Find top-rated Pros in your area

Enter a zip code and get matched to businesses near you.

Classic Handyman Co Inc

Founded 1996 • With Angi since June 2006

Classic Handyman Company has been in Nashville for over 20 years.

Verified Reviews

4.6

(91) Verified Reviews

Showing 1-25 of 91 reviews
Phyllis F.
5.0
07/22/2015
He gave me a list of things to work on. He was on time friendly and professional.
Description of Work
The company inspected my roof for issues.
Category
roofing
Billie R.
5.0
06/05/2015
Kevin Michael White did my job with this company. He was Superb. Really knows his work. Great at communication. Helpful in Many areas. Thank you
Description of Work
Half bath flooring replaced. New toilet and vanity removed and new one added.
Category
handyman service
Lori C.
5.0
10/24/2014
Kevin showed up early and got right to the problem..he even had replacement parts handy. He was so fast I was able to get 2 more small things done in the same hour.
Description of Work
Electrical and plumbing
Category
electrician, handyman service, plumbing
Penny B.
4.0
05/08/2014
Evidently traverse rods are more complicated than either I or the handyman who installed them expected them to be. I share responsibility for not realizing the rods needed to be installed farther outside the window sides than they were originally hung. Dennis, the extremely personable young man who installed them, had to return the next day to move them. The mirror removal went fine, clean work, all debris removed. My main concern was the cost - hourly rates add up and I would prefer to work with a flat rate in the future.
Description of Work
Classic Handyman hung three traverse rods and removed two glued to the wall bathroom mirrors.
Category
handyman service, replacement windows
Lisa C.
5.0
05/01/2014
Purchased a coupon for gutter cleaning ... the gentleman went up on the roof and didn't find very much to clean out of our gutters, but he spotted a crack in the roofing around one of the ventilation shafts & sealed it up for us for no additional charge. He probably saved us an additional call for a leaky roof and drywall repair, so we were thankful we used Classic Handyman on this call.
Description of Work
Gutter cleaning.
Category
gutter cleaning, roofing
Jeff D.
4.0
02/10/2014
The painting, electrical, and carpentry aspects of this job went well. The total time for the project was longer than we expected, but tolerable. The plumbing was very disappointing, probably because of the selection of the subcontractor. Most of our instructions were followed clearly. The cleanup was excellent. Because Classic is a general contractor, the cost of these tasks was higher than identifying each of the specialists, but not everyone has the time, desire, or talent to direct remodeling. It's a question of cost versus convenience. There was never any question of the integrity of the company, and they will continue to work with the customer to obtain satisfaction.
Description of Work
Bathroom, kitchen, exterior trim painting. Soffit and siding R&R. Plumbing repair. Bathroom lighting.
Category
handyman service, lighting, plumbing, siding, woodworking, house painters
Noah H.
3.0
02/04/2014
It did not go real well. I had gutter guards and they didn't bother getting underneath them to clean.
Description of Work
I used a Big Deal for Classic Handyman to clean gutters.
Category
gutter cleaning
will J.
5.0
01/15/2014
Very happy to have gutters cleaned. He did a little extra sweeping on the roof around chimneys and skylights.
Description of Work
Came out and cleaned gutters and swept off roof.
Category
gutter cleaning, handyman service, roof cleaning
Carol H.
1.0
12/04/2013
It's ridiculous to take two hours to install a bifold door. He didn't know what he was doing, did not have the proper tools. The door doesn't shut, one side is low, the other is high. He needed to shave down the doors. Although he was polite and nice, he simply could not do the work. He had a lack of knowledge for the what the job entailed. The job is still not complete.
Description of Work
He was supposed to fix my bi-fold doors. All he did was lay the track down.
Category
handyman service, doors

