Find top-rated Pros in your area

Enter a zip code and get matched to businesses near you.

CARDWELLS ELECTRIC CO

Founded 1993 • With Angi since June 2006

4.5

(24) Verified Reviews

Business Details

Phone Number

Address

406 NAPOLEON AVE

Nashville, TN 37211

Description

Small Family owned business.

Verified Reviews

A few reviews for this pro...
G F.
5.0
07/05/2017
efficient, professional, great work!
Description of Work
numerous odds and ends per inspection report for home sale
Category
electrician
John R.
1.0
09/04/2015
unknown
Description of Work
We had two problems. A bad circuit breaker and a bad florescent light, both diagnosed by a subsequent electrician. The Cardwell electrician said there was no problem with the circuit breaker and that we could fix the light ourselves, so we lived with problems until another company solved the problem. For the bad advice we paid $80 and darkness.
Category
electrician, lighting
Delilah C.
5.0
04/27/2015
They have done major electrical work for me. They have high quality and reliable service.
Description of Work
They changed a timer on our door lights.
Category
electrician, lighting
Lana F.
5.0
04/10/2015
unknown
Description of Work
They gave me tips on how to keep problem with garage door Happening again
Category
electrician
CHARLES M.
5.0
08/25/2014
He was on time and completed severals small jobs, one being re-wiring a light switch and installing a ceiling light.
Description of Work
Several small jobs
Category
electrician, lighting
doris M.
5.0
05/28/2014
unknown
Description of Work
Repaired heating system. They were on time, replaced and repaired the unit, and were reasonably priced.
Category
electrician
Andrew S.
5.0
05/14/2014
We have good rapport with the electricians. They are nice, friendly, on time, and clean. The work was efficient and it was done right the first time.
Description of Work
Cardwells Electric Co. did some new outlets, new lights, and new voltage.
Category
electrician, lighting
Leigh T.
1.0
01/09/2014
Spoke with Keith on the phone. He talked down to me as if I did not understand what I was calling for. He repeatedly used condescending phrases such as and quot;you understand that, right?and quot; He told me I did not actually want what I was calling for because I did not understand the cost. When in fact I do understand the cost because he is not the first electrician in which I have spoken. I will NEVER use this company because the company's manager is unprofessional and rude.
Description of Work
Called provider to ask for a quote on rewiring home.
Category
electrician
Jeffrey N.
4.0
12/31/2012
Cardwells was very responsive to my call for a service appointment and offered me a timely appointment. In fact, I had to ask them to schedule me for the following week, as I did not anticipate that they would be able to schedule a non-emergency appointment so quickly. The electrician arrived within 15 minutes of his scheduled arrival time and started to work as soon as I finished showing him what needed to be done. He was courteous, professional and worked steadily throughout the morning to accomplish the repairs and installation of the new light fixtures. He even went above and beyond the expected scope of work when he informed me he had found a couple of uncovered junction boxes (which the home inspector missed in his report) and covered them for me. I give high marks to service professionals who notice things like that and call them to my attention. He cleaned up the work area when he finished and hauled away the trash and old fixtures.The next time I need any electrical work done I will call Cardwells first. I felt their prompt scheduling, fair pricing and professional workmanship met all my expectations.
Description of Work
I contacted Cardwells Electric to repair several deficiencies that were noted in the home inspection when I purchased my house. They corrected a wiring problem in the service box (double tapped), tightened loose connections and replaced a non-functioning sensor in the security lights. While they were here I had them also replace several fluorescent fixtures in the basement.
Category
electrician
Delilah C.
5.0
06/15/2012
Cardwell's electrician replaced the plug and checked the wiring. They have done other work for me in the past and I've been very satisfied with their service. They care about their customers and I trust them to do it right.
Description of Work
A window heat and air unit had stopped functioning and the manufacturer refused to repair it because he said it was a defective plug and wiring and not the unit itself. This later proved wrong, but the plug was one one the problems.
Category
electrician
rebecca B.
5.0
03/15/2012
Jeremy and Tim were on time, polite, professional and neat. They not only completed the electrical work, but also did the duct work over the hood. They cut through the overhead cabinet and attached to existing duct work in the attic that was vented through the roof. They had quite a bit of problem solving to do for this job, and they did it efficiently and well. I would definitely use them again.
Description of Work
I needed a plug installed for my new gas stove as well as the installation of a hood over the stove that needed venting outside.
Category
electrician

Service Provider Response

Thank you Member we appreciate your business!
Keri J.
5.0
01/01/2012
We got 3 estimates for the work. Keith seemed most knowledgeable about the work to be performed and his quote came in the middle range. The work took two full days. Jeremy and Tim did the work both days and did an excellent job. The arrived on time, were easy to work with and did the work as promised. Jeremy pointed out a potential problem with our watr heater circuit and replaced it. Prior to Cardewll's work, a gfi was installed upside down in our bathroom, which annoyed me, but I never fixed it. Jeremy installed it properly and never mentioned it. This attention to detail and going above and beyond our expectations is why we would use Cardwell Electric again and refer them to friends.
Description of Work
Replaced old glass fuseboxes with new single breaker panel Add ground rod to meter base Added 6 dedicated outlets Converted a 240 outlet to 120 volt Added a washer & dryer circuit in kitchen Replaced 30 amp water heater circuit
Category
electrician
Delilah C.
5.0
12/14/2011
I have used Cardwell Electric since 1993 when John Cardwell did all the wiring on a major remodeling project. In my new house, since 2002, it been either Keith or Bill. Every time I've called they are responsive, knowledgeable and nice and got the job done right.
Description of Work
This last service call was just for a bad plug on a HVAC wall unit.
Category
electrician
HORACE L.
5.0
10/05/2011
Their prices were high but they were able to do the job. They had a couple of rude arrogant guys and they had to be called back. They overcharged me. The supervisor was good but the two guys that came out were wise guys and they didn't do the job correctly. They had been referred to me by another electrician that knew the supervisor. The owner issued me a refund and fired the two workers who did the job incorrectly!
Description of Work
I used Cardwells Electric to finish an electrical wiring job that another electrician wasn't able to complete.
Category
electrician
Caroline T.
5.0
05/14/2011
I explained all above.
Description of Work
I needed a switch replaced. I have done this before and tried but after getting an electrical shock and making 3 trips to Home Depot decided to call Cardwell's. Their electrician called and came over immediately. He carefully replaced the switch, explained what was wrong with the broken one, all very professional. I could have saved time, gas, money and frustration by calling them first. I recommend this company.
Category
electrician
ANDY M.
3.0
05/05/2010
I was not happy overall. After two visits, neither technician was able to correctly diagnose or repair the problem. (Afterwards, I called ATand T, and it took that ATand T technician five minutes to diagnose and partially repair the problem; even though the problem was with my lines, ATand T did not charge for the visit.) Despite the second visit being unsuccessful, I was initially charged another $75 for the second visit. Fortunately, when I explained that I thought this was not fair, they dropped the second charge. I may use Cardwell's for electric work in the future, but I cannot recommend them for phone wiring.
Description of Work
I had intermittent dial tone with our landline. Cardwell's came out to try to diagnose and repair the landline.
Category
phone wiring
Nancy M.
5.0
12/22/2008
They are honest, they try to be fair, they are also very responsive. They always work to find a good solution to whatever your problem is.
Description of Work
I have used them numerous times over the years for various job.
Category
electrician
Benji P.
4.0
12/01/2008
Installed recessed lights in 2 different rooms. Hooked them up to available wiring. One light didn't work, but they came out the next morning and fixed it. They left some mess, but overall a good experience. Didn't consider the breaker circuits they hooked them up to, so when I flip the breaker to try to turn off those lights, a lot of other areas go out too. Kind of a pain.
Description of Work
Installed 8 can lights. Hooked them up to new switches.
Category
electrician
Jill A.
4.0
06/03/2008
Overall it went well. All the work paid for was done and done quickly. However, I have a few issues with the service. I wasn't available to be there, so I had my dad hang out while they worked. Despite a very detailed "to-do" list, i.e. they missed a few. They forgot to remove the radiant heat controls in the living room and guest bedroom. They put the GFCI plug in the bathroom in the wrong place. They put it about six feet from any available counter. Three of the plugs they installed didn't work. I had to call them back along with my dad to get the work done. I found it helpful to have a detailed list for them. Also, many of the new plugs were installed a bit askew. For me, they were in too much of a hurry and didn't take the time to make sure the job was done right. But they were very nice and considerate. My house was built in 1951 and all of the outlets had to be replaced, updated, worked on and some new ones installed.
Description of Work
Added a plug in the hall. Added one GFCI plug in the bathroom. Replaced GFCI plug in the kitchen from two wire. Added a plug in the bedroom for computer. Added plugs in the living room. Changed microwave plug to a GFCI plug. Added a GFCI plug in front & rear of the outside of the house. Added GFCI plug between range and kitchen counter down low (paneling). Changed out all plugs and switches to white, take 2-wire plugs (16 plugs & 10 switches). Deleted all ceiling heat wires and thermostats (radiant heat) and blanked off with white blanks. Added a plug in the garage and one for the garage door.
Category
electrician
JOHN L.
2.0
05/25/2007
The main problem is that the recessed lights were replaced but not fixed. They blew again after the "repair" and as a result shorted out the brand-new motion-detector switch that they had just installed as well. They came back at no charge to replace the blown recessed lights but they did not compensate me for the blown motion-detector switch; they just replaced it with a regular switch. And after that second "repair" the lights blew again. So they are still blown. Cardwell told me that if I wanted to fix them for good I would have to replace the housings for about $300-400. So I said just get it fixed and waited for a week or two for them to set up the appointment, and when they did, I double-checked the quote again, and now it was over $600. I'm frustrated that not only would this be the third time they'd be coming to fix something that should have been fixed the first time in such a way that I wouldn't be back in the same boat in a week, and to boot, the price is going up.
Description of Work
(1) Install an overhead light fixture, (2) Install a bathroom fan/light fixture (3) Fix the recessed lights which blew, and a motion-detector switch to activate them.
Category
lighting
JIM G.
5.0
03/09/2007
The service technician was very polite, volunteering to remove his shoes when working in the home. He explained what was happening, and made it very clear what could or could not be done to deal with the issue of tripping of the ground fault outlet. He replaced the outlet at my request. He did the job quickly and efficiently. The company even invoiced the job as an open billing, rather than requiring payment at the time of service.
Description of Work
Troubleshooting and replacement of ground fault outlet.
Category
electrician
5.0
02/14/2007
They brought my home completely up to code because I had just bought it and it was not up to code standards. I have not had any problems with the electric at all. I was not here when they did it so I am not exactly sure what all the did to replace the old fuses. I do know it was done correctly. The seller paid for the electric work.
Description of Work
Cardwell's Electric updated my service to 200 amps, repaired some wiring and installed new breakers.
Category
electrician
5.0
02/14/2007
Everything is just fine, and I have no complaints at this time. My children took care of all the payments because I am a little elderly and do not like to handle that stuff. I absolutely do not know what the price was at all. However, I do recall the two men who worked on the house, and they were extremely nice. They were thoughtful and very hardworking. This was quite sometime ago, and I still have not come across any difficulties as far as electrical work.
Description of Work
Cardwell ran all the electrical wiring in my two story home. They installed ceiling fans, outlets, and wiring.
Category
electrician, ceiling fans
5.0
06/23/2006
My overall experience with Cardwells has been excellent. A lot of people I know have used them and recommend them to me. They were very professional.
Description of Work
They came to put in some lights for me. The lights were inside and outside.
Category
electrician, lighting

    Other local Pros in your area

    Hometown Professional Services

    Hometown is a small and growing family owned business that services all in home electrical needs at a competitive price. Billing is done via email or hard copy for those who need it. All our pricing is upfront and we will never do any work without permission! We are a COD company so payment is due upon completion of work. Lifetime warranty on all workmanship!  

    Angi Certified

    True Designs LLC

    True Designs was founded on the platform of doing things the right way. Our goal is to educate our clients on what technology can do to improve their life. We work diligently to understand each clients unique needs and lifestyle to tailor a solution. Solutions that range from a single room to complete office spaces. Our passion for technology and design drives us to create incredible experiences. In our combined 35 plus years of experience we have seen where clients are forced into something that does nothing to better their lives other than having a lot of gear. We guarantee to make sure that our designs for our clients bring value to their experiences whether in the home or at work.  

    Angi Certified

    2022 Super Service Award

    Di Meco Bros LLC

    We have the experience and dedication to get the job done right! Specializing in electric services; We guarantee your satisfaction, and we won't leave until the job is done right. We pride ourselves on the quality work we provide, while delivering great customer service! Call or click for your FREE estimate today!  

    Angi Certified

    Business Highlights

    Emergency Services OfferedEmergency Services Offered
    Phone Wiring
    Bonded
    Insured
    All statements concerning insurance, licenses, and bonds are informational only, and are self-reported. Since insurance, licenses and bonds can expire and can be cancelled, homeowners should always check such information for themselves.To find more licensing information for your state, visit our Find Licensing Requirements page.
    General Information
    Free Estimates
    Yes
    Eco-Friendly Accreditations
    No
    Payment Options
    Check, Visa, MasterCard, American Express
    Senior Discount
    NO
    Emergency Service
    Yes
    Warranties
    Ask for details

    Services Offered

    ELECTRICAL SERVICE, REMODEL, & NEW CONSTRUCTION WIRING & SOME COMMERCIAL.

    Services Not Offered

    Ask for details

    Frequently Asked Questions & Answers about CARDWELLS ELECTRIC CO

    How is CARDWELLS ELECTRIC CO overall rated?

    CARDWELLS ELECTRIC CO is currently rated 4.5 overall out of 5.

    What days are CARDWELLS ELECTRIC CO open?

    CARDWELLS ELECTRIC CO is open:

    Monday: 6:00 AM - 3:30 PM

    Tuesday: 6:00 AM - 3:30 PM

    Wednesday: 6:00 AM - 3:30 PM

    Thursday: 6:00 AM - 3:30 PM

    Friday: 6:00 AM - 3:30 PM

    What payment options does CARDWELLS ELECTRIC CO provide

    CARDWELLS ELECTRIC CO accepts the following forms of payment: Check, Visa, MasterCard, American Express

    Does CARDWELLS ELECTRIC CO offer free estimates?

    Yes, CARDWELLS ELECTRIC CO offers free project estimates.

    Does CARDWELLS ELECTRIC CO offer eco-friendly accreditations?

    No, CARDWELLS ELECTRIC CO does not offer eco-friendly accreditations.

    Does CARDWELLS ELECTRIC CO offer a senior discount?

    No, CARDWELLS ELECTRIC CO does not offer a senior discount.

    Does CARDWELLS ELECTRIC CO offer emergency services?

    Yes, CARDWELLS ELECTRIC CO offers emergency services.

    Are warranties offered by CARDWELLS ELECTRIC CO?

    No, CARDWELLS ELECTRIC CO does not offer warranties.

    What services does CARDWELLS ELECTRIC CO offer?

    CARDWELLS ELECTRIC CO offers the following services: ELECTRICAL SERVICE, REMODEL, & NEW CONSTRUCTION WIRING & SOME COMMERCIAL.