Find top-rated Pros in your area

Enter a zip code and get matched to businesses near you.

Hantel Kitchens & Baths

Founded 1979 • With Angi since March 2007

3.8

(10) Verified Reviews

Business Details

Phone Number

Address

2914 Berry Hill Dr

Nashville, TN 37204

Description

Hantel Kitchens & Baths...

Verified Reviews

A few reviews for this pro...
5.0

06/15/2016


Diane H.

Description of Work
Hantel Kitchen and Baths is my go-to resource for home improvements - not just kitchen or bath-related work. (I save up all my "honey-do's" and then call Hantel to work the list.) Ed Hantel discussed how my repairs could be addressed and when possible, gave me different cost options on how to address the problems. Hantel's work is solid and its employees are skilled, neat, and take pride in their work. I'm not sure if it is the least expensive provider, but I've had Hantel re-do work other vendors did, because the other vendor's work wasn't up to Hantel standards. On the rare occasion where follow-up work was required on a Hantel repair, I just called, and Hantel sent out someone immediately.

Category remodeling, home remodeling

5.0

10/24/2014


Cindy R.

Gave me an evaluation and was very professional and efficient. They have a great reputation and I can see why. I will definitely use them when the time comes.

Description of Work
Came out to give me quotes on cabinet refinishing and shower re-do

Category home remodeling

4.0

03/22/2013


Kenneth L.

We are very pleased with the final result of the project. The quality of the work appears to be excellent overall. The cost however was on the high side and Hantel is not the most economical contractor. In addition to reviewing the Angies List ratings before starting, we talked to others who had used Hantel, and we saw the work he had done for them, and we knew what kind of experience those individuals had had with Hantel during their projects. Mr. Hantel did the design work himself, and made very good suggestions to overcome some difficult design problems with this condo kitchen, including relocating the door from the kitchen to the dining room. During the project, Mr. Hantel and his associates were responsive and once the work began, they worked almost everyday to bring the project to completion in a timely manner. Looking back, things went well. The project contract was a and quot;fixed priceand quot; rather than a and quot;cost plusand quot;. However, I would never have accepted Hantel's contractual terms if we had not had the direct benefit of the good experience of others nearby. In particular, Hantel insisted on 50% payment to begin the project. a 'progress payment' of 40% after cabinet bases were set, leaving only 10% payment at completion. This is of course, in contrast to what Angies List and most other prudent advisors recommend whereby one should never pay more than 30% up front. However, Mr. Hantel would not compromise on these payment terms. His explanation was that he needed more cash upfront to purchase the materials for the porject. However, when I agreed to 50% upfront to fund materials acquisition, but 30% for a progress payment, and 20% at completion, he would not agree. Nor would he set a firm completion date, even when I allowed him to pick it himself, but he only agreed to work to finish the project as soon as possible. Time was critical to us, since we were continuing to pay rent on an apartment until the project was completed. He previously employed a trained designer to provide design services before we met him, however, he has let that person go, and now does the designs himself. His design fee ($1000) paid upfront, and non-refundable if he does not do the work, seems somewhat high. We had two change orders during the project, and he charges a $75 change order fee for changes initiated by the customer plus the additional costs for materials/labor. I had some concerns in this regard, causing me to lower the ratings overall. The first change order was simply for a filler strip to go around the refrigerator and minimize the gap between the appliance and the cabinetry, and this charge seems excessive ($150 total). The other change order involved the fireplace gas line installation work. Mr. Hantel said (and wrote into the contract) that the installation MAY require removal of the marble, and if so, a change order would be required, AND that the marble might be damaged in the process. However, the subcontractor went ahead without my approval and removed and broke the marble before I was told that removal (and a change order) would in fact be required, so I did not have the option of declining the work, resulting in more cost ($1,143) for new marble/installation. I attribute this to a break down in timely communication on the part of Mr. Hantel with his subcontractor and me, and I believe the work should not have been done without my authorization of the change order first.

Description of Work
Remodeling of 2-bedroom townhouse condominium kitchen prior to move-in. All design services by Hantel ($1,000 paid up front- credited at end of project) Removed old cabinets, ceramic floor, old appliances, cabinets and counter tops, lighting, and moved door from kitchen to dining room to facilitate kitchen space planning. Installed new cabinets, new hardwood floor, quartz counter tops, new sink, new plumbing fixtures, undersink water filter, custom ceramic backsplash, new down lighting, new under counter lighting, power strips, repainted, installed gas range , microwave , refrigerator/freezer , dishwasher , disposal. applicances purchased outside contract separately. Also installed gas supply line from outside the unit to various locations (unit had no gas service before) prior to gas company setting meter and connecting new service. Ran supply line to kitchen range and capped off lines to utility/furnace room, basement water heater utility room, and into existing dual-fuel vented fireplace insert. This required a change order during the project as the marble facing and hearth and mantle had to be removed and the marble was broken in the process. An access inspection hole had to be cut in the drywall adjacent to the fireplace to allow codes inspectors to view the concealed gas line plumbing connections. Dry wall then had to be repaired/painted, and all the old (broken) tavertine marble was replaced with new carrera marble facing and hearth.(subcontractor) Also refinished all main floor hardwood floors (dining room and living room and entry hallway) with sanding and 3 coats of polyurethane. (subcontractor)

Category home remodeling

5.0

06/16/2011


Elizabeth E.

Our experience with Hantel was a positive one.

Description of Work
We had two bathrooms and a powder room completely gutted and remodeled. From the start, I found them all professional, competent and easy to work with. Their designer, Shannon, was wonderful to work with. She listens to your ideas and also offers suggestions for design ideas. She goes through the process step by step from selecting materials, cabinets, showers, etc. to working up the design with you and going over it for any revisions. Then a contract is drawn up with everything spelled out explicitly for every detail in the process and exactly what it will cost, barring any unforseen problems! She goes over everything in the contract with you before you agree and sign. The guys that did the work were great! They came on time, worked hard, answered any questions or concerns we had. They were professional in every way. This was a long process, but the contractors were as unobtrusive as possible. We love our bathrooms. They reflect everything we wanted in our remodel, and I trust them implicitly. My only minus is the cost. Hantel is expensive, but the quality of products and the work is very high quality. I would recommend them without hesitation.

Category custom cabinets, home remodeling

1.0

08/20/2010


Rosemary A.

Unqualified and overpriced for large, professional job. Hantel refused to replace faulty Silestone countertop until they were paid in full. We would not pay the remaining 10% until the job was finished, as per our contract. They sued us and took us to arbitration. The arbitrating judge ruled the countertop needed to be replaced. Once the job was completely finished with the new countertop installed, we paid the remaining 10%. This job, including extra costs spent on lawyers and arbitrator, took over two years to finish.

Description of Work
Remodel of kitchen.

Category custom cabinets, contractors, ceramic tile, countertops, electrician, plastering, plumbing, remodeling, woodworking, marble & granite, home remodeling, interior painters

Service Provider Response

Working with the the members throughout the remodeling process was pleasant experience. There was never a negative word spoken during the planning phase as well as the installation of the kitchen cabinets. When certain issues were requested, they were immediately addressed. Several changes were made during the installation of the kitchen and when a comprehensive “Change Order” list was presented to the the members, they refused to answer our phone calls, emails and messages left on their answering machine. During this time, however, our men were completing their kitchen project. After three weeks of negative responses, we phoned and left a message stating our men would not return until the change order was paid. This policy was clearly stated in our contract with the member. This was the first indication that the members were not pleased with everything about the kitchen remodel. After several weeks, the member paid for the change order and we finished the project before the end of the year holidays of 2007. We submitted our final invoice of 10% and expected payment in a timely manner. In January of 2008, we received a letter from the member’s attorney, stating the members believed they had paid enough for their kitchen remodel and wanted our company to write off the 10% final payment. We had created a beautiful kitchen for the members and believed we should be paid for our work. We hired an attorney and we went through binding arbitration for the next year and a half. Initially, the member’s chose a quartz countertop in the leather series with a honed finish.. The member expressed concerned that the countertop showed fingerprints and oil marks. We contacted the fabricator and the quartz manufacturer who assured the members that if they were not pleased with their new countertop, they would replace it without charge. The replacement of the countertop was never an issue and the replacement could have been made at any time. After the year and a half arbitration, the members paid the 10% or the full amount of the contract. We, as company, bend over backwards to please our clients with the quality workmanship as well as a systematic remodeling process. We have not been able to understand the member’s thinking and why they acted the way they did.

1.0

06/02/2010


stacy S.

Met w/ company for estimate of work desired. Satisfied,meeting set to choose particulars including tile, fixtures, tub, and deposit given. Ivory tub chosen to match existing sinks and toilet. Received estimate with fixtures selected and communicated amount was out of price range. Asked designer to search tub alternatives that would fit budget. Designer found tub in price range and sent documentation w/ MODEL NUMBER ONLY for approval. Company did not provide or use full product description sheet that they typically use. We were under the impression that it was different brand of tub but still ivory color as requested. Lower priced tub approved and installation date set. April 15th, installation began and concluded on April 22nd and during this time we had little to no access to bathroom. Majority of work was completed while we were out of town, from April 15th- April 20th which included the ACTUAL TUB BEING SET.On the evening of April 23rd project was complete and all equipment cleared from bathroom. It was at this time that it was discovered that tub was NOT ivory but stark white and was obviously not consistent in color with other fixtures.Next morning designer was contacted regarding the mistake. Designer indicated that she was unable to help us resolve this and we would need to communicate with the owner, Bill Hantel.Phoned owner that same day and was told that "it was a miscommunication and for us to think about it overnight and contact him the very next day with our recommendation as to a resolution". As he requested, we thought about the options and researched the cost involved with replacing 2 sinks and 1 toilet to match the white tub. I will add that this was NOT 100% acceptable to us as we desired to have ivory fixtures to match the decor in our bathroom that we had recently redecorated. This was our attempt to compromise and be reasonable with the unsatisfactory results.The next day we contacted the owner with a recommendation that we would pay the remaining balance less $700 to cover the cost of replacing the sinks and toilet. The owner responded that this was not acceptable and asked for a meeting in-person to occur the very next day.Hoping that there would be SOME compromise, my husband took off from work and met the owner at his office where the owner communicated once again that he was not willing to budge on the price.The owner offered to install new fixtures at no cost ONLY IF we purchased fixtures through him! My husband countered with a $500 deduction off remaining balance and we would purchase and install fixtures ourselves-even more of a compromise! Owner became agitated and said "if he did not have full payment by end of the next business day we would lose our deposit per the contract and he would enforce this contract. With no reasonable solution reached we made full payment on time. 100% unsatisfied with an $8000.00 job- all because owner would not discount $500! Buyer Beware. We could never recommend this company.

Description of Work
Tear out of existing tub and surrounding tile in master bathroom. Install of new tub and new surrounding tile.

Category home remodeling

Service Provider Response

Members: The original bathtub that was removed form the client’s home was white. The bathtub that was specified in the contract was also white. Because the contract price was a little higher than the members wanted to spend, we recommended and drew up a change order for a less expensive tub to fit their budget (the model # clearly indicating white). The change order was approved and signed by the members and we proceeded with the project. The bathtub sat in the client’s house for about a week prior to installation. (The bathtub could be easily seen and inspected by our clients.) The bathtub was then installed with ceramic tile around the walls. This took several days to install, grout and seal the tile. The clients stated throughout this process, they were pleased with our workmanship, the cleanliness of the jobsite, and the positive manners of our workmen. After everything was completed on the job site, our client stated that they wanted an ivory bathtub instead of the white bathtub. They stated, that they could possibly live with the white bathtub, if we would reduce the final payment by $750. The client reluctantly paid the full amount of the final invoice, but stated we would be sorry for not accepting his offer. We believed we had acted properly throughout the entire remodeling process and needed to be paid the full amount of the final payment. We want our customers to be pleased with our work and provide them with the finest workmanship, most economical products for the money, a streamlined remodeling process and great value for the price. In this case, we believe we delivered on the principles that we exposé and that we were merely being held up by our clients.

1.0

03/02/2010


Marshall M.

I met with the designer and owner and went over plans in detail. They gave me a quote of $1500 for design services. When I called to start the design service they raised the price to $2000, a 33 per cent increase. I said no.

Description of Work
I did not use this company.

Category home remodeling

Service Provider Response

The member never paid anything to our company and therefore was not a customer of ours. We are a design-build construction company and we offer the design services free for our customers. We collect a design and proposal retainer at the start of the design process that is determined by the scope of work. Once the contract for work is signed, the design and proposal retainer is applied to the project as a payment. This member expanded the scope of work to include two rooms, therefore the design retainer had to reflect the change in scope. This member was never a customer of ours, as he never paid for anything.

5.0

02/26/2010


Beth A.

They were responsive, friendly, and professional. They did an excellent job. They had great designers and everybody was great. The price was a little high, but it was worth it. We had a wonderful experience with them.

Description of Work
We used Hantel Kitchens & Baths to remove a wall between our family room and kitchen. They removed a door and replaced it with a window. They also replaced our countertops with granite countertops. The work also included installation of a new sink, a new faucet, and a new range.

Category home remodeling

5.0

01/04/2009


Pamper C.

We wanted to explore the possibility of adding another bath to a condo we own. Mr. Hantel was very responsive and prompt and went over our options with us. We probably will not add the bathroom, just due to the layout of the condo, but we appreciated his expertise and responsiveness.

Description of Work
Mr. Hantel came and looked at a potential job to add a bathroom.

Category home remodeling

5.0

06/02/2008


Kingston S.

We started by working with the kitchen department of a big-box retailer, but the process left us concerned about the overall design and effectiveness of their project management involving various sub-contractors. At the same time, a friend told us she had worked with both that retailer and an independent remodeling contractor and was much happier with the latter, an observation borne out by findings of the major consumer research organization. I researched contractors and found Hantel to be prominent members of the NKBA. Unlike higher-end remodelers who custom-build everything, they also work with major cabinet manufacturers to come up with semi-custom solutions which are more economical. We met with Ed Hantel, who gave us a ballpark estimate and overall vision of how the kitchen should be reconfigured. At that point we went forward with a paid design process and overall cost, and worked with Ed and Shannon (a designer) to tweak and finalize the design and adjust costs accordingly. They gave us thorough written guidelines about preparing for the project and its disruption of household life. This was a radical project that involved removing part of a wall into an adjoining room to establish an eating bar. Since that was was an old-fashioned plank paneling, we asked if the paneling being removed could mask a place on another wall where we wanted to remove an old unused through-the-wall air conditioner. They did such a beautiful job on this side project that no one can tell now that the wall (on both the inside and outside) ever had such a history. Overall, the project started and finished on time, and the workers took their time to do things right. They cleaned up the worksite at the end of each day of all dust and debris. There were no surprises. There was one detail that we were not satisfied with at the end, and Ed worked to come up with a solution that made us happy. The process and finished results exceeded our expectations and we would have no problem recommending Hantel to anybody.

Description of Work
Complete remodeling of kitchen, including design, new cabinets, countertop, lighting, flooring, and painting. All appliances were relocated, which involved plumbing and electrical work. We kept our existing dishwasher and refrigerator, and they installed a new range and microwave that I bought elsewhere. As an add-on job they also removed an old through-the-wall air conditioner and covered the hole on the inside with paneling harvested from the kitchen job, and on the outside with brick to match the outside wall.

Category home remodeling

    Other local Pros in your area

    Granite Transformation Of Nashville

    Specializing in kitchen remodel and bath remodel, Granite Transformations can help you create your dream home! We offer granite countertops, quartz countertops, cabinet refacing and more! Call us today or visit our website for a FREE in-home consultation!  

    O'Neil Painting and Plaster

    Third generation painter / 54 recent 5 star reviews on Home Adviser now Angi Leads - please see on Angi Leads reviews here: https://www.homeadvisor.com/rated.ONeilPaintingPlaster.101442173.html, as we are fairly new to Angi Ads. Complete professional interior and exterior painting, staining, spray cabinets, and doors. Tape and spackle/sheetrock light carpentry We care about our clients and guarantee your satisfaction. We will provide you with list of most recent clients with free estimate. Licensed & insured Thank you!  

    Angi Super Service Award badge
    Super Service
    Award 2021
    Offers by O'Neil Painting and Plaster on Angi
    New Direction

    New Direction provides painting services in the most timely manner and with an ongoing comprehensive quality-control program to provide 100% customer satisfaction.  

    Angi Super Service Award badge
    Super Service
    Award 2021
    Offers by New Direction on Angi
    Bonded
    Insured
    All statements concerning insurance, licenses, and bonds are informational only, and are self-reported. Since insurance, licenses and bonds can expire and can be cancelled, homeowners should always check such information for themselves.To find more licensing information for your state, visit our Find Licensing Requirements page.
    General Information
    Free Estimates
    Ask for Details
    Eco-Friendly Accreditations
    Yes
    Warranties
    Ask for details

    Services Offered

    Home Improvements,Kitchen Planning & Remodeling Service,Bathroom Remodeling,Kitchen Cabinets & Equipment-Household,Bathroom Fixtures, Cabinets & Accessories

    Services Not Offered

    Roofing, concrete work & landscaping.

    Frequently Asked Questions & Answers about Hantel Kitchens & Baths

    How is Hantel Kitchens & Baths overall rated?

    Hantel Kitchens & Baths is currently rated 3.8 overall out of 5.

    Does Hantel Kitchens & Baths offer free estimates?

    Ask Hantel Kitchens & Baths for details on free project estimates.

    Does Hantel Kitchens & Baths offer eco-friendly accreditations?

    Yes, Hantel Kitchens & Baths offers eco-friendly accreditations.

    Are warranties offered by Hantel Kitchens & Baths?

    No, Hantel Kitchens & Baths does not offer warranties.

    What services does Hantel Kitchens & Baths offer?

    Hantel Kitchens & Baths offers the following services: Home Improvements,Kitchen Planning & Remodeling Service,Bathroom Remodeling,Kitchen Cabinets & Equipment-Household,Bathroom Fixtures, Cabinets & Accessories

    Are there any services Hantel Kitchens & Baths does not offer?

    Roofing, concrete work & landscaping.