Service Provider Response

We could not install the owner provided door as it was too large. To cut the door down enough to fit was not possible without destroying the door.. We returned to the home to discuss and explain this fact with the homeowner. The homeowner was not charged anything for either trip or our time.
Wallace W.
5.0
11/18/2013
Excellent job. totally trustworthy.
Description of Work
Ran conduit and installed new light switch in laundry room.
Category
electrician, handyman service
Matthew W.
5.0
11/03/2013
The provider was responsive to my requests for details regarding the work. He went beyond the contract by encasing the flexible pex ( a form of plastic) piping in rigid pvc throughout its 130 foot length, to protect it from a considerable number of rocks in the area. He couldn't forsee the need for this prior to the excavation but did it voluntarily at no additional cost. He also willingly transported some of the bigger rocks, at my request, to the other side of my yard, again, at no additional cost. He adhered to his originally stated schedule throughout the process, with no tardiness and no excuses. The site restoration and re-seeding were also handled in a professional manner. Classic Handyman's work encapsulates and illustrates the principle of customer satisfaction.
Description of Work
The provider replaced the water line from the street to the house
Category
handyman service, plumbing
Sylvia D.
5.0
10/17/2013
They did a great job and everything went well 2 years ago. They worked on my chimney and several other things. My grades on this review reflect the job 2 years ago but I'd like to share some more recent information as well. They came out recently again and gave me an estimate. It was going to be much more expensive than last time I had the work done. After they came out I was told I'd get a call back concerning the price and never heard back after that.
Description of Work
I purchased a Big Deal. $99 for Two Hours of Handyman Service!
Category
masonry
Stephen B.
4.0
09/01/2013
The gate went fine, however the fix on the pipe failed and ended up having to call a plumber to come and do the work.
Description of Work
Fix a back gate and fix a kitchen sink pipe.
Category
handyman service
JOEL R.
5.0
05/22/2013
Classic Handyman Co Inc were great. The guy was on time and professional. They were friendly and easy to work with.
Description of Work
Classic Handyman Co Inc are coming over in a couple of weeks.
Category
decks, roofing, air duct cleaning
Cynthia S.
4.0
05/11/2013
The estimate was about $600 less that eventual cost. They said that I needed ductwork replaced, which was not included in the estimate. The manager would come over and discuss the work with me. They came in the morning on time. There was some confusion when on a Friday I was told that the air conditioner could be turned on, because the duct work was complete except for sealing. So I tried to turn it on --wouldn't work.. So I called an AC repair and they informed me that the duct was plugged. So the next week it was finished. The work went well and passed my TVA review. I would recommend that on your estimate you have them state that they will remove all the debris from the repair. Because they loaded my trash can with all the trash. I had to get someone stronger than me to move the can down to the street. I did not specific that in my estimate.
Description of Work
After a TVA review and a problem with having no air conditioning, I got some estimates and decided on this company. Very few vendors knew anything about the TVA program. This one had the training and knew how the repairs needed to be done. They provided me with a estimate to wrap my duct work according to TVA standards.
Category
handyman service, insulation
charmaine T.
3.0
05/06/2013
I would not call them again. They came into the house that I had to rent right away. He was coming and going all day long. He was always on the phone. He charged me entirely too much, but I had my back against the wall and I had to have it done. He knew that I had to get it done right away. I supplied all the materials. I have some rental property; I put a sign out and I got a renter right away. I knew that these were two things that I had to, so I called him. I landed up finishing the painting so that it could get done. I paid him just to get rid of him. I had to go out and buy the ceiling fan, and he put it up. With regard to responsiveness, he came right away. With regard to punctuality, he kept leaving the job all day long. I don’t want to use him again.
Description of Work
Classic Handyman Co Inc put up a ceiling fan and painted the bathroom for me.
Category
handyman service, ceiling fans, interior painters
Betty J.
5.0
05/03/2013
We did use them, very very impress, very happy with them. It was a $10000 project on a house that we needed to get ready to sale. They just did a fabulous job in a good timely fashion for the price that they said its gone be. They consulted with us. There was none of waiting to show up. It was just excellent best experience.
Description of Work
Classic Handyman Co Inc. Did a little bathroom rebuild the walls and sealing and all that. Installed some cabinets and sinks on the bathroom.
Category
remodeling, home remodeling
Dorthy S.
5.0
04/29/2013
We have used Classic Handyman several times now, and we are always satisfied with their work. They seem to be able to do most anything that needs to be done, and they do it well. In this case, I had already bought the fan and lights, but installing the fan was quite a bit of work, (this is an old house and there had never been one there before), but they stuck to their estimate, and they did a nice job. All the folks that came in to work were super nice, and they were clean and efficient. I was very pleased also when I realized I had forgotten to ask the electrician for the globe from my old light fixtures, but I called him back and he made a special trip back over and brought them to me. Good people to work with. I will call them again.
Description of Work
Installation of a bathroom exhaust fan, 2 light fixtures, and electrical plug. Also, installation of new kitchen faucet set.
Category
electrician, handyman service, lighting, plumbing
Jason F.
5.0
04/15/2013
No problems. Gutters were cleaned quickly.
Description of Work
Cleaned out the gutters
Category
handyman service
brooke K.
5.0
03/29/2013
Great folks. Although I purchased the coupon earlier in the fall, they allowed me to wait until all the leaves fell. It ended up that a large rainstorm was coming and I hoped they could come out the week of Thanksgiving (before the rain). I knew my gutters were full, and wanted they cleaned out before the storm. They fit me into the schedule and did a great job. I didn't even need to be there for the service. Will use again!
Description of Work
Gutters cleaned out
Category
gutter cleaning
Ryan H.
5.0
03/20/2013
Very well. I was able to save a little money by doing the finish painting but in hind sight should have had them do it all, they did a great job.
Description of Work
Bathroom drywall repair, patching.
Category
handyman service
Carrie B.
5.0
02/15/2013
I purchased a coupon through Angie's List for gutter cleaning. At this point, I don't remember how much the deal cost, but I think it was somewhere around a 50% discount. Classic Handyman called me within a day or two of purchase and came over the very next day. He was quick, efficient, and did a good job. I would definitely use his services again in the future.
Description of Work
gutter cleaning
Category
gutter cleaning, handyman service
Frank D.
5.0
01/23/2013
Classic Handyman came out and cleaned my gutters. They were fast and did a professional job.
Description of Work
Gutter Cleaning on three story house.
Category
gutter cleaning
Mike D.
5.0
01/11/2013
They were outstanding. They were timely and professional.
Description of Work
Classic Handyman Co Inc did some framing and put in a window at my home.
Category
picture framing, handyman service, replacement windows
Bill H.
4.0
12/30/2012
I had a ceiling patched and painted. I used a coupon for $50 off but it did not seem like i saved much. The quality was good but they used two people and one of them spent a lot of time standing around since they could not both work at the same time. So I paid an hourly rate for two people where one person would have been sufficient. Make sure you know how many workers you'll be paying for up front and ask if they'll both be working if two people show up.
Description of Work
I wanted a ceiling repainted and I had some patchwork and sanding done.
Category
handyman service, remodeling

Other local Pros in your area

Yaardvark Landscape Management

We are a 6 time Super Service Award winning landscape company specializing in landscape lighting - Drainage solutions - Landscape design/installation - Irrigation installation and repair .  

Angi Certified

2022 Super Service Award

ASAP Home Services

ASAP Home Services is a 16-year-old local owned and family operated BBB Accredited company We supply whole home water filtration for homeowners. ASAP Home Services is the exclusive Tennessee Puronics authorized dealer. Puronics is the oldest water filtration company in the country and is endorsed by NASA. Puronics is also the only company that is certified with the EPA, NSF and carries the gold seal from the water association Also ASAP Home Services is the only exclusive dealer in Tennessee for AERUS formally known as Electrolux. We also provide air purification with patented technology which is also used by NASA. AERUS is one of only seven companies in the NASA Hall of Fame  

Angi Certified

Artisan Custom Closets

We are a locally owned and operated company with over 22 years of industry experience. We value honesty and integrity and stand behind our work. We specialize in cabinetry installation, custom closets, built-in-furniture, and a variety of related projects. We pride ourselves on the quality of our work as well as our commitment to outstanding results. We look forward to building long-term relationships with our clients and we guarantee your satisfaction!  

Angi Certified

2022 Super Service Award

Phone

Address

306 46th Ave N.

Nashville, TN 37209

Other Information

Services Offered

Services Not Offered

Ask for details

Payment options

Check
Licensed
Bonded
All statements concerning insurance, licenses, and bonds are informational only, and are self-reported. Since insurance, licenses and bonds can expire and can be cancelled, homeowners should always check such information for themselves.To find more licensing information for your state, visit our Find Licensing Requirements page.

FAQ

Classic Handyman Co Inc is currently rated 4.6 overall out of 5.

Classic Handyman Co Inc is open:

Monday: 8:00 AM - 4:00 PM

Tuesday: 8:00 AM - 4:00 PM

Wednesday: 8:00 AM - 4:00 PM

Thursday: 8:00 AM - 4:00 PM

Friday: 8:00 AM - 4:00 PM

Classic Handyman Co Inc accepts the following forms of payment: Check

Yes, Classic Handyman Co Inc offers free project estimates.

No, Classic Handyman Co Inc does not offer eco-friendly accreditations.

Yes, Classic Handyman Co Inc offers warranties.

Classic Handyman Co Inc offers the following services: Handymen Services, Plumbing, Roof Repair, Remodeling