to installation. As Nashville's most experienced home performance company, we are passionate about making Nashville's built environment more energy efficient, healthy and

Verified Reviews

A few reviews for this pro...
Barbara C.
5.0
08/14/2018
They are reliable and professional.
Description of Work
They helped me insulate our home.
Category
insulation
Susan O.
1.0
11/24/2015
No contact from this person. Tried calling and emailing. I want my money back
Description of Work
No contact. I want my money back
Category
insulation
Scott R.
1.0
08/23/2015
Failed to vent one bathroom after I inspected roof. Contacted Jeff Middlebrooks numerous times (even sent photo of roof) and he failed to follow up. At last contact Jeff Middlebrooks states he is no longer in the contracting business, but that I "got a lot of work for my money". Problem is I did not get the work I paid for. I would not recommend using Jeff Middlebrooks for any type of business transaction.
Description of Work
Performed blower test, walked the house with Jeff Middlebrooks and he quoted (written quote) insulating attic which included venting 3 restrooms. Insulated attic & failed to vent one of the bathrooms.
Category
insulation
James C.
1.0
06/24/2015
First off Jeff was very polite, I bought the big deal and we scheduled a date and time for him to perform the audit. The date arrives and he is a total no show. I called and he told me he forgot, somehow the appt did not make his calendar. As a small business owner myself, keeping appts will win you business missing them will cost you rep. If you cannot trust your calendar system it is time to invest in a new system. He did apologize and offer a refund and wanted an opportunity to do the work free. I told him I was unsure if interested in the work but would wait until I received the refund. He said he would mail it... 45 days later, no refund and no response to my multiple messages to him. I thought the purpose of Angie's list was to avoid these types of instances. VERY DISAPPOINTED not just in Nashville Home Energy but also Angie's List. I have requested a refund through them now and even that process is difficult.
Description of Work
Home Energy Audit
Category
insulation, energy audit
Devonne W.
5.0
05/12/2015
I initially purchased the coupon for an attic energy evaluation and blower door test. Jeff provided a detailed report of his findings including pictures. He also provided a detailed breakdown of the cost to cure each of the issues that were found. Once I selected the things I wanted repaired, Jeff set up a date and time to complete the service. On the date of service, Jeff and his crew were punctual, polite and very thorough in their clean up. I would definitely recommend Nashville Home Energy, LLC to anyone interested in home energy efficiency. Jeff also worked with me to complete the required paperwork to receive any and all rebates that I met the qualifications for.
Description of Work
Air seal roof deck including all wiring and plumbing penetrations and top plates. Systematically seal duct system in attic. Install insulated cover on drop down stair case from attic. Install sealed vapor barrier in crawl space. Remove all existing insulation and dispose of properly and install new insulation in frame floor and support every 18-24". Construct a new crawl space door on foundation walls and install 2--4" supply lines.
Category
insulation, energy audit
Richard S.
4.0
04/28/2015
Went well with some enlightening information
Description of Work
Tested the home for energy efficiency.
Category
insulation, energy audit
Michael L.
5.0
03/02/2015
Overall, I was very pleased with Nashville Home Energy. They did the work promised, on time, professionally. In addition, when one item turned out more complex that originally thought, Jeff, my main contact, did additional research to land on the best possible solution, including ordering additional parts at no additional cost. They weren't the lowest bid I received, but their bid included everything I needed done and my contact with them gave me confidence that they would do the job right. I easily recommend Nashville Home Energy.
Description of Work
Blow in insulation to attic, vent dryer and bath fans to outside, seal ducts, build door insulation hatch, misc. other insulating and venting items.
Category
insulation
Robert H.
5.0
05/02/2014
I gave Jeff a "B" on price only because he was the most expensive of the 3 bids we got. That being said, the reason we went with him was the detail in his quote. The other two companies were very generic in their approach and their quote, while Jeff went through the details with us, explaining what they would do and why. I was correct in my assumption that he would continue the attention to detail in his work. Nice job, Jeff & crew!
Description of Work
Sealed attic and crawlspace. Installed vents, fire rated can light covers, and blew in additional insulation to bring us up to about R40.
Category
insulation
David W.
4.0
04/09/2014
My experience with them went great. They were superb. The things that stood out about them were their promptness and the way they took care of the problem. Everything was just topnotch. They were very professional about how they handled everything dealing with the customer. Their quality of service was very good.
Description of Work
I used Nashville Home Energy for insulation.
Category
insulation
Doug K.
5.0
04/05/2014
Person arrived on time, answered all my questions, and explained the process without me having to ask. After inspection received follow up report which included cost of recommended work.
Description of Work
Performed blower door test and provided recommendations to improve home insulation
Category
insulation, energy audit
Miguel P.
5.0
03/25/2014
Everything went as planned and the results in home comfort were noticeable. Not enough time has passed to evaluate improvements in efficiency.
Description of Work
Nashville Home Energy air-sealed the attic, improved the attic's insulation in parts of the house, balanced the air flow of the heating system, and other minor improvements.
Category
insulation
Miguel P.
5.0
03/17/2014
Provider was on time, professional, and efficient. I followed up with the proposed solution and I am fully satisfied.
Description of Work
Evaluated house insulation and proposed improvement plan.
Category
insulation
BELINDA B.
5.0
02/25/2014
Very thorough and professional.
Description of Work
Insulated crawlspace, reconditioned attic space, sealed ductwork throughout entire house.
Category
insulation
Cati B.
5.0
02/20/2014
A two-man crew came out on Thursday to prep and install the kneewalls, and a different 2-man crew came out on Friday to blow all the insulation. Both crews were very nice, courteous, and professional. Jeff came out to check on how the job was going and to make sure we were happy with everything so far. He also made sure I had all the paperwork and understood what I needed to do in order to get our TVA energy right rebate. We plan to use them again when we have work done on the crawlspace in the next 6-12 months.
Description of Work
We bought an Angie's List deal for a blower test and a $250 credit and we could not be happier. Jeff came out to do the blower test, explained everything and did the test (took maybe an hour). We learned our house wasn't as bad off as we thought! He gave us a detailed recommendation of the work we should have done in order to insulate it better (multiple item list, but at this time we were mainly concerned with having the attic work completed). Here's what we hired Jeff and his team to do: Blew in attic insulation to bring us up to code, install kneewalls and seal everything up in the attic. They also vented and sealed our bathroom fans out through the soffit and vented and sealed the kitchen range vent out through the roof.
Category
insulation, energy audit
DeeDee B.
4.0
02/03/2014
Jeff was good to work with, knowledgable, and professional. He helped me pare down the scope of work to be both effective and fit into the budget I had for this renovation. I was not happy with the job that was done initially (by one of his employees) and Jeff was quick to promise to make it right. We met on-site and he agreed it was not done quite right. He and his project manager came back and made it 100% right. I will probably use them again in the future. (I have rental property).
Description of Work
.
Category
insulation
maria W.
5.0
01/29/2014
Jeff Middlebrooks is excellent at his job and a pleasure to do business with. He always returns calls and texts within an acceptable time frame and is an excellent communicator ( I had lots and lots of questions). Prompt, and honest as well as very helpful. If he can't help you with a problem, he will connect you with someone who can. The work was done recently over the span of 2 days during very cold weather. They cleaned up well after they finished and treated the house as if it were their own while performing the work. I would not hesitate to give Jeff's name to anyone. His price was very fair and I got 4 estimates. If there are any concerns after the work is finished which there may be if the scope of work is large enough, Jeff is very attentive to making things right.
Description of Work
Blown in cellulose in attic, adding insulation to knee walls, air sealing and duct sealing in attic and crawl, and dryer vent replaced.
Category
insulation
Michael W.
5.0
01/24/2014
It was an Angie's List Big Deal that I purchased. They were fine. The guy that came out was pretty decent and knowledgeable. He did what I wanted him to do. He didn't do any repair work. I didn't have any problems. I didn't spend any additional money.
Description of Work
I used Nashville Home Energy to do an insulation test on my house. He checked the insulation in the attic and made some recommendations. He checked the vents in the attic to make sure that they were all clear and set up correctly.
Category
insulation, energy audit
STEPHEN H.
5.0
01/23/2014
The inspector was prompt, professional and pleasant. He did an extensive inspection of my existing home and provided a printed list with pictures of suggestions for improvement. He also provided a list of contractors. He followed up via telephone after the survey and after the work was completed. Very good experience.
Description of Work
Energy survey, identified areas of improvement, provided list of approved contractors.
Category
insulation, energy audit
Walt B.
4.0
01/19/2014
He was extremely thorough and detailed. The only problem was that once the evaluation was complete, the provider wanted thousands of dollars to correct potential problems found in the evaluation.
Description of Work
This provider performed an energy evaluation.
Category
energy audit
Nancy S.
5.0
12/19/2013
I also had them sealed both of my fireplaces off inside of the inserts. They did some insulation in the crawl space along with caulking. Jeff Middlebrooks and his were crew excellent to work with. Scheduling with them was great.
Description of Work
I purchased a big deal for $59 for an Attic Energy Evaluation and Blower Door Test with a $250 Credit.
Category
insulation, energy audit
Barbara O.
5.0
11/11/2013
I initially went through Nashville Electric to get a home energy audit. The inspector provided a detailed report on my home, recommended work, and potential savings. I contacted Nashville Home Energy Solutions because they were on the approved contractor list. Jeff was very responsive to initial inquiry, and came to the house to review the report and look at the house. Based on his observations, he recommended crawlspace encapsulation, air sealing, and cellulose attic insulation. Their bid was inline with the other bids that I received. The reason I went with this company is because they were the most thorough in their proposal, are a locally-owned company, and were willing to work with me on scheduling. The team took a total of three days to complete the work. On the first day they did an initial Blower Door test and found the house was very leaky (I don't recall the numbers). That day, they did most of the crawlspace work and prepped the attic. On the second day, they blew the cellulose into the attic. Then, Jeff came an inspected the work. Based on his assessment, the team came back for a third day to fine tune the crawlspace work, including building me a new frame for my crawlspace door, and an insulated "lid" for the attic opening. They repeated the Blower Door test and then searched the house for leaks, caulking and sealing everything they could find. The test revealed a much improved rating. The team cleaned up after themselves, were courteous, friendly, and efficient. I would recommend Nashville Home Energy Solutions for your energy audit and insulation work.
Description of Work
Nashville Home Energy Solutions helped "button up" my older home for the winter. They not only insulated the attic and crawlspace, but used their Blower Door Test to find, and caulk, all of the leaks around the house.
Category
insulation, energy audit
Bethany J.
5.0
07/09/2013
Jeff was very quick, responsive, knowledgeable and professional. He quickly returned my call and came to do an estimate. Their rates were very reasonable - not much more than doing the work ourselves! He and his partner did all of the work and did a great, professional job. Returned to do a repair promptly. A pleasure to deal with them! Through TVA, you get a $500 rebate for improving insulation, and the TVA inspectors know him and his work. Highly recommend!
Description of Work
Blew in insulation in our attic
Category
insulation
William C.
5.0
05/31/2013
Jeff responded to my e-mail immediately and came out for an inspection. He quickly diagnosed several issues that kept our HVAC system from being efficient, as well as costing us more money in the long run! Jeff was so thorough in his attic inspection that he found an area that had NEVER been insulated - not even the home inspector found this when we bought the home! By the time Jeff finshed adding more insulation and sealing areas in the attic, we could tell that our home was cooler and the HVAC system was not running as much. Testing at the end of the process showed that as a result of his work, our home retained 20% more inside air. Jeff is very easy to talk with and explains everything thoroughly. We could not be happier with the work Jeff did to make our home more secure!
Description of Work
Sealed leaks in duct system, added insulation, insulated knee walls. Generally took an attic that was really "leaky" in terms of air and made my HVAC system much more efficient.
Category
insulation
Drue A.
5.0
03/01/2013
Jeff and his team were great to work with. He promptly returned my first call to schedule a quote and was able to meet me within the next day or 2 after calling. He arrived on time for the initial inspection and send me a quote the next day. I thought his pricing was a good value compared to other quotes I received. His team was great. They were very professional and they completed the job in one day. I highly recommend this company and will use them in the future if necessary.
Description of Work
Nashville Home Energy Solution installed new insulation in my attic. They also reattached duct work that had become loose from the boot, sealed the central return and sealed where they penetrated the floor. They vented a pipe that terminated inside the attic so that it terminated outside of the roof. They sealed 2 chimneys. And they caulked around the floorboard, windows and other areas. All of this was an effort to make my home more energy efficient.
Category
insulation
James M.
5.0
02/05/2013
He and his team were prompt, courteous and hardworking over several days, and they corrected our issues. We highly recommend them.
Description of Work
We had a problem this summer with our upstairs A/C not satisfying the thermostat in our new home. Jeff came out and did an analysis and found several problems with the upstairs insulation and leaking duct work with the A/C.
Category
insulation, energy audit

    Other local Pros in your area

    Massey Insulation

    With over 10 years experience we specialize in different types of insulation installation including: Batt work Attics Underfloor Drill and Fills Spray foam Contact us and we would be happy to help with your project whether it’s a new build, remodel, addition etc. We have many references that we would be happy to share with you!  

    Angi Certified

    Bonded
    Insured
    All statements concerning insurance, licenses, and bonds are informational only, and are self-reported. Since insurance, licenses and bonds can expire and can be cancelled, homeowners should always check such information for themselves.To find more licensing information for your state, visit our Find Licensing Requirements page.
    General Information
    Free Estimates
    Ask for Details
    Eco-Friendly Accreditations
    Yes
    Payment Options
    Check, Visa, MasterCard, American Express, PayPal, Financing Available
    Warranties
    Ask for details

    Services Offered

    Diagnostic Energy Audits, Insulation & Air Sealing, Crawl Space Vapor Barriers & Encapsulation. Duct Sealing.

    Services Not Offered

    Ask for details

    Frequently Asked Questions & Answers about Nashville Home Energy

    How is Nashville Home Energy overall rated?

    Nashville Home Energy is currently rated 4.4 overall out of 5.

    What days are Nashville Home Energy open?

    Nashville Home Energy is open:

    Sunday: Closed

    Monday: 8:00 AM - 5:00 PM

    Tuesday: 8:00 AM - 5:00 PM

    Wednesday: 8:00 AM - 5:00 PM

    Thursday: 8:00 AM - 5:00 PM

    Friday: 8:00 AM - 5:00 PM

    Saturday: Closed

    What payment options does Nashville Home Energy provide

    Nashville Home Energy accepts the following forms of payment: Check, Visa, MasterCard, American Express, PayPal, Financing Available

    Does Nashville Home Energy offer free estimates?

    Ask Nashville Home Energy for details on free project estimates.

    Does Nashville Home Energy offer eco-friendly accreditations?

    Yes, Nashville Home Energy offers eco-friendly accreditations.

    Are warranties offered by Nashville Home Energy?

    No, Nashville Home Energy does not offer warranties.

    What services does Nashville Home Energy offer?

    Nashville Home Energy offers the following services: Diagnostic Energy Audits, Insulation & Air Sealing, Crawl Space Vapor Barriers & Encapsulation. Duct Sealing